Etoo has suspended the coach Marc Brys but they have now made up
Coach of the national team Marc Brys was smoked for a meeting at the headquarters of the federation camerounaise of football. He came with a minister of sports aide and Etoo considered that to be unsubordination.
Re: Etoo has suspended the coach Marc Brys
Saw the video on instagram. That was quite a confrontation with the minister followed by the argument with the coach. Not good for Cameroonian football. 

A moron is running Fecafoot.
Don’t be so quick to judge as the clips I’ve seen depicts government interference.
FIFA might step into this …
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
Who hired the coach? FECAFOOT or the government?
Who pays the coach? FECAFOOT, the government (ministry) or the president?
What was the meeting about? Was there friction between the coach and Eto'o?
Cameroon news is sometimes difficult to read because things get lost in the layers of translation.
...but in Africa, at least the sub-Sahara part, the government "hire and pays" everything.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 10:10 am Who hired the coach? FECAFOOT or the government?
Correct in your assertion BUT perhaps that's why we're the way we aremcal wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 11:24 am...but in Africa, at least the sub-Sahara part, the government "hire and pays" everything.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 10:10 am Who hired the coach? FECAFOOT or the government?

There are clear lines of accountability in my industry (and in effectively functioning societies) and I carry the can for my division for failure to achieve set objectives. Who carries the can for the coaches inability to meet predetermined objectives? - FECAFOOT, the Government (ministry) or the President?
"We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope" (Martin Luther King, Jr)
The governments pays the coach but Etoo signs the contract.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 10:10 am Who hired the coach? FECAFOOT or the government?
You can take the boy from the street, but you cannot take the street out of him. Eto'o is on a destructive ego trip
I'm sorry, but this guy doesnt know what he is talking about. He doesn't seem to understand what is going on.
...what did he say there that was wrong?Thelastoneleft wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 2:13 pmI'm sorry, but this guy doesnt know what he is talking about. He doesn't seem to understand what is going on.
That they (the sport ministry) hired/imposed a coach on Etoo and national team without his consent and or input?
That Etoo as the FA chief/president have to have a say on who the national team coach is?
Or is it because the government/ministry pays the coach therefore must have all the say?
Anyway, this is the general nonsense going in Nigeria too, and the whole of Africa.
The FAs cannot be self sustained.
They don't know how to sell/market themselves, the players, and the program to generate their own revenue.
Therefore they go cap in hand to state or federal government for funds, at which the feds will say, for us to disburse this money we must tell you how and whom to spend it on.
This kind of thing is also happening where the IMF (International Monetary Fund) will loan out money to 3rd world countries but must dictate to them what and how to use it.
A case of responsibility. African FAs have not been responsible in managing their football programs, fiscally.
...will you find a wife for your friend/son, and at same token show them how to ffuck her?camex wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 12:09 pmThe governments pays the coach but Etoo signs the contract.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 10:10 am Who hired the coach? FECAFOOT or the government?
(sorry this is an old joke or saying we use back in the days among friends when they come asking for help).
In Cameroon, the people own the national team hence the president makes decisions over the team.camex wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 12:09 pmThe governments pays the coach but Etoo signs the contract.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 10:10 am Who hired the coach? FECAFOOT or the government?
The president can change laws using executive orders if one aspect of the government is not functioning and Fecafoot is part of the Cameroonian government.
Eto'o is a good friend of one of the first lady's sons, and he has access to the first lady. A few years back Eto'o said to the people running the country at the highest level that he knows someone who can fix issues at Fecafoot (keep an eye on the Lions). He proposed that the previous president of Fecafoot (Njoya) be given the opportunity to take over and Njoya was given the reigns of Fecafoot.
Elections at the head of Fecafoot are NOT really elections. The government (presidency) tells 120 voters who should be president of Fecafoot. They go through some motions but the government's candidate always wins.
The reign of Njoya did not go well, Njoya himself was a good friend of Eto'o. Nobody really can tell if those two are still friends or not but the last time in CI the story was that Njoya now part of FIFA was hanging out with the president of CAF and Eto'o did not like it.
BACK to ETO'O.
Eto'o went back to the first lady and the president to say himself can fix problems at Fecafoot (Lions), problems that Eto'o himself created since 2002 WC. The president gave instructions that Eto'o should become the president of Fecafoot.
Fecafoot normally proposes a list of coaches for the Lions but the president (minister of sport picks the coach). Eto'o proposed and insisted that Song becomes the coach and it was done.
The CAN of CI did not go well. The president in his speech said he has instructed his government to clean up what is going on at Fecafoot and around the Lions and troubles started.
Eto'o sees his power be taken away from him by an executive order. The problem is that Eto'o is from the street, he only knows fights.
If you want to do manual labor do manual labor. Eto'o is not an intellectual and he does not have the right weapons at his disposal to run Fecafoot first and to play political games second.
The list of coaches that Eto'o proposed to the government had 20 names, Brys was at the bottom of that list. Eto'o wanted the top 3 (Mourinho, Carnavaro, Renard). The government picked Brys. The government also attached the new coach's staff to their choice. Keep in mind that ONLY Fecafoot can pick the coach's staff and not the government but since the president via his executive order instructed that his government (minister of sport) takes over, he overwrote that rule and Fecafoot is out.
The government hires the coach proposed by Fecafoot.
The government pays the coach.
Plain and simple.Thelastoneleft wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 2:08 pm You can take the boy from the street, but you cannot take the street out of him. Eto'o is on a destructive ego trip
Not necessarily. Many FAs hire their own coaches (likely with government's approval) then have the government pay them. Few governments hire coaches and impose them on their national FA. It can happen though. That is why I asked the set of questions to understand the situation.mcal wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 11:24 am...but in Africa, at least the sub-Sahara part, the government "hire and pays" everything.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 10:10 am Who hired the coach? FECAFOOT or the government?
Eto'o used to have a close relationship with Cameroon's leader Biya. So, I assume he can bypass the government bureaucrats at the sports ministry, to get his way. Eto'o is also fighting a lot of corrupt individuals at all levels of the game. However, he has a huge ego and is still learning how to run a federation.
Which makes it difficult to ascertain what is really going on here.
...what is going on here, is that Etoo is exposing or speaking out loud and on video here about the rot in sub-Saharan football federation.Kabalega wrote: ↑Thu May 30, 2024 3:37 amNot necessarily. Many FAs hire their own coaches (likely with government's approval) then have the government pay them. Few governments hire coaches and impose them on their national FA. It can happen though. That is why I asked the set of questions to understand the situation.mcal wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 11:24 am...but in Africa, at least the sub-Sahara part, the government "hire and pays" everything.Kabalega wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 10:10 am Who hired the coach? FECAFOOT or the government?
Eto'o used to have a close relationship with Cameroon's leader Biya. So, I assume he can bypass the government bureaucrats at the sports ministry, to get his way. Eto'o is also fighting a lot of corrupt individuals at all levels of the game. However, he has a huge ego and is still learning how to run a federation.
Which makes it difficult to ascertain what is really going on here.
Not many can challenge a sport minister that open else you get the boot.
In Nigeria it is muted because the FA chieftain are all in cahoot with oga at the top corruption.
What is going on?Thelastoneleft wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 2:13 pmI'm sorry, but this guy doesnt know what he is talking about. He doesn't seem to understand what is going on.
I said that he doesnt know what he is talking about for the following reasons:Kabalega wrote: ↑Thu May 30, 2024 4:09 amWhat is going on?Thelastoneleft wrote: ↑Wed May 29, 2024 2:13 pmI'm sorry, but this guy doesnt know what he is talking about. He doesn't seem to understand what is going on.
1. He said the coach "was supposed to be an employee of the football federation". While that may be true with all other countries and federations in the world, it is not the case with Cameroon and FECAFOOT. In Cameroon, the national team coach is an employee of the ministry of sports who is placed in the disposition of FECAFOOT. This arrangement was agreed in a convention between the government (ministry of sports) and FECAFOOT, signed in 2015 and has been in force since then. Note: I do not agree with such an arrangement but that was what the FECAFOOT agreed to and until it is reversed, that is what it is.
2. He went ahead to say that: "the ministry of sports appointed a Belgian coach without the consent of the FECAFOOT"
. That is also inaccurate. The same convention of 2015 between the ministry and FECAFOOT outline the selection process of the coach. In summary, the FECAFOOT propose a short/long list of candidates for the ministry to choose from (it is stated in the convention that, the final say of the ministry is obligatory!). Note that, this same procedure was followed by Eto'o when he got his friend Rigobert Song nominated. In this current case, the Belgian, Marc Brys was at the bottom of the long list of candidates that Mr. Eto'o submitted to the minister. Of course, he expected the minister to go with his favorites, but for whatever reasons, the minister picked the Belgian from the long list that was proposed by the FECAFOOT. So again, due procedure was followed.
3. He is right about all what he said about bad governance in Cameroon, the President Mr. Biya and all that. However, where he got it wrong was when he said Eto'o wants to "save Cameroonians and FECAFOOT from Biya's bad governance". Probably, this gentleman doesnt even know that Eto'o is a staunched and diehard supporter of Mr. Biya. He has campaigned very hard over the years for Biya to stay in power, he says he has always voted and will always vote for Biya. He even calls Biya "papa" and calls Biya's wife "mama".
Whatever the case, the situation of Eto'o/FECAFOOT vs. Government, is more complex than people see. It is akin to members of a drug cartel or a crime syndicate fighting over their proceeds. Eto'o is fighting for no one but himself and nothing but his ego.
- danfo driver
Any comments about the white man? Or just the black man you have a comment about? You are shameless

- danfo driver
Who tha fockk is Brys!??? In the world of football? Who the hell is he compared to Samuel Eto'o?
We must know me from somewhere. I don't place myself on a line, I follow the truth. You don't know Eto'o or Cameroonian politics enough. Move away from the white man vs black man thing.danfo driver wrote: ↑Thu May 30, 2024 3:08 pmAny comments about the white man? Or just the black man you have a comment about? You are shameless![]()
Eto'o verbally attacked the coach first. Eto'o made another mistake in that altercation by invoking Belgium. After the meeting, Brys left Fecafoot and went straight to the Belgium embassy. This morning Eto'o was summoned by someone at the presidency including the envoy of the minister of sport to Fecafoot.
It was hammered into Eto'o's head to drop everything. Plainly he was personally in danger. After that Eto'o called the coach to a press conference he apologized and all is well.