The good news is
Re: The good news is
Skylolo wrote:For me the only good thing apart from winning the game was that we defended robustly throughout...
Our full backs(Yusuf in particular) pulled our wing forwards back to defend, Shittu and Apam were both immense and Kaita was solid throughout..
Shame Apam will miss the next game, he is a five defender.
But Etuhu..I mean what is he doing in the team?What exactly does he bring to the table, Olofofo sef is berra than this guy IMHO..
Kaita was not solid at all.
He donated 2 (soft) penalties that some referees would have called in positions that were not critical.
His passing is horrible & he cannot shoot.
Running around and hustling, & giving the ball right back to maintain the pressure on your team is not productive.
Amodu is easy to neutralize. Just load up the midfield. We are paying the price for full back who offer nothing going forward. Can't shoot, can't cross, can't spread the opposition.
This thing is not that difficult. Amodu bungled the selection of players for the tournament, & he is bungling with the match line-ups.
In no way does the continious start of Yakubu make any sense. Amodu trying to force him down our throats is going to make him miss the WC entirely.
- chief nfachairman
You are right .. i knew they woud not score. They are very pooor marks men. I felt they woudl make a mistake at the back that Nigeria woudl capitalize on but it seems their defenders are shittu like, they dont take chancesamafolas wrote:Spicyee wrote:You, bro, are a real clown.Catalyst wrote:Cellular,
When everybody calms down, we will revisit this topic.
I did not like our game against Mozambique. I thought we played better today.There is no way I will agree that Zambia out played us - based on what? We had our chances - they had theirs. Stalemate - after a good game from both teams. So the best complete game we have played so far in this tourney. When I was watching this game, I was relaxed save for the PKs of course.
We shall revisit this.
i was so relaxed. To me, it was clear that Zambia was never going to score even if the match continued till next year. And i always felt, we could get lucky and sneak in a goal to steal the game.
I agree. I don't know why folks keep saying Kaita was solid, he was disaster waiting to happentruetalk wrote:Skylolo wrote:For me the only good thing apart from winning the game was that we defended robustly throughout...
Our full backs(Yusuf in particular) pulled our wing forwards back to defend, Shittu and Apam were both immense and Kaita was solid throughout..
But Etuhu..I mean what is he doing in the team?What exactly does he bring to the table, Olofofo sef is berra than this guy IMHO..
He donated 2 (soft) penalties that some referees would have called in positions that were not critical.
Running around and hustling, & giving the ball right back to maintain the pressure on your team is not productive.
Amodu is easy to neutralize. Just load up the midfield. We are paying the price for full back who offer nothing going forward. Can't shoot, can't cross, can't spread the opposition.
This thing is not that difficult. Amodu bungled the selection of players for the tournament, & he is bungling with the match line-ups.
In no way does the continious start of Yakubu make any sense. Amodu trying to force him down our throats is going to make him miss the WC entirely.
WOWO = ONO (oh no!) = OBO
WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'
ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'
OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'
WOWO 'We only want Oyinbo'
ONO 'Oyinbo na Oyinbo'
OBO 'Oyinbo be Oyinbo'
truetalk wrote:Skylolo wrote:For me the only good thing apart from winning the game was that we defended robustly throughout...
''Running around and hustling, & giving the ball right back to maintain the pressure on your team is not productive'' likewise Mohammed Yussuf .
When people try to use you to gain relevance, just ignore them. It pains them even more
Are you sure? What about Adeleye, Olubayo, Okonkwo chap that played in the 21s, Chibuzor okonkwo,Ajilore, Peter utaka,The obi at Inter milan. So many Nigeria chaps that where not used or tried by Amodu. We have better players even in the local league (atleast some of the zambia play in the south african league) but laziness from Amodu and NFF has lead us to accept mediocrity even when the team is not losing.Orion wrote:Honest opinion? What is your take on this poor showing?
-Poor coaching/team strategy?
-100% due to lack of talent in the player department (i.e. no coach can make us play better)?
-Commitment issues from players?
-Some other factor?
-Zambia is a good side (and we should give them credit instead of saying we were poor)?

- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Excellent observation on the fixes... I agree,spastic wrote:I have not seen the 2nd half. Had to jet, but based on the first. We might have played better in this game.![]()
I said on the game lineup thread that I would have preferred the Benin lineup. That to me is still our best perfomance.
That said, I think this is a matter of choice. Either you increase defensive strength, or offensive impetus. I think against Ghana, he will have to go the other route and increase offensive impetus. Which in my opinion means the following.
1) Seat Kaita. Yes, I know this is not popular, but frankly what he adds defensively takes out from are offensve capacities. Etuhu, while not as good as Kaita defensively, has betterchemistry with Obi and moves better offensively. He should be the primary DM
2) By seating Kaita, Obi should then be moved to the supporting DM role (the one Etuhu has played in the last 2 games). Obi is more comfortable in this role
a) Coz he has more space
b) coz he has more time
c) coz it affords him the opportunity to ochestrate from deep. Which by the way is what he will do anyway regardless of whether he is played there or not. So we might as well play him ther.
3) Reinstate Kalu Uche in the AM role. Kalu Uche can operate better (at least in theory) in that role. He is much more comfortable in tight spaces and is a better dribbler. But most importantly he feels no compulsion to always drop deep to receive the ball.
4) Switch Osaze and Obasi. Obasi is infinitely more comfortable on the right, while Osaze seems to be able to accomplish his game on the left with less of a drop in productivity.
5) Start Martins. We need to play with speed in this game. ANd Martins gives us an increase of speed in that respect than Yak.
I think if all of these is done, our chances will be greatly improved. But kid you not, I really think Ghana has a better team. However we can beat them on a good day. But we surely will need a good day
Squarepass Mikel is no AM...
One of the worst games I have seen Obasi play ever!
Kaita was Horrendous... better ref, two Pks... gave up way too many freekicks in dangerous positions...
Nigeria were a shadow of their famously attacking selves - rarely penetrating the Zambian defence with any menace or even purpose. They didn't win a single corner until the 101st minute
For christ sake Disband these team

Catalyst wrote:We played bad?
This is news to me.
We played better than we did against Mozambique, imo.
Kudos to Zambia.
PS. Nigerians, I hail you. Please learn to give credit to others.
Ok, your views have been read/heard. Kindly change the name of the SE coach to Siasia and then give us an honest assessment of the "jaunketty Jalope" we played yesterday.
Dodo wrote:Osaze's excuse for the poor performance "We dont know how to prepare for teams with no names"

To d Super Eagles - there's no limit to wot can be accomplished when nobody cares who gets the credit (ucb)
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
speech is ma hammer bang d world into shape - mos def
A win is a win, whether u win by an inch or by a mile - Dominic Toretto
life without knowledge is death in disguise - talib kweli
Actually we should learn from all our performances, good or bad...chief nfachairman wrote:We shodl learn from poor performances like this to right the wrongs and build for the future rather than dwell on a poor victory else we would end up been in teh categories of Rwanda and Ehiopia many years down the line.
But I would still take a "poor victory" in a competitive game over a "great" loss!
- The YeyeMan
It's funny you say that as I was at the dentist on Monday but made it home for the 2nd half. Watching the Eagles play "football" was more painful than the dentist hammering away at my teeth,Goldleaf wrote:Watching SE last night was akin to having one's front teeth being pulled out by a set of pliers without anaesthetic. I mean WTF? Jesus?
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
The YeyeMan wrote:It's funny you say that as I was at the dentist on Monday but made it home for the 2nd half. Watching the Eagles play "football" was more painful than the dentist hammering away at my teeth,Goldleaf wrote:Watching SE last night was akin to having one's front teeth being pulled out by a set of pliers without anaesthetic. I mean WTF? Jesus?
I think SE better up their game against Ghana or they will be embarrassed. I see similarity between Ghana and Zambia style of play. If the SE players become less purposeful and inactive; not chasing 50-50 balls, SE will be a toast. Annan is back and Annan, Badu, and Asamoah will make the midfield a hell. This is my piece of advice
- Chief Ogbunigwe
oscar52 wrote:I remember very well and like today, our team looked old and sluggish that I feared that they will fall on their face at the WC (WC1994) but to my surprise they actually came to life at the WC because our game jells better with the European brand of football than African. I know we will play better at the WC once again but I am not convinced we will still score...platinum wrote:True.
Many remember we won the anc in 94, few remember the same zambians ran rings round us for a huge portion of that final. Though unlike todays side, that 94 team actually showed some attacking verve.
Gotti wrote:My brother, you are right...KoC wrote:There is no way they can play any worse than this.
DAMN!
Unfortunately, we suffered through a thoroughly UNINSPIRING (and often subpar) Eagles' performance for much of today's game (albeit after controlling the first 35 or so minutes, without actually creating many scoring chances), but at least one benefit of winning is that it gives the team another shot at redemption. In a few years, few would care (or even know) how we won, except that we won. Best of luck to the lads!![]()
I agree...our '94 ANC was not all that...just good enough to win the cup. Rufai was very rusty, our defence was shaky (though Iroha provided a spark), Adepoju, Oliseh and JJ played well. Amo was on/off, as was Finidi. Amunike shone like a million stars when he played. Ekoku was so-so. Yekini was solid. Westerhof was struggling....he nearly gave the game to the Zambians when he conceded the midfield by removing Okocha and inserting Ugbade.
I was pleasantly surprised @ the WC when we played some of the best footie....
- YemiBrazil
Haaa Ascaris sef dey yab personspastic wrote:Wetin dey laugh Pinky? I dey follow my guy joke, you come dey celebrate. I bet when I watch the game on Wednesday, it is more likely I'd agree with Catalyst than you- MuguYemiBrazil wrote:I don die oooospastic wrote:Catalyst,
Wait O! You know say no be us where white abi?