Rohr's Benin Republic failed to qualify for AFCON

This is a man some geniuses here consider the best coach ever for Nigeria.
Re: Rohr's Benin Republic failed to qualify for AFCON

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

So what? Benin doesn’t have quality players, sometimes they qualify others not.Rohr is still head and shoulders above the consortium.

you destroyed the man's confidence.
Shame on you!

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Sep 09, 2023 11:50 pm So what? Benin doesn’t have quality players, sometimes they qualify others not.Rohr is still head and shoulders above the consortium.
This sounds very familiar. its true what they say, when the Massa teaches his slave a song, the slave will never forget it and will repeat it forever :oops:
Last edited by danfo driver on Sun Sep 10, 2023 12:45 am, edited 1 time in total.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sat Sep 09, 2023 11:50 pm So what? Benin doesn’t have quality players, sometimes they qualify others not.Rohr is still head and shoulders above the consortium.
Benin don't have world class players but they have decent enough players at least for African standards to qualify for the AFCON, Most of their players play in low tier/decent enough clubs across Europe. Teams with lesser quality than Benin Republic managed to qualify for the AFCON. It's unbelievable how you guys hyped this junk coach to high heavens like he was the second coming of Clemens Westerhof!

Dude a Mancini lead Saudi just got spanked by Cost Rica the other day. I guess Mancini sucks as a coach.

Sometimes it doesn't really matter the coach, a team can be just poor.

Benin is not any better than Mozambique by the way.

They also failed to qualify for the last afcon.

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 12:57 am Dude a Mancini lead Saudi just got spanked by Cost Rica the other day. I guess Mancini sucks as a coach.

See logic :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Tobi17 wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 1:33 am
vancity eagle wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 12:57 am Dude a Mancini lead Saudi just got spanked by Cost Rica the other day. I guess Mancini sucks as a coach.

You do realize that Rohr took over Benin just 6 months ago. s
Do u? Half the qualifiers were already played. Sorry to bother u with facts but that’s a daunting task for any coach. :sneaky:

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 2:06 am
Tobi17 wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 1:33 am

You do realize that Rohr took over Benin just 6 months ago. s
Do u? Half the qualifiers were already played. Sorry to bother u with facts but that’s a daunting task for any coach. :sneaky:

"they dont have good players"

"half the qualifiers were already played"

What other excuses... ehm, i mean facts, would you like to bother us with to protect your loving master?

odiegwu!! :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

NEVER ABOUT THE COACH - ALWAYS ABOUT THE PLAYERS

Good players make a coach look good; bad players make the coach look bad.

Exhibit 1: Westerhof & Nigeria
Exhibit 2: Westerhof & Zimbabwe

22 March2023 AFCON qualification Benin 1–1 Rwanda Cotonou, Benin
29 March2023 AFCON qualification Rwanda 0–3 Benin Kigali, Rwanda
CAF awarded Benin a 3–0 win as a result of Rwanda fielding the ineligible player Kevin Muhire, after the match had ended in a 1–1 draw. Muhire failed to serve a one-game ban after receiving two yellow cards in the qualifying competition.[11]

17 June2023 AFCON qualification Benin 1–1 Senegal Cotonou, Benin
4 September2023 AFCON qualification Mozambique 3-2 Benin
****'s record as Benin Rep's Coach
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Sun Sep 10, 2023 3:57 am, edited 2 times in total.

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Sep 09, 2023 11:12 pm This is a man some geniuses here consider the best coach ever for Nigeria.
This has no bearing on Rohr’s quality, or lack thereof, as a coach. I strongly doubt that Pep Guardiola himself could have qualified Benin Republic with their current squad🤔❗️

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 2:32 am
22 March2023 AFCON qualification Benin 1–1 Rwanda Cotonou, Benin
29 March2023 AFCON qualification Rwanda 0–3 Benin Kigali, Rwanda

17 June2023 AFCON qualification Benin 1–1 Senegal Cotonou, Benin
4 September2023 AFCON qualification Mozambique 3-2 Benin
****'s record as Benin Rep's Coach
That is actually not a bad record for Benin.

Bell wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 2:32 am NEVER ABOUT THE COACH - ALWAYS ABOUT THE PLAYERS

Good players make a coach look good; bad players make the coach look bad.

Exhibit 1: Westerhof & Nigeria
Exhibit 2: Westerhof & Zimbabwe
What you stated here applies to a jority of football managers. It is not unlike the Bell Curve. Only a small percentage of Managers can really be good no matter what. Gernot Rohr is not and was never one of those. This was pointed out before but some here felt that Rohr was special. Yet he virtually achieved little prior to coming to Nigeria. Even with Nigeria, he achieved nothing special. Rohr is what he is -- a very average manager and that is being generous. To add to it, he is ultra focused on defensive football and I pointed this out when he was first appointed by Nigeria.

I wish him well but Nigeria had seen much better - Gloria, Keshi, Amodu, Westerhoff, Tiko. Each of the listed managers here did more with less and it was not just with SE but at clubs.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

I dont honestly see how you can say that any of Keshi, Amodu, or Westerhoff had "less"

That is just not true.

Rohr didn't even have a goalie who wasnt a basket for starters.

Rohrs team may have been deeper in certain positions but no way are his players on the level of the players those 3 coaches had to work with. No way.

Westerhoff: Yekini, Okocha, Oliseh, Amokachi, George, SSS, Amunike

Amodu: kanu, Martins, Osaze, Yobo, Odiah, Taiwo, Mikel, Obodo, Yakubu, Utaka, Aghahowa, Okocha

Keshi: Enyeama, Moses, Mikel, Onazi, Omeruo

Which players did Rohr have ?

Iwobi, Ndidi, an aging Mikel, Ighalo, a washed up Moses.

Sorry all those coached you mention had better players than Rohr. That isn't even a question.

And to think they would have used the AFCON to learn :( :(

:woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

4 matches as coach of Benin Rep, 3 draws and a loss . I expect another loss vs SA in November

vancity eagle wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 3:33 am I dont honestly see how you can say that any of Keshi, Amodu, or Westerhoff had "less"

That is just not true.

Rohr didn't even have a goalie who wasnt a basket for starters.

Rohrs team may have been deeper in certain positions but no way are his players on the level of the players those 3 coaches had to work with. No way.

Westerhoff: Yekini, Okocha, Oliseh, Amokachi, George, SSS, Amunike

Amodu: kanu, Martins, Osaze, Yobo, Odiah, Taiwo, Mikel, Obodo, Yakubu, Utaka, Aghahowa, Okocha

Keshi: Enyeama, Moses, Mikel, Onazi, Omeruo

Which players did Rohr have ?

Iwobi, Ndidi, an aging Mikel, Ighalo, a washed up Moses.

Sorry all those coached you mention had better players than Rohr. That isn't even a question.
Only reason that team won games and had some recent showings INSPITE OF Rohr was simply down to the individual quality of some players that always bailed us out (Mikel Obi, Victor Moses and a promising talent at the time like Alex Iwobi), even the washed up Ighalo you disrespect had a good goal scoring stat under Rohr. Rohr remains the most cowardly coach to ever manage a Nigerian team, I can understand being pragmatic and conservative when you have a significantly average team with little to no outstanding talents, but that team under Rohr was decent enough to do far better than they did cause that coward too obsessed with "playing it safe" rather than allow those boys express themselves on the pitch. We saw how cowardly he set up his team against various decent oppositions cause according to Rohr, "we were simply learning" OR "The other team had better players" blah blah blah...do you realize how psychologically limiting these words can be on your players? we've seen countless times how average teams shock the so called big teams simply because their manager instilled a sense of self-belief, discipline and tactical awareness to make the team play above their abilities. But with Rohr it was always a case of making us look small and helpless against top half teams, this clown was so cowardly that I'll never forgive him for how he made us look so weak against Algeria in that 2018 AFCON semi final match. Rohr is the type of coach you hire when you want to stabilize a minnow team like Sonalia, Niger republic, Seychelles etc- teams that have the least of expectations, and never a team like Nigeria that should be doing way better regardless of NFF incompetence etc

danfo driver wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 3:49 am And to think they would have used the AFCON to learn :( :(

:woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Nobody laughs at their ignorance more than you. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sun Sep 10, 2023 3:58 am 4 matches as coach of Benin Rep, 3 draws and a loss . I expect another loss vs SA in November