[ACN2010] PRAY FOR TOGO..BUS ATTACKED..3 DEAD !

Re: [ACN2010] PRAY FOR TOGO..BUS ATTACKED..PLAYERS SHOT !

This is trully disgusting :( :( :(

My heart goes out to the unnecessarily deceased and I pray for a full recovery of the Togolese team from this shock
cyrilndo

Post by cyrilndo »

Football and sports in the past has been used to promote peace as well as stay free from any political interference in any country and that is why FIFA demands that football federations should not be touched by the government.
Even Iraq and Iran just Iraq and USA have played football in the past despite their political differences.
It is a shame we are experiencing this.
" The best way to have a fair judgement on anything is to imagine yourself sitting somewhere in space watching planet earth with the beings that inhabit it, especially those who call themselves homo sapiens. You have no nationality or tribe, you are not a fan of Arsenal, Barca, Inter Milan, Manchester United etc. You won't see a booty or huge boobs if they walk pass you. Money is like tissue to you. what is your opinion? "

This post has been made by camex whom I have ignored.
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

TonyStarks wrote:My condolences to the family of the bus driver, may he rest in peace.

As a fan, I hate to say this, but the tournament should definitely be called off. I know CAF has already decided to go ahead but this tournament will always be remembered by this incident.
Algeria will not win the tournament anyways so why not just call it off! I agree with you bro... :rotf:
goat no fi eat where dey no tie am
TonyStarks

Post by TonyStarks »

kamerun wrote:
TonyStarks wrote:My condolences to the family of the bus driver, may he rest in peace.

As a fan, I hate to say this, but the tournament should definitely be called off. I know CAF has already decided to go ahead but this tournament will always be remembered by this incident.
Algeria will not win the tournament anyways so why not just call it off! I agree with you bro... :rotf:
When things like this happen, the sporting aspect of it becomes very insignificant. I don't know how you can laugh about the matter, I can't even permit myself to make a joke at this time.
http://en.dzfoot.com
legend

Post by legend »

I am with you................I am kind of tired & disgusted.
Apart from my usual Amodu rantings all in all. He has done very well and the laurels and records speak for itself - MI5

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=157957
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

TonyStarks wrote:
kamerun wrote:

When things like this happen, the sporting aspect of it becomes very insignificant. I don't know how you can laugh about the matter, I can't even permit myself to make a joke at this time.
Why didnt they call of the Algeria-Egypt game alltogether after the incidents in Cairo? Certain things have to be done despite unfortunate events which will all regret. You arent more sensitive than I am, you dont have a softer and bigger than I do...

Yeah...tony's right....as a fan, it hurts to say it...but tourney should be called off
Curve whiz

Post by Curve whiz »

See yeye British media already predicting doom for the Nations Cup. Even Portsmouth, of all clubs, say they had asked FIFA to bring their players back....imagine!

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/footba ... jured.html
Follow Us:
https://twitter.com/AthleticsAfrica
https://instagram.com/AthleticsAfrica
https://facebook.com/AthleticsAfrica
https://youtube.com/AthleticsAfrica
Thanks be unto God for His wonderful gift:
Jesus Christ, the only begotten Son of God
is the object of our faith; the only faith
that saves is faith in Him.

Very deeply saddened by this development.

munie

Post by munie »

This tournament must be called off :( :(
omk

Post by omk »

Here's how one person puts it on hearing the news that some members of the Togolese team have been gunned down:
Adebayor not popular with the Gunners over there either it seems.
But seriously, I don't find it funny in any way. :mad:
anaedo1

Post by anaedo1 »

Such unprovoked violence must never go unpunished.I wish the injured players fast recovery.
Incidentally,why was it that none of all the pious ever discovered psycho-analysis?Why did it have to wait for a completely godless Jew?
Sigmund Freud
Ebyboy

Post by Ebyboy »

Wow!!

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day

Bryne V. Deane [1937]
k24opout

Post by k24opout »

tournament should be called off....rip to the driver, hope the others pull through

:(
GAME RECOGNIZE GAME GRANDAD..and YOUR LOOKING UN-FA-MILIAR RIGHT NOW

We cannot repay debt because if we don't pay the creditors won't die, but if we do pay we will die. Tomas Sankara
Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

SUYA wrote:Nobody should call them Freedom Fighters thay are T E R R O R I S T S !!!! :curse:
Suya,
Hypothetically, if you inherited your grandfather's mansion in Aba and someday, some thieves from Cameroun came in and empowered you, killed your family and made you a slave in your "home"; Years go by and even the natural resources on your property, you do not get a dime from, despite the fact you keep slaving away. Your oppressor moves his family and kindreds in and keep enjoying the spoils....One day, he goes on vacation and since you get small power, you beat up and perhaps brutally kill his 5, 9 and 15yr old kids (even though they have been really really nice to you). Are you a terrorist?

My point is, the word "Terrorist" has been used so much that it has lost its true meaning. I sympathise with the Togolese players and (driver's) families; one thing I always pray against, is never to be in a cross-fire. I no go die or injure ontop something wey no concern me. My family have once been in the crossfire in Russia and I know how it was.

Again, I do not condone this move at all....It's unfortunate and the blame is squarely on the shoulders of the Angolan govt and CAF. They were warned but chose to play politics with people's lives. If I was in the Ghanaian of BF squad, no way will I be going to that war zone. Does not make any sense. I hope the players recover quickly. RIP to the driver.
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942
KB

Post by KB »

omk wrote:Here's how one person puts it on hearing the news that some members of the Togolese team have been gunned down:
Adebayor not popular with the Gunners over there either it seems.
But seriously, I don't find it funny in any way. :mad:
Why did you post it then? :(
The more widely Christianity was diffused, and the greater the number of people unprepared for it who were brought under its sway, the less it was understood, the more absolutely was its infallibility insisted on, and the less possible it became to understand the true meaning of the doctrine. Leo Tolstoy, 'The Kingdom of God is within you', Chap 3
kbt

Post by kbt »

I work for a US oil company and we have operations in Cabinda..I have been to Cabinda a few times..Whilst the security situation has got better over the years, there has always been a threat. That's why when moving to and fro Cabinda, we are in the air and not the road..I never really felt scared though, watchful but not scared.

Sad start to the tournament...
stargazer

Post by stargazer »

My heart goes out..but why did Togo decide to enter Angola via Congo, wouldn't have been precautionary to just fly directly unto Angola?
KB
Re: [ACN2010] PRAY FOR TOGO..BUST ATTACKED..PLAYERS SHOT !

Post by KB »

Maximilien Robespierre wrote:The show must go on in my opinion
Really?!
Let me get this straight, our players were machine-gunned like dogs, some of them are now in surgery fighting for their life and all Mr. Maximilien Robespierre wants is for the "show" to continue as if nothing has happened? :shock: WOW!
The more widely Christianity was diffused, and the greater the number of people unprepared for it who were brought under its sway, the less it was understood, the more absolutely was its infallibility insisted on, and the less possible it became to understand the true meaning of the doctrine. Leo Tolstoy, 'The Kingdom of God is within you', Chap 3
Re: [ACN2010] Togo Team Bus Shot At By Rebel Group

cyrilndo wrote:
bret- hart wrote:
Elexus wrote:
KwameBob wrote:
YUJAM wrote:It may be best for Togo to pull out.
Our players are determined to pull out anyway.
Can we count on West African solidarity? I would like all West African teams to pull out to force Hayatou's hand.
To force Hayatou's hand to do what? :?
Why did CAF confer the right to host the championship to Angola when it knew that there was still simmering tension in that country between different factions?

dude this is hayatou we are talking abt. that useless brainless chimpanzee is not smart enough to forsee these things.

I wonder if any crime disrupt the WC in SA you will say the same about Sepp Blatter.
The Angolan gov't is incharge of security and if they fail to deliver, Hayatou should not take the blame. Some of us never think before we start pointing fingers. Is Hayatou incharge of security in Angola?
i will curse Blatter out too. CAF together with the Angola has to take responsibility. u think if the US team is attacked by rebels in SA FIFA would get off the hook?? no way. they will get rammed wit lawsuits.

Riche007

Post by Riche007 »

stargazer wrote:My heart goes out..but why did Togo decide to enter Angola via Congo, wouldn't have been precautionary to just fly directly unto Angola?
The Togolese were training in Congo. Due to proximity, it would make sense to bus into Cabinda...otherwise, they'd have to bus down to Luanda unless there are other small airports around that have direct flights to Cabinda. The last thing on anyone's mind is to think that "rebels" will open fire on a bus carrying pro-footballers.
The greatest enemy of knowledge is not ignorance, it is the illusion of knowledge - Hawking, 1942
kamerun

Post by kamerun »

Riche007 wrote:
stargazer wrote:My heart goes out..but why did Togo decide to enter Angola via Congo, wouldn't have been precautionary to just fly directly unto Angola?
The Togolese were training in Congo. Due to proximity, it would make sense to bus into Cabinda...otherwise, they'd have to bus down to Luanda unless there are other small airports around that have direct flights to Cabinda. The last thing on anyone's mind is to think that "rebels" will open fire on a bus carrying pro-footballers.
very good point. I dont blame the Togolese. I read somewhere else that they were training in pointe noire (congo Brazaville) which just is 75 KMs away from Cabinda....why would anyone think of taking a plane especially when they had police escorts on the Angolan side waiting for them???
legend
Re: [ACN2010] PRAY FOR TOGO..BUST ATTACKED..PLAYERS SHOT !

Post by legend »

KwameBob wrote:
Maximilien Robespierre wrote:The show must go on in my opinion
Really?!
Let me get this straight, our players were machine-gunned like dogs, some of them are now in surgery fighting for their life and all Mr. Maximilien Robespierre wants is for the "show" to continue as if nothing has happened? :shock: WOW!
Max is your normal African so don't blame him for not been capable of 'deep' reasoning , throw in our natural disregard for human life especially those of fellow Africans and you will 'understand' the state of the mind that made that statement.
Apart from my usual Amodu rantings all in all. He has done very well and the laurels and records speak for itself - MI5

viewtopic.php?f=1&t=157957