Liverpool refuse 2 release Salah for WCQ: Will this affect SE?

Re: Liverpool refuse 2 release Salah for WCQ: Will this affect SE?

Premier League clubs will not release players called up for international duty if they are playing matches in a country on the UK's red list to prevent them from having to quarantine on their return to England, the league said on Tuesday.

"Extensive discussions have taken place with both the FA and the government to find a solution, but due to ongoing public health concerns relating to incoming travellers from red-list countries, no exemption has been granted," the league said in a statement.

- Stream ESPN FC Daily on ESPN+ (U.S. only)
- Don't have ESPN?

Brazil, Chile, Argentina and Peru are all on the British government's "red list" of countries that trigger a 10-day hotel quarantine on return.

Earlier on Tuesday, European clubs accused world body FIFA of abusing its regulatory function in this row over the extended release of players for the September and October qualifiers.

Premier League sides will be particularly hard hit by FIFA's decision to extend a mandatory release period from nine to 11 days to enable triple-headers in South America and also by strict England's quarantine rules.

Liverpool have already refused to allow Mohamed Salah to travel to Africa for World Cup qualifiers with Egypt next month because he would be forced to quarantine on his return to England.

With World Cup qualifiers in Africa, Asia, the CONCACAF region, Europe and South America, the clubs are on a potential collision course with FIFA.

The European Club Association (ECA) wrote to members, in a Q&A document reported by The Times newspaper and also seen by Reuters, saying FIFA had taken decisions unilaterally and "against the explicit objection of ECA and the rest of the stakeholders.

"ECA has firmly expressed its objection to FIFA's decision and has urged FIFA to review its position," it said.

"ECA will not accept that a governing body like FIFA abuses its regulatory function in order to place its commercial interests and those of its member associations above the physical wellbeing of players and legitimate sporting interests of clubs."

England's quarantine requirements could affect Liverpool's Brazilian trio of Roberto Firmino, Alisson Becker and Fabinho, who have been called up for next month's qualifiers against Chile, Argentina and Peru.

The ECA said FIFA had decided this month, at the request of South American confederation CONMEBOL, to extend the mandatory release period "in complete disregard to the clubs' interests."

It said FIFA was unlikely to change its decision and the ECA would have to consider what action to take.

There was no immediate comment from FIFA.

The BBC reported that the Football Association and Premier League were in discussion with the government over a relaxation of Britain's quarantine rules.

Information from Reuters was used in this story.

https://www.espn.com/soccer/english-pre ... qualifying

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

YUJAM wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 6:25 pm Liverpool or any team for that matter do not have the power to forbid a player from traveling for a WCQ
Its the EPL bro

Other leagues will likely follow suite.

PSG has already refused...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Cellular wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 7:00 pm
txj wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 3:22 pm
Cellular wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 2:48 pm
txj wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 4:32 pm
Cellular wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 4:28 pm
txj wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 4:18 pm SMH...

The post is about the SE...
Oga, how is a post about Salah, an Egyptian playing for Liverpool about Naijaria SE?

The title of your thread does NOT make this about SE.
WE STILL CAN USE COMMON SENSE!!!

If I wanted to post about Salah and LFC, I'll put in the Liverpool thread...

I mean, this is beyond stupid!
Oh Mighty The Brain, next time, add a subtext to your Liverpool thread... using style to post Liverpool content without even relating it to the SE. And only doing so after it was pointed out by "Pinky".
You are allowed to think you know...

This issue is central to our WCQ. If I wanted to post Liverpool content, I would put it on the LFC thread as I have done the past 3 years!

Even the title of the thread is been amended to reflect this...

You are allowed to think!
Why would I think when you are here to for us?

When you make a mistake, simply admit it and move on...

txj wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 7:32 pm
When you make a mistake, simply admit it and move on...
Hilarity!

If nothing was wrong with your initial post why edit it?

Just take correction from BigTurkey who initially pointed out your error,

You could do with learning from him on how to make a non-Eagles Nest post comply with Eagles Nest rules. :D :taunt:

Re: Liverpool refuse to release Salah for WCQ duty with Egypt

delisyomie don wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 3:38 pm
Damunk wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 2:44 pm
Undertaker wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 1:42 pm We play Sep 3rd and Sep 7th, where is the list of players invited? Or we are using home based players?
Nigeria is not on the UK's 'Red' list, but I don't know about other European countries such as Italy, Spain, Germany and Belgium.

but cape verde is on the red list in Uk
True

vancity eagle wrote: Mon Aug 23, 2021 4:57 pm Why has this thread been moved ?

Seems those running this site have as little foresight as the fools running our football
:oops:

The English Premier League and Spanish LaLiga should release players for the upcoming World Cup qualifiers next month to "preserve and protect sporting integrity," FIFA president Gianni Infantino said on Wednesday.

The top flight leagues in England and Spain said on Tuesday they backed clubs refusing to make players available for qualifiers in countries where the players would have to quarantine on their return, particularly South America. Italy's Serie A also released a statement on Wednesday saying they would support clubs that do not release players.

The Premier League said nearly 60 players were set to travel to 26 countries on Britain's "red list" while LaLiga said 25 players from 13 different clubs are affected with likely more to follow when Ecuador and Venezuela announce their squads.

"I am calling on a show of solidarity from every member association, every league, and every club, to do what is both right and fair for the global game," Infantino said in a statement.

"Many of the best players in the world compete in leagues in England and Spain, and we believe these countries also share the responsibility to preserve and protect the sporting integrity of competitions around the world."

England's strict quarantine rules would require players to quarantine for 10 days upon arrival in the country, with the Premier League saying no exemption had been granted by government for football players.

Infantino said he had written to Prime Minister Boris Johnson for support.

"I have suggested that an approach similar to that adopted by the UK government for the final stages of the Euro 2020 be implemented for the upcoming international matches," Infantino added.

The matter first came to light on Monday when the Egyptian Football Association said Liverpool had refused to allow Mohamed Salah. The Confederation of African Football (CAF) urged that the leagues and the UK government grant an exemption for players.

"It is further noted that the circumstances in the African countries on the red list in many cases are in fact less severe than other countries not currently on this list or for which exemptions were previously provided," CAF's statement said.

https://www.espn.com/soccer/english-pre ... qualifiers

This is wat happens when you let one region which is Europe have all the power. FIFA needs to sanction these European clubs and Ban England if nessasary.

YUJAM wrote: Tue Aug 24, 2021 6:25 pm Liverpool or any team for that matter do not have the power to forbid a player from traveling for a WCQ
That's what I thought, as a FIFA sanctioned game

akamoke wrote: Thu Aug 26, 2021 7:45 pm
That's what I thought, as a FIFA sanctioned game

Don't think you'll fully understand the issue.

Its not simply about clubs refusing, its more that the government is unwilling to make an exception for football regarding the quarantine period on return from the WCQs...

And govt health regulations supersedes anything else. Add to that the fact there's an agreement with FIFA that allows clubs and leagues to make these decisions under the pandemic...

Players can "ignore" their clubs but it will only hurt them.