2024-25 UCL Final: PSG vs Inter (5-0) Hakimi, Doue (2), Kvarashelia, Mayulu FT

Who will win?

First, what are the managers saying?

Luis "Squarehead" Enrique:
MUNICH, Germany -- Luis Enrique has challenged his Paris Saint-Germain players to "make history" by winning the club's first Champions League title in Saturday's showpiece clash against Inter Milan in Munich.

"When you make history, it is about doing something that nobody at your club has done before," Enrique said in his pre-match news conference on Friday. "But I love their [players] mindset. We are where we want to be, but we want to try to be as strong as possible and win tomorrow.

"Our journey has been difficult, it's been a long and winding road, but the fact we struggled through this competition in the early games it has probably helped us now.

"We have had to play 'finals' in this competition for a long time and had to deal with what has been thrown at us, but we haven't shown any signs of fears so far and we won't tomorrow."

Luis Enrique is looking to guide PSG to their first Champions League title. Jose Breton/Pics Action/NurPhoto via Getty Images
Having coached Barcelona to Champions League success in 2015, Enrique says that he is now better and more mature manager than when he oversaw that triumph against Juventus in Berlin.

"I have peace of mind thanks to my maturity," he said. "I have 10 years' more experience since 2015, I am 10 years older, so I try to share with experience with my players as it's a wonderful opportunity for them.

"When a coach manages his squad, there is only one objective and that is to make sure the players are out there as best possible to win on the pitch.

"This is a team that's used to playing finals. Motivation and the mental aspects are very important, but we're used to this.

"We have had harmony and I haven't changed anything. I have an exceptional squad and they have always seen the glass as half-full."

https://www.espn.com/soccer/story/_/id/ ... ue-history
Last edited by txj on Sat May 31, 2025 9:38 pm, edited 7 times in total.

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Re: 2024-25 UEFA Champions League Final: PSG vs Inter (0-0) 1HF

I give the edge to Inter. They have been here before.
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Simeone Inzaghi:

MUNICH, Germany -- Inter Milan coach Simone Inzaghi said his team will have to "suffer" against Paris Saint-Germain in the Champions League final, but insists they are capable of hurting Luis Enrique's side in Munich on Saturday.

Inter will play their second Champions League final in three seasons after losing to Manchester City in Istanbul in 2023.

The Nerrazzurri are also aiming to win a fourth European crown after last winning the competition under Jose Mourinho in 2010.

But despite eliminating Bayern Munich and Barcelona on their path to the final, Inter go into the game as underdogs with PSG regarded as favourites to win their first Champions League.

And while Inzaghi admits that PSG are a formidable opponent, he said that his players can beat the French champions.

"We need to face Paris knowing there will be moments in which we'll suffer, and other moments when we'll have the ball and they'll need to defend," Inzaghi said.

"Details and moments are key. We need to go out there with desire and determination to win the game. PSG are a very strong side, but we will play to our strengths.

Simone Inzaghi is confident his side can add to Inter Milan's three Champions League titles. Giuseppe Bellini/Getty Images
"We have had a very tough run so far, facing [Manchester] City, Arsenal, Bayern and Barça, but we have made it this far and we don't want to stop here.

"With Inter it is always a big match, but when it's a final, it's different. We deserve to be here, from our first game away at City, but we are still one step short.

"We know what an important game this is. Winning and losing makes all the difference in the world.

"We have triumphed and despaired domestically in Serie A, so as players and myself as a coach, we have been through it all. But the job is to put a big smile on the faces of our fans.

"The entire Curva Nord will be behind us."

https://www.espn.com/soccer/story/_/id/ ... ne-inzaghi

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

Conventional wisdom from across a broad spectrum of pundits is that PSG are favorites.

I do not understand why. Inter has always been my dark horse for this competition.

They have a game model that is better suited to winning tournaments. They are the best expression of the 3 centerback formation in global football...

But PSG are the more dynamic, especially with the two Portuguese wizards in MF.

They KEY TACTICAL QUESTION ahead of the game for me is this:

To Do(ue) or not to Do(ue)....

I refer of course to Desire Doue.

If Barcola starts, its an indication of intent from Luis Enrique, to attack the space behind Denzil Dumfries

If Doue starts, its more an inside game, with the swift rotations...

How to watch the Champions League final, odds
Date: Saturday, May 31 | Time: 3 p.m. ET
TV: CBS | Live stream: Paramount+

https://www.paramountplus.com/shows/uef ... ns-league/

AI PREDICTED LINEUPS:

PSG Predicted Lineup (4-3-3):
Goalkeeper: Gianluigi Donnarumma.
Defenders: Achraf Hakimi, Marquinhos, William Pacho, Nuno Mendes.
Midfielders: Vitinha, Fabian Ruiz, João Neves.
Forwards: Désiré Doué, Ousmane Dembélé, Khvicha Kvaratskhelia.

Inter Milan Predicted Lineup (3-5-2):
Goalkeeper: Yann Sommer.
Defenders: Benjamin Pavard, Francesco Acerbi, Alessandro Bastoni.
Midfielders: Denzel Dumfries, Nicolo Barella, Hakan Calhanoglu, Henrikh Mkhitaryan, Federico Dimarco.
Forwards: Lautaro Martinez, Marcus Thuram.
Last edited by txj on Sat May 31, 2025 4:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.

I just want to get entertained, both teams lost in finals a few seasons back. Today one will lift the European prize before assanal. This alone satisfy me

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 4:07 pm I just want to get entertained, both teams lost in finals a few seasons back. Today one will lift the European prize before assanal. This alone satisfy me
Wetin "assanal" do you? They refused to sell you turkey leg at their stadium abi na wetin? :woot:
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 4:09 pm
Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 4:07 pm I just want to get entertained, both teams lost in finals a few seasons back. Today one will lift the European prize before assanal. This alone satisfy me
Wetin "assanal" do you? They refused to sell you turkey leg at their stadium abi na wetin? :woot:
not really, your fans are just too delusional . Your team isn't as good as yall think

Bigpokey24 wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 4:17 pm
Scipio Africanus wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 4:09 pm
not really, your fans are just too delusional . Your team isn't as good as yall think
No. I think you dislike "assanal" because they denied you turkey leg
Ex nihilo nihil fit

When last did PSG play for a full 90 minutes? They have a tendency to switch off, the first half seldom being the same as the second. Anything less than a 90 minute shift and Inter will wear them down.

The game will be won and lost on the flanks.

Coach wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 5:58 pm When last did PSG play for a full 90 minutes? They have a tendency to switch off, the first half seldom being the same as the second. Anything less than a 90 minute shift and Inter will wear them down.

The game will be won and lost on the flanks.

Jan Sommer and his mid range passing skills...

A lot of folks are picking PSG but Sleep on Inter at your own peril.

that was too easy

Damn. That was too easy. Hakimi tap in. 1-0

PSG are very similar to Chelsea

green4life wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 7:49 pm Damn. That was too easy. Hakimi tap in. 1-0

Di Marco sleeping

...well PSG don score first, 10 mins in.
Both coaches have matured and come a long professional playing days.
Re: 2024-25 UEFA Champions League Final: PSG vs Inter (1-0) Hakimi 1HF

Inter are like sho, are there 22 PSG players, no space at all

Re: 2024-25 UCL Final: PSG vs Inter (1-0) Hakimi 1HF

Inter badly unsettled by the PSG press

txj wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 7:50 pm
green4life wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 7:49 pm Damn. That was too easy. Hakimi tap in. 1-0

Di Marco sleeping
His napping on the job inexplicably destroyed an otherwise perfect offsides trap.

txj wrote: Sat May 31, 2025 7:54 pm Inter badly unsettled by the PSG press
They need to hang in there for the next 10 mins

There it is ... 2-0 Doue

Wow!!!

PSG counter

2-0