Re: The Arsenal FC - Related News and Devts for 2022-23 Season

azuka

Post by azuka »

Yeah last season didn't quite turn out well as expected. But then we are Gooners and we dream and hope for a better season this term around.
And as the club kicks off it's recruitment for the next season, we likewise kick-off our support for our great team.

https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/footb ... tract.html
Arsenal announce a deal to sign Brazilian star Marquinhos (no, not that one...) from Sao Paulo to kickstart their summer transfer business, as director of football Edu looks to further Mikel Arteta's youth project
Arsenal have begun their summer business by signing young star Marquinhos
The forward has arrived from Sao Paulo, signing a long-term deal with the club
Marquinhos, 19, has made 33 senior appearances in total for the Brazilian outfit
Gunners technical director Edu is now relishing watching the wonderkid 'grow'
By DANIEL DAVIS FOR MAILONLINE

PUBLISHED: 11:14 EDT, 13 June 2022 | UPDATED: 12:07 EDT, 13 June 2022

shares

View comments
Arsenal have announced the signing of young forward Marquinhos from Sao Paulo on a 'long-term' contract, their first official arrival in the summer transfer window.

Marquinhos, 19, progressed through the academy with the Brazilian side and made his first-team debut last July. He has made 33 senior appearances in total.

The highly-rated starlet will now jet to London in the coming weeks to join up with his new team-mates for pre-season training, as he bids to impress Mikel Arteta.

Arsenal have kickstarted their transfer business by signing Marquinhos from Sao Paulo
+3
View gallery
Arsenal have kickstarted their transfer business by signing Marquinhos from Sao Paulo

RELATED ARTICLES
Previous
Next

Youri Tielemans remains unfazed by speculation over his...

Matteo Guendouzi reveals he wants William Saliba to stay at...

Arsenal join race for Marco Asensio as the Gunners 'contact...

Fulham 'are in talks to sign Arsenal's Bernd Leno' as Marco...
SHARE THIS ARTICLE
1.1k shares
Sportsmail previously revealed Arsenal were in talks with Sao Paulo over the switch.

It was reported the wonderkid was keen to make the move, and his club were keen to reach an agreement rather than risk losing him for free when his contract ran out.

READ MORE

Marquinhos penned a five-year deal in 2019, but FIFA refused to accept it as he was underage when signing. That means the terms are valid for just three years.

Sao Paulo looked to convince him to stay with an extension, which he turned down.

The young forward (R) has penned a long-term deal after a fee worth around £3m was reached
+3
View gallery
The young forward (R) has penned a long-term deal after a fee worth around £3m was reached

Arsenal are understood to have been offering around £2.9million for the player.

Wolves and Atletico Madrid were also interested, but the Gunners have won the race.

Technical director Edu told Arsenal.com: 'We're delighted to have completed the transfer with Sao Paulo, as Marquinhos was a player we had been watching for a while. At 19, he is still very young, so he is a player for the future.

'We look forward to Marquinhos now joining us for pre-season, making his new home, and continuing to grow and develop with us.'

Technical director Edu (left) has looked to help Mikel Arteta (right) continue his youth project
+3
View gallery
Technical director Edu (left) has looked to help Mikel Arteta (right) continue his youth project
Once a Gooner always a Gooner. Let's go guys.

C-U-R-S-E-D

Hope to Heaven this ain’t true but big rumors floating around that the Totts have agreed a fee for Bissouma. Surely we can’t let this happen. The man has been campaigning to come to the Emirates. This would be very very bad.

Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 3:25 pm Hope to Heaven this ain’t true but big rumors floating around that the Totts have agreed a fee for Bissouma. Surely we can’t let this happen. The man has been campaigning to come to the Emirates. This would be very very bad.
Re: Re: The Arsenal FC - Related News and Devts for 2022-23 Season

Edu and Arteta have already botched the transfer season.
YB was the transfer we should’ve made from Brighton
last season to form an African Wall in the middle. Which would’ve given Saliba time and space to grow as a center back in the EPL. We didn’t need Ben White who is so overrated. It was a no brainer move with Chaka flirting with Mourinho @ Roma.
Allowing YB to go to Totts is a seismic shift in the balance of power. He will enable Conte more latitude in unleashing Kane and Son. This is so bad …

To think that we could solve our midfield problems for 50 mill (price for Tielemans and Bissouma) which is close to what we paid for Xhaka and El Neny, and we are still stuttering around, is so mind blowing.
Both players for that price, as their contracts, are winding down, is daylight robbery. Why we ain’t breaking limbs to get that done makes no damn sense.
Hope we are not back to the Wenger days of stuttering and stumbling through the transfer window.
Bissouma and Hoiberg is a scary spine for Conte to use

Not convinced that Arteta can take us to CL. Hopefully, the board will shine eye at the end of the season and show him the door.

However, not holding my breath seeing his contract has been renewed. This signals to me that Arsenal's board is not interested in being competitive.

Kigbasaram.

danfo driver wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 6:26 pm
Sleaky72 wrote: Tue Jun 14, 2022 3:25 pm Hope to Heaven this ain’t true but big rumors floating around that the Totts have agreed a fee for Bissouma. Surely we can’t let this happen. The man has been campaigning to come to the Emirates. This would be very very bad.

DD why you come wicked like this wetin we do you eh ? you secret arsenal fan come dey yab your club like this . and dont tell me that lie say na only super eugus you dey support. I know deep down you are an arsenal fan.

cchinukw wrote: Wed Jun 15, 2022 7:15 pm Not convinced that Arteta can take us to CL. Hopefully, the board will shine eye at the end of the season and show him the door.

However, not holding my breath seeing his contract has been renewed. This signals to me that Arsenal's board is not interested in being competitive.

Kigbasaram.

The owners never had that intention they wanted a cheap young coach they could control and steadily get better with the team ( bootstrapping ) . They miscalculate because Arteta will move on when he is that good. If they think he will get good and stay with them penny pinching they are jokers.

Arsenal transfers: Fabio Vieira to join from Porto in $42 million deal as Gunners beat Tottenham to youngster
Vieira is due for his medical at Arsenal on Friday

James Benge

By James Benge
1 hr ago

1 min read
fabio-vieira.jpg
Getty Images
Arsenal are set to sign creative midfielder Fabio Vieira from Porto, sources tell CBS Sports. The Gunners will pay an initial $36.8 million (€35m) for the 22-year-old talent, who had the fourth most assists in the Portuguese league last season. Subject to clauses in the deal -- related to his appearances and whether his new side qualify for the Champions League -- that fee could rise to $42m for Vieira, who had also been linked to Tottenham and Manchester United. Arsenal moved swiftly to secure his services, and the youngster is expected to undergo a medical in north London on Friday.

In 39 appearances for Porto this season (just 19 of which were starts), Vieira provided 16 assists and scored seven goals, averaging 1.15 goals and assists per 90 minutes in the Primeira Liga. He has 21 caps for Portugal's Under-21s and has scored 13 times, winning player of the tournament at the 2021 U-21 Euros.

According to Wyscout data, Vieira ranked top in the Portuguese league last season for progressive passes per 90 minutes and total assists (13). His average of two chances created per 90 was the fourth highest tally in the division. Five of Vieira's assists came to Mehdi Taremi. Notably he also ranks highly on pressing metrics, a key priority for Mikel Arteta in his forward line. Vieira averaged the sixth most counter-pressing recoveries and fourth most recoveries in the final third last season.

Generally deployed on the right flank or as an attacking midfielder by Porto boss Sergio Conceicao, Vieira has also spent time playing in more advanced positions and has even been used as a wing back on both flanks. That versatility holds significant appeal to Arsenal manager Arteta, who wants to add depth across his squad in addition to strengthening the starting XI in central midfield and at striker. Only 13 players registered over 1200 Premier League minutes for the club last season, and with a season in the Europa League ahead of them, further bench options are required at the Emirates Stadium.

"as Gunners beat Tottenham to youngster" :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Talk about being a parody of a club. :rotf: :rotf: Imagine feeding journalists a lie so that their fanbase can feel moral victory, after losing out on Bissouma. :rotf:

You coudnt compete with Tottenham, who got a premier league level midfielder for 25m, while you have gone to splash 40 something million on another Lokonga. :lol: :lol:

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:44 pm "as Gunners beat Tottenham to youngster" :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Talk about being a parody of a club. :rotf: :rotf: Imagine feeding journalists a lie so that their fanbase can feel moral victory, after losing out on Bissouma. :rotf:

You coudnt compete with Tottenham, who got a premier league level midfielder for 25m, while you have gone to splash 40 something million on another Lokonga. :lol: :lol:
2 of the finest indigenous coaches Nigeria ever had lost in a space of 4 days. Dear Lord, is this a sign that you are taking away from us what we failed to appreciate? I pray for forgiveness of our sins. I pray for the humility to recognize our wrongs and the humbleness and wisdom to right our ways.

danfo driver wrote: Thu Jun 16, 2022 10:44 pm "as Gunners beat Tottenham to youngster" :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

I thought it was 29.9M to rise to 35 with add-ons
The Portuguese club released a statement saying Arsenal would pay an initial 35m euros (£29.9m) for Vieira with the rest in potential add-ons.
Tottenham have completed the signing of 25-year old Mali midfielder Yves Bissouma from Brighton on a four-year deal worth £25m plus add-ons.
Are you making ish up again? :sneaky:

azuka

Post by azuka »

For once you missed the trick on this. This guy is more of a goal threat than Bissouma. His stats as an attacking player last season makes a lot of sense why Arsenal went for him. And given we did not score enough goals last season one can understand the reasoning behind this.

And remember when Saliba comes onboard, what stops Arteta from moving Ben White to play the base of the midfield. He played there before with Leeds.

azuka wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 8:31 pm

For once you missed the trick on this. This guy is more of a goal threat than Bissouma. His stats as an attacking player last season makes a lot of sense why Arsenal went for him. And given we did not score enough goals last season one can understand the reasoning behind this.

And remember when Saliba comes onboard, what stops Arteta from moving Ben White to play the base of the midfield. He played there before with Leeds.
In the primary 5 league? Remember when I warned you guys about putting so much hope on Lokonga?

Why retire the Martian’s jersey when heir apparent Thierry Nketiah can step up to the mantle.

Crazy.. they spent 40 million on a rookie joining the epl.. and chose not to outbid spurs for a certified powerhouse of a midfielder. Funny and pathetic

So you think the other teams who finished top 4 won't improve their squads? This your post nah excuse.

Cito wrote: Fri Jun 17, 2022 5:50 pm

The Portuguese club released a statement saying Arsenal would pay an initial 35m euros (£29.9m) for Vieira with the rest in potential add-ons.
Tottenham have completed the signing of 25-year old Mali midfielder Yves Bissouma from Brighton on a four-year deal worth £25m plus add-ons.
Why parrot fake info. A assanal has spent 42 million on viera ..just like they spent 85 million on pepe

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jun 19, 2022 1:31 pm

Why parrot fake info. A assanal has spent 42 million on viera ..just like they spent 85 million on pepe
Yup fakery culled from same bbc site. Sometime you can’t help yourself but to always make statements that makes one wonder if you are this dense or just playacting.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/61840804
Vs
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/61845720

Cito wrote: Sun Jun 19, 2022 4:16 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jun 19, 2022 1:31 pm

Yup fakery culled from same bbc site. Sometime you can’t help yourself but to always make statements that makes one wonder if you are this dense or just playacting.

https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/61840804
Vs
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/61845720
stop posting fake news

Fabio Vieira to Arsenal in a 40m euro right there on the bbc

azuka

Post by azuka »

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Jun 19, 2022 1:29 pm

So you think the other teams who finished top 4 won't improve their squads? This your post nah excuse.
What's the relevance of your reply to my post?