The overated underachievers have shown themselves once more!
Re: The overated underachievers have shown themselves once more!
I will not be too hard on Cote d'Ivoire for this effort.
First, they only played 2 matches in group B unlike their opponent 3 group A matches - with their last game coming January 15 (9 days apart).
Also they actually played quite well in this game. They certainly played well enough to win it but they met a team that was in her element today. Sometimes a hot/good team is brought down because the other is showed up like buzzsaw - and near impossible to stop. This Algerian team was in a killer mood today.
Kudos to both teams.
First, they only played 2 matches in group B unlike their opponent 3 group A matches - with their last game coming January 15 (9 days apart).
Also they actually played quite well in this game. They certainly played well enough to win it but they met a team that was in her element today. Sometimes a hot/good team is brought down because the other is showed up like buzzsaw - and near impossible to stop. This Algerian team was in a killer mood today.
Kudos to both teams.
Christ died for our sins, and was resurrected for our sake. This is indisputable. This is the center of it all.
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
The earth is not our home.
http://img704.imageshack.us/img704/7711/opaks.gif
http://www.katzy.dsl.pipex.com/Smileys/bsflag.gif
Look again at the title of this thread: ''the overrated underachievers have shown themselves once more''....isnt this pure jealousy and hatred? Listen my brother I dont blame Ivorians at all for being rated by all pundits given the talents at their disposal. When Gabon beat us I visited their forum to see what they where saying...guess what? They had a topic very similar to this one where many of the members where blaming the press and all football fans for hyping the lions whom they believed where decent at best or worse yet just overrated. They said they didnt understand why noone gave them a chance to come out victorious and so I asked them a simple question: Was it Eto'os, Geremi or Nkoulous faults that they where made favourite prior to the game? Listen lets stop this nonsense. Its fans of '' small teams'' that envy the more talented ones that speak like this. If Cameroon, Nigeria and whichever team are that good and believe they have better players and team than the Ivorians then why always refer to what the press supposedly makes them to be? Its just a sign of envy jealousy and in some case hate...simple as that!!! If you read carefully what I am saying and are honest you'll agree with me and call the spade the spade...YoungLion wrote:kamerun wrote:So this is the gathering point for all the jealous and hate filled ones?![]()
Ya'll are blaming the Ivorians for all pundits saying they are favourites because they have the best individual players? Surely you are either jealous or a hater but wont admit it. All of you including cameroonians, nigerians etc...would love to have the press sing your praises, would love to see the world call you the favourites but on paper you simply arent. This thread is similar to one opened by Malawi football fans after their win over Algeria crying about the fact that Algerians where made favourite by the press even before a ball was kicked. Was that the fault of Algerians? Ohh please yall should stop this jealousy. All small teams pray for the favourites to fall so they can come and mouth...its that way everywhere but not with me.
Mon frere. De grace apprends a mesurer tes mots !!!
You're too much at times![]()
goat no fi eat where dey no tie am
Ivory coast were poor, drogba wAs à let Down, he should have been substituted, well they have à few months to tidy things at the back or Else the likes of brazil and netherlands Will send them home
Bro, I understand what you are saying. What you have here are monday morning quarterbacks who KNOW everything about a team, once the dust have settled and the game has been wrapped up. There are also some who are brave enough to make an analysis in the middle of a game especially when a goal is scored, then the tune changes when the other team equalizes or goes on to win. Pick a game thread with at least one goal for each team (at random) and you will be amazed. You can only imagine all the comments that went round after all the WC bound teams either drew or lost their first match in this tournament. Then now that all the WC teams made the quarter finals, we hear about the Big guns finally showing up, then now with IC elimination, we are told that they (IC) are overrated. This is what fan discussions are all about, for me I read them more for entertainment value, if you really want to get a proper scoop, watch the game and form your own opinion. IC will bounce back in my view, this is probably the tonic they need to tune up their goalkeeping lapses and overall team psyche.kamerun wrote:Look again at the title of this thread: ''the overrated underachievers have shown themselves once more''....isnt this pure jealousy and hatred? Listen my brother I dont blame Ivorians at all for being rated by all pundits given the talents at their disposal. When Gabon beat us I visited their forum to see what they where saying...guess what? They had a topic very similar to this one where many of the members where blaming the press and all football fans for hyping the lions whom they believed where decent at best or worse yet just overrated. They said they didnt understand why noone gave them a chance to come out victorious and so I asked them a simple question: Was it Eto'os, Geremi or Nkoulous faults that they where made favourite prior to the game? Listen lets stop this nonsense. Its fans of '' small teams'' that envy the more talented ones that speak like this. If Cameroon, Nigeria and whichever team are that good and believe they have better players and team than the Ivorians then why always refer to what the press supposedly makes them to be? Its just a sign of envy jealousy and in some case hate...simple as that!!! If you read carefully what I am saying and are honest you'll agree with me and call the spade the spade...YoungLion wrote:kamerun wrote:So this is the gathering point for all the jealous and hate filled ones?![]()
Ya'll are blaming the Ivorians for all pundits saying they are favourites because they have the best individual players? Surely you are either jealous or a hater but wont admit it. All of you including cameroonians, nigerians etc...would love to have the press sing your praises, would love to see the world call you the favourites but on paper you simply arent. This thread is similar to one opened by Malawi football fans after their win over Algeria crying about the fact that Algerians where made favourite by the press even before a ball was kicked. Was that the fault of Algerians? Ohh please yall should stop this jealousy. All small teams pray for the favourites to fall so they can come and mouth...its that way everywhere but not with me.
Anyway, enjoy the matches tonite, some good games coming up
Very good contribution. I dig your post...akamoke wrote:Bro, I understand what you are saying. What you have here are monday morning quarterbacks who KNOW everything about a team, once the dust have settled and the game has been wrapped up. There are also some who are brave enough to make an analysis in the middle of a game especially when a goal is scored, then the tune changes when the other team equalizes or goes on to win. Pick a game thread with at least one goal for each team (at random) and you will be amazed. You can only imagine all the comments that went round after all the WC bound teams either drew or lost their first match in this tournament. Then now that all the WC teams made the quarter finals, we hear about the Big guns finally showing up, then now with IC elimination, we are told that they (IC) are overrated. This is what fan discussions are all about, for me I read them more for entertainment value, if you really want to get a proper scoop, watch the game and form your own opinion. IC will bounce back in my view, this is probably the tonic they need to tune up their goalkeeping lapses and overall team psyche.kamerun wrote:Look again at the title of this thread: ''the overrated underachievers have shown themselves once more''....isnt this pure jealousy and hatred? Listen my brother I dont blame Ivorians at all for being rated by all pundits given the talents at their disposal. When Gabon beat us I visited their forum to see what they where saying...guess what? They had a topic very similar to this one where many of the members where blaming the press and all football fans for hyping the lions whom they believed where decent at best or worse yet just overrated. They said they didnt understand why noone gave them a chance to come out victorious and so I asked them a simple question: Was it Eto'os, Geremi or Nkoulous faults that they where made favourite prior to the game? Listen lets stop this nonsense. Its fans of '' small teams'' that envy the more talented ones that speak like this. If Cameroon, Nigeria and whichever team are that good and believe they have better players and team than the Ivorians then why always refer to what the press supposedly makes them to be? Its just a sign of envy jealousy and in some case hate...simple as that!!! If you read carefully what I am saying and are honest you'll agree with me and call the spade the spade...YoungLion wrote:kamerun wrote:So this is the gathering point for all the jealous and hate filled ones?![]()
Anyway, enjoy the matches tonite, some good games coming up

goat no fi eat where dey no tie am
Anyone who banks on CIV with Barry White abi na Tupac in goal is backing the wrong horse. Those dudes saw that the Algerian goalkeeper was already struggling, instead of them resulting to route A football in order to put him under more pressure, they kept on doing their stupid slow build up. Instead of them throwing their big men upfront and putting Algerian defence under intense pressure, they continued with their slow lazy build up. I counted the stupid team putting 5 passes together in their own half, while all the Algerians needed to do was to leave them alone to carouse and ejaculate over tha ball.
As for the goalkeeper, oh may be he was not at fault for the first goal, but he failed miserably with the two other goals. It was lack of his territorial command that allowed the goals. It is said that the 6 yards box belong to the keeper, if an opponent gets the chance to head the ball in the 6 yard box, the keeper takes the can.
That he was the culprit was obvious for all to see from the remonstration of the players especially Zokora who as livid with the keeper for his non performance. If the keeper had paid a closer attention to his 6 yard box the way he did with his hairstyle perhaps they would have lived up to the hype.
As for the full back, hmm i have always heard about players ball watching, damn this guy takes ball watching to another level, especially the 3rd goal. This guy was just strolling from a position that kept Bousazza on while he could have been offside, if that guy is a defender, then Madonna is virgin and Tiger Woods is a celibate.
A team scored a wonderful goal that should have been the winner with a couple of seconds to play for , a team coached by a supposedly WC coach, what did they do, they were still all over the place doing what only God knows, they still put themselves in a situation where a hopeful ball pinged into their box saw only 3 players defending and the ball got behind 7 of their players. Now that is unforgiveable at any level not to mention at international level by a crop of players who are supposed to be playing at the highest level. A team that knows fuly well that they have Tupac in goal instead of a proper goalkeeper demonstrated such a lackadeisical approach that beggars belief.
This team will be taught some bitter leassons come this WC, they lack the mental strength to win anything. I still remember how Cameroon took them to the cleaners in Abidjan in the 2006 WC qualifiers, there and then i realised this team although loaded with so called stars, yet do not have what it takes to be a winner. It takes a lot more than names, talent and ability to be a winner what separates winners and losers goes beyond names and ability. What makes a winner is the mental strength they have, i am sorry to say the CIV team does not have it they have never had it and will never do at least not on the scale that is needed to fuflil their potentials.
I have watched the teams in the past and i have seen some of the players who showed this mental strength, the likes of Traore, Joe Tiehi, Bassole Micheal(little man with a big heart), Sekou Bamba, Sergei Mangui, Konate but these guys were exceptions and until they can infuse the sort of mental strength that the Indomitable lions have into the psyche of the Ivorien team, it is sad to say although they have a golden generation of players, they do not appear to have what it takes to make their era golden.
As for the goalkeeper, oh may be he was not at fault for the first goal, but he failed miserably with the two other goals. It was lack of his territorial command that allowed the goals. It is said that the 6 yards box belong to the keeper, if an opponent gets the chance to head the ball in the 6 yard box, the keeper takes the can.
That he was the culprit was obvious for all to see from the remonstration of the players especially Zokora who as livid with the keeper for his non performance. If the keeper had paid a closer attention to his 6 yard box the way he did with his hairstyle perhaps they would have lived up to the hype.
As for the full back, hmm i have always heard about players ball watching, damn this guy takes ball watching to another level, especially the 3rd goal. This guy was just strolling from a position that kept Bousazza on while he could have been offside, if that guy is a defender, then Madonna is virgin and Tiger Woods is a celibate.
A team scored a wonderful goal that should have been the winner with a couple of seconds to play for , a team coached by a supposedly WC coach, what did they do, they were still all over the place doing what only God knows, they still put themselves in a situation where a hopeful ball pinged into their box saw only 3 players defending and the ball got behind 7 of their players. Now that is unforgiveable at any level not to mention at international level by a crop of players who are supposed to be playing at the highest level. A team that knows fuly well that they have Tupac in goal instead of a proper goalkeeper demonstrated such a lackadeisical approach that beggars belief.
This team will be taught some bitter leassons come this WC, they lack the mental strength to win anything. I still remember how Cameroon took them to the cleaners in Abidjan in the 2006 WC qualifiers, there and then i realised this team although loaded with so called stars, yet do not have what it takes to be a winner. It takes a lot more than names, talent and ability to be a winner what separates winners and losers goes beyond names and ability. What makes a winner is the mental strength they have, i am sorry to say the CIV team does not have it they have never had it and will never do at least not on the scale that is needed to fuflil their potentials.
I have watched the teams in the past and i have seen some of the players who showed this mental strength, the likes of Traore, Joe Tiehi, Bassole Micheal(little man with a big heart), Sekou Bamba, Sergei Mangui, Konate but these guys were exceptions and until they can infuse the sort of mental strength that the Indomitable lions have into the psyche of the Ivorien team, it is sad to say although they have a golden generation of players, they do not appear to have what it takes to make their era golden.
- The Goddess
I would not really say its a complex thing. When CIV qualified for the WC in 2006, they started mouthing and insulting Cameroonains and Cameroonain players which lead to friction.airwolex wrote:I think dude is refering to Cameroonians who curiously - for a Country that has had such succes in African football - still seem to have a complex for CIV!basketmouth wrote:Stop being childish already. CIV is overrated and has been for years. They are yet to win anything since the hype began and they get progressively worse each year.kamerun wrote:So this is the gathering point for all the jealous and hate filled ones?![]()
Ya'll are blaming the Ivorians for all pundits saying they are favourites because they have the best individual players? Surely you are either jealous or a hater but wont admit it. All of you including cameroonians, nigerians etc...would love to have the press sing your praises, would love to see the world call you the favourites but on paper you simply arent. This thread is similar to one opened by Malawi football fans after their win over Algeria crying about the fact that Algerians where made favourite by the press even before a ball was kicked. Was that the fault of Algerians? Ohh please yall should stop this jealousy. All small teams pray for the favourites to fall so they can come and mouth...its that way everywhere but not with me.![]()
To be fair the way they bash Drogba and CIV has always surprised me. Maybe it;s a Francophone thing like Naija and Ghana.
Forget the thread heading and read through the thread again. What you're seeing here are frustrated CIV fans (well maybe apart for the Cameroonians) but CIV is the most liked foreign team on this forum and you can see many here wanted them to do well. CIV packs a heavyweight of some of the most talented Black African players playing for clubs like Chelsea and Barcelona (these are the kind of players we would love to have in our teams) seriously you think we enjoy seeing North African teams make mincemeat of them every time?kamerun wrote:Look again at the title of this thread: ''the overrated underachievers have shown themselves once more''....isnt this pure jealousy and hatred? Listen my brother I dont blame Ivorians at all for being rated by all pundits given the talents at their disposal. When Gabon beat us I visited their forum to see what they where saying...guess what? They had a topic very similar to this one where many of the members where blaming the press and all football fans for hyping the lions whom they believed where decent at best or worse yet just overrated. They said they didnt understand why noone gave them a chance to come out victorious and so I asked them a simple question: Was it Eto'os, Geremi or Nkoulous faults that they where made favourite prior to the game? Listen lets stop this nonsense. Its fans of '' small teams'' that envy the more talented ones that speak like this. If Cameroon, Nigeria and whichever team are that good and believe they have better players and team than the Ivorians then why always refer to what the press supposedly makes them to be? Its just a sign of envy jealousy and in some case hate...simple as that!!! If you read carefully what I am saying and are honest you'll agree with me and call the spade the spade...
Overrated by whom exactly? I don't see any pundits tipping Nigeria to win this tournament. The general pre-tournament feeling was a quarter final berth or semi finals.... well we're at the 1/4 finals at least.wale1974 wrote:Well we are over rated toovancity eagle wrote:kamerun wrote:So this is the gathering point for all the jealous and hate filled ones?![]()
DONT MIND SOME OF THESE FOOLISH NIGERIANS, WE HAVEN'T EVEN BEATEN ANY TOP 10 AFRICAN TEAM IN HOW LONG ? GHANA AND CIV BEAT US TWICE THE LAST 2 TIMES WE MET AND WE STILL GET THE NERVE TO TALK TRASH WHEN WE STRUGGLE AGAINST THE BENIN'S AND KENYA'S. THESE ARE THE ONLY KIND OF TEAMS WE CAN BEAT. AMODU IS A GENIOUS FOR BEATING MOZAMBIQUE.
Bro just shut up..Naija could not beat them so shut upbasketmouth wrote:As many times I said it on this forum that CIV is overrated, folks said I was jealous of CIV.CIV will revert back to being an average team after this tournament or Drogba's retirement (which ever comes first).
I still don't understand why Eguaevon and Vogts played defensively and scared against CIV in 2006 and 2008 respectively. To beat CIV, you need to expose them by attacking them. They've always been vulnerable in defense and their midfield is not as tough as it looks on paper.
See you next decade CIV.![]()
Oh well, some of us just know this game of football.
Re: The overated underacievers have shown themselves once more
Yeah but we're in the WC those other teams you mentioned aren't.vancity eagle wrote:goke313 wrote:and who are we to be talking?
Can we defeat that same Algerian team?
DONT MIND THEM. WE ONLY BEAT TEAMS LIKE KENYA AND BENIN. WE COULDN'T EVEN BEAT TUNISIA WHO ARE QUITE A BIT WORSE THAN ALGERIA.
- Killa Adjei
Are you refeering to Nigeria or CIV? 

We are the centre of the pitch, we are precise, we are our effort, we are attackers who defend, we are defenders who attack, we are respected by our rivals, we are recognised by our rivals, we are every goal that we score, we are those who always look for our opponent's goal, WE ARE ONE.
Pep Guardiola To Barca Before CL Final
Killa Adjei wrote:Are you refeering to Nigeria or CIV?
DONT MIND THEM, NIGERIA IS THE DISGRACE
AT LEAST CIV BEAT THE GHANA U20 HANDILY WHILE WE HUFFED AND PUFFED TO NO AVAIL.