FC Barcelona: Football thread

Last edited by benteke on Sat Jul 16, 2022 3:03 am, edited 1 time in total.
Re: Xavi Hernandez Barcelona head coach

Tough mountain to climb he has, but a clear football philosophy and playing style he has.
And he sounds like he knows his football, although we accept that translating that to major success at Barcelona is another story.

But in short this guy is one of the guys i can listen to all day when he talks football

...it is their era to take over coaching, it's happening at other leagues. The old schoolers need to retire or retiring.

If Barcelona loses to Bayern and Benfica wins, then Barcelona goes to Europa

How is Xavi's system different from Pep's Barça system?

They need to work on basic stuff. The kids like Ansu are doing stupid things that you would not even see at Barça B several years ago. The rot went too deep for too long.

As it stands Barcelona will be taking part in Europa.
Currently 1-0 down to Bayern and not looking like winning.

benteke wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 9:39 pm As it stands Barcelona will be taking part in Europa.
:clap: :clap: :clap: the fall of Barca

Xavi has walked into a big rebuild job, and the jury will be out on weather he has the ability to turn things round in the long term, given his lack of experience at the highest levels.

When Barcelona drops to Europa there will be some quite good teams waiting, the likes of Dortmund, Atletico, AC Milan, RB Leipzig and potential danger like West Ham, Napoli etc, imagine Barcelona being knocked out of Europa by Moyes' West Ham :rotf:

benteke wrote: Wed Dec 08, 2021 9:39 pm As it stands Barcelona will be taking part in Europa.
...many other epl giants have fallen too to europa, rebuild and resurrect, it's their turn nothing is permanent.

Looks like the Barca revival is up and running, so far things starting to look better

Chei, Auba scored again. :D

Looks like Xavi and crew are back to the CL.
WIll they torment ManU again .... in Europa? :tic:

Pedri...

Ooh lalalala....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Sun Apr 03, 2022 9:36 pm Pedri...

Ooh lalalala....
Barca truly lucky to have Pedri. What a goal

For me the best young player in the world and one of the best midfielders in the world.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Sun Apr 03, 2022 10:03 pm For me the best young player in the world and one of the best midfielders in the world.
There’s little doubt about this. I think he’s the best young player.

Busquest's reaction when Dembele passed to Pedri instead of him for the goal, was priceless. :)

txj wrote: Sun Apr 03, 2022 10:03 pm For me the best young player in the world and one of the best midfielders in the world.
its very clear to me that you have not watch 150m pounds Delcan Rice!

danfo driver wrote: Mon Apr 04, 2022 4:03 pm
its very clear to me that you have not watch 150m pounds Delcan Rice!

What about the 200m pounds Phil Foden!!!

This currentl Barcelona team has a mixture of both Tiki Taka ava total football molded into one.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

One wonders why a team like ManU didn't pounce for Xavi when Barça was still fumbling around with Bartomeu and Tusquets?
Imagine the Manchester derby with Pep vs Xavi. :thumbs:
Throw in Tucel, Klopp, Arteta, Vierra, e.t.c... and you have a mouthwatering footie :drool:
Last edited by Kabalega on Tue Apr 05, 2022 10:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.