Mauritania vs Algeria (1-0) FT( They make history)

Re: Mauritania vs Algeria (1-0) FT( They make history)

The gap has closed between the big guns and the so called minnows in African football.
Algeria despite bringing in high profile dual nationality players like Aouar, Ait-Nouri etc, have found the going difficult. They’re not helped by an aging and out of shape Mahrez, who seems to have lost his appetite for high level football after moving to Saudi Arabia.
Gambia had a plan under the former dictator which started from the U17 to the U20 and gradual progression to the national team with many of the players further developing in Europe. This has been evidenced by the visibility of Gambia in recent AFCONs. I hope they still have a plan in place after the exit of the dictator.
Also, a lot of these countries are tapping into the diaspora with Lusophone countries like Mozambique, Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau etc tapping into their large number of eligible players in Portugal. This has made the teams more competitive and closed the gap on the higher profile teams
Last edited by Dammy on Wed Jan 24, 2024 5:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Dammy wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 11:13 am The gap has closed between the big guns and the so called minnows in African football.
Algeria despite bringing in high profile dual nationality players like Aouar, Al- etc, have found the going difficult. They’re not helped by an aging and out of shape Mahrez, who seems to have lost his appetite for high level football after moving to Saudi Arabia.
Gambia had a plan under the former dictator which started from the U17 to the U20 and gradual progression to the national team with many of the players further developing in Europe. This has been evidenced by the visibility of Gambia in recent AFCONs. I hope they still have a plan in place after the exit of the dictator.
Also, a lot of these countries are tapping into the diaspora with Lusophone countries like Mozambique, Angola, Cape Verde, Guinea Bissau etc tapping into their large number of eligible players in Portugal. This has made the teams more competitive and closed the gap on the higher profile teams
...still a wrong move, when these players have had it it will be time to blame who? Just a temporary fix.
The same nonsense is being suggested for Nigeria, to look outside. Africans need to grow their local league and talents.

mcal wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 1:27 pm
Dammy wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 11:13 am The gap has closed between the big guns and the so called minnows in African football.
Algeria despite bringing in high profile dual nationality players like Aouar, Al- etc, have found the going difficult. They’re not helped by an aging and out of shape Mahrez, who seems to have lost his appetite for high level football after moving to Saudi Arabia.
...still a wrong move, when these players have had it it will be time to blame who? Just a temporary fix.
The same nonsense is being suggested for Nigeria, to look outside. Africans need to grow their local league and talents.
I don't disagree with the sentiment of developing our league but how is using diasporan players a temporary fix? There will always be countries with a huge diasporan population.

Ghana just sacked Chris Hughton, which is understandable.

Algeria was "humiliated" in a similar fashion. Finishing dead last in a group with only 2nd-tier and 3rd-tier teams as competition. If Djamel Belmadi gets sacked, then it would indicate that they were taking the AFCON super seriously and see the performance of the team as a true reflection of its current form. If it's all serious, there would be no reason whatsoever to keep the coach on. African teams don't mess around in such situations. They love firing coaches! If they don't dismiss the coach, then they don't see the performance of the team as cause for alarm. Let's wait and see.

Orion wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 2:20 pm Ghana just sacked Chris Hughton, which is understandable.

Algeria was "humiliated" in a similar fashion. Finishing dead last in a group with only 2nd-tier and 3rd-tier teams as competition. If Djamel Belmadi gets sacked, then it would indicate that they were taking the AFCON super seriously and see the performance of the team as a true reflection of its current form. If it's all serious, there would be no reason whatsoever to keep the coach on. African teams don't mess around in such situations. They love firing coaches! If they don't dismiss the coach, then they don't see the performance of the team as cause for alarm. Let's wait and see.
JDjamal Belmadi has already resigned.
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

bamenda boy wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 2:47 pm
Orion wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 2:20 pm Ghana just sacked Chris Hughton, which is understandable.

Source?

Orion wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 2:50 pm

Source?
The news is all over the place bro.

https://see.news/belmadi-resigns-after- ... ay-reports
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

bamenda boy wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 2:56 pm

Source?

I'm not seeing it on any major site yet. But if true, it would indicate the showing was at least a major embarrassment for them. But it still doesn't indicate the players took the competition seriously.

Coach wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 10:02 am Mahrez is collecting big cash at club level to throw a step over, cut inside, play a slide-rule pass and track back with the commitment of the 1990s Seleção’s Romario after two wraps of pounded yam washed down with odeku. Large.

On a wider scale, the quality at the top is regressing and that at the bottom giving chase. The perfect storm for a frivolously exciting AfCON, end to end like NBA jam, packed full of bonkers and all the trimmings.

That is the absolute bottom line!

While one must laud the work being put in by the 2nd tier sides- they absolutely deserve their results, there is very little doubt that the top African teams are in poor shape. Just look at Nigeria, Cameroon, CIV, Algeria, Egypt, Maroc, etc; all playing the same wishy-washy football...

The net result of this is happy-happy football tournament, plenty of flash brothers moments, but little in the way of modern and proper tactical organization outside Cape Verde and Senegal...

True, quality of football will always suffer in such heat and humidity, but AFCON's been poor for a long, long time...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

:dream: :blink: :rotf: :rotf:

You sound like an apologist for the poor performance of Les Fennecs. But even the Algerians aren't saying that their players were disinterested. They are being realistic by acknowledging that many of their players are over the hill.
Orion wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 3:05 pm

Source?

I'm not seeing it on any major site yet. But if true, it would indicate the showing was at least a major embarrassment for them. But it still doesn't indicate the players took the competition seriously.

Enough of the self denigrating talk.

This AFCON has been awesome for sure. The quality of football and refereeing have all improved.

I believe that other teams have improved a lot and have closed the gap. It has nothing to do with the top teams regresing. Morocco were in the WC semis just a few months ago

txj wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 3:19 pm
Coach wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 10:02 am Mahrez is collecting big cash at club level to throw a step over, cut inside, play a slide-rule pass and track back with the commitment of the 1990s Seleção’s Romario after two wraps of pounded yam washed down with odeku. Large.

On a wider scale, the quality at the top is regressing and that at the bottom giving chase. The perfect storm for a frivolously exciting AfCON, end to end like NBA jam, packed full of bonkers and all the trimmings.

While one must laud the work being put in by the 2nd tier sides- they absolutely deserve their results, there is very little doubt that the top African teams are in poor shape. Just look at Nigeria, Cameroon, CIV, Algeria, Egypt, Maroc, etc; all playing the same wishy-washy football...

The net result of this is happy-happy football tournament, plenty of flash brothers moments, but little in the way of modern and proper tactical organization outside Cape Verde and Senegal...

True, quality of football will always suffer in such heat and humidity, but AFCON's been poor for a long, long time...

its remarkable. I dont know what possesses the black man to always die on the cross for the white man. CIV, Nigeria and Ghana have been crap, but this fellow has not provided the same excuses for them. I wonder why.
YUJAM wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 3:23 pm :dream: :blink: :rotf: :rotf:

You sound like an apologist for the poor performance of Les Fennecs. But even the Algerians aren't saying that their players were disinterested. They are being realistic by acknowledging that many of their players are over the hill.

Source?

Two things can be true.

- tactically, I am shocked how poor the teams have been.
- its been a fantastic and entertaining tournament. Much better than the Asia cup so far and would probably be better than Copa America sef
YUJAM wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 3:28 pm Enough of the self denigrating talk.

This AFCON has been awesome for sure. The quality of football and refereeing have all improved.

I believe that other teams have improved a lot and have closed the gap. It has nothing to do with the top teams regresing. Morocco were in the WC semis just a few months ago

Have you guys realized teams with Domestic coaches are doing way better than those journey men? I know that Herve Renard was not just there to enjoy the Afcon. He is eyeing someone's job.
Last edited by bamenda boy on Wed Jan 24, 2024 4:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Actually, I'm a realist. I can't even imagine how a thinking person can believe Mauritania is now better than Algeria. You must have to jump through some incredible hoops to believe that. My observations didn't just come from this AFCON. I've seen the pattern going back decades.

bamenda boy wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 3:38 pm Have you guys realized trans with Domestic coaches are doing way better than those journey men? I know that Herve Renard was not just there to enjoy the Afcon. He is eyeing someone's job.
Na wa o! Wetin dey your mind?

Orion wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 3:40 pm

Actually, I'm a realist. I can't even imagine how a thinking person can believe Mauritania is now better than Algeria. You must have to jump through some incredible hoops to believe that.
I am sorry, but do you understand football? I dont know if Mauritania is better than Algeria, but we watched the game and Mauritania outperformed Algeria IN THIS GAME! That is how football works! There are games like the CIV v EQG game, where CIV was the better performing team, but lost. This was not the case here Mauritania outplayed them completely and should have scored more. This is a fact! Additionally, Algeria fought! They didnt throw the game away, like you are trying to say - for whatever reason. The competed and Mauritania was better on the day and dealt with them!
My observations didn't just come from this AFCON. I've seen the pattern going back decades.

Tobi17 wrote: Tue Jan 23, 2024 11:02 pm Our boogey teams are slowly going out: Algeria, Ghana, and to some extent Guinea...hopefully we handle business against Cameroon and we might have a chance.
Aren’t they the biggest bogey team

YUJAM wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 3:28 pm Enough of the self denigrating talk.

The highlights have been the high quality of officiating and the improvement of the so called Minnows. They’ve frankly been the story of the tournament

Source?

I hope you have seen the videos online of Algerian fans attacking their team in the hotel.
This shows the passion of Algeria for this competition.

danfo driver wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 4:12 pm
Orion wrote: Wed Jan 24, 2024 3:40 pm

Actually, I'm a realist. I can't even imagine how a thinking person can believe Mauritania is now better than Algeria. You must have to jump through some incredible hoops to believe that.
I am sorry, but do you understand football? I dont know if Mauritania is better than Algeria, but we watched the game and Mauritania outperformed Algeria IN THIS GAME! That is how football works! There are games like the CIV v EQG game, where CIV was the better performing team, but lost. This was not the case here Mauritania outplayed them completely and should have scored more. This is a fact! Additionally, Algeria fought! They didnt throw the game away, like you are trying to say - for whatever reason. The competed and Mauritania was better on the day and dealt with them!
My observations didn't just come from this AFCON. I've seen the pattern going back decades.
Who said they threw the game? :roll:

In football, the difference between 95% commitment and 100% commitment can make the difference between winning or losing.

The speed of VAR decisions too, very commendable. No drawn out etchasketch, well done.

Orion,

If North Africans are not serious about the competition and Egypt has won 7 times I wonder how many they would win serious

Algeria was doing their best, they weren't good enough