Frightening Talent in Portugal's Squad

Scarily, the photo excludes Bernardo Silva, Joao Felix, Diogo Jota, Goncalo Ramos, Raphael Guerreiro, Antonio Silva, Joao Cancelo, Palhinha, and Ruben Neves.

Portugal may have the second most talented squad in the world after France.

https://x.com/TouchlineX/status/1929263093122486538
Re: Frightening Talent in Portugal's Squad

Who’s going to stop them? Agent Bobby Martinez.
Thelastoneleft

Post by Thelastoneleft »

wiseone wrote: Wed Jun 04, 2025 11:12 pm Scarily, the photo excludes Bernardo Silva, Joao Felix, Diogo Jota, Goncalo Ramos, Raphael Guerreiro, Antonio Silva, Joao Cancelo, Palhinha, and Ruben Neves.

Even Fabio Vieira is also excluded. Scary!!

Coach wrote: Thu Jun 05, 2025 7:14 am Who’s going to stop them? Agent Bobby Martinez.
We are in agreement.

That team should be playing the World Cup semis regularly like the Germany of old but I doubt if Martinez can get them that cutting edge. For starters, can he put Ronaldo on the bench? Even though Ronaldo scored yesterday, I believe he doesn't possess the sharpness to maximize a first XI slot. He's wasting that slot plus all the free kicks. Bruno should be taking free kicks.
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Ronaldo should not be playing 89 minutes in high stakes matches (as he did yesterday). At 40yo he can no longer press, contributes nothing when Portugal does not have the ball, takes the ball off better positioned team mates in his relentless desire to score (as he did to Bruno Fernandes yesterday), and he also wastes FKs by trying to score from 45 yards. There was a comical moment where Bruno Fernandes closed down the German GK Ter Stegen while Ronaldo (the striker) stood motionless 20 yards away from goal.

Ronaldo is best utilised as an impact substitute in the last 30 minutes of matches when the game has slowed down and defenders are tired.
anointed wrote: Thu Jun 05, 2025 10:22 am
We are in agreement.

That team should be playing the World Cup semis regularly like the Germany of old but I doubt if Martinez can get them that cutting edge. For starters, can he put Ronaldo on the bench? Even though Ronaldo scored yesterday, I believe he doesn't possess the sharpness to maximize a first XI slot. He's wasting that slot plus all the free kicks. Bruno should be taking free kicks.
Last edited by wiseone on Thu Jun 05, 2025 1:09 pm, edited 2 times in total.

The benching of Ronaldo and relegation to super-sub would incite a coup d’etat worthy of a well oiled Sub-Saharan democracy. Megalomania. Is mega and maniacal.

wiseone wrote: Wed Jun 04, 2025 11:12 pm Scarily, the photo excludes Bernardo Silva, Joao Felix, Diogo Jota, Goncalo Ramos, Raphael Guerreiro, Antonio Silva, Joao Cancelo, Palhinha, and Ruben Neves.

...they will stop themselves.
Indiscipline will/may prevail as bigmanism like we have Africa, Nigeria specifically, will surface.

Portugal has always had ballers since the days of Figo yet they underachieve. They dont have the mental strength to pull thru when the going gets tough. They had no business losing to Morocco at the last World cup. They will flatter to deceive yet again. Shout out to CR7 tho. Still going strong at 40

mcal wrote: Thu Jun 05, 2025 12:49 pm

...they will stop themselves.
Indiscipline will/may prevail as bigmanism like we have Africa, Nigeria specifically, will surface.
You beat me to it.
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

The game with Spain should be interesting. Will watch, even though I no dey watch second rate competitions like Nations League.

ohsee wrote: Thu Jun 05, 2025 10:58 pm The game with Spain should be interesting. Will watch, even though I no dey watch second rate competitions like Nations League.
What will Martinez do to make it less interesting? :lol:

Portugal needs more imaginative midfielders to get over the hump. Bruno Fernandez = James Madison; much too focused on personal glory🤔❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Jun 06, 2025 8:30 am Portugal needs more imaginative midfielders to get over the hump. Bruno Fernandez = James Madison; much too focused on personal glory🤔❗️

You have always been a dvmb boy. We hoped you will improve, but you never do. :oops: