why most of nigerian players are christians??

junior
Re: why most of nigerian players are christians??

Post by junior »

ali boubagra wrote:I am just curious,coz I know nigeria has millions of muslims too.
plz guys answer me honestly,I think there is discrimination against muslims in nigeria,and this is coming from your CORUPTED fediration,,,,,,,,,,,,,,the only muslim player I remember so far was the EXCELLENT RACHIDI YEKENI
Let's do a breakdown of what Mr. Ali said.

'I AM JUST CURIOUS,COZ I KNOW NIGERIA HAS MILLIONS OF MUSLIMS TOO.'

Nothing wrong with being curious.

'PLZ GUYS ANSWER ME HONESTLY,I THINK THERE IS DISCRIMINATION AGAINST MUSLIMS IN NIGERIA,AND THIS IS COMING FROM YOUR CORUPTED FEDIRATION,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,'

You get an honest answer to an honest question. Ali 'thinks' there is discriminations against muslims in Nigeria and the corrupted 'Christian' federation is responsible.

'THE ONLY MUSLIM PLAYER I REMEMBER SO FAR WAS THE EXCELLENT RACHIDI YEKENI.'

Rashidi was a wonderful player. And more importantly, was - and still is - beautiful person. Yes, he is muslim but I believe he would want to be known as one of Nigeria's greats and not simply as one of Nigeria's great 'muslim' players.

Ali is asking us why most Nigerian players are Christians. Then says the 'corrupt Christian federation' is guilty of discrimination against muslim players. And wants an 'honest' answer?

I will give you an honest answer........ :shock:

Junior No main the wayo man. If he had just asked correctly then maybe someone would have answered.

ali boubagra wrote::) peace peace peace :) I have nothing against christians,I just have noticed that most of your players have christian religion thats all,concerning the research trust me I have done it,and I am absolutely correct when I say the majority are christians.anyway it is just a question which it needs an honest answer from honest nigerians.
What research did you do?? If you had done your research properly you would have seen that there are many Muslim players past and present.

The reason why people found your question so offensive is that there is a lot of religious tension and violence going on in Nigeria right now (non-football related). Questions like this only help to fuel the fire and make things worse.

The truth is Nigeria uses it's best players for the national team. We have to because WE HAVE NO CHOICE. If we want to be competitive and be one of the best in Africa we have to use our best players regardless of where they come from in the country.

There are more good players coming from the south right now. IMO this is mainly because there is more football being played in the south. I believe a lot more football is taking place in schools, youth teams, football clubs etc in the south than in the north hence more talent are emerging from down south. The south also happens to have more Christians than Moslems.
Last edited by Orion on Thu Jul 08, 2004 2:35 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Molue Conductor wrote:even when Amodu (a muslim) was coach...the squad was still full of christians. in Nigeria religion is not a factor in football, things like Home/foreign based, fresh/tired legs, NFA tinkering are the factors.

For those who are more familiar with the Nigerian league...maybe u can comment on how that affects the distribution of players.

beter to educate than to insult...one of those serves little or no purpose
Scourge have U been rechristened? :D
"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact" :rotf: :rotf: - Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Talk IT wrote:Instead of shouting Ali down why don't you guys give him a legitimate answer like Yujam tried to do. Ali should be given a benefit of a doubt counsidering he is from north africa where majority of the population are muslim and thay have many good footballers too.

Ali can't understand why many good muslim footballers aren't coming from nigeria just as they are in north africa. Also Ali is right when he says majority (more than 90%) of footballers in the SE are christians. the only place where i feel he offended folks is when he tried to blame the situation on corruption and bias from the christian folks. I can give him a benefit of a doubt for that because he can't find any other good reason for the trend.

Ali, i believe the answer Yujam gave is one of the reasons for this trend. Correct me if am wrong but this trend is not exclusive to nigeria. It cuts accross the countries in the coast of west africa. Its just like saying why do blacks tend to be better in sprint race? That doesn't mean you won't find a few white folks who as just as fast in sprint. If i try to further answer this your complicated question, many folks here will call it anti muslim bashing so let me just chill. :D
Talk IT, the best footballers in Ghana are Northerners (I stand corrected)

It has nothing to do with physique - otherwise the Tongans would be dominating - and more to do with Economic and Cultural reasons. The best run Football/most profitable clubs in the Country are in the South - give or take a few. I predict that if an entrepreneur pumps money, time. resources into Northern Clubs they will start producing footballers as is done in the South.
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

I cannot believe the racial sterotyping going on here! It is actually unbelievable!

All that is necessary for the triumph of evil is for good men to do nothing - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Among a people generally corrupt liberty cannot long exist - Edmund Burke (1729 – 1797)

Waffi:
A waffler like you calling me a joke? I guess wonders never end.

You are lucky that I am in a good mood today otherwise you would've received a serious roasting. Insolent midget!

RudeBoy wrote:Ali has asked a good question which deserves a good answer.

To the outside world it is possible to think that there is some kind of bias against the Muslims in the national team when you take into consideration the population demographics of Nigeria.

However, the answer is simple: Most of the best players in Nigeria come from the southern part of Nigeria, which is mainly Christian. Indeed, to be more specific a good majority of the best come from the south eastern (the old mid-Western and East Regions) part of the country, which is, even more predominately Christian.

I reject Yujam's stereotyping of Nigerians (again!). His claims about certain players being “stockier” are a nonsense, clearly show he has no idea of Nigeria or Nigerians and are highly inflammatory!
Ali was a farce, Yujam is a joke. :shock: :shock: :roll: :roll: :roll:

ali boubagra wrote::) peace peace peace :) I have nothing against christians,I just have noticed that most of your players have christian religion thats all,concerning the research trust me I have done it,and I am absolutely correct when I say the majority are christians.anyway it is just a question which it needs an honest answer from honest nigerians.

You mean like Christian Chukwu!

Can anyone expect anything else from Yujam....LOL.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :P :P

If I was incorrect, go ahead and tell me where I am wrong! :lol:
anikulapo wrote:Can anyone expect anything else from Yujam....LOL.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :P :P
ali boubagra

Post by ali boubagra »

may be I am not a deplomatic person,YUJAM thanks for the good answer.
to the rest of the guys who were too hard on me I tell them FORGIVE me for being TOO FRANK,and plz trust me I say it from the buttom of my heart:I never intended to hurt the feeling of christians.I'm ignorant of nigeria has problems between christians&muslims,I'll never state that again.
PEACE TO ALL NIGERIANS
future is now,yesterday is the root,viva foot

Ali:
I wouldn't worry about it too much. Some African countries have had so much religious and ethnic strife, that folks have an aversion to matters of religion or tribal affiliation - even they are legit question. You just happened to be caught in that cross-fire.

Ignore the Waffler and Co. I know who the irresponsible clowns are! :)
Globero

Post by Globero »

ali boubagra wrote:may be I am not a deplomatic person,YUJAM thanks for the good answer.
to the rest of the guys who were too hard on me I tell them FORGIVE me for being TOO FRANK,and plz trust me I say it from the buttom of my heart:I never intended to hurt the feeling of christians.I'm ignorant of nigeria has problems between christians&muslims,I'll never state that again.
PEACE TO ALL NIGERIANS

Kool, just be more tactful next time and do not use this as an excuse for not expressing "reasonable views " on this forum.
From this day forth, I stand by the entity that is ARSENAL.
I'm in despair when we lose, I rejoice when we win and I become emotional for all that happens in between
but may no one dare say I was not there when its all said and done - Globero
RudeBoy

Post by RudeBoy »

ali boubagra wrote:may be I am not a deplomatic person,YUJAM thanks for the good answer.
PEACE TO ALL NIGERIANS
Ali

Beware, Yujam's explanation is incorrect! He is not even Nigerian!
valachi

Post by valachi »

Who is this Bin ladin follower, we in nigeria get along just fine,do put kakata or san san for our Gari oooo
IN SIAONE WE TRUST. BONAFIDE SE COACH!!!!!!!!!!!!!

anikulapo wrote:Can anyone expect anything else from Yujam....LOL.... :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :P :P
The shocking thing is, he is still trying to argue. :shock: :shock:

Dawg:
Tell me how my explanation is incorrect. Muslims live in the North for the most part? The South is where most of the GREAT Nigerian footballers have come from. The South is mostly Christian.

I might not be Nigerian but I am no JJC when it comes to countries in the Continent.

RudeBoy wrote:
PEACE TO ALL NIGERIANS
Ali

Beware, Yujam's explanation is incorrect! He is not even Nigerian!

...and the not so shocking thing is that you continue to show why you are one of the biggest hypocrites on the site! You insult me yet you have nothing that proves my assertion wrong!

On the contrary Yujam I did not insult you. You are the one looking to trade insults and I will not get involved. I was just amazed that you who claim to know Nigerians can make this shocking generalisations in a post.

"C'mon you guys are too tough on Ali. The guy asked a legitimate question only for you to shout him down.

Ali, in my view, it is a matter of physique. The guys from the central and southern part of Nigeria, tend to be more physically well built (stockier) than the Northerners (descendants of pastoralists) etc! The guys from the South also tend to be Christian! Thats it for you!

But I believe there have been some good players from the North of Nigeria too!"

We have muslims in the South, in fact a lot of them, IMHO, if the census figures are accurate, you will be surprised at the number of muslims from the South.

Your generalisations about physique ...., its go to be a joke. I just cannot take it as a serious statement. BTW! I have lived in Northern Nigeria, I saw a lot of stocky people there too.

Fianlly, you talked about hypocrisy. I am left wondering if your response to Ali would have been so cordial and tolerant if he was a Christian? My observation comes from your reactions to posts from those who your have a bee in your bonnet about.

YUJAM wrote:...and the not so shocking thing is that you continue to show why you are one of the biggest hypocrites on the site! You insult me yet you have nothing that proves my assertion wrong!

Like I said, if I am wrong tell me where I am wrong and I'll hold my peace. Please educate me, sir!

YUJAM wrote:...and the not so shocking thing is that you continue to show why you are one of the biggest hypocrites on the site! You insult me yet you have nothing that proves my assertion wrong!

I did not say that aint Muslims in the South but rather that the majority of Muslims live in the North. The Hausa and Fulani make up about 32% of your population right? They also make up the majority of the pop in the North right?

Dawg I am from W Africa too and Hausas and Fulanis are not exclusive to Nigeria. I know that there are other ethnic groups with a better phsique for soccer. Either take it or leave it!

Waffiman wrote:On the contrary Yujam I did not insult you. You are the one looking to trade insults and I will not get involved. I was just amazed that you who claim to know Nigerians can make this shocking generalisations in a post.

"C'mon you guys are too tough on Ali. The guy asked a legitimate question only for you to shout him down.

Ali, in my view, it is a matter of physique. The guys from the central and southern part of Nigeria, tend to be more physically well built (stockier) than the Northerners (descendants of pastoralists) etc! The guys from the South also tend to be Christian! Thats it for you!

But I believe there have been some good players from the North of Nigeria too!"

We have muslims in the South, in fact a lot of them, IMHO, if the census figures are accurate, you will be surprised at the number of muslims from the South.

Your generalisations about physique ...., its go to be a joke. I just cannot take it as a serious statement. BTW! I have lived in Northern Nigeria, I saw a lot of stocky people there too.

Fianlly, you talked about hypocrisy. I am left wondering if your response to Ali would have been so cordial and tolerant if he was a Christian? My observation comes from your reactions to posts from those who your have a bee in your bonnet about.

Mansa Musa

Post by Mansa Musa »

Una sure? Plenty good players for North but na only Garba we see. The only time we see a large # of Northern players is when a Coach is from the North. or when dis players want to get noticed, they have to play for a sourthern club. Why?
Dreem wrote:
The truth is Nigeria uses it's best players for the national team. We have to because WE HAVE NO CHOICE. If we want to be competitive and be one of the best in Africa we have to use our best players regardless of where they come from in the country.
WINNERMAN

Post by WINNERMAN »

Yujam,l lived in Northern Nigeria between 1994-2001 and my wife is a northerner. l was involved with soccer at every level there and my work ensured that l visited and interacted with virtually every tribe in the North.

For starters several assumptions by ppl in the south are seriously faulty ,l will however limit myself to issues concerning sport.There are many other ethnic groups in the north who dont look anything like the your typical Hausa/Fulani. And as per physique,many Hausa/Fulani have the physique you described but are not in the majority even amongst the H/Fs.There is also a lot of intermarriages and that unique physique is changing.

l personally saw a lot of talents in the north ,l think amongst other reasons they do not have the drive to make soccer a profession for cultural reasons unlike the average southern player . Also,they tend to drop out of soccer earlier than the average southern player.

l must also say that most of the scouting is done in the south. However, JP ,fanny and SB and a few national coaches did try scouting in the past with various degrees of success. As many others have said earlier,the north is neither homogenously muslim nor is the south homogenously christian.
As for me and my house we will serve the LORD.-----JOSHUA 24 VS 15.

Life in Christ is not a change,it is an exchange. Your ashes for his beauty,your weakness for his strenght ,your destiny assured and a bonus of a victorious life on earth. lt is an irrestitible exchange.