Senegal won their first AFCON cup but AFRICA actually won

visieC
Senegal won their first AFCON cup but AFRICA actually won

Post by visieC »

Gentlemen:

Please be objective. Keep national passion to the corner.

1. The level of African soccer had risen.

2. The strategy and game plan is now respected with very few high scoring games.

3. There are no sure victories

4. Football is not mathematics.. See Egypt that NAIJA tortured...beating Cameroon , Morrocco and almost neating Senegal

5. Nigeria is a very good team but certainly not invincible like eagle fans believe. Senegal and Algeria are not the hype they tout in the press.

6. Midfield and defense wins games not attack

7. A players age don't matter as long as they can produce.

8. Ibn sum, I am very impressed...though Cameroon lost..I am still happy and pray one of our African teams pass the quaters!

Visie Cameroon
Re: Senegal won their first AFCON cup but AFRICA actually won

9. Ghana will take her anger on Naija

I'm very very happy that Senegal won but I can't agree with the OP on the quality improvement. African soccer needs to improve on technical execution. Crossing quality was mostly abysmal. Free kick and set piece quality was mostly poor throughout, with a few notable exceptions like CIV and Cameroun.

8 0-0 draws in this AFCON. That must be a record for a major tournament. Even the widely hated 1990 WC (2.21 Goals per game) did not have as many 0-0 draws. This AFCON had 1.88 goals per game at last check.

Senegal 0–0 Guinea
Malawi 0–0 Senegal
Sudan 0–0 Guinea-Bissau
Algeria 0–0 Sierra Leone
Ivory Coast 0–0 (a.e.t.) Egypt
Mali 0–0 (a.e.t.) Equatorial Guinea
Cameroon 0–0 (a.e.t.) Egypt
Senegal 0–0 (a.e.t.) Egypt

On the bright side teams like Senegal and Egypt defended as well as anybody in the world. We look forward to WC qualifiers and the WC.

10. Football is not about anger but individual and collective skills and technicalities otherwise Kenya go don vex qualify for world cup and Andre Ayew go don win Ballon D'Or not Kenkey D'Or.

visieC

Post by visieC »

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Feb 06, 2022 11:34 pm I'm very very happy that Senegal won but I can't agree with the OP on the quality improvement. African soccer needs to improve on technical execution. Crossing quality was mostly abysmal. Free kick quality was mostly poor throughout. Set pieces the same, with a few notable exceptions like Cameroun.

8 0-0 draws in this AFCON. That must be a record for a major tournament. Even the widely hated 1990 WC (2.21 Goals per game) did not have as many 0-0 draws. This AFCON had 1.88 goals per game at last check.

Senegal 0–0 Guinea
Malawi 0–0 Senegal
Sudan 0–0 Guinea-Bissau
Algeria 0–0 Sierra Leone
Ivory Coast 0–0 (a.e.t.) Egypt
Mali 0–0 (a.e.t.) Equatorial Guinea
Cameroon 0–0 (a.e.t.) Egypt
Senegal 0–0 (a.e.t.) Egypt

On the bright side teams like Senegal and Egypt defended as well as anybody in the world. We look forward to WC qualifiers and the WC.
ScipioAfricanus:

I appreciate your differing slant to my pointers.
I agree that our set plays (our as in Africans) were not on par to Europeans and Latinos.

Most of the freekicks Europeans have near the eighteen is a good chance to convert. We do not have that .

We need to train free kickers. We do n't have as a continent...mayb Mahrez .

I wish the best teams win and I am praying for a complete 5 sub-saharan teams...no North Africans this time.

This was a very boring final...The third place was more fun and exciting.

My biggest take from the tournament is that we (Africa) proved to the ever racist European media that we don't need their useless meddlesome inputs to run our football affairs, amisdt the Covid-19 and omicron hitches and of course few mishaps here and there, the tournament was largely a success.

visieC wrote: Sun Feb 06, 2022 10:53 pm Gentlemen:

2. The strategy and game plan is now respected with very few high scoring games.

4. Football is not mathematics.. See Egypt that NAIJA tortured...beating Cameroon , Morrocco and almost neating Senegal

5. Nigeria is a very good team but certainly not invincible like eagle fans believe. Senegal and Algeria are not the hype they tout in the press.

8. Ibn sum, I am very impressed...though Cameroon lost..I am still happy and pray one of our African teams pass the quaters!

Visie Cameroon
Absolutely i agree.
The defensive organisation of AFCON teams is very good.
Unfortunately some naughty people interpret that to be poor attacking play and lack of goals :sneaky: :mrgreen:
How wrong they are

there were 3 lovely goals from Free kicks, Comoros, Morocco all had great dead ball specialist, not to talk of the Gambian who hit the post 3 times

Visie Cameroon
Most people agree with your summation except, of course, the loudmouths who were pissed that Rohr got canned. I don’t think any SuperEagles fan believes they are invincible but they are a good bet on any given day. Many fans were disgruntled at the lack of imaginative football coming from Rohr’s teams but Eguavoen got them playing the beautiful game once again.

Even the very best teams in the world emphasize defensive organization. You’re not going to win many games without that; Nigeria’s loss to Tunisia proves that❗️

YemiBrazil wrote: Sun Feb 06, 2022 11:39 pm 10. Football is not about anger but individual and collective skills and technicalities otherwise Kenya go don vex qualify for world cup and Andre Ayew go don win Ballon D'Or not Kenkey D'Or.
Wicked man :lol:

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 3:29 am

Visie Cameroon
Most people agree with your summation except, of course, the loudmouths who were pissed that Rohr got canned. I don’t think any SuperEagles fan believes they are invincible but they are a good bet on any given day. Many fans were disgruntled at the lack of imaginative football coming from Rohr’s teams but Eguavoen got them playing the beautiful game once again.

Even the very best teams in the world emphasize defensive organization. You’re not going to win many games without that; Nigeria’s loss to Tunisia proves that❗️

So we didn’t have defensive organisation and conceeded only 1 goal in 4 matches from open play?

gochino wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 9:54 am

Visie Cameroon

So we didn’t have defensive organisation and conceeded only 1 goal in 4 matches from open play?
We obviously didn’t have it on that particular day. Forget the big-time gaffe by Okoye. Our defense failed to close down the goal scorer. Do you call that defensive organization❓❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 12:59 pm

Visie Cameroon

We obviously didn’t have it on that particular day. Forget the big-time gaffe by Okoye. Our defense failed to close down the goal scorer. Do you call that defensive organization❓❗️

So how many goal scoring opportunities did Tunisia have on that particular day? About 2 chances, even the goal wasn't a 100% percent clear chance, these things happen in tournaments, but to say that we were defensively disorganised in this tournament or even in that match is totally wrong!

gochino wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 2:00 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 12:59 pm

Visie Cameroon

So how many goal scoring opportunities did Tunisia have on that particular day? About 2 chances, even the goal wasn't a 100% percent clear chance, these things happen in tournaments, but to say that we were defensively disorganised in this tournament or even in that match is totally wrong!
The fact that they didn’t have many scoring chances but still out-scored us is proof that our defense broke down. By the way, don’t be so closed-minded as to think that your one in a hundred opinion is better than others. Do yourself a favor and don’t be like txj and others❗️