How Italy beat us in 1994

Re: How Italy beat us in 1994

Rubbish,

We had them beat but for two major unfortunate incidences.

1. Italy should have been reduced to 9 men when an Italian defender grabbed goal bound Rashidi Yekini .
2. Total inexperience and lack of coaching on how to kill time when you are ahead with few minutes to go. Westerhoff later admitted that somehow his players didnt know to kick the ball into the crowd. In those days you have to wait for the game ball to be retrieved before game could continue.

Cmoke wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 4:21 am Rubbish,

1. Italy should have been reduced to 9 men when an Italian defender grabbed goal bound Rashidi Yekini .
2. Total inexperience and lack of coaching on how to kill time when you are ahead with few minutes to go. Westerhoff later admitted that somehow his players didnt know to kick the ball into the crowd. In those days you have to wait for the game ball to be retrieved before game could continue.

If's and buts don't count. They(Italy) beat us with 10 men, and you are whining that they should have had one more person sent off? What, you want to play 11 against 2? :lol:

They beat us with their professionalism and their organization, concepts of which are laid out in that video.

Remember how our players nearly died of fright when they were reduced to 10 against Greece, and went on to lose a game in which they were ahead. Contrast that to what the Italians did against us that day. Down by a goal and a man, they somehow found a way to win. Consummate professionalism!! Appreciate it.

Man Ataye

Post by Man Ataye »

Simple. We didnt know what we were doing when it counted!!!!

We had them beat 11 v 11, so much for your Oyinbo get sense pass us analysis!
Nna, I have identified for you the real reason why we lost.

You may also want to read Chidi Nwanu's recent interview for more insights.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 1:47 pm

If's and buts don't count. They(Italy) beat us with 10 men, and you are whining that they should have had one more person sent off? What, you want to play 11 against 2? :lol:

They beat us with their professionalism and their organization, concepts of which are laid out in that video.

Remember how our players nearly died of fright when they were reduced to 10 against Greece, and went on to lose a game in which they were ahead. Contrast that to what the Italians did against us that day. Down by a goal and a man, they somehow found a way to win. Consummate professionalism!! Appreciate it.

Cmoke wrote: Tue Sep 07, 2021 11:14 pm We had them beat 11 v 11, so much for your Oyinbo get sense pass us analysis!
Nna, I have identified for you the real reason why we lost.

You may also want to read Chidi Nwanu's recent interview for more insights.

Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Aug 30, 2021 1:47 pm

Abeg commot for road.

We simply did not have the mental toughness on and off the field to beat Italy (my other team) ;) that day