AFCON Squads

How did Choupo-Moting of Bayern not get selected for the Cameroon squad?

Re: AFCON Squads

Sunset wrote: Fri Dec 29, 2023 6:00 am
Haaaaaaaaaa….this guy looks older than our own resident onku 1Naira . Are they using the Chinese calendar? :laugh:

wiseone wrote: Fri Dec 29, 2023 5:54 am How did Choupo-Moting of Bayern not get selected for the Cameroon squad?

maybe because he's getting up there in an age and hasn't had a good season?

wiseone wrote: Fri Dec 29, 2023 5:54 am How did Choupo-Moting of Bayern not get selected for the Cameroon squad?

The coaching staff want continuity. Apparently, Choupo-Moting missed Cameroon’s last few games.

Song is just being petty. Choupo-Moting asked to be excused from the last friendly due to injury. Then he later played for Bayern that same weekend. I guess Song didn't appreciate that. This is a player who has been with Cameroon through thick and thin. While others were boycotting left and right, he stuck with the team.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

Are you referring to Aboubakar or Choupo-Moting?
King Futcha wrote: Fri Dec 29, 2023 2:33 pm

bamenda boy wrote: Fri Dec 29, 2023 6:54 pm

Song is just being petty. Choupo-Moting asked to be excused from the last friendly due to injury. Then he later played for Bayern that same weekend. I guess Song didn't appreciate that. This is a player who has been with Cameroon through thick and thin. While others were boycotting left and right, he stuck with the team.
Choupo seems more loyal to the team compared to Joel Matip.

wiseone wrote: Sat Dec 30, 2023 12:18 am Are you referring to Aboubakar or Choupo-Moting?
King Futcha wrote: Fri Dec 29, 2023 2:33 pm
one is older than the other at least by the record, one is the captain of the squad one is not, not sure why you brought one into the conversation when your post is about the other.

Iheanacho is an injury doubt for AFCON. Moffi (who should have been in the squad to begin with) would be the logical replacement.

Midfield will kill Naija again. We never learn.

will probably be home before the postcard but that is the perfect balance for a squad.

Ghana 🇬🇭 does not have Nigeria's strength in depth in attack, but the Ayew brothers, Inaki Williams, and Kudus will make them dangerous.