FIFA, you are welcome to Nigeria too!!!
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
FIFA, you are welcome to Nigeria too!!!
Fifa questions Ugandan accounts
By Andrew Jackson Oryada
BBC Sport, Kampala
Football's world governing body Fifa has asked the Federation of Ugandan Football Associations (Fufa) to clarify its accounts for last year.
Fufa's accounts were one of a number that Fifa asked accounting giants KPMG to audit.
Fifa has now forwarded KPMG's report to the authorities in Uganda and asked them to answer several questions.
John Schumacher, a Fifa media officer, says that they are yet to hear back from Fufa.
"Yes, we have sent the report to Uganda but unfortunately we have not received any comments from Fufa yet," he said.
Fufa's general secretary Haruna Mawanda confirmed that they have received the report but are still looking at the questions.
"I cannot say if our accounts are correct or not, but we shall cross check and communicate to Fifa," said Mawanda.
Fifa asked KPMG last September to audit the Fufa's accounts after the Uganda Inspector General of Government released a damaging report, alleging misappropriation of funds.
That report was also sent to Fifa and asked Fufa President Denis Obua and 16 other members to account for more than US $200,000 missing from the coffers.
New guidelines were issued last year by Fifa boss Sepp Blatter for national associations to streamline the accountability processes.
Uganda receives US $250,000 annually from Fifa. Last year Fifa suspended Burundi and Somalia from receiving the annual grant due to poor accounts.
By Andrew Jackson Oryada
BBC Sport, Kampala
Football's world governing body Fifa has asked the Federation of Ugandan Football Associations (Fufa) to clarify its accounts for last year.
Fufa's accounts were one of a number that Fifa asked accounting giants KPMG to audit.
Fifa has now forwarded KPMG's report to the authorities in Uganda and asked them to answer several questions.
John Schumacher, a Fifa media officer, says that they are yet to hear back from Fufa.
"Yes, we have sent the report to Uganda but unfortunately we have not received any comments from Fufa yet," he said.
Fufa's general secretary Haruna Mawanda confirmed that they have received the report but are still looking at the questions.
"I cannot say if our accounts are correct or not, but we shall cross check and communicate to Fifa," said Mawanda.
Fifa asked KPMG last September to audit the Fufa's accounts after the Uganda Inspector General of Government released a damaging report, alleging misappropriation of funds.
That report was also sent to Fifa and asked Fufa President Denis Obua and 16 other members to account for more than US $200,000 missing from the coffers.
New guidelines were issued last year by Fifa boss Sepp Blatter for national associations to streamline the accountability processes.
Uganda receives US $250,000 annually from Fifa. Last year Fifa suspended Burundi and Somalia from receiving the annual grant due to poor accounts.
Ayo,
If you have facts that the NFA is mismanaging their accounts, please bring forth those information. Else, stop this childish and unnecessary demeaning of the association just because those running it do not share your opinions.
You need to temper your accusations with reason, else you will diminish whatever respect you are claiming.
If you have facts that the NFA is mismanaging their accounts, please bring forth those information. Else, stop this childish and unnecessary demeaning of the association just because those running it do not share your opinions.
You need to temper your accusations with reason, else you will diminish whatever respect you are claiming.
The meek shall inherit the earth, but they will not hold the mineral rights!!!
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
What are on about? Auditing is now a bad thing??? Hmmmmmmm!SSTAR wrote:Ayo,
If I understand you correctly, you are opposed to KPMG being caled in to audit the NFAs accounts. Why?
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Nna, this SStar bobo just tire me. Does he think that thwe accounts of any Nigerian government parastatal, ministry or agency are properly audited by outside auditors?Paveman wrote:NFA? Accounts?
The two don't sound well together.
I remember when a few investors looked at Nigerian Aiways a few years ago and could not believe that its acounts had not been audited for over 10 years. The only reason Uganda's accounts are being looked at is because the Uganda Inspector General of Government released a damaging report, alleging misappropriation of funds.
No one has requested such an audit of the NFAs accounts but that does not mean untoward things are not going on. Does SStar have something to hide?
Let KPMG audit the NFAs accounts. If there is no wrongdoing, it is still a good thing because if nothing else, they will teach the NFA accountants a few good professional parcices.
Ayo,
I cannot believe you will resort to insinuations to get your points accross. Nobody is opposed to NFA account auditing. For you to suggest that, based on no reason other than 'bad belle' is simply childish. Like I mentioned earlier, if you have the facts that funds are being mismanaged, I am sure most on this forum will like you to point this out and make a hero of yourself.
Now, I can claim you are an unnecessarily egotistical opinionator and not scramble around for the facts.
I cannot believe you will resort to insinuations to get your points accross. Nobody is opposed to NFA account auditing. For you to suggest that, based on no reason other than 'bad belle' is simply childish. Like I mentioned earlier, if you have the facts that funds are being mismanaged, I am sure most on this forum will like you to point this out and make a hero of yourself.
Now, I can claim you are an unnecessarily egotistical opinionator and not scramble around for the facts.
Yes you are right especially with way NFA operates i won't be surprised if they come up with excuses. But something tells me FIFA is going to look the other way and go after smaller little countries who have no impact in world futbol.
Paveman wrote:NFA? Accounts?
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
All I have asked fror is for Fifa to audit the NFAs accounts. Now you have a problem with that but have not told us why.SSTAR wrote:Ayo,
Talking about childishness, I do not know what you do for a living but there are a lot of senior boys on this site who can tell you that in their day to day work, they have to be very meticulous when it comes to record keeping and accounting. We have auditors come in once a year and they spend about three weeks going over every single item of expenditure.
For some of us who have been brought up in this accountable culture, not having transparent records is just unthinkable. You obviously would rather things are kept in the dark.
Do you know that if you are a Plc, you are obliged by law to make your quarterly, interim and annual accounts publicly available? I can only put your opposition down to inexperience.
If you think it is just me, ask some of the senior boys like Gotti, Enugu II, Waffiman, CIC, MD, Paveman etc. Tjhis is one of the beauties of this site. Young men like you can acquire knowledge and experience free of charge.
Ayo,
You do not have to confuse the issue to make your point.
Let's begin at the beginning by stating that my response to you opening salvo on this thread is that you not insinuate that a misappropriation of funds is taking place within the NFA, make that you make the facts/reason for this public knowledge if you have it. Your thread headliner - "FIFA, you are welcome to Nigeria too!!!" borders on conjectural suggestions that could be damaging, but not based on facts. I request you show reasons for your insinuations and you resort to claiming that I have a problem with NFA accountability. Nowhere have I opposed NFA accounts being audited, I do question what grounds you base your requests on. Myself, and I believe not a few on this forum still await reasons for your suggestions instead of your lecture on 'senior boys' etc...etc.
Well, maybe it's too much to request reasons for your suggestions 'Senior' Ayo.
Let's begin at the beginning by stating that my response to you opening salvo on this thread is that you not insinuate that a misappropriation of funds is taking place within the NFA, make that you make the facts/reason for this public knowledge if you have it. Your thread headliner - "FIFA, you are welcome to Nigeria too!!!" borders on conjectural suggestions that could be damaging, but not based on facts. I request you show reasons for your insinuations and you resort to claiming that I have a problem with NFA accountability. Nowhere have I opposed NFA accounts being audited, I do question what grounds you base your requests on. Myself, and I believe not a few on this forum still await reasons for your suggestions instead of your lecture on 'senior boys' etc...etc.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Please explain how my call for Fifa to audit the NFAs accounts indicates that I have evidence that funds are being misappropriated.SSTAR wrote:Ayo,
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
Cristao, can you please explain to Sstar that auditing is standard accounting procedure. Even churches who are supposed to be holier than thou, call in outside auditors to check their accounts.Cristao wrote:GOOD .. they are very welcome in Nigeria and while they are at it they can also audit each state's account ..
He naively thinks that an external audit is equivalent to the institution of criminal proceedings. Like I said earlier, I put this down to basic inexperience.
AYO:
Your sentiments are well-placed but unfortunately ultimately misguided.
FIFA can only audit the funds that it provides to national federations (FUFA in this instance, and the NFA in Nigeria's) which will frankly be a MINISCULE portion of NFA funds (the $250,000 Goal grant promised last year, for instance, is yet to be disbursed).
The concept in itself is not a new or novel one, because multilateral agencies such as the World Bank already conduct audits on grants and sundry disbursements made to Nigeria and Nigerian agencies, after gory stories of embezzlement during the military interregnum.
I personally consider these 'bullet audits' to constitute little more than short-term palliatives. IMHO, the REAL solution (not surprisingly akin to my LC-FC stance) is the INSTITUTIONALIZATION and strengthening of the processes introduced by the present Nigerian govt wrt due process in govt procurement, open tenders and public bidding, and annual audits.
Of course, like any other tools (of professional and personal pursuits), these processes are only as good as the effort put into its efficacy. Unfortunately, rather than support and strengthen these processes, a cross-section of Nigerians seem particularly bent on undermining and subverting these process either for personal gains or to make short-term political points.
But I digress....a FIFA-ordered audit might be a good start, but it will be too MINISCULE to be significantly useful.
Your sentiments are well-placed but unfortunately ultimately misguided.
FIFA can only audit the funds that it provides to national federations (FUFA in this instance, and the NFA in Nigeria's) which will frankly be a MINISCULE portion of NFA funds (the $250,000 Goal grant promised last year, for instance, is yet to be disbursed).
The concept in itself is not a new or novel one, because multilateral agencies such as the World Bank already conduct audits on grants and sundry disbursements made to Nigeria and Nigerian agencies, after gory stories of embezzlement during the military interregnum.
I personally consider these 'bullet audits' to constitute little more than short-term palliatives. IMHO, the REAL solution (not surprisingly akin to my LC-FC stance) is the INSTITUTIONALIZATION and strengthening of the processes introduced by the present Nigerian govt wrt due process in govt procurement, open tenders and public bidding, and annual audits.
Of course, like any other tools (of professional and personal pursuits), these processes are only as good as the effort put into its efficacy. Unfortunately, rather than support and strengthen these processes, a cross-section of Nigerians seem particularly bent on undermining and subverting these process either for personal gains or to make short-term political points.
But I digress....a FIFA-ordered audit might be a good start, but it will be too MINISCULE to be significantly useful.
This language is highly unaccepted, if you ever witness somebody thunder strike, you will necer wish even your enemy as such.Bigpokey24 wrote:thunder go strike u if ur goal is to sit in oyinbo mans country and type rubbish from a distance, all will not be well for u and ur all , if ur wish is to wish evil for nigeria, thunder will strike u asap, bloody waste .
A beg, you have to be careful with the selection of language and the way you address people, no be by curse because of just foruming
From green to super, eagles are soaring to Golden.
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
My sentiments exactly. No one for one second believes that this will combat the epidemic-like spread of corruption across Nigeria or introduce probity and accountability into public lifge but it is a start, albeit a small step.Paveman wrote:Gotti
Well said. I agree with you. However, as miniscule as any effort might be, it is always a start...
The journey of a thousand miles starts with the first few steps. I really do not see how any rationale person would oppose external auditors coming in to check the NFAs books.
Paveman, we Accountants have a joke about Italian Accounts when it comes to audit time.Paveman wrote:NFA? Accounts?
In Italy, you have 3 accounts. One for the Tax man, one for the Auditors and one for the Company to be audited.
I am sure our NFA can always do the same.