That Mendy save...

...no not the penalty. The one in the 116th minute. That was the save of the tournament for me. For multiple reasons.

It came at a time when there were so many tired legs and closing down opponents, breaking play sequences and blocking shots were no longer happening at the right quality or frequency. A time when concentration joins wobbly legs in waning and before you know it there is one capitalist who summons his wealthier legs and focus to unleash a clear and ferocious shot on goal. Tournament on the line...

One thing and one thing only can save a team at that point -- a top-notch goalkeeper who stayed alert behind his tired defense and draws on his skills, reflex, quality and experience to make a very decisive save.

For a couple of seconds, Mendy remains on his knees. He knew what just happened. And the defense in front of him knew very well too as they cast WTF-looks at each other. They had almost lost it all in the space of 20 seconds had it not been for their top-notch goalkeeper. :clap: :clap: :clap: :clap:
Re: That Mendy save...

That was some superb reflex as well

...I agree about the Mendy's 116th mins save, he was alert.
Noting from the camera behind him how he was looking, searching, anticipating a shot.
Just like the early second half goal against Okoye and SE vs Egypt, goalie was not alert to or anticipated a shot from that distance.

There is indeed something special about Edou Mendy. All the accolades aren't just happenstance.

Yeah it was something special.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

It was a good save but he was also indecisive in two occasion that could have resulted in goal.
azuka

Post by azuka »

Yeah he saved it, but that was a shot directed at him. That's not taking anything from Mendy though who i believe is the best Goalie today in Europe.

kalani JR wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 1:18 pm Yeah it was something special.
hmmm

mcal wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 12:16 pm ...I agree about the Mendy's 116th mins save, he was alert.
Noting from the camera behind him how he was looking, searching, anticipating a shot.
Just like the early second half goal against Okoye and SE vs Egypt, goalie was not alert to or anticipated a shot from that distance.
Good save, however Okoye will also easily keep that out.

YemiBrazil wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 4:29 pm
mcal wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 12:16 pm ...I agree about the Mendy's 116th mins save, he was alert.
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:

azuka wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 2:59 pm Yeah he saved it, but that was a shot directed at him. That's not taking anything from Mendy though who i believe is the best Goalie today in Europe.
The feeble shot directed at our own Keeper we shouldn't blame for not saving it nko?

Mendy, is a special player.

azuka

Post by azuka »

Cellular wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 5:14 pm
azuka wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 2:59 pm Yeah he saved it, but that was a shot directed at him. That's not taking anything from Mendy though who i believe is the best Goalie today in Europe.
The feeble shot directed at our own Keeper we shouldn't blame for not saving it nko?

A feeble shot? A shot that swerved mid-air isn't a feeble shot. Just yesterday Athletics Madrid goalie, one of the best in the game could not a save a near similar shot from Barca player. And note the yesterday shot never swerve in mid air.

...could be. The closer the ball and striker the more a goalie anticipate.
Mendy's save was very close vs Okoye's miles away.

I remember Alioum Boukar going a whole tournament without conceding a goal. What's the guy on Twitter talking about?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

azuka wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 5:26 pm
Cellular wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 5:14 pm

A feeble shot? A shot that swerved mid-air isn't a feeble shot. Just yesterday Athletics Madrid goalie, one of the best in the game could not a save a near similar shot from Barca player. And note the yesterday shot never swerve in mid air.
Which goal was that? I hope you don’t mean the Dani Alves one, then you are being very disingenuous…a bullet shot in the box vs one from 30 yards like come on guys…

bamenda boy wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 9:45 pm I remember Alioum Boukar going a whole tournament without conceding a goal. What's the guy on Twitter talking about?
He is saying Mendy is the only GK to keep a clean sheet in both a CL final and an AFCON final. Of course, that factoid ignores how many keepers have even reached the finals of both competitions.
chopachop

Post by chopachop »

theDunamis wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 11:37 pm
bamenda boy wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 9:45 pm I remember Alioum Boukar going a whole tournament without conceding a goal. What's the guy on Twitter talking about?
He is saying Mendy is the only GK to keep a clean sheet in both a CL final and an AFCON final. Of course, that factoid ignores how many keepers have even reached the finals of both competitions.
And how many have played in a CL and AFCON ?

Undertaker wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 4:57 pm
:roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll: :roll:
:lol: Well, we are naturally disappointed but Maduka Okoye no be moimoi goalkeeper bros

Watch some of his saves here especially the following timestamps:
0:11
0:51
1:14
1:26
2:34
3:11
Yes, they don't tell the full story but he made those saves in competitive professional football. Mendy has his own fail compilation too highlighting his bad office days and it's loaded.

This same Okoye? Dude was already inside his own net before a shot was even taken, forget that the shot was right at him…dudes a poor GK

Last edited by maceo4 on Tue Feb 08, 2022 4:26 am, edited 1 time in total.

chopachop wrote: Tue Feb 08, 2022 12:00 amAnd how many have played in a CL and AFCON ?
I would imagine that is part of the point he was making.

balo wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 1:09 pm There is indeed something special about Edou Mendy. All the accolades aren't just happenstance.
Biko help me to tell dem. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Can "we" please be objective?
Mendy is a good goalie but that shot was straight at him.
Many other goalies would have saved it, too.

There is a serious bias towards EPL/Euro based players.

ohsee wrote: Tue Feb 08, 2022 5:14 am
balo wrote: Mon Feb 07, 2022 1:09 pm There is indeed something special about Edou Mendy. All the accolades aren't just happenstance.
Biko help me to tell dem. :thumbs: :thumbs: :thumbs:

Dem don hear am, my big boss.