Page 1 of 2

How can we stop the Nigerian commentator on BeInsports?

Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2024 11:43 pm
by bamenda boy
Please don't tell me that's the great Bull. He is so annoying.

Re: How can we stop the Nigerian commentator on BeInsports?

Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2024 11:50 pm
by green4life
bamenda boy wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 11:43 pm Please don't tell me that's the great Bull. He is so annoying.
Haha. Actually I’ve been enjoying his commentary. Ironically I feel like he has improved over the years as a commentator.

But he’s a homer as expected when commenting on Nigeria’s games.

Posted: Thu Jan 18, 2024 11:59 pm
i have enjoyed his commentary, his positivity is a plus. With him no single tension dey grip me for our games, I hope we have him in all our games. What a legend

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 4:30 am
by greg
He just needs to talk a bit less. Otherwise commentary is ok. He was the first to say that the 1-1 result was not bad while other fans were wailing.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:26 am
by Tbite
He called that penalty quicker than lightning though. He just took one glance at it and knew.

but yeah I tuned him out for most of the game. I don't like the way his voice sounds for one, it is this grating/muffled sound without enough clarity/enunciation. It would take me too much effort to try to understand him clearly, or I would have to increase the volume.

and yes he could talk a lot less. As far as the bias goes...I hate biased commentary (even in our favour). I feel like pundits can do that a bit (with full disclosure), but with commentators it always comes off as tacky to me.

The only point of a commentator is to call the play by play and give context. If the play by play is not as it appears (due to bias) then it is pointless. Tell the fans what they are seeing, not what you want them to see.

Australians are the worst at biased commentary.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 10:14 am
by Kabalega
bamenda boy wrote: Thu Jan 18, 2024 11:43 pm Please don't tell me that's the great Bull. He is so annoying.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: I thought I was the only one. :lol: :lol:
The voice. The constant yapping. The bias. Though I’m used to worse bias here on CE. The guy needs to take lessons on when and how to talk; and how to be a color commentator.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 4:49 pm
by ANC
less annoying than the guy from Southern Africa who is always busy stating the obvious.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 4:57 pm
by mcal
Kabalega wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 10:14 am
The voice. The constant yapping. The bias. Though I’m used to worse bias here on CE. The guy needs to take lessons on when and how to talk; and how to be a color commentator.
...he is doing the job of a "color commentator". Look it up.
Only non-Nigerians will diss him, he's doing fine using a foreign language to convey :biggrin:

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:19 pm
by felarey
The commentary has been good, reminds me of watching SE on NTA back in the day. The best commentators are chatter boxes. Let them be. None has talked as much as my man Ray Hudson who has an orgasmic response to Messi's game. :lol:

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:28 pm
by Kabalega
mcal wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 4:57 pm
Only non-Nigerians will diss him, he's doing fine using a foreign language to convey :biggrin:
His is colorless commentary.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:31 pm
by mcal
Kabalega wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:28 pm
mcal wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 4:57 pm
His is colorless commentary.
...yep, to none Nigerian like you :biggrin:

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:37 pm
by wazobia
Let us support our own, he is an SE legend and has earned the right to provide the color commentary. He does bring a different perspective to the commentary. He may occasionally struggle to express himself but overall he is a great addition to the commentary team

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:42 pm
by King Futcha
i was almost done with him when he said someone was booked for consent. but he is very good (when he's not calling Nigeria games)

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:44 pm
by felarey
wazobia wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:37 pm Let us support our own, he is an SE legend and has earned the right to provide the color commentary. He does bring a different perspective to the commentary. He may occasionally struggle to express himself but overall he is a great addition to the commentary team
KPOM! Though I don't think he struggles at all. We should do things our own way. Hopefully soon we'll have our own tv setup that'll cater to africans (pidgin option) and won't have to rely on international feed like bein sports.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 6:04 pm
by green4life
I can understand a non Nigerian for having every reason to hate his commentary. I would feel similarly if Eto was calling Cameroon games or Gyan calling Ghana games. But for me as a Nigerian, e dey sweet my belle well well.

His overall expression and analysis of the game is more than good enough: definitely much better than the dross we've been flogged with from clueless England / EPL commentators.

Posted: Fri Jan 19, 2024 10:58 pm
by Kabalega
green4life wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 6:04 pm I can understand a non Nigerian for having every reason to hate his commentary. I would feel similarly if Eto was calling Cameroon games or Gyan calling Ghana games. But for me as a Nigerian, e dey sweet my belle well well.

His overall expression and analysis of the game is more than good enough: definitely much better than the dross we've been flogged with from clueless England / EPL commentators.
Let’s not sugar coat it. He yaps too much and the voice needs work. These issues have little to do with citizenry or nationality. Heck, let him talk loudly like many Nigerians. :lol:
Just have the right broadcast voice and know when to turn off the mic.

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2024 12:22 am
by Orion
Send the network an email with the exact nature of your complaint.

Just keep it professional. No ad hominems. They might pass any relevant criticisms to him.

I have no problems with constructive criticism.

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2024 4:02 am
by packerland
King Futcha wrote: Fri Jan 19, 2024 5:42 pm i was almost done with him when he said someone was booked for consent. but he is very good (when he's not calling Nigeria games)
I’m dead 😂 😂 😂 Don’t do our legend like that

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2024 4:06 am
by packerland
When he started mentioning those 80’s super eagles players, I’m like tone the homerism down bro.

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2024 10:18 am
by kendo
The comments he made here is what has half of twitter cracking up.

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2024 4:43 pm
by bamenda boy
kendo wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 10:18 am The comments he made here is what has half of twitter cracking up.
Ray Hudson used to descrive a goal as orgasmic. lol

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2024 6:58 pm
by anointed
kendo wrote: Sat Jan 20, 2024 10:18 am The comments he made here is what has half of twitter cracking up.
It's nothing new. It's been around since Gull it's days as Chelsea manager

Posted: Sat Jan 20, 2024 7:00 pm
by anointed