Jose Mourinho...Not the Special One for Nothing

🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 craze man
Tottenham sent a member of their staff to Turkey on Sunday evening to observe the young prodigy Yusuf Akçiçek during the Fenerbahçe-Antalyaspor game ahead of the summer mercato.

José Mourinho heard the news and decided to leave the young defender on the bench for the entire game 😂

copied
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: Jose Mourinho...Not the Special One for Nothing

One day, I remember well, in the last 10 minutes of the match, we were leading by just one goal and facing immense pressure. At that moment, he called me over and said:

"You have to clear the ball far away, and then you and Cahill should both fall to the ground. This way, the referee cannot force you to leave the pitch for treatment—he is not allowed to take two players off at the same time."

"None of us were aware of such a rule."

Even the referee himself came to us, telling us that we had to leave the pitch for a few seconds. But we created a small argument with him, and I told him to check with the assistant referee because he was wrong. Indeed, the referee consulted his assistant and realized that he could not force us off the pitch because the rule states that when two players from the same team are down at the same time, they are not required to leave. As a result, both of us stayed on the field, catching our breath again.

"That’s Mourinho for you. He had tricks we weren’t even aware of. He knew how to outsmart his opponent—even through the rules. I think he was ahead of the others by miles. He is a mastermind."

— Chelsea defender John Terry.
Copied from a FB page
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Mourinho cannot avoid drama.

https://x.com/eurofootcom/status/1907525215543771210

When they make Jose's post retirement documentary, I have no idea how they will fit all the dramatic moments from his career into 180 minutes of video.

Off the top of my head Jose's highlight reel will have "specialist in failure", the eye poke of doom, the nose poke of doom, "voyeur", "minute 30, minute 33, minute 43, and minute 69", and "I am The Special One".
Thelastoneleft

Post by Thelastoneleft »

wiseone wrote: Thu Apr 03, 2025 2:01 pm When they make Jose's post retirement documentary, I have no idea how they will fit all the dramatic moments from his career into 180 minutes of video.

Off the top of my head Jose's highlight reel will have "specialist in failure", the eye poke of doom, the nose poke of doom, "voyeur", "minute 30, minute 33, minute 43, and minute 69", and "I am The Special One".
How could you omit the laundry cart? That should be top of any list

:rotf: I forgot that one.

Jose is a nut.
Thelastoneleft wrote: Thu Apr 03, 2025 10:31 pm How could you omit the laundry cart? That should be top of any list

https://x.com/SkySportsNews/status/1908565617126302140

https://x.com/footbalIfights/status/1916080404957630975

https://x.com/TheFergusonWay/status/1935262390125547550
camex

Post by camex »

I was thinking about Portugal and Brazil. They share the same language so, one may assume that their cultures are verysimilar. However, in coaching they could not be more different. I am not aware of a world class coach from Brazil and yet we have Mourhino. This is not an anomaly. Brazilians haev so much talent, they expect to win on talent alone, while Portugal is so small they need excellent coaching to win anything.

:shock:

Have you heard of the legendary Mario Zagallo who coached the greatest international football team of all time with Pele, Roberto Rivelino, Jairzinho, Gerson, Tostao etc? He is one of the few people in history to win the World Cup as a player and also as a manager. Honourable mentions to Carlos Alberto Pereira and Luiz Felipe Scolari as well.

camex wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 12:42 pm I was thinking about Portugal and Brazil. They share the same language so, one may assume that their cultures are verysimilar. However, in coaching they could not be more different. I am not aware of a world class coach from Brazil and yet we have Mourhino. This is not an anomaly. Brazilians haev so much talent, they expect to win on talent alone, while Portugal is so small they need excellent coaching to win anything.
GG of G

Post by GG of G »

The Turkish interview where he described selecting players by throwing up coins is just maddening - dude is television Gold
"Do not be Misled. God is not one to be mocked. Whatever a man is sowing, this he will also reap." Gal 6:7

camex wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 12:42 pm I was thinking about Portugal and Brazil. They share the same language so, one may assume that their cultures are verysimilar. However, in coaching they could not be more different. I am not aware of a world class coach from Brazil and yet we have Mourhino. This is not an anomaly. Brazilians haev so much talent, they expect to win on talent alone, while Portugal is so small they need excellent coaching to win anything.
Portuguese coaches are very defensive. It must have to do with economics in a country with very few jobs available. Defensive tactics are more likely to protect you from losses and prevent you from getting fired and never working again.
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

camex

Post by camex »

wiseone wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 3:25 pm :shock:

Have you heard of the legendary Mario Zagallo who coached the greatest international football team of all time with Pele, Roberto Rivelino, Jairzinho, Gerson, Tostao etc? He is one of the few people in history to win the World Cup as a player and also as a manager. Honourable mentions to Carlos Alberto Pereira and Luiz Felipe Scolari as well.

Did Mario Zagallo win because of superior talent he had in his team or because of superior coaching?

camex wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 8:22 pm
wiseone wrote: Sat Jun 21, 2025 3:25 pm :shock:

Did Mario Zagallo win because of superior talent he had in his team or because of superior coaching?
Pele would have agreed with you were he still around. In his biographies, he complained about Zagallo's love of negative tactics, instead of the free flowing football that is in Brazil's DNA. The 1970 team was actually inherited by Zagallo from Joao Saldanha who was fired, if my memory serves me well, for being erratic and claiming Pele had vision problems and should be dropped. The Brazil FA did a very Nigerian thing and fired him three months before the 1970 WC, and replaced him with Mario Zagallo. :shock: :lol:

The players threatened to revolt due to Zagallo's insistence that they play European-style defensive football, and he eventually relented, though he demanded that they defend more in the game against England.

Zagallo's defensive tactics were fully implemented in the 1974 World Cup where Brazil stunk up the place and were reviled by all the pundits.