[AFCON 2021 QF #3] Egypt 2(Salah, Trezeguet) Morocco 1(Boufal, PK) FT

Re: [AFCON 2021 QF #3] Egypt 1(Salah) Morocco 1(Boufal, PK)

Odas wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:09 pm
txj wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:07 pm Gabasky finally leaving
Surprised he was allowed to remain for this long
Sometimes people recover from such injury and do well till the end of the game. So, ...

Not with a groin injury

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: [AFCON 2021 QF #3] Egypt 2(Salah, Trezeguet) Morocco 1(Boufal, PK)

What a move by Salah…

2-1 Egypt

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Salah did all the work and laid it on a silver plate for Trezeguet. Reminds me of how Nacho set up Sadiq against Guinea Bissau

I won't lie I envy Egypt, they are the quintessential definition of "No be who first call Police dey win case" from struggling badly against Nigeria to now having one foot in the SF... what a turn around

A Mane v Salah final looks like a possibility still then. :D

Now Morocco is in trouble. Let's see what Morocco does. But if I were Egypt, I will keep 11 players behind the ball and ONLY counter as opening becomes available. Fingers crossed.

theDunamis wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:14 pm A Mane v Salah final looks like a possibility still then. :D
Don't tell Jurgen Klopp :lol:

Salah has played a blinder in this match!

theDunamis wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:14 pm A Mane v Salah final looks like a possibility still then. :D
That's a possibility, remember one of Mane or Salah won't be going to the world cup

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:14 pm
It could have been worse for Klopp. They could have been missing during even more important games. With the international break and FA Cup matches, I think he lucked out at a bit in the end.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:14 pm I won't lie I envy Egypt, they are the quintessential definition of "No be who first call Police dey win case" from struggling badly against Nigeria to now having one foot in the SF... what a turn around
WC 2010 First Round

Switzerland 1 Spain 0

WC 2010 Final

Spain 1 Netherlands 0

Good foul by the Egyptian player

theDunamis wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:17 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:14 pm
It could have been worse for Klopp. They could have been missing during even more important games. With the international break and FA Cup matches, I think he lucked at a bit in the end.
He sure did. Even more so if they both escape injury.

Bad defending by Abdou

Hmm, that was close to being penalty against Egypt.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:17 pm Good foul by the Egyptian player
nah

The other Egyptian keepers on the bench are scared for the young GK in goal :rotf:

King Futcha wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:19 pm
nah
I mean that was better than giving the Moroccan a chance at goal

Morocco will regret not testing the injured keeper.

This is one of the few good games I have watched in this AFCON tournament. A cracker, it really is.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:19 pm
nah
debatable it gave a great free kick specialist a chance at goal, but i see your point.

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:19 pm
nah
I think it was a good foul. At least, it wasn't in the 18-meter box
Last edited by Odas on Sun Jan 30, 2022 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Egypt for a third goal