Mancity must let pep go

Dude is nothing but a spend spend manager

Re: Mancity must let pep go

Fortunately they have enough to spend spend spend.

Yes, Manchester City are the only club that spends money. Every other club gets their players for free.

@Piff, it’s call Naijitc thinking, “One’s success is a produce of their surrounding”. Guardiola’s achievements are formalities given his workings solely amongst the upper echelons. When last did he take a Crapingham Rovers to the pinnacle of Europe? When last did he procure a bungling oath from the Vauxhall Conference and transform him into a ten time Balon d’Orite? Comparative advantage is the overriding objective of all the behemoths in the battle royal of football’s elite. No matter how slender, how subtle. In truth, does it differ in any sport? Do Mercedes invite engineers from Innosons to build the beast beneath the bonnet for Lewis Hamilton? Does a champion boxer ask the local agbero to lead their curriculum in the sweet science? Better begets best, more often than not.

In the case of Haaland, if City didn’t get him and a rival did, comparative advantage is lost. In the boardrooms where bespoke pinstriped suit sporting big wigs toasts dividends, no one gives a sh*t about Naijitics. There’s much more to it.

In a nutshell “Not every seed shot sires the soil”. Give the same hand to another, the results are seldom the same.

Coach wrote: Wed May 18, 2022 10:02 am @Piff, it’s call Naijitc thinking, “One’s success is a produce of their surrounding”. Guardiola’s achievements are formalities given his workings solely amongst the upper echelons. When last did he take a Crapingham Rovers to the pinnacle of Europe? When last did he procure a bungling oath from the Vauxhall Conference and transform him into a ten time Balon d’Orite? Comparative advantage is the overriding objective of all the behemoths in the battle royal of football’s elite. No matter how slender, how subtle. In truth, does it differ in any sport? Do Mercedes invite engineers from Innosons to build the beast beneath the bonnet for Lewis Hamilton? Does a champion boxer ask the local agbero to lead their curriculum in the sweet science? Better begets best, more often than not.

In the case of Haaland, if City didn’t get him and a rival did, comparative advantage is lost. In the boardrooms where bespoke pinstriped suit sporting big wigs toasts dividends, no one gives a sh*t about Naijitics. There’s much more to it.

In a nutshell “Not every seed shot sires the soil”. Give the same hand to another, the results are seldom the same.
Well by that logic then Messi can't be one of the greatest players of all time because he didn't play for Stoke or Wigan and take them to the heights and win trophies. I have no idea why the footballing world is so upset at Man City and PSG and are quick to bring up their spending when Madrid were spending for years before them (galactico era), Man United have been spending even recently (beating out City to the likes of Sanchez, Fred, etc.). BigPokey supports Chelsea yet he forgot his club were the original sugar daddy club that were spending like no tomorrow that got them into the upper echelons of football. Man City have played all season without a striker, they don't have a LB instead they use Zinchenko (a midfielder) and Cancelo (who's a natural RB) and yet they've done well and if they win this weekend they'll be champions again.

Overt Arab ownership.

This brings up the issue again of,
What makes a successful team, the players or the coach?
Everyone loves to win but reality indicates that in any true competition,
there will be a lone winner. Which is why only unrealistic fans want their
coaches fired after only a few game losses or missed trophies.
I'm sure those Arsenal fans wanting Arteta fired after ten matches in the
current EPL season are now less agitated.

Mr. Piffington wrote: Wed May 18, 2022 2:09 pm
Coach wrote: Wed May 18, 2022 10:02 am @Piff, it’s call Naijitc thinking, “One’s success is a produce of their surrounding”. Guardiola’s achievements are formalities given his workings solely amongst the upper echelons. When last did he take a Crapingham Rovers to the pinnacle of Europe? When last did he procure a bungling oath from the Vauxhall Conference and transform him into a ten time Balon d’Orite? Comparative advantage is the overriding objective of all the behemoths in the battle royal of football’s elite. No matter how slender, how subtle. In truth, does it differ in any sport? Do Mercedes invite engineers from Innosons to build the beast beneath the bonnet for Lewis Hamilton? Does a champion boxer ask the local agbero to lead their curriculum in the sweet science? Better begets best, more often than not.

Well by that logic then Messi can't be one of the greatest players of all time because he didn't play for Stoke or Wigan and take them to the heights and win trophies. I have no idea why the footballing world is so upset at Man City and PSG and are quick to bring up their spending when Madrid were spending for years before them (galactico era), Man United have been spending even recently (beating out City to the likes of Sanchez, Fred, etc.). BigPokey supports Chelsea yet he forgot his club were the original sugar daddy club that were spending like no tomorrow that got them into the upper echelons of football. Man City have played all season without a striker, they don't have a LB instead they use Zinchenko (a midfielder) and Cancelo (who's a natural RB) and yet they've done well and if they win this weekend they'll be champions again.
Its because the subvert the competitive balance of the game.

You cite the fullbacks Cancelo and Zinchenko.

To arrive at his current fullbacks, he spent 250mp. Just to get it right in the fullback positions...

That's in the realm of fantasy football...

Contrast this with Klopp who spent 8m for Robertson, 7m for Tsimikas and developed Trent from the academy (with Conor Bradley, a Northern Ireland international coming thru) , producing in the process 3 world class fullbacks for a whopping 15MP!

Pe's a brilliant manager and one of the great coaching minds in the game. But he's long since transitioned from advancing the game....

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

txj wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 7:35 pm

To arrive at his current fullbacks, he spent 250mp. Just to get it right in the fullback positions...

Contrast this with Klopp who spent 8m for Robertson, 7m for Tsimikas and developed Trent from the academy (with Conor Bradley, a Northern Ireland international coming thru) , producing in the process 3 world class fullbacks for a whopping 15MP!

Pe's a brilliant manager and one of the great coaching minds in the game. But he's long since transitioned from advancing the game....
Chief I think you need to do your research. Cancelo and Zinchenko did not cost that much combined. He bought Mendy that barely featured but has since used Fabian Delph and Zinchenko in those positions, both of whom aren't natural LBs. This season he played without a striker, I wonder what the excuse for that will be.
GG of G

Post by GG of G »

Not playing a striker is by you. He floods the middle to keep a stranglehold on the game and play 95% possession football. Jesus is a striker but he won't get a run.

I seriously have mad respect for Kloop. I looked at his squad and the 2nd team he trudged out against Southampton and wondered how many of those would get Man city C team, imagine James Milner, Tmiskas etc.
"Do not be Misled. God is not one to be mocked. Whatever a man is sowing, this he will also reap." Gal 6:7

Swings and roundabouts. Phil Foden is the same age as Curtis Jones. One will go to the World Cup, one will play World Cup on FIFA. Advocates of either will find feathers for their favoured’s cap. As some do with fullbacks, others do with midfielders. Fabinho, Thiago, Keita, all upwards of 30 million…In all honesty, Liverpool much like City, became the imperial outfit of today, once they brought the cash out.

Success doesn’t come cheap.

Coach wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 8:54 pm Swings and roundabouts. Phil Foden is the same age as Curtis Jones. One will go to the World Cup, one will play World Cup on FIFA. Advocates of either will find feathers for their favoured’s cap. As some do with fullbacks, others do with midfielders. Fabinho, Thiago, Keita, all upwards of 30 million…In all honesty, Liverpool much like City, became the imperial outfit of today, once they brought the cash out.

Thiago was £20m. But anyway several teams have spent more than Liverpool in recent years and have less to show for it. Paying for a resource and knowing what to do with it to make it successful are two separate things.

Correct. 20m. Fabinho 40 odd. Big Naby somewhere in the 50s. Chequebooks open left, right and centre. It’s their birthright.

Coach wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 9:35 pm Correct. 20m. Fabinho 40 odd. Big Naby somewhere in the 50s. Chequebooks open left, right and centre. It’s their birthright.

True it doesn't come cheap, but its the financial doping that enables you sign a Nolito for about 30m and then simply give him away when it does not work.

1.032 billion euros since taking over. That's an incentive not to bother with finding football solutions and simply to coach at the fantasy level of football.

LFC has spent money and big, cus it truly does not come cheap. So has Bayern and Juve and Inter.
But that is a different level we are talking about wrt City...
Last edited by txj on Thu May 19, 2022 11:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Mr. Piffington wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 8:07 pm

Chief I think you need to do your research. Cancelo and Zinchenko did not cost that much combined. He bought Mendy that barely featured but has since used Fabian Delph and Zinchenko in those positions, both of whom aren't natural LBs. This season he played without a striker, I wonder what the excuse for that will be.

Danilo
Walker
Mendy
Cancelo
Delph CM/LB

That is after selling the following: Zabaleta, Sagna, Kolarov and Clichy

Big Andy Carroll

GG of G wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 8:25 pm Not playing a striker is by you. He floods the middle to keep a stranglehold on the game and play 95% possession football. Jesus is a striker but he won't get a run.

I seriously have mad respect for Kloop. I looked at his squad and the 2nd team he trudged out against Southampton and wondered how many of those would get Man city C team, imagine James Milner, Tmiskas etc.
And the excuses will keep pouring in. Okay, he floods the midfield, if it were that simple more teams will be doing it but they don't.

Coach wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 8:54 pm Swings and roundabouts. Phil Foden is the same age as Curtis Jones. One will go to the World Cup, one will play World Cup on FIFA. Advocates of either will find feathers for their favoured’s cap. As some do with fullbacks, others do with midfielders. Fabinho, Thiago, Keita, all upwards of 30 million…In all honesty, Liverpool much like City, became the imperial outfit of today, once they brought the cash out.

Yup. Some people almost make it seem like it's only City that pays for players while poor old Liverpool gets their for free.

txj wrote: Thu May 19, 2022 11:28 pm

Danilo
Walker
Mendy
Cancelo
Delph CM/LB

Danilo isn't on the team, he hardly featured the year he was there. Mendy played a total of like 5 games before he tore his acl, after which he hardly featured and wasn't instrumental to their success. Zabaleta, Sagna, Kolarov, and Clichy were all out of contract.

Delph and Zinchenko aren't LBs but he played both there with success.

Mr. Piffington wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 7:25 pm

Danilo
Walker
Mendy
Cancelo
Delph CM/LB

Danilo isn't on the team, he hardly featured the year he was there. Mendy played a total of like 5 games before he tore his acl, after which he hardly featured and wasn't instrumental to their success. Zabaleta, Sagna, Kolarov, and Clichy were all out of contract.

I'm not talking about contribution. I'm talking about cost.

Between Danilo, Cancelo, Walker and Mendy, Pep spent 250mp to arrive at his fullbacks.

txj wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 7:43 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: Wed May 25, 2022 7:25 pm

Danilo
Walker
Mendy
Cancelo
Delph CM/LB

I'm not talking about contribution. I'm talking about cost.

Between Danilo, Cancelo, Walker and Mendy, Pep spent 250mp to arrive at his fullbacks.
I'm talking about utility. My point is that I don't understand people talking about cost when most of them aren't even utilized.

Alex “Ohsee” Oxlade Chamberlain. Had forgotten he existed. Trial and error.

Like Danfo said ,Pep is a check book master,dud have spend a billion on player just at Man City....