Page 4 of 5

Re: New 3 - MC 3 - Man City getting slapped around by the toon

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:13 am
by Mr. Piffington
Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Sun Aug 21, 2022 6:30 pm Piom!!! Man City well and truly slapped! :mrgreen:
A draw at home isn't a slap homie.

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:20 am
by Mr. Piffington
kajifu wrote: ↑Sun Aug 21, 2022 7:27 pm City lucky to get anything from this game.Team need to understand that you have to take the game to City and bully them then take KDB out of the game you s tand a chance.Also a player t hat can take City back lime like Allen did today.
Uncle Pat will need to used Zaha well next week away to City,go get your draw there
The stats say otherwise homie. Newcastle were pegged back in short order by a team that wasn't even at their best playing AWAY from home. I wonder what game you guys were watching. Haaland's shot hit the post and that would have been an extra goal. City don't rely on Kevin DeBruyne either, he's one of their many options, heck they won the title in 2019 with him gone for much of the season. Bad day at the office, nothing more nothing less.

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:40 am
by wiseone
Full credit to Eddie Howe and his Newcastle players. Not one single Newcastle player is good enough to even make Man City’s bench. Yet they matched Man City for the entire game and were unfortunate not to win. That says much about Howe’s management and the competitive mentality of his players.

The surprise results so far makes this one of the most competitive and unpredictable EPL seasons ever. Fulham and Leeds (both of whom I thought would be relegated) are in the πŸ” 4! Leeds tonked Chelsea too. Meanwhile Man Utd and Liverpool just played each other in a bottom of the table clash!

I hope to see more unexpected results.

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 2:01 am
wiseone wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:40 am Full credit to Eddie Howe and his Newcastle players. Not one single Newcastle player is good enough to even make Man City’s bench. Yet they matched Man City for the entire game and were unfortunate not to win. That says much about Howe’s management and the competitive mentality of his players.

The surprise results so far makes this one of the most competitive and unpredictable EPL seasons ever. Fulham and Leeds (both of whom I thought would be relegated) are in the πŸ” 4! Leeds tonked Chelsea too. Meanwhile Man Utd and Liverpool just played each other in a bottom of the table clash!

You clearly do not know Bruno Guimares :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Neither have you watched Joelinton in midfield. :lol: Please put down the stuff you are smoking. Botman has also performed better than the likes of Stone and the crap Ake over the last 2 years.

Should I even mention Saint-Maximin?

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 2:30 am
by Mr. Piffington
wiseone wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:40 am Full credit to Eddie Howe and his Newcastle players. Not one single Newcastle player is good enough to even make Man City’s bench. Yet they matched Man City for the entire game and were unfortunate not to win. That says much about Howe’s management and the competitive mentality of his players.

How were Newcastle unfortunate not to win?

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 3:11 am
by benteke
Mr. Piffington wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:20 am
kajifu wrote: ↑Sun Aug 21, 2022 7:27 pm City lucky to get anything from this game.Team need to understand that you have to take the game to City and bully them then take KDB out of the game you s tand a chance.Also a player t hat can take City back lime like Allen did today.
Uncle Pat will need to used Zaha well next week away to City,go get your draw there
The stats say otherwise homie. Newcastle were pegged back in short order by a team that wasn't even at their best playing AWAY from home. I wonder what game you guys were watching. Haaland's shot hit the post and that would have been an extra goal. City don't rely on Kevin DeBruyne either, he's one of their many options, heck they won the title in 2019 with him gone for much of the season. Bad day at the office, nothing more nothing less.
Chief maybe you were watching the game with a bias.
The number of times Newcastle was opening City up at will, no wonder people are saying City was slapped apart.
Those stats can deceive.
Every time Newcastle got the ball and went forward with St Maximin, it was panic stations for City.
It was actually one of the best games so far in EPL.

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 5:43 am
by wanaj0

He is suppose to be a know nothing English coach unlike the Spanish cheque book coach whose team play the ball the way it is supposed to be played.

The Man City bench likely cost more than the entire Newcastle team :taunt:

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:32 pm
by Mr. Piffington
benteke wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 3:11 am
The number of times Newcastle was opening City up at will, no wonder people are saying City was slapped apart.
Those stats can deceive.
Every time Newcastle got the ball and went forward with St Maximin, it was panic stations for City.
That's pretty much City and all of Pep's teams. They don't play on the backfoot, City carved open Newcastle far more times but because we're used to seeing it happen often it doesn't register.

I agree it was one of the best games so far but I don't buy that Newcastle were unfortunate not to win. City scored first, Newcastle scored three goals after and City put two goals in quick succession. Where was the unfortunate coming from? City dominated the stats (possession, shots on target, etc), even hit the post by a shot from Haaland, how were Newcastle unfortunate not to get a win? Newcastle were unfortunate the game ended because City were most likely going to score again. :laugh: :laugh:

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 3:51 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Mr. Piffington wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 1:32 pm
Those stats can deceive.
That's pretty much City and all of Pep's teams. They don't play on the backfoot, City carved open Newcastle far more times but because we're used to seeing it happen often it doesn't register.

I agree it was one of the best games so far but I don't buy that Newcastle were unfortunate not to win. City scored first, Newcastle scored three goals after and City put two goals in quick succession. Where was the unfortunate coming from? City dominated the stats (possession, shots on target, etc), even hit the post by a shot from Haaland, how were Newcastle unfortunate not to get a win? Newcastle were unfortunate the game ended because City were most likely going to score again. :laugh: :laugh:
Newcastle had the momentum and were unlucky not to win, but fear not. Uncle Pat won't settle for a slapping around, he will put an Iron Mike style beating on City.

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 4:07 pm
by GG of G
danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Aug 21, 2022 5:58 pm If Newcastle wants to compete at this level this season, they need to purchase well over the next two weeks. They are still missing in some top positions - ST, AM, RW

Imagine making substitutions and you gotta bring in Wood and Longstaff :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Abed Didi no kill person....me self laff when I saw the subs line up :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 4:19 pm
by Mr. Piffington
Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 3:51 pm
Those stats can deceive.

Newcastle had the momentum and were unlucky not to win, but fear not. Uncle Pat won't settle for a slapping around, he will put an Iron Mike style beating on City.
They had momentum then lost it by the end, even the look on their fans faces said it all. What game did you watch?

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 4:34 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Mr. Piffington wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 4:19 pm
Those stats can deceive.

They had momentum then lost it by the end, even the look on their fans faces said it all. What game did you watch?
Which game did I watch? The game where Man City were down 3-1 until 60' ( two thirds of the game). :laugh:

They were well and truly rattled alright. Like I said buckle up, there are some beatdowns in store for them. Maybe Arsenal will even do the honors sef.

Posted: Tue Aug 23, 2022 9:12 pm
by Mr. Piffington
Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 4:34 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 4:19 pm
Those stats can deceive.

Which game did I watch? The game where Man City were down 3-1 until 60' ( two thirds of the game). :laugh:

They were well and truly rattled alright. Like I said buckle up, there are some beatdowns in store for them. Maybe Arsenal will even do the honors sef.
Finish the story son...

City were so rattled they scored two goals in quick succession and pinned Newcastle in their own half for the rest of the match.

Posted: Wed Aug 24, 2022 12:37 pm
GG of G wrote: ↑Tue Aug 23, 2022 4:07 pm
danfo driver wrote: ↑Sun Aug 21, 2022 5:58 pm If Newcastle wants to compete at this level this season, they need to purchase well over the next two weeks. They are still missing in some top positions - ST, AM, RW

Imagine making substitutions and you gotta bring in Wood and Longstaff :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Abed Didi no kill person....me self laff when I saw the subs line up :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: wood and longstaff

Posted: Sat Aug 27, 2022 5:31 pm
by Mr. Piffington
Those stats can deceive.

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

Indeed.

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2022 6:26 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Mr. Piffington wrote: ↑Sat Aug 27, 2022 5:31 pm
Those stats can deceive.

Indeed.
Very brave of you to emerge from under your blanket after the game. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Posted: Sun Aug 28, 2022 6:31 pm
by benteke
Scipio Africanus wrote: ↑Sun Aug 28, 2022 6:26 pm
Those stats can deceive.

Indeed.
Very brave of you to emerge from under your blanket after the game. :lol: :lol: :lol:
One thing to not here is how these teams like Newcastle and Palace were easily cutting through Man City to get to the goal area.
That doesn't bode well, maybe its cos they now have Haaland and have to set up differently
But Pep is a guy who can alter tactics mid season and come with solutions.

But mmmmmmmh

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 2:22 am
by kajifu
Those stats can deceive.

City were lucky to get anything from this game,you can argue all you want,funny everyone is telling you same thing but you choose to argue,City were 3-1 down at one point.NC miss alot of chancesin the first half,with decent striker City would have been 6-1 doqn in first half.
But again you failed to see even the foul leading to see third goal poor officiating City get away.

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 6:19 pm
by Mr. Piffington
kajifu wrote: ↑Mon Aug 29, 2022 2:22 am
Those stats can deceive.

City were lucky to get anything from this game,you can argue all you want,funny everyone is telling you same thing but you choose to argue,City were 3-1 down at one point.NC miss alot of chancesin the first half,with decent striker City would have been 6-1 doqn in first half.
But again you failed to see even the foul leading to see third goal poor officiating City get away.
Uh huh...

The stats say otherwise, the actual game says otherwise. City were 3-1 down at one point but you didn't finish, what happened after 3-1? Please tell us.

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 6:21 pm
by Mr. Piffington
Those stats can deceive.

Indeed.
So what happened? I thought uncle Pat was going to put the beating "Iron Mike style"? Or where Crystal Palace unfortunate not to get something out of the game? :lol: :lol:

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 9:36 pm
by Scipio Africanus
Mr. Piffington wrote: ↑Mon Aug 29, 2022 6:21 pm

Those stats can deceive.

Indeed.
So what happened? I thought uncle Pat was going to put the beating "Iron Mike style"? Or where Crystal Palace unfortunate not to get something out of the game? :lol: :lol:
You got the latter part correct :mrgreen: and I hereby guarantee that Arsenal :thumbs: will beat Man City. Let's check back here later. :mrgreen:

Posted: Mon Aug 29, 2022 11:28 pm
by Mr. Piffington
Shifting goalposts I see.

Posted: Thu Sep 15, 2022 9:09 am
by theYemster
Gosh, Pep is such an overrated coach. He just buys and buys finished goods. Rarely coaches a player up to top talent. I've lost count of how many games he's been outcoached but bailed out by superior talent.