NFF queries World Cup 1.9 billion naira fund
- naija4ever
- Location: Latitude 14' 40 N Longitude 90' 31 W(Nollywood 4Ever)
NFF queries World Cup 1.9 billion naira fund
QUESTIONS are now been asked about the 1.9 billion naira (about $120 million) generated by the Presidential Task Force (PTF) for Nigeria's World Cup campaign after the Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) claimed they have only received about 300 million thus far from the special committee.
The PTF, headed by Rivers State Governor Rotimi Amaechi, were established by late President Umaru Musa Yar'Adua to assist the NFF ensure the Super Eagles qualify and do well at the 2010 World Cup.
The PTF will then organise a fund-raising dinner in Abuja, where they realised about N1.9 million from state governments, companies and individuals.
However, MTNFootball.com has since gathered that NFF have thus far only received about N3 00 million from the PTF in respect of the World Cup with questions being asked about what has become of the balance of this fund.
"The PTF got about 1.9 billion naira in respect of the Eagles 2010 World Cup campaign, but we have so far only received around 300 million naira of that amount," a top NFF official told MTNFootball.com.
A breakdown of this sum shows that the PTF paid the NFF N77 million as their own 50% contribution towards the Eagles match bonuses for three World Cup qualifiers against Kenya (in Nairobi), Mozambique (in Abuja) and Tunisia (in Abuja).
The PTF also paid the salaries of coach Lars Lagerback for his five-month contract, which came to overN200 million. NFF officials said that they are yet to receive 200 million from the PTF being their own 50% contribution for the match bonuses of the Eagles at the 2010 Africa Cup of Nations in Angola.
The NFF had to source for this sum at Angola 2010 so as to avoid a major pay row with the Eagles.
The PTF are expected to wind up their operations soon after their tenure was extended from after the qualifiers in November to after the tournament proper.
http://www.compassnewspaper.com/NG/inde ... Itemid=669
The PTF, headed by Rivers State Governor Rotimi Amaechi, were established by late President Umaru Musa Yar'Adua to assist the NFF ensure the Super Eagles qualify and do well at the 2010 World Cup.
The PTF will then organise a fund-raising dinner in Abuja, where they realised about N1.9 million from state governments, companies and individuals.
However, MTNFootball.com has since gathered that NFF have thus far only received about N3 00 million from the PTF in respect of the World Cup with questions being asked about what has become of the balance of this fund.
"The PTF got about 1.9 billion naira in respect of the Eagles 2010 World Cup campaign, but we have so far only received around 300 million naira of that amount," a top NFF official told MTNFootball.com.
A breakdown of this sum shows that the PTF paid the NFF N77 million as their own 50% contribution towards the Eagles match bonuses for three World Cup qualifiers against Kenya (in Nairobi), Mozambique (in Abuja) and Tunisia (in Abuja).
The PTF also paid the salaries of coach Lars Lagerback for his five-month contract, which came to overN200 million. NFF officials said that they are yet to receive 200 million from the PTF being their own 50% contribution for the match bonuses of the Eagles at the 2010 Africa Cup of Nations in Angola.
The NFF had to source for this sum at Angola 2010 so as to avoid a major pay row with the Eagles.
The PTF are expected to wind up their operations soon after their tenure was extended from after the qualifiers in November to after the tournament proper.
http://www.compassnewspaper.com/NG/inde ... Itemid=669
Schillachi wrote:Thanks Ghana. I hope this defeat will forever cure us of our colonial mentality when it comes to Coaches...
mystic wrote:
Now, we can criticise CCC for this, that and the other - some of which is warranted, and some of which is complete hogwash. But, in my view, these are the prinicipal areas in which he has been a disappointment.
All the same, I salute Christian Chukwu for his efforts, his selflessness and his hard work. He has served his country to the best of his ability. The predicament that we are in, right now, is not soley of his making and we should all keep that in mind..
The two players are in different worlds. Ade is too young to be compared to Kanu. Kanu has been around and has raked in laurels upon laurels. If he is not scoring, he is assisting; and if he is not, he is entertaining ... one of the finest players in the world. Please for past times, compare Kanu to Brazilian Socrates..bbc606
Re: NFF queries World Cup 1.9 billion naira fund
Are we still are this screwed up? I swear I almost never want to look at news stories on Nigerian soccer because it's almost always bad news.
megapro wrote:Yobo’s problem is easy to analyze. His name is Omeruo. You don’t have to be a genius, just a normal guy like me to understand that we’re talking about frustration. It’s not easy for a player to see how he’s outperformed by a 19 year-old kid, but the kid is fantastic. I had the courage to play him and the problem is very simple.
Re: NFF queries World Cup 1.9 billion naira fund
We are more screwed than you give us credit for. If you keep your channel open, now is the time for all that was done in the dark to come to light. Now do not get carried away when you hear people clamouring for Largerback to stay, (personally i dont care if he stays or goes), but watch closely those who are clamouring for him stay, they would be the people who brought him , who were eager to hand the contract to him in the first place. YOu will find out that the reason why they wanted him to stay has nothing to do with football, it has more to do with their bank accounts.kalani wrote:Are we still are this screwed up? I swear I almost never want to look at news stories on Nigerian soccer because it's almost always bad news.
At the moment they are guaging the mood of the fans in order to get the boldness to shout the more, but watch as those who did not get a cut would begin to scream louder for a change. That my dear friend is the beauty of Nigerian football in full flow, off the field tactical display of brilliance.