The simple reason that AFCON games are low scoring affairs

Re: The simple reason that AFCON games are low scoring affairs

benteke wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 12:56 am
kajifu wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 12:49 am Guys are really complaining,they dont see anything good about Africa.

They are really grumpy :rotf:
You are right. People like us who want the very best for Africa in football are very, very, very, very, veeeeeerrrrryyyy grumpy because we know that we have the tools to get the very best for Africa, and we are wasting them. France has won 2 world cups using African skill, grit, intelligence and muscle.

It is the sworn enemies of Africa :mrgreen: who are very happy with the way things are right now, the massive underachievement, the waste and the disappointment.

Scorpio, you know say this thread don get massive k leg. You ranted about no goals in match day 1
.some of us here told you first games are always cagey, be it the worldcup, Euros, copa etc... now we see goals in match day 2.. would you like me to count the massive 100% increase in goals after match day 2?

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:26 pm Scorpio, you know say this thread don get massive k leg. You ranted about no goals in match day 1
.some of us here told you first games are always cagey, be it the worldcup, Euros, copa etc... now we see goals in match day 2.. would you like me to count the massive 100% increase in goals after match day 2?
Oga while I am enjoying the increased scoring in the AFCON, I am thinking beyond the AFCON. You sabi say we go jam WC later dis year

Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:28 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:26 pm Scorpio, you know say this thread don get massive k leg. You ranted about no goals in match day 1
Oga while I am enjoying the increased scoring in the AFCON, I am thinking beyond the AFCON. You sabi say we go jam WC later dis year
Worldcup is going to be cagey

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:31 pm
I want Osimhen to be the top scorer of the next WC. He can do it, if we fix our attacking setup

Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:32 pm
I want Osimhen to be the top scorer of the next WC. He can do it, if we fix our attacking setup
:taunt:

are you watching African football... did you just see the goal Cape Verde scored.. you people still refuse to open una eyes.. I am talking to txj, Scorpio , Oloye etc

Scipio Africanus wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 2:32 pm
Scopio , i am still waiting for you to tell me to count the goals scored ooooo

txj wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 7:40 pm

The key issue IMO is about players committing 100% to the team game and coaches having the time to develop and enforce this.

- To ball movement, with minimal touches. And then using space and the 1/2 touch to advance the ball and rotate players into position to build overloads, rather than the dribble run, which relies almost completely on overcoming in 1v1 situations.

Moses Simon for instance is playing like Alf Ramsey from the 60s!!!

Not too many great teams around the world atm; not sure if there's any...

But the African game atm is on a very low level.

...and there's not much time before the WC.

Meanwhile, in an earlier post above,

txj wrote: Sat Jan 15, 2022 3:48 pm
Has zero to do with time. Many of the top African teams have been together for more than 3yrs: Senegal, CAM, ALG, MOR, NGR, CIV, EGY, Burkina, Mali, etc. Even the smaller sides- CPV, Ethiopia, etc
:???: :???: :???: :???:

Kabalega wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 7:45 pm

The key issue IMO is about players committing 100% to the team game and coaches having the time to develop and enforce this.

- To ball movement, with minimal touches. And then using space and the 1/2 touch to advance the ball and rotate players into position to build overloads, rather than the dribble run, which relies almost completely on overcoming in 1v1 situations.

Has zero to do with time. Many of the top African teams have been together for more than 3yrs: Senegal, CAM, ALG, MOR, NGR, CIV, EGY, Burkina, Mali, etc. Even the smaller sides- CPV, Ethiopia, etc
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Kabalega wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 7:45 pm

Nothing contradictory in the above.

The 2nd statement was a general comment.
And the 1st was specific
I cited the time the top African teams have had to resolve this.

Take Nigeria for instance. Rohr had 5yrs to resolve this.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Bigpokey24 wrote: Mon Jan 17, 2022 6:15 pm are you watching African football... did you just see the goal Cape Verde scored.. you people still refuse to open una eyes.. I am talking to txj, Scorpio , Oloye etc

Told them BigP, told them truthings the grumpy lot :thumbs:

The problem is not even that African teams are poor in attack.

The problem may be in the majority of the philosophy that fans and management clamour for.

I happened to pop into the Nigeria thread the other day few days ago, and your new caretaker coach was talking tactics, and he mentioned the criteria that he uses to choose his players, tall over 6ft, strong, fast, and then with technique.
I don't remember with which order he mentioned those qualities.
That is pretty much the norm in Africa.
There is very little place for the flair players and it has always been like that, so don't be surprised with the so called low scoring, how can you score many goals when you favour fast strong giants.

Barcelona was dominating and scoring loads of goals with flair midgets

We can actually look at this thing in another way if we want to be mischievous, and say actually African teams are showing defensive solidity, and the keepers are wonderful.

As in that the tactics are set up to not concede

benteke wrote: Tue Jan 18, 2022 8:51 am We can actually look at this thing in another way if we want to be mischievous, and say actually African teams are showing defensive solidity, and the keepers are wonderful.

As in that the tactics are set up to not concede
We can be even more mischievous and ask why this so-called defensive solidity is almost nonexistent when African teams play other teams(teams with better attacking quality) at the World Cup.

Scopio , match day three done finish, do you still want me to count the goals? Abi you and the others were to quick to condemn attacking football from our flagship touney from mama Africa? :o

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:00 pm Scopio , match day three done finish, do you still want me to count the goals? Abi you and the others were to quick to condemn attacking football from our flagship touney from mama Africa? :o
So explain how a whole African champion has only 1 goal in 3 games? :mrgreen:

Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:02 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:00 pm Scopio , match day three done finish, do you still want me to count the goals? Abi you and the others were to quick to condemn attacking football from our flagship touney from mama Africa? :o
oboy no make me count the goals ooo :rotf:

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:04 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:02 pm
oboy no make me count the goals ooo :rotf:
Please keep your calculator handy for the WC. Let's count the African goals then :laugh:

We are talking about Afcon

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:28 pm We are talking about Afcon
No we are not. Read the first post on the thread again. There is a larger point being made about African attacking

Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:39 pm
No we are not. Read the first post on the thread again. There is a larger point being made about African attacking
this so called fictitious notion about African attacking ,is it based on Today or you are focused on past events of yester-years?

Bigpokey24 wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 8:03 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Thu Jan 20, 2022 7:39 pm
this so called fictitious notion about African attacking ,is it based on Today or you are focused on past events of yester-years?
Based on the past World Cup where exactly 0 African teams advanced from the 1st round