If Onana Were Nigerian, Would He Be Super Eagles Nr 1?
Cameroon is shifting his blames on us

Manchester United are unlikely to sell goalkeeper Andre Onana, 29, this summer unless they can make a profit on their £47m outlay for the Nigerian. (NBC Sports, external)
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/arti ... rgkxpn188o
Is it just me? Can see or read any reference to Nigeria in the xeet. Maybe they edited it.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
Re: If Onana Were Nigerian, Would He Be Super Eagles Nr 1?
anointed wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 4:43 am Cameroon is shifting his blames on us![]()
Manchester United are unlikely to sell goalkeeper Andre Onana, 29, this summer unless they can make a profit on their £47m outlay for the Nigerian. (NBC Sports, external)
https://www.bbc.com/sport/football/arti ... rgkxpn188o
Is it just me? Can see or read any reference to Nigeria in the xeet. Maybe they edited it.
Ene Johnny
@enenimjohnny
·
6h
@David_Ornstein
and
@NBCSportsSoccer
On behalf of Nigeria and Nigerians, we strongly disagree and disassociate ourselves from you on this. Lol. Bad things don't have to always be named "Nigerian" You know. Lol

What a question!
TBH, some on CE will cite Manchester United and automatically crown him No. 1 but his antics will be way too aggravating for Nigerian fans. Abegi, I go settle with a goalie trending towards more traditional play. That is just me. I don't care about his club and will never install a player as a starter because his manager at a club did.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
Onana would be my Nr 1 and, I believe the coach's, goalie in SE, were he NigerianEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 11:15 am What a question!
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
I utterly agree with you.anointed wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:35 pmOnana would be my Nr 1 and, I believe the coach's, goalie in SE, were he NigerianEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 11:15 am What a question!
- danfo driver
Onana -
1. Plays for Cameroon
2. Plays for Man United.
This is NOT a thread about a Super Eagle or the Super Eagles. This should be in the World Forum.
1. Plays for Cameroon
2. Plays for Man United.
This is NOT a thread about a Super Eagle or the Super Eagles. This should be in the World Forum.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Mine as well.anointed wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:35 pmOnana would be my Nr 1 and, I believe the coach's, goalie in SE, were he NigerianEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 11:15 am What a question!
The number of shots he faces at United is just too much.
I like his ball distribution out of the back (a modern requirement for goalies these days).
But I would like to see him be a bit more focused from beginning to the end.
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
I think the reason for the thread being here is because they mistakenly called him a Naijarian.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 4:52 pm Onana -
1. Plays for Cameroon
2. Plays for Man United.
And the OP asked, if he were Naijarian, would he be our number one?
Agreed as well.iworo wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:56 pmI utterly agree with you.anointed wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:35 pmOnana would be my Nr 1 and, I believe the coach's, goalie in SE, were he NigerianEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 11:15 am What a question!
We act like we have ever had any keeper up there in Ranks to even keep for Manchester United.
Onana went from Barcelona>Ajax>Inter Milan>M.United
Very few keepers in the world command such a C.V.
Our most achieving GK was Enyeama and his best achievement was Tel Aviv Isreal to Lille in France, while our current #1 plays in the South African league, yet we are here grand standing over Onana. Nigerians self.
As a United Fan I can comfortably say we have a shitty defense and Onana has saved that team way too many times compared to the gaffes he has had.
Onana is the African version of Fabian Barthez.
- danfo driver
Yes, they mistakenly called him a Nigerian. They did NOT mistakenly call him a Super Eagle or Potential Super Eagle, which is what EaglesNest is reserved for.Cellular wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 5:05 pmI think the reason for the thread being here is because they mistakenly called him a Naijarian.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 4:52 pm Onana -
1. Plays for Cameroon
2. Plays for Man United.
Uncle, lets be honest - we both know the real reason this thread is here. It is solely because the thread starter knows that if he posted this on the World Forum, it probably wouldn't gather much traffic. He post it where he believes more people will see it.
Its all good. Y'all can keep bending the rules and desecrating of EN. Next, someone will open a thread about Emmanuel Adebayor. After all, the Togolese was mistakenly called "Nigerian" many times.
- danfo driver
Enyeama won:Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 5:06 pmAgreed as well.iworo wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:56 pmI utterly agree with you.anointed wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:35 pmOnana would be my Nr 1 and, I believe the coach's, goalie in SE, were he NigerianEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 11:15 am What a question!
We act like we have ever had any keeper up there in Ranks to even keep for Manchester United.
Our most achieving GK was Enyeama and his best achievement was Tel Aviv Isreal to Lille in France, while our current #1 plays in the South African league, yet we are here grand standing over Onana. Nigerians self.
As a United Fan I can comfortably say we have a shitty defense and Onana has saved that team way too many times compared to the gaffes he has had.
- 5 league titles
- 2 Champions League Titles.
- 1 AFCON
But this one thinks "his best achievement was a transfr from Tel Aviv to Lille in France."

DD, abeg chill ‘jare.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 5:31 pmYes, they mistakenly called him a Nigerian. They did NOT mistakenly call him a Super Eagle or Potential Super Eagle, which is what EaglesNest is reserved for.Cellular wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 5:05 pmI think the reason for the thread being here is because they mistakenly called him a Naijarian.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 4:52 pm Onana -
1. Plays for Cameroon
2. Plays for Man United.
Uncle, lets be honest - we both know the real reason this thread is here. It is solely because the thread starter knows that if he posted this on the World Forum, it probably wouldn't gather much traffic. He post it where he believes more people will see it.
Its all good. Y'all can keep bending the rules and desecrating of EN. Next, someone will open a thread about Emmanuel Adebayor. After all, the Togolese was mistakenly called "Nigerian" many times.
The number of times the rules have been bent for YOU nko?
Make dem open book for you?
Stop being so anal.
Nuttin spoil.
Judging an African goalies abilities by whether he plays for a club in another continent is a bit harsh. Many great talents will never leave the shores of Africa for various reasons. Nigerian football is curently dead because of these sorts of colo thinking. Europe prioritizes European players.
Hmm.. so Eto'o is the reason he's been so lucky in his club career.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 5:37 pmEnyeama won:Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 5:06 pmAgreed as well.iworo wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:56 pmI utterly agree with you.anointed wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:35 pmOnana would be my Nr 1 and, I believe the coach's, goalie in SE, were he NigerianEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 11:15 am What a question!
- 5 league titles
- 1 AFCON
But this one thinks "his best achievement was a transfr from Tel Aviv to Lille in France."If Enyeama was a Cameroonian and had Samuel Eto'o to build an Academy and transport him to Barca as a child, Enyeama would NOT need to work tooth and nail to build his own career and work through the ranks.
Enyeama was better than Onana, but he wasn't as lucky in his club career. He started late in Europe.
The SE current goalie is really good. But his face might not be made for European TV so he may
likely never leave the shores of Africa except maybe some backwater league in Europe. But I rate him high, higher than some goalies in the premier league.
- danfo driver
I dont know if I'll call it luck, but more so connection. He isnt a bad goalkeeper, he has just had a good platform.
- He went to Barca because of Eto'o's connection
'- He then went to Jong Ajax (their reserve team) through Barca's connection
- then promoted to Ajax.
- I saw him at Ajax and while his footwork was amazing, but he lacked the basics of a good goalkeper.
- He joined Inter as a free transfer and he wasnt bought to be first choice. He was the be substitute for Handanovic
- then we all know he came to United because of connection - Ten Hag.
Yep, not luck as he has to perform and live up to the promise.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 7:05 pmI dont know if I'll call it luck, but more so connection. He isnt a bad goalkeeper, he has just had a good platform.
- He went to Barca because of Eto'o's connection
'- He then went to Jong Ajax (their reserve team) through Barca's connection
- then promoted to Ajax.
- I saw him at Ajax and while his footwork was amazing, but he lacked the basics of a good goalkeper.
- He joined Inter as a free transfer and he wasnt bought to be first choice. He was the be substitute for Handanovic
- then we all know he came to United because of connection - Ten Hag.
He has had better opportunities to have a career in Europe than Enyeama did.
Enyeama better than Onana? I STRONGLY disagree!Orion wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 6:54 pmHmm.. so Eto'o is the reason he's been so lucky in his club career.danfo driver wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 5:37 pmEnyeama won:Babalawo wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 5:06 pmAgreed as well.iworo wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:56 pmI utterly agree with you.anointed wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 3:35 pmOnana would be my Nr 1 and, I believe the coach's, goalie in SE, were he NigerianEnugu II wrote: ↑Tue Apr 15, 2025 11:15 am What a question!
- 5 league titles
- 1 AFCON
But this one thinks "his best achievement was a transfr from Tel Aviv to Lille in France."If Enyeama was a Cameroonian and had Samuel Eto'o to build an Academy and transport him to Barca as a child, Enyeama would NOT need to work tooth and nail to build his own career and work through the ranks.
Enyeama was better than Onana, but he wasn't as lucky in his club career. He started late in Europe.
Manchester United is mid-table today and not above the relegation zone is because of Onana.
- bret- hart
Seriously like do you sniff glue before you type on CE?
...Onana is too big for Nigeria. We don't have a player or players of his caliber and club.
The writer must have guessed he live close to Nigerian border