Can we use artificial intelligence for Football Awards?

Discuss World Football here. Continental football, International Leagues, and players.
Tbite
Eaglet
Eaglet
Can we use artificial intelligence for Football Awards?

Post by Tbite »

I am not an expert in artificial intelligence. Though I know its basic potential. I.e. I know the types of things that it can do, because I have watched classes from MIT, I know how they weight the models etc.

I also know its limitations. I know it cannot do everything (as of now).

But with football awards, what are we judging?

We want to know who contributes the best from an aggregate of matches, judged in comparison to other players. That is really within the scope of PRESENT artificial intelligence. Things like chance creation, goals, defensive interventions such as tackles, clearances, saves, it goes on and on. Even more nuanced things like 'vision', I think is within scope.

The main thing I see where there might be some difficulty might be the 'intangibles'. But then I think on it, what does the fact that some would prefer Federer over Djokovic (due to the intangibles) or the fact that I prefer Brazilian football to European football due to the intangibles have to do with anything? The thing that fans love the most about Messi is not actually his end product but the intangibles, the beauty of his game. How he carves his way through teams. But that subjectivity can simply be contained to fandom. The fact that you think that Ronaldo is more mechanical is neither here nor there. Subjectivity does not need to be incorporated into awards. That is your own personal thing that you can tell your grandma about and your gateman.

All we need to know is who is doing something useful on the pitch. Does Messi get penalised for walking on the pitch (distance covered?) when he is actually scanning the pitch? Is that a useful intangible? How many datapoints do we want?