Manchester City charged with breaking financial rules by Premier League

Re: Manchester City charged with breaking financial rules by Premier League

The YeyeMan wrote: Tue Feb 07, 2023 2:26 am
Mr. Piffington wrote: Tue Feb 07, 2023 2:08 am
The YeyeMan wrote: Tue Feb 07, 2023 12:41 am
Mr. Piffington wrote: Mon Feb 06, 2023 7:26 pm
The YeyeMan wrote: Mon Feb 06, 2023 6:56 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: Mon Feb 06, 2023 6:25 pm Political witch hunt.
Expand....
Oga, Manchester City are spoiling market for the PL. They've been the best club in the league for a better part of a decade and yet they are not as supported as the top brands like Arsenal, United, or Chelsea. They are scared that a lot of people will start losing interest if things go on, hell I already know a lot of PL fans of the tradition clubs that are losing interest because their clubs aren't winning like they use to. Then you add the pressure of other PL clubs and this is what you get. What they did is comb through City's papers THROUGHLY and found a few bumps and are using the media to compound negative opinion on City. What will most likely happens is most of the so called charges will be dropped, few will stick and City will get a fine or a few points deduction for next season. Anything more than that and those Arabs they piss off will use their financial resources to cause damage.
Oga, "a few bumps"? - the PL found over 100 serious violations. That's more than a few bumps. The only reason they're investigating this is because this info came to light when the Portuguese hacker leaked details of City's financial irregularity to the German newspaper, Die Spiegel. A few dedicated journalists have been tracking City's brazen financial doping for years prior but nothing came of those investigations - it's been an open secret for years.

Whilst you're probably right about general disillusionment among certain fanbases, the PL is as popular as it has ever been in years.
I don't have time for alarmist headlines, did you read what those so called serious violations are? I have and there's nothing serious about it. Part of the serious violations are part of the so called details of City's financial doping were emails that were taken out of context by reporters with an agenda, this is the reason why the CAS basically threw out the case. Abeg this is a non issue, the PL simply has an agenda and its obvious.
No. CAS found the allegation fell outside UEFA's 5 year statutory limit. That's why City won the appeal. There is no such time-bar with the EPL regulations. This is not a non-issue and it's not going away.
That's not why they won the appeal, a lot of the allegations were based off accusations that were sloppy and taken out of context. This is a non issue and it will take time to go away but it eventually end with a fine.

the only thing here is history will state ,"if assanal wins the league with an Asterix ".. it will be known as a fake title challenge . I can live with that . :clap:

Mr. Piffington wrote: Tue Feb 07, 2023 2:43 am
Expand....
Oga, Manchester City are spoiling market for the PL. They've been the best club in the league for a better part of a decade and yet they are not as supported as the top brands like Arsenal, United, or Chelsea. They are scared that a lot of people will start losing interest if things go on, hell I already know a lot of PL fans of the tradition clubs that are losing interest because their clubs aren't winning like they use to. Then you add the pressure of other PL clubs and this is what you get. What they did is comb through City's papers THROUGHLY and found a few bumps and are using the media to compound negative opinion on City. What will most likely happens is most of the so called charges will be dropped, few will stick and City will get a fine or a few points deduction for next season. Anything more than that and those Arabs they piss off will use their financial resources to cause damage.
Oga, "a few bumps"? - the PL found over 100 serious violations. That's more than a few bumps. The only reason they're investigating this is because this info came to light when the Portuguese hacker leaked details of City's financial irregularity to the German newspaper, Die Spiegel. A few dedicated journalists have been tracking City's brazen financial doping for years prior but nothing came of those investigations - it's been an open secret for years.

Whilst you're probably right about general disillusionment among certain fanbases, the PL is as popular as it has ever been in years.
I don't have time for alarmist headlines, did you read what those so called serious violations are? I have and there's nothing serious about it. Part of the serious violations are part of the so called details of City's financial doping were emails that were taken out of context by reporters with an agenda, this is the reason why the CAS basically threw out the case. Abeg this is a non issue, the PL simply has an agenda and its obvious.
No. CAS found the allegation fell outside UEFA's 5 year statutory limit. That's why City won the appeal. There is no such time-bar with the EPL regulations. This is not a non-issue and it's not going away.
That's not why they won the appeal, a lot of the allegations were based off accusations that were sloppy and taken out of context. This is a non issue and it will take time to go away but it eventually end with a fine.

Clearly from your responses you are not well versed on this issue or followed it properly.

First of all, the large part of the current charge is beyond the UEFA charge which was essentially FFP based.

That UEFA charge was mostly not adjudicated to a legal conclusion as it was found that the statute of limitation had expired. City, thru a protracted process had successfully slow walked the process until time ran out.

The 2nd part of the charge was not supported by sufficient evidence b/c again City did not cooperate with the investigation- which they are entitled to. They were only fined subsequently.

But the PL has more powers/tools wrt regulating domestic football. The main charge here is wrt financial and accounting irregularities, which extends to include the FFP breach.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

How significant is this?
"This is potentially the biggest financial scandal in the Premier League's history," said Roan. "No club has ever faced such a catalogue of charges.

"If cheating is proven it would be harmful to the dominant force in the English game, to its Abu Dhabi owners, to the concept of state-owned clubs and the whole idea this is a fair competition.

"City could also lose Pep Guardiola, the manager warning last year he would resign if it turned out the club had misled him when denying breaking the rules.

"This could drag on for months and cast a long shadow over the Premier League in the process."

Maguire said: "If Man City are guilty, there have been accusations against other clubs and does this actually create a snowball?

"Certain clubs have been lobbying against Man City. Does this now create a vicious circle in the world of the Premier League where everyone is pointing fingers at each other."

In 2011 QPR escaped a points deduction but were fined £875,000 after being found guilty for breaching transfer regulations, while Leicester and Bournemouth received fines for breaching FFP rules when they won promotion to the Premier League in 2013-14 and 2014-15 respectively.

txj wrote: Tue Feb 07, 2023 6:04 pm
Expand....

Clearly from your responses you are not well versed on this issue or followed it properly.

First of all, the large part of the current charge is beyond the UEFA charge which was essentially FFP based.

That UEFA charge was mostly not adjudicated to a legal conclusion as it was found that the statute of limitation had expired. City, thru a protracted process had successfully slow walked the process until time ran out.

The 2nd part of the charge was not supported by sufficient evidence b/c again City did not cooperate with the investigation- which they are entitled to. They were only fined subsequently.

But the PL has more powers/tools wrt regulating domestic football. The main charge here is wrt financial and accounting irregularities, which extends to include the FFP breach.
There wasn't sufficient evidence upon closer scrutiny and not because City didn't cooperate with the same body that had already publicly judged it to be guilty. This statute of limitations excuses are just that...excuses.

The PL having more powers means nothing if it can't prove anything.

Mr. Piffington wrote: Tue Feb 07, 2023 9:48 pm
txj wrote: Tue Feb 07, 2023 6:04 pm

There wasn't sufficient evidence upon closer scrutiny and not because City didn't cooperate with the same body that had already publicly judged it to be guilty. This statute of limitations excuses are just that...excuses.

The PL having more powers means nothing if it can't prove anything.

There wasn't even a scrutiny in the first place, in the case of the 2nd charge because UEFA was never given cooperation in their investigation by City. The court determined that the leaked emails proved that a prima facie case existed of fraud. What UEFA could not provide was the evidence of its execution.

The substantive part of the case was the first charge, which CAS ruled to be time barred...

Time will tell if the PL can prove this, but the fact they have more powers means they can reach an investigatory level that UEFA cannot.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Expand....
'a few bumps'? Lol. You are dreaming. They have fat holes in their income statement in both the top line (revenue) and bottomline (expenses) transactions. The thing about the allegations are they are relatively easy to prove with routine audit work. It won't be a slap on the wrist given how long this has gone on (10 yrs) and City refused to cooperate in the investigations over the last 4 years.

Expand....

Lol. CAS threw out the UEFA 2yr CL ban on a technicality and not on the merits if the case. Specifically UEFA's charges where found to be time barred by the relevant statute of limitations. That's why it was threw out. In this current case of over 100 EPL charges, there is no applicable statute of limitations so they won't be able to appeal to CAS.

emm for all of una laughing at City there will be no decision made anytime soon and this could drag up to 4 years. Pep would have left city by then

green4life wrote: Fri Feb 10, 2023 3:29 am
Expand....
'a few bumps'? Lol. You are dreaming. They have fat holes in their income statement in both the top line (revenue) and bottomline (expenses) transactions. The thing about the allegations are they are relatively easy to prove with routine audit work. It won't be a slap on the wrist given how long this has gone on (10 yrs) and City refused to cooperate in the investigations over the last 4 years.

Interesting how Guardiola is trying to muddy the waters; as in 'be careful what you wish for; your club might also be doing it'...

This case if proven will show up Pep very badly....

Expand....
You want to go up against Abu Dhabi and don't think they won't take kindly to you trying to humiliate them abi? Where does it say they have fat holes in their income statement? Abeg, this is all political and if proven City won't be given nothing other than a fine and if the punishment is harsh that oil money will drag this into something else. Those Arabs have invested more than any other owner the PL has ever seen and you think they'll take kindly to just being chucked out of the PL? They better be careful not to play with fire on this one.

Mr. Piffington wrote: Sat Feb 11, 2023 9:18 pm
Expand....
You want to go up against Abu Dhabi and don't think they won't take kindly to you trying to humiliate them abi? Where does it say they have fat holes in their income statement? Abeg, this is all political and if proven City won't be given nothing other than a fine and if the punishment is harsh that oil money will drag this into something else. Those Arabs have invested more than any other owner the PL has ever seen and you think they'll take kindly to just being chucked out of the PL? They better be careful not to play with fire on this one.

Look at the charges bro...That's where its at.
Still has to be proven though...

txj wrote: Sat Feb 11, 2023 9:27 pm
Mr. Piffington wrote: Sat Feb 11, 2023 9:18 pm
Expand....

Look at the charges bro...That's where its at.
Still has to be proven though...
If proven then a fine and points deduction, anything more than that and people going to get ugly.