Dortmund 1 PSG 0

Re: Dortmund 1 PSG 0

Vitinha is growing to be one of the top CMs in the game...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

One sentence to describe this game: A cornucopia of missed opportunities

Scipio Africanus wrote: Wed May 01, 2024 9:27 pm One sentence to describe this game: A cornucopia of missed opportunities
...hitting the goal post 2x in a space of seconds. PSG will be having sleepless nights till return match.

txj wrote: Wed May 01, 2024 9:20 pm What a miss by Dembele.

Need to replace Adeyemi...
...the kid is a speedster, a good player but headless chicken at times, like one time SE player Pius Ikeda...great speed.

How poorly educated can someone be. Speaks about "one sentence," and then goes on to write a phrase. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: When the brain is full of sawdust, it cant function. :oops:

Bebop is here! Rocksteady AKA BigPuPu is not far behind :woot: :woot: :woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Bepob, AKA Doonfo Dooriver. Phrase this Image

:woot: :woot: :woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

mcal wrote: Wed May 01, 2024 11:30 pm
txj wrote: Wed May 01, 2024 9:20 pm What a miss by Dembele.

Need to replace Adeyemi...
...the kid is a speedster, a good player but headless chicken at times, like one time SE player Pius Ikeda...great speed.

Unbelievable defensive work from him last night...
He is learning and improving...If he gets it right, he'll be devastating with that speed...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

danfo driver wrote: Thu May 02, 2024 5:42 am How poorly educated can someone be. Speaks about "one sentence," and then goes on to write a phrase. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: When the brain is full of sawdust, it cant function. :oops:
Spot the irony. Affirmative action beneficiary like you. :woot: :woot: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

In other news Sancho balled in that game ! why cant he play like that every time he is on the pitch ? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Re: Dortmund 1 PSG 0 (2-0) FT

4UCK PSG! Glad they are out!! :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Last edited by Undertaker on Wed May 08, 2024 5:37 pm, edited 1 time in total.

...Dortmund with a gritty masterclass match today. PSG tried but gods of football as they say was against them on both legs.

mcal wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 9:33 pm ...Dortmund with a gritty masterclass match today. PSG tried but gods of football as they say was against them on both legs.
[/quote

Because they had no business being in the semi-finals! PSG got lucky with a 10 men Barcelona!

Undertaker wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 9:46 pm [quote=mcal post_id=5977101 time=<a href="tel:1715114007">1715114007</a> user_id=100124]
...Dortmund with a gritty masterclass match today. PSG tried but gods of football as they say was against them on both legs.
[/quote

Because they had no business being in the semi-finals! PSG got lucky with a 10 men Barcelona!
KPOM! Not good enough. BTW, Barça could have won it with 10 men but they stopped playing and gave it away. Look at their last few games.

mcal wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 9:33 pm ...Dortmund with a gritty masterclass match today. PSG tried but gods of football as they say was against them on both legs.
:100: :thumbs: I thought they would tire at the end of the first leg and concede but didn’t. They withstood even a more intense onslaught at the end of the second leg. That is very difficult to do at any level. This is the stuff of champions. :thumbs: :thumbs:

Kabalega wrote: Wed May 08, 2024 12:14 am
Undertaker wrote: Tue May 07, 2024 9:46 pm [quote=mcal post_id=5977101 time=<a href="tel:1715114007">1715114007</a> user_id=100124]
[/quote

KPOM! Not good enough. BTW, Barça could have won it with 10 men but they stopped playing and gave it away. Look at their last few games.
In football you need some luck sometimes. PSG outplayed Dortmund in Paris. I would like to see how that Dortmund defense can cope against a team like Real in a one game setting.

joplass wrote: Wed May 08, 2024 2:46 pm
[/quote

In football you need some luck sometimes. PSG outplayed Dortmund in Paris. I would like to see how that Dortmund defense can cope against a team like Real in a one game setting.

You make it sound as if it came down to luck...It didn't!

Did they ride their luck? Heck yeah!!!

But it came down mostly to how well they played in the defensive phase, and the ability to transition from that phase with calmness and clarity..

The defensive game in Paris was a masterclass, notwithstanding the help from the goal post/bar... :D

Rather simply deploy men towards Mbappe, they opted primarily to cut his supply line in certain zones. Note the defensive shadowing of Vitinha by Brandt, who was excellent.

In the first leg, they ran 9kms MORE than PSG...Look also at how Adeyemi was used defensively. I think he came of age over these two games...

[/quote

Real Madrid will have to go past Bayern Munich, first. :P

Somehow, Dortmund seem to attract more luck than PSG. They were outplayed by Atletico Madrid in the first leg then bounced back in the 2nd leg. Lucky?

In the group stages, they won away at Newcastle’s cathedral, and AC Milan’s San Siro. Lucky?
Dortmund held their ground against PSG for two games and won away in Paris. Lucky? Maybe, but I wouldn’t want to bet against a team that lucky.

Dortmund’s defenders did not make serious mistakes under pressure, especially at the end of games?
That is difficult to do. Ask Arsenal’s or Bayern’s defense how difficult it is to play under that pressure and not make a serious mistake.

If Dortmund could snuff out a team with Dembele on one side, Mbappe on the other (I know he switched to the middle after struggling on the left) and a sharp Vitinha in the middle, then I bet you they can do it against a team with Vini Jr., Jude Bellingham (whom they know well) and who else, Rodrigo? :lol:

Dortmund have the stamina, tactical nous, maturity and discipline to survive Real Madrid, especially in one game.

If Bayern Munich make it to the final, It will be payback time for the Wembley 2013 final and last season’s Bundesliga.

txj wrote: Wed May 08, 2024 5:11 pm
[/quote

You make it sound as if it came down to luck...It didn't!

Did they ride their luck? Heck yeah!!!

But it came down mostly to how well they played in the defensive phase, and the ability to transition from that phase with calmness and clarity..

The defensive game in Paris was a masterclass, notwithstanding the help from the goal post/bar... :D

Rather simply deploy men towards Mbappe, they opted primarily to cut his supply line in certain zones. Note the defensive shadowing of Vitinha by Brandt, who was excellent.

In the first leg, they ran 9kms MORE than PSG...Look also at how Adeyemi was used defensively. I think he came of age over these two games...
With all the chances they created PSG needed luck on their side. Not Saying Dortmund did not deserve to win.