Real Madrid 2024/25
- The YeyeMan
Re: Real Madrid 2024/25
Oga, how would you rate Ibou and Salina's seasons so far?ohsee wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:50 pmChief, I no dey watch glorified friendly matches.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Fri Sep 06, 2024 9:46 pm
Grand Uncle, see how Salina and Konaté have disgraced us!
I only saw the highlights of the Italia v France game. What did they do wrong? In any case, it is time (1) Deschamps is sent to a retirement home (2) William Saliba is given a rest. He has been playing nonstop since forever.
"LFC won't win the CL" - Mar 12, 2025
© The YeyeMan 2025
The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Mon Nov 18, 2024 12:57 amOga, how would you rate Ibou and Salina's seasons so far?ohsee wrote: ↑Sat Sep 07, 2024 7:50 pmChief, I no dey watch glorified friendly matches.The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Fri Sep 06, 2024 9:46 pm
Grand Uncle, see how Salina and Konaté have disgraced us!
I only saw the highlights of the Italia v France game. What did they do wrong? In any case, it is time (1) Deschamps is sent to a retirement home (2) William Saliba is given a rest. He has been playing nonstop since forever.
We won't compare him to VVD's season.

Both are very solid center backs. France is blessed for the next ten years barring injury and other things.

How does Real Madrid keep on pulling off this sorcery in the Champions League? Did Alvarez really double touch that disallowed penalty? The footage looks inconclusive.
https://x.com/footballontnt/status/1899954773140377842
https://x.com/CBSSportsGolazo/status/18 ... 5078760950
wiseone wrote: ↑Thu Mar 13, 2025 2:28 am How does Real Madrid keep on pulling off this sorcery in the Champions League? Did Alvarez really double touch that disallowed penalty? The footage looks inconclusive.

The football gods have ordained that Real really owns the Champs League.

- The YeyeMan
"They" as in Atleti?ohsee wrote: ↑Thu Mar 13, 2025 4:20 pmwiseone wrote: ↑Thu Mar 13, 2025 2:28 am How does Real Madrid keep on pulling off this sorcery in the Champions League? Did Alvarez really double touch that disallowed penalty? The footage looks inconclusive.
The football gods have ordained that Real really owns the Champs League.Atleti know the deal. They ALWAYS lose to Real in the CL after herculean battles in which they could have won. I thought it was over when a penalty was awarded after Mbappe was brought down, but Vini inexplicably missed. I feel, as an unbiased Real fan,
that they should have won in regular time.
© The YeyeMan 2025
Real, by their own standards, were awful yesterday and yet, here they are, ever present in the business rounds once again. They’ll take some stopping, but may find this season tougher than those prior.
- The YeyeMan
Oga, who has enjoyed a better season - VVD or Saliba?ohsee wrote: ↑Sun Jul 28, 2024 6:23 amThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Sat Jul 27, 2024 10:54 pm Where can Saliba go that Virgil has not? EPL title? Virgil got am. Champions League? Virgil got am. He finished third in the World Player of the Year when he arguably should have won the award.
If Konaté had been fit towards the end of last season he would have partnered Upamecano for France at the Euros. Deschamps was openly critical of Saliba just prior to the Euros. Btw, I agree Saliba and Konaté should be the starters all things being equal. Also, any jabroni can get into a tournament XI. I think El-Hadj Diouf made it in 2002. Saliba was lacking vs Spain when it really mattered.
Saliba has a long way to go. Let's see how he fares this coming season. Let's see if he's got that consistency.
There are many talented up and coming French defenders. If Saliba's career is half as good as Virgil's it'll be to his credit.![]()
Lemme see now, World Cup?More than one EPL title? What about play for serial Champs League bobos, Real Madrid, and win more than one Champs League? Diaris many, many, many tins Saliba can do that Virgil neva do.
But iz OK. You like Virgil. So do I. But I suspect that if Saliba reaches his full predicted potential, he will surpass Virgil. Evin Forbes sabi dat wan.![]()
https://www.forbes.com/sites/grahamruth ... -defender/
I know it is blasphemy to rate an Arsenal defender over a Liverpool captain, but you know me, I have never been politically correct, or a blind supporter of my tribe.![]()
By the way, Sleaky says it is Mbappe who insisted that Dummy Deschamps play Saliba. Don't know how true that is, but Saliba was the best CB in the tournament--the selection was not undeserved. Please don't do a cic old boy who found every reason not to accept Virgil's quality when the great CB was in his prime. Saliba is outstanding, and everyone now recognizes it, including Dummy Deschamps.

© The YeyeMan 2025
The YeyeMan wrote: ↑Wed Apr 23, 2025 10:39 pmOga, who has enjoyed a better season - VVD or Saliba?ohsee wrote: ↑Sun Jul 28, 2024 6:23 amThe YeyeMan wrote: ↑Sat Jul 27, 2024 10:54 pm Where can Saliba go that Virgil has not? EPL title? Virgil got am. Champions League? Virgil got am. He finished third in the World Player of the Year when he arguably should have won the award.
If Konaté had been fit towards the end of last season he would have partnered Upamecano for France at the Euros. Deschamps was openly critical of Saliba just prior to the Euros. Btw, I agree Saliba and Konaté should be the starters all things being equal. Also, any jabroni can get into a tournament XI. I think El-Hadj Diouf made it in 2002. Saliba was lacking vs Spain when it really mattered.
Saliba has a long way to go. Let's see how he fares this coming season. Let's see if he's got that consistency.
There are many talented up and coming French defenders. If Saliba's career is half as good as Virgil's it'll be to his credit.![]()
Lemme see now, World Cup?More than one EPL title? What about play for serial Champs League bobos, Real Madrid, and win more than one Champs League? Diaris many, many, many tins Saliba can do that Virgil neva do.
But iz OK. You like Virgil. So do I. But I suspect that if Saliba reaches his full predicted potential, he will surpass Virgil. Evin Forbes sabi dat wan.![]()
https://www.forbes.com/sites/grahamruth ... -defender/
I know it is blasphemy to rate an Arsenal defender over a Liverpool captain, but you know me, I have never been politically correct, or a blind supporter of my tribe.![]()
By the way, Sleaky says it is Mbappe who insisted that Dummy Deschamps play Saliba. Don't know how true that is, but Saliba was the best CB in the tournament--the selection was not undeserved. Please don't do a cic old boy who found every reason not to accept Virgil's quality when the great CB was in his prime. Saliba is outstanding, and everyone now recognizes it, including Dummy Deschamps.![]()

They are both great.

Real Madrid is a club of classless goons.
See the red cards at the end.
They attacked the match officials bringing the ref to tears before the actual game.
VAR is exposing them for who they really are. No more free calls.
One newspaper actually complained about data showing more VAR calls are going against R. Madrid while the reverse is true for Barça. They conveniently forgot to point out that Barça’s positive VAR reviews are often offside traps while Madrid’s are dives.
See the red cards at the end.

They attacked the match officials bringing the ref to tears before the actual game.
VAR is exposing them for who they really are. No more free calls.

One newspaper actually complained about data showing more VAR calls are going against R. Madrid while the reverse is true for Barça. They conveniently forgot to point out that Barça’s positive VAR reviews are often offside traps while Madrid’s are dives.

- theDunamis
VAR inexplicably refused to check 2 penalty incidents for Barcelona yesterday. The one incident that VAR chose to check was the penalty given by the ref to Barcelona and VAR ruled correctly that Raphinha had dived. But how they did not review the foul by Rudiger to bring down Ferran in the box and the pulling of Cubarsi's shirt by Ceballos is just bewildering.
This is terrible for the game. Yes, Barca ended up winning -- and rightly so -- but the willful ineptitude by the VAR officials is really bad at this level of the game. Plus, it rewards bad behavior by letting the campaign by Real Madrid against Spanish refereeing cower them into a biased incompetency that works in Real's favor.
La Liga president summed it up not too long ago.theDunamis wrote: ↑Sun Apr 27, 2025 11:50 am VAR inexplicably refused to check 2 penalty incidents for Barcelona yesterday. The one incident that VAR chose to check was the penalty given by the ref to Barcelona and VAR ruled correctly that Raphinha had dived. But how they did not review the foul by Rudiger to bring down Ferran in the box and the pulling of Cubarsi's shirt by Ceballos is just bewildering.
Speaking at a meeting with La Liga clubs, RFEF and representatives of Spain's refereeing committee (CTA) on Thursday - which Real Madrid did not attend - Tebas (La Liga President) said: "Real Madrid wants to harm the competition, not just the refereeing group.
"They have built a story of victimhood and I think the cherry on top was the letter they published the other day.
"The issue has been blown out of proportion, they have lost their head. Football doesn't revolve around Real Madrid."
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/arti ... qw3dxjv9zo
- theDunamis
Kabalega wrote: ↑Sun Apr 27, 2025 12:00 pm
La Liga president summed it up not too long ago.
Speaking at a meeting with La Liga clubs, RFEF and representatives of Spain's refereeing committee (CTA) on Thursday - which Real Madrid did not attend - Tebas (La Liga President) said: "Real Madrid wants to harm the competition, not just the refereeing group.
"They have built a story of victimhood and I think the cherry on top was the letter they published the other day.
"The issue has been blown out of proportion, they have lost their head. Football doesn't revolve around Real Madrid."
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/arti ... qw3dxjv9zo
Exactly right -- nailed it.