Mali (1) vahsus Côte d'Ivoire (2) FT(AET). CIV otumokpo take them to semis

Re: Mali (1) vahsus Côte d'Ivoire (2) FT(AET). CIV otumokpo take them to semis

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:48 pm
King Futcha wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:47 pm ref pushed the man then red carded him
What's the point of the red card when Mali are already out :rotf:
Are you sure you know how football works? :shock:

Oga, that one na proverbial medicine after death.
Otitokoro wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:49 pm As captain, he was asking the ref why no extra time (beyond the 1 min) was provided, considering all the changes and stoppages that occured.
Things got out of hand when the ref, being the complete jackass that he was, decided to lay his hands on the Malian captain and shove him. The Malian captain never touched the ref - it was the ref that was the aggressor and then decided to cap it with issuing a red card to the Malian captain.

That ref should be sanctioned. His actions were reprehensible and an absolute disgrace!
gosh wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:39 pm The Malian captain is a dumbass... What the hell was he attacking the ref for? Was it the last minute corner kick the ref did not allow? You played 11 vs. 10 almost all game + 30 minutes extra time. You even wasted a pk to boot. Not too many people on the African continent or around the world will feel sorry for you. In fact you were very wasteful and poor considering your 1 man (and later 2 man) advantage. How many more "breaks" do you need to be given to win a game?

No! It wasn't the case.
Go watch the exchange again.
YUJAM wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:51 pm Nah. The player pushed him first
danfo driver wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:50 pm it was actually the arrogant ref who put his hand on the player??!!! This is why i said these north african refs need serious beating.

Mali should not accept any ban! The ref was the one who assaulted the player!
King Futcha wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:47 pm ref pushed the man then red carded him

danfo driver wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:50 pm it was actually the arrogant ref who put his hand on the player??!!! This is why i said these north african refs need serious beating.

The player was walking towards him like he wasn’t there.

Ref stood his ground. Lino should’ve raised his flag and called them all offside. End of.
gosh

Post by gosh »

Otitokoro wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:49 pm As captain, he was asking the ref why no extra time (beyond the 1 min) was provided, considering all the changes and stoppages that occured.
Things got out of hand when the ref, being the complete jackass that he was, decided to lay his hands on the Malian captain and shove him. The Malian captain never touched the ref - it was the ref that was the aggressor and then decided to cap it with issuing a red card to the Malian captain.

That ref should be sanctioned. His actions were reprehensible and an absolute disgrace!
gosh wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:39 pm The Malian captain is a dumbass... What the hell was he attacking the ref for? Was it the last minute corner kick the ref did not allow? You played 11 vs. 10 almost all game + 30 minutes extra time. You even wasted a pk to boot. Not too many people on the African continent or around the world will feel sorry for you. In fact you were very wasteful and poor considering your 1 man (and later 2 man) advantage. How many more "breaks" do you need to be given to win a game?
The Malian captain rushed him (even though he barely touched the ref). The ref pushed him to back off because he was getting too close in his face. Rightly or wrongly, in many instances when a player does that a ref will feel threatened and issue a card.
Last edited by gosh on Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:58 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Whatever you are chasing is also chasing you!

This type of loss can spiral into a series of losses for Mali.

I watched it clearly. Hamari pushed him first
Otitokoro wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:53 pm No! It wasn't the case.
Go watch the exchange again.

One will assume, after pouring water over ESC's head, they broke the empty bottle over it too.

If he bumped into the ref, then the ref could have given him a straight red.
However, the ref was the one who initiated the aggression, by laying his hands on the player.
The ref had no right to do that. None, whatsoever.
gosh wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:56 pm

The Malian captain rushed him (even though he did not touch the ref). The ref pushed him to back off because he was getting too close in his face. Rightly or wrongly, in many instances when a player does that a ref will feel threatened and issue a card.
panafrican

Post by panafrican »

I couldn't have said it better !
The indomitable lions ; Africa's best team ever.
gosh

Post by gosh »

Otitokoro wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:58 pm If he bumped into the ref, then the ref could have given him a straight red.
However, the ref was the one who initiated the aggression, by laying his hands on the player.

The Malian captain rushed him (even though he did not touch the ref). The ref pushed him to back off because he was getting too close in his face. Rightly or wrongly, in many instances when a player does that a ref will feel threatened and issue a card.
Dude, the player was way too close in the ref's face for comfort. So he had to push him to back off.
Last edited by gosh on Sat Feb 03, 2024 9:05 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Whatever you are chasing is also chasing you!

I thought he was pissed they didn't get a chance to take the corner.

All this one una dey talk, all i know is that this was a great missed opportunity. They should have let the Malians deal with the ref and giving him the beating of his life. These North African refs have dealt with us, even in this tournament, we have seen pepper from them. Absolutely missed opportunity

Coach wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:58 pm One will assume, after pouring water over ESC's head, they broke the empty bottle over it too.

SURELY YOU CANNOT BE SERIOUS!

YOU COULD NOT POSSIBLY BE SERIOUS!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Otitokoro wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:58 pm If he bumped into the ref, then the ref could have given him a straight red.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

See no way the ref can be at fault. A player is supposed to be courteous and polite (very hard to do sometimes) when addressing the ref. Regardless of who pushed first, there's enough in there for the ref to make representations of what made him push back if he's charged (unlikely) to exonerate himself. But the player was clearly the aggressor. As a neutral perhaps he should have allowed them to take the corner but extra time is not a given.

Coach wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 8:58 pm One will assume, after pouring water over ESC's head, they broke the empty bottle over it too.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Be nice...

Why did the ref push him?
Only two things in life are certain - death and taxes. But there is one other unpleasant certainty: criticism. No one escapes it entirely and often our careers, our emotional stability, even our happiness depends on how we react to it."By Benjamin Franklin"

felarey wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 9:09 pm See no way the ref can be at fault. A player is supposed to be courteous and polite (very hard to do sometimes) when addressing the ref. Regardless of who pushed first, there's enough in there for the ref to make representations of what made him push back if he's charged (unlikely) to exonerate himself. But the player was clearly the aggressor. As a neutral perhaps he should have allowed them to take the corner but extra time is not a given.
If it were a black Ref and the Mali was say Morocco or Egypt they would have jacked the ref up. The Malian player did nothing wrong. It was the stupid ref that started shoving. These North African refs are trash.

joga bonito from Cabo Verde

Mali and Tottenham star Yves Bissouma has 'been playing with malaria' at AFCON as Mali coach confirms it has been affecting the midfielder all tournament
https://www.dailymail.co.uk/sport/faceb ... ament.html