Man United Transfer Thread: Gill Expects A Busy Summer

Maradona
Man United Transfer Thread: Gill Expects A Busy Summer

Post by Maradona »

This thread will be used to keep up with opur potential transfer targets. It's no secret that we are going to be making signings.
These are the times Arsenal fans wish El Cheapo were like us.
Gill expects busy summer

Manchester United chief executive David Gill admits this summer will be a busier one than usual at Old Trafford.

The club look set to bring in new recruits after a humbling defeat to Barcelona in the Champions League final, with Sir Alex Ferguson and Gill also hoping to clear up the future of Paul Scholes.

The Red Devils are hopeful the summer can be spent creating the foundations of a club that can challenge the Catalan giants, as well as stave off the growing threat of neighbours Manchester City.

"It will be a busier than usual summer this year," Gill told MUTV.

"I will be going away at some point in June and be back for the start of our tour but I will be on with player stuff for the next few weeks I am sure."
Halting progress

With the future in mind Ferguson has also hit out at a ruling on young players which he feels is slowing the development of home-grown talent.

The manager feels English teams are being handicapped by rules agreed between the Football Association and Premier League that prevent clubs working with youngsters aged 16 and under for any longer than 90 minutes a day.

"People have to understand the mechanics of the industry we are working in," Ferguson said.

"We are only allowed to coach youngsters for an hour and a half, they [Barcelona] can coach every hour of the day if they want to.

"That's the great advantage they have got. It is a fantastic philosophy.

"We hope that in years to come our coaches will be able to spend more time with young kids, to teach them the basics, the technical abilities and the confidence to keep the ball all the time.

"We are good at it, but not as good as Barcelona at this moment in time.

"It is a wonderful challenge and we should always accept a challenge."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528, ... 44,00.html
Last edited by Maradona on Tue May 31, 2011 10:14 am, edited 1 time in total.
The danger in hunting down evil, is that you gradually become that which you seek to destroy..

"While this Czech man is impressive, d#$% Cheney, Don Rumsfeld and the rest of the US Republican establishment have been living without a heart for a far longer time." - Scipio Africanus' reaction to news that a Czech man had undergone a surgical procedure that enabled him to live for 6 months without a heart.
Maradona
Re: Man United Bros: Gill Expects A Busy Summer of Transfers

Post by Maradona »

Jelavic couldn't reject United

Rangers striker Nikica Jelavic has revealed he could not reject a move to Manchester United if the Premier League giants came calling.

Jelavic enjoyed an impressive debut season in the SPL having scored 16 league goals from 23 appearances.

The Croatia international is aware of speculation linking him with a move to the UEFA Champions League runners-up, although he insists he is happy in Scotland.

However, should an offer from Old Trafford be forthcoming then he would have to give the move serious consideration - stating the English giants are a hard club to reject.

Jelavic would move if he had the opportunity to join United, although he says he would not simply jump ship for any Premier League side.

"Moving to another club? No, that's the last thing on my mind," Jelavic told Jutarnji List.

"I'm enjoying Scotland. My life is fantastic. I like being here as a footballer. The most important thing is I see that my family is happy too. So there's really no reason for me to move.

"Manchester United? Well, that would be of course very hard to reject. But I only read about Red Devils in newspapers.

"Of course I'm happy to be linked with such a great club, but I really don't know anything about this. Me and Walter Smith, who knows Alex Ferguson very well, joked about this stuff.

"He was telling me, that Fergie is building team for me to fit in. But in reality I doubt that he would talk with Ferguson about his players... But of course, if Manchester United make an offer for me then I couldn't stay in Scotland.

"United is a club you can't say no to. If Newcastle United call then I'd stay in Glasgow, no doubt."

http://www.skysports.com/story/0,19528, ... 09,00.html

The danger in hunting down evil, is that you gradually become that which you seek to destroy..

"While this Czech man is impressive, d#$% Cheney, Don Rumsfeld and the rest of the US Republican establishment have been living without a heart for a far longer time." - Scipio Africanus' reaction to news that a Czech man had undergone a surgical procedure that enabled him to live for 6 months without a heart.
Maradona
Re: Man United Bros: Gill Expects A Busy Summer of Transfers

Post by Maradona »

There are also reports the signing of David Gea is all but complete and there will be an official confirmation in the not too distant future. Apparently, Sir Alex would not have made it public if he was not close to signing the terrific Spaniard.

Maradona
Re: Man United Transfer Thread: Gill Expects A Busy Summer

Post by Maradona »

IT'S £16M SPLASH FOR ASHLEY YOUNG

been told to cough up £16m to sign Aston Villa’s Ashley Young.

Aston Villa are resigned to losing the 25-year-old England star this summer and are close to agreeing a deal with the Premier League champions.

But they have told Sir Alex Ferguson to forget getting Ashley Young on the cheap in a cut-price £12m deal, and instead splash out a realistic fee for their best player.

Manchester United have been keen to wrap the deal up as quickly as possible but there have been obstacles in the way.

The Reds didn’t want to interrupt the crucial week leading up to the Champions League Final with Barcelona and there is still uncertainty about Villa’s managerial position.

However, Villa owner Randy Lerner has sanctioned the move with the blessing of recuperating boss Gerard Houllier because it is the only sensible thing the club can do.

Young has steadfastly refused to entertain talks about a new deal and only has 12 months before it runs out.

Liverpool were also believed to be interested but may now home in on their other top target – Villa’s Stewart Downing.

Downing has also declined talks about a new longer- term deal and though he still has two years left on his deal, Villa again may fi nd themselves between a rock and a hard place.

Ferguson is hoping to go full steam ahead on the Young deal now the season is completely out of the way.

Downing could find himself at the centre of a £15m tug-of-war between Liverpool and Arsenal. The England winger has told Villa he wants Champions League football and won’t entertain proposed talks about signing a new deal.

Despite typically wet Manchester weather and Saturday’s Champions League Final thumping, thousands of United fans lined the streets yesterday for a trophy parade to celebrate United’s record-busting 19th league title.

As their players headed off for international commitments, a holiday or, in Edwin van der Sar and possibly Paul Scholes’ case, retirement, United chief executive David Gill and Ferguson will this summer set to work on rebuilding.

“It will be a busier than usual summer this year,” Gill told MUTV.

“I will be going away at some point in June and be back for the start of our tour, but I will be on with player stuff for the next few weeks I am sure.”

The first task will be to thrash out Scholes’ future. Out of contract this summer, the 36-year-old claimed last week not to have decided whether to accept Fergie’s offer to extend his career by another season.

Scholes said: “Reaching 19 titles is not something you ever think about. All you want to do is win something. To go on like we have done is a great achievement.

“Now we want to stretch our lead even more. The challenge will always be to get the next one.”

http://www.dailystar.co.uk/football/vie ... ley-Young/

Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

More like this man please.. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

To God be the glory

This thread might be very long by the time the season starts because we are talking about Man United

However the thread I would be very much interested in how long it could get and how long it would take to get a SINGLE contribution is

"Sierra Leone successes any any level of football" :tic: :sneaky: :evil:
realtrouble

Post by realtrouble »

well man united have no choice regarding rebuilding, we should not panic, we still have good players, the players we have now are still good enough to win the premiership :taunt: :thumbs: :thumb: but we need to take it to another level and start competing for champion league trophies

Maradona

Post by Maradona »

Skylolo wrote:More like this man please.. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Is Juventus still regarded as a big club in the CL? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Maradona

Post by Maradona »

pajimoh wrote:This thread might be very long by the time the season starts because we are talking about Man United

However the thread I would be very much interested in how long it could get and how long it would take to get a SINGLE contribution is

That will be a fruitless endeavour since this is not a Sierra Leonean site.
Heck, in spite of the huge success of Manchester United, some threads still fail to generate lots of contributions, while Arsenal threads generally generally a lot of interests despite failing to win a trophy of note in the last 6 years.

To simplify the issue (since it appears you're dyslexic), it has more to do with interest than success. Olodo! :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Btw, we're coming for Luka Modric. Ewu Rottenham Hot-$#%. :twisted:

Maradona

Post by Maradona »

marko wrote:well man united have no choice regarding rebuilding, we should not panic, we still have good players, the players we have now are still good enough to win the premiership :taunt: :thumbs: :thumb: but we need to take it to another level and start competing for champion league trophies
GBAM!
Infact, KPOM! :D

Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Maradona wrote:

Is Juventus still regarded as a big club in the CL? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
The mighty Juventus don't sign homeless bums like that man up there for £7m+... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Last edited by Skylolo on Tue May 31, 2011 11:30 am, edited 1 time in total.
To God be the glory
Maradona

Post by Maradona »

Skylolo wrote:
Maradona wrote:

The mighty Juventus don't sign hopeless bums like that man up there for £7m+... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
And yet they signed Melo. :laugh: :taunt:

kenmega

Post by kenmega »

Maradona wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
Maradona wrote:

The mighty Juventus don't sign hopeless bums like that man up there for £7m+... :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
And Ziegler too.. :laugh:
Maradona

Post by Maradona »

kenmega wrote:
Maradona wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
Maradona wrote:

pajimoh wrote:This thread might be very long by the time the season starts because we are talking about Man United

That will be a fruitless endeavour since this is not a Sierra Leonean site.
Heck, in spite of the huge success of Manchester United, some threads still fail to generate lots of contributions, while Arsenal threads generally generally a lot of interests despite failing to win a trophy of note in the last 6 years.

To simplify the issue (since it appears you're dyslexic), it has more to do with interest than success. Olodo! :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Btw, we're coming for Luka Modric. Ewu Rottenham Hot-$#%. :twisted:

Oi football immigrant without right of abode :tic: You seem to fight for other national teams and club. Well I can't say I blame you.

You can come for Modric, you can even come for his pet dog for all I care. This is football.

Bloody footy alien without passport. :tic: :sneaky:
Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Maradona wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
Maradona wrote:

You want to compare a Full brazilian Intl with a homeless footballer? :rotf: :rotf: The twins who are in your first team sef cannot even make the Brazilian squad...playing for the Selecao is no joke, Melo may have a screw loose but is a very good player. A homeless Div 3 player in Portugal surely cannot play for Brazil! :D

When will you agree you have been duped and send the guy back to where he came from?? :wink:
To God be the glory
Maradona

Post by Maradona »

EXCLUSIVE: Spurs willing to sell Modric AND Bale

Read more: http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Tr ... z1NvTVTSJE

Tottenham are willing to cash in on star playmaker Luka Modric at the right price - but would only allow Gareth Bale to leave for a staggering £50million.

The north Londoners have so far been adamant that the 25-year-old Croatian is going nowhere amid interest from Chelsea and, more significantly, Manchester United.

But privately, MirrorFootball understands, theywouldallow Modric to leave if they were to receive an offer of £20m-£25m from a Champions League club.

The revelation is eye-catching, given that they themselves paid £16m for him three years ago and also given that the club are going to be battling to break back into the top four.

In 2008, Modric signed a six-year contract and, such have been the quality of his performances, he signed another improved six-year deal 12 months ago.

Speaking earlier this month, the versatile midfielder said: “‘You can’t predict things in football because anything can happen. But I am enjoying it here.

"The fans are amazing, the club is amazing. There are Croatians here. I really do enjoy it here.

"I’m not missing anything. I think this club can achieve a lot of great things. I think we can challenge for the Premier League and the cups.

“Like I said, you never know what is going to happen. You can say you are staying and then you leave. But I am happy here and I am not thinking about leaving.”

Tottenham have already had approaches for Bale, with Manchester United being linked with the 21-year-old following his heroics in the Champions League.

But Spurs are demanding top dollar for the Welsh wonder, who is also raid to be on the radar of the likes of Juventus and Inter Milan.

Should they receive an offer they cannot refuse, Tottenham would use the cash to reinvest in the team with striker Leandro Damiao of Brazilian side Internacional among those on their hit-list.

http://www.mirrorfootball.co.uk/news/Tr ... 43025.html

Maradona

Post by Maradona »

Skylolo wrote:
Maradona wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
Maradona wrote:

You want to compare a Full brazilian Intl with a homeless footballer? :rotf: :rotf: The twins who are in your first team sef cannot even make the Brazilian squad...playing for the Selecao is no joke, Melo may have a screw loose but is a very good player. A homeless Div 3 player in Portugal surely cannot play for Brazil! :D

When will you agree you have been duped and send the guy back to where he came from?? :wink:
Juventus midfielder Felipe Melo voted worst player in Serie A

Brazilian international midfielder Felipe Melo has won the "Bidone d’Or," after he was named the worst player in Serie A by RAI radio sport.

The "Bidone d’Or" is a parody of France Football’s prestigious Ballon d’Or given to the world’s best player, which this year was won by Lionel Messi.

Felipe Melo received 22.87% of the vote which had been running since November and narrowly beat off competition from last year’s winner Ricardo Quaresma (Inter Milan) who polled 20.63% of the vote.

Fellow Juve midfielder Thiago came third followed by Dida (AC Milan), Mancini (Inter) and then AC Milan stars Klaas-Jan Huntelaar and Ronaldinho.

Melo is the third Brazilian to win the less than prestigious award after Rivaldo (2003) and Adriano (2006 and 2007).
http://www.imscouting.com/global-news-a ... ie-A/4123/
You even had 2 players in the top 3 worst players vote. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Maradona wrote:
kenmega wrote:
Maradona wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
Maradona wrote:

What is wrong with Ziegler?? Is it because the usual clown managers at Spuds sent him packing because he was a young player learning??...Did they not send other good players like Taarabt away from Spuds for the same reason...

FYI Ziegler has been brilliant for Samp since he left the EPL, he should offer Juve some real craft in the FB position. Mind you Milan were also after him...apart ftom RVDV, Bale and Modric I wonder how many Spuds players can attract AC Milan.. :rotf:
To God be the glory
kenmega

Post by kenmega »

However, this is a message to Man United regarding Modric and Bale:

Both Modric and Bale are staying at Spurs next season. However, if we don't haver money to spend and these players want to play CL football, Levy is willing to let them go if the price is right. We won't agree to exchange garbage such as Carrick, Berbatov, Bebe, etc. All Ferguson needs to do is pay big money for both of them. Although, we are willing to give you VDV for a good price to replace Scholes. :biggrin:
Maradona

Post by Maradona »

kenmega wrote:However, this is a message to Man United regarding Modric and Bale:

Both Modric and Bale are staying at Spurs next season. However, if we don't haver money to spend and these players want to play CL football, Levy is willing to let them go if the price is right. We won't agree to exchange garbage such as Carrick, Berbatov, Bebe, etc. All Ferguson needs to do is pay big money for both of them. Although, we are willing to give you VDV for a good price to replace Scholes. :biggrin:
Thanks a lot.
That's why we built our Academy at White Hart Lane! :taunt:

Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Maradona wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
Maradona wrote:
Skylolo wrote:
Maradona wrote:

Juventus midfielder Felipe Melo voted worst player in Serie A

Brazilian international midfielder Felipe Melo has won the "Bidone d’Or," after he was named the worst player in Serie A by RAI radio sport.

The "Bidone d’Or" is a parody of France Football’s prestigious Ballon d’Or given to the world’s best player, which this year was won by Lionel Messi.

Felipe Melo received 22.87% of the vote which had been running since November and narrowly beat off competition from last year’s winner Ricardo Quaresma (Inter Milan) who polled 20.63% of the vote.

Fellow Juve midfielder Thiago came third followed by Dida (AC Milan), Mancini (Inter) and then AC Milan stars Klaas-Jan Huntelaar and Ronaldinho.

Melo is the third Brazilian to win the less than prestigious award after Rivaldo (2003) and Adriano (2006 and 2007).
http://www.imscouting.com/global-news-a ... ie-A/4123/
You even had 2 players in the top 3 worst players vote. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
Melo was never the worst player in Serie A, the press picked on him because of the huge fee Juve paid during a period when the team was struggling...he was below par just like many of his team mates. Take a good look at that list you will see that it is a list of big name players who were not living up to expectations..

At least Melo actually played...what should we vote Bebe?? The most inactive player in the EPL.. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
To God be the glory