Cape Verde vs South Africa (0-0) PK SA wins 2-1

Re: Cape Verde vs South Africa (0-0) PK SA wins 2-1

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:42 pm This has to be some kind of record for a keeper saving 4 PKs in a single shootout. 4!!!

It's sick!!! Wow!
Re: Cape Verde vs South Africa (0-0)

...that kid is a winch. SE better go all out to win in regulation

Williams! 4 pk saves. Take a bow!

SylverEagles wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:41 pm Ok, we don't want to go to PKs with SA with this keeper.
absolutely not! We cant afford that.

Their defense is not good at all. Morocco and CV should have put 4-5 passed them. We simply need to take our chances. Thats it!

Previous two shoot outs with a total of zero goalkeeper saves... Williams alone with 4! And wasn't that far away from the 5th.

Ayo 10 pointers on how he will beat SA…uploading

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:41 pm Did Bafana just win a Pk shootout with the score of 2-1? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Me sef, I no undastand-ooo! So we are playing South Africa next, eh? Ok-ooooo!

theDunamis wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:43 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:42 pm This has to be some kind of record for a keeper saving 4 PKs in a single shootout. 4!!!

It's sick!!! Wow!
Kai! Wetin my eyes just see?! :woot: :woot: Abeg someone contact Guiness Book of World records!

Odas wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:45 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:41 pm Did Bafana just win a Pk shootout with the score of 2-1? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Me sef, I no undastand-ooo! So we are playing South Africa next, eh? Ok-ooooo!
Na so e be o, my broda!

danfo driver wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:44 pm
SylverEagles wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:41 pm Ok, we don't want to go to PKs with SA with this keeper.
absolutely not! We cant afford that.

Their defense is not good at all. Morocco and CV should have put 4-5 passed them. We simply need to take our chances. Thats it!
Morocco is still wondering how they were eliminated. We need to be clinical with our chances to avoid unnecessary drama.

That was some Bruce Wayne level goal keeping from Rowen Williams. Stuff of heroes for sure

To be honest the PKS from Cape Verde were horrible . Both teams were bad at PKs, however the goalie was class

I had thought Cape Verde will win this their natch against South Africa.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:50 pm To be honest the PKS from Cape Verde were horrible . Both teams were bad at PKs, however the goalie was class
Maybe the players were badly tired and so, their legs could barely suport them. Anyway, hopefully we will win South Africa when the day comes

Cape Verde are woeful at penalties.
Tame shots, No variance to their run to the ball. Poor placement. I don’t think they prepared for them and had no pena street smarts either.
The last guy was even crying before taking it.

Beb should not have taken the first one because he made some poor judgement decisions at the end of the game. Fatigue? A niggling injury? Don’t know but he shouldn’t not have taken the first one.

On the other hand, S. Africa had subbed off some of their top penalty takers.

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Feb 03, 2024 11:50 pm To be honest the PKS from Cape Verde were horrible . Both teams were bad at PKs, however the goalie was class
One of those penalties was good, two of those penalties were okish, one was poor.

Those weren't horrible penalties. Not special, but Williams knew what he was doing & purposefully waited instead of committing.

To be honest I prefer meeting South Africa.

Great win by SA. Congratulations

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 12:06 am To be honest I prefer meeting South Africa.
They’re on the same level though I preferred CV only because we have history with SA and they will get up to play us like they did against Morocco. No wahala sha.

What time is our game and where?
Hoping its not the first game...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

green4life wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 12:53 am
Scipio Africanus wrote: Sun Feb 04, 2024 12:06 am To be honest I prefer meeting South Africa.
They’re on the same level though I preferred CV only because we have history with SA and they will get up to play us like they did against Morocco. No wahala sha.
Exactly why I want to meet them. We have the psychological edge. Plus we will definitely get chances against that defense of theirs. Cape Verde for some reason makes(made) me uneasy.

WHAT DID ALL THE MISSED PK's HAVE IN COMMON?

Other than the one the SA guy blasted over the bar, all the other PK's were taken by the players using one foot but placing the ball on the opposite side of his body. For example, the player would shoot with the right foot but direct the ball to his left side. Even the one saved by the CV keeper was shot by the SA player with the left foot and the ball directed to his right. When players shoot that way there is a certain amount of reduction in the power behind the ball.