South Africa vs Dr Congo (0-0) 5-4 SA wins

Formation: 4-3-3
1 Ronwen Williams
20 Khuliso Mudau
5 Siyanda Xulu
19 Nkosinathi Sibisi
6 Aubrey Modiba
4 Teboho Mokoena
11 Themba Zwane
13 Sphephelo Sithole
21 Mihlali Mayambela
9 Evidence Makgopa
23 Thapelo Morena

Formation: 4-3-3
16 Dimitry Bertaud
4 Brian Bayeye
22 Chancel Mbemba
5 Dylan Batubinsika
12 Joris Kayembe Ditu
7 Grady Diangana
8 Samuel Moutoussamy
6 Aaron Tshibola
10 Théo Bongonda
23 Simon Banza
11 Silas Katompa Mvumpa
Last edited by Bigpokey24 on Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:59 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Re: South Africa vs Dr Congo (0-0)

This is what SA they do, the two CBs spreads to the corners of the edge of their 18, then their goalie in the center , they just pass the ball back and forth . All of a sudden one long ball down the middle ( very pointless and boring) Dr Congo is just waiting for them.

what a threaded pass, but Silas couldn't finish

SA seems to be hoping for another penalty shoot-out. Lots of possession but no shot on goal.

Kai.... u dey his by yasef at HT. Wetin dey happen? Is Williams saving everything?

South Africa will definitely pass themselves to stupor, a team that can do the intricate 1-2 passes and build up play well yet can't finish to save their lives...hope this will be the case when we meet them again in June for the WCQ.

Tobi17 wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 9:50 pm South Africa will definitely pass themselves to stupor, a team that can do the intricate 1-2 passes and build up play well yet can't finish to save their lives...hope this will be the case when we meet them again in June for the WCQ.
honestly, they magically improved against SE.
I am still trying to understand, how they were able to play better than per usual

Both sides dont deserve to win this game, so entertaining but no one can take a shot without laying an egg first

nah real wah for Dr congo and misses

Congo DR has been wasteful all tournament. They should be 4-0 up

after watching this, i am excited about the WCQ in June

DRC strikers have a confidence problem, they are looking for the perfect shot

I can't count hw many tmes the commentator has said "he should have buried that" all through the second half especially

so many chances wasted by Dr COngo

DR Congo so much the better team

Re: South Africa vs Dr Congo (0-0) ET

Straight to Penalties, no extra time, just as well

straight to PKs no ET..so the last 3 matches for SA have all ended in draws

Missed. again

DRC scores

ANC wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:00 pm
Tobi17 wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 9:50 pm South Africa will definitely pass themselves to stupor, a team that can do the intricate 1-2 passes and build up play well yet can't finish to save their lives...hope this will be the case when we meet them again in June for the WCQ.
honestly, they magically improved against SE.
I am still trying to understand, how they were able to play better than per usual
Don't forget that every team playing the SE sees it as an opportunity to prove something.
Thus they want to be the 'giant killer'. The lackluster of this third-place match by SA gives
credence to that.

Williams doesnt seem to have the shine today on Penalties

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:29 pm after watching this, i am excited about the WCQ in June
Hmm, be careful about that, Bigpokey24. In case you've forgotten, all teams play differently and very determined whenever they are playing us, so ...

Spoke too soon :D

akamoke wrote: Sat Feb 10, 2024 10:45 pm Straight to Penalties, no extra time, just as well
I forgot that is the rule, but still, I wonder why such is the case, though. Why not let the teams play the extra time, before the penalty shootouts?