Passion for Eagles
Re: Passion for Eagles
As a fan i love cybereagles cos of the interaction n fund of knowledge on this site. I usually always find ur contributions not only unbiased but also very intelligent. Having said that, I have to say I disagree with u on this one. U made his point 4 him the minute u blamed keshi. He is the NIGERIAN NATIONAL
TEAM COACH. is he a better coach than the French national team coach? Lol. 

kolinzo wrote:Yeah, Ghana would have also defeated Germany as well...yes even USA would have defeated Germany if it wasn't for the brain fart. Now who should wonder about who?platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:
A=B ; B=C; therefore A=C. You do the math.
First I didn't get the time to read your opaks on the other thread. There is no need to go into a debate about the superiority of France because you lack the basic knowledge of the game. France is superior to Naija?.
I told you then that we lost because Keshi was clueless, you said we lost because France was superior. Fast forward to 2months later your Keshi reiterates what I told you about him. If by now you haven't seen what I have been telling you...No...you won't get it.
A = B therefore B = C, what are you talking about? You go school at all so? Which kain kwekwe methodology you dey apply to basic logic and how does it apply to Nigeria, France and Congo??? How does me saying france is superior equal me saying congo is superior???????? Sometimes man, I wonder seriously about some of you guys.
Again, I will state clearly...FRANCE IS SUPERIOR TO NIGERIA. I've seen nothing that shows me otherwise. If they didn't have brain farts,, they'd have beaten Germany. You keep on rolling on the floor laughing, how is Nigeria a better side (team and individual wise) than France? Give one example please. Only one.
Some of una just dey type like say na practice for secretarial work, you no dey reason at all.
The same Naija team that put two past Argentina couldn't do so against France. If you can't see that Naija vs France had nothing to do with the superiority of France but the cluelessness of Keshi you won't get it. Sometimes you just have to concede and take your pies with humility, but you, you always dey take agidi dey form brain. Yarns. SMHBT.
I'm sorry, I'm still not seeing how france equates to congo.
Are you not the same guy who's said the US is superior to Nigeria for ages? I'd argue Ghana isn't inferior to Nigeria too though that would be a weaker argument.
Again, you still cannot give a single example of how Nigeria is superior to les bleus. Not even one. How hard is that to do?????!!!!!!
It has nothing to do with divisions on CE; that has always been there, perhaps more magnified, esp when u have dead-enders on the site...platinum wrote:Ugbowo, fair point.
I'm not sure what it is. For me, I have gotten tired of the silly divides where one is either pro keshi or not. It takes away from the passion for the team when you see people virtually rooting for the team to lose simply because they don't agree with the coach.
That kills the real base of supporter-ship. We're supporting the country and want to see the best but when every comment is met with 'keshi houseboy', 'ke$hi', etc etc then what's the point? We got to the 2nd round of the WC, won the ANC....in essence we matched our best year (19494) yet there's still aggro.
It may be better for Keshi to leave so we can all unite and support the team as one. Right now it's clear that's not the case.
But lets not kid ourselves. This team and the '94 team might have similar achievements, but the difference in standard and quality is like night and day!
For instance, u probably remember our 2nd round exit in '94 better than the current one!
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Why do you and everyone else keep quoting this guy? I have him on ignore, but that action is rendered useless when people quote him.Undertaker wrote:Bigpokey24 wrote:platinum wrote:Undertaker wrote:It is Keshi and the NFF. People have lost hope and passion for the team. We don't have a team, we don't have a coach and our football admin could careless about the team or the fans. Keshi hasn't won a game Since when? And we all know that Nigeria vs. Bosnia should have ended 1-1 draw. His record speaks for itself.Things need to change. Keshi needs to go, NFF people all need to be shot!!!!!!!!!!!!
Who are the 'we' who know that it should have ended 1-1? We all know brazil should have won the WC after all they hosted. We all know the pope is a saint. We all kow kids are never bad. We all....you get the point.![]()
the guy was born in egypt or holland, don't waste your time
BP, you dey stalk me? Yes, born in Holland lived in Cairo Egypt for 5 years? What has that got to do with the problems with Nigerian football? Or there is no problem like your blind eyes is seeing?
The weak or the strong,
who got it going on
You're dead wrong
who got it going on
You're dead wrong
You mean the FIRST time we ever got to the WC finals?txj wrote:For instance, u probably remember our 2nd round exit in '94 better than the current one!

Heck, Nigerians would remember that "better" even if we lost 3 games and out...
Frankly no different than folks remebering "better" the first time we had clean t-shirts under Betty!
aruako1 wrote:Well maybe its because some of us see that after the bad start against Congo, 1 point out of 6 was possible. If we beat Sudan we move closer to at least one of the 2 teams ahead of us. Its a poor start but we are still in it. We started poorly at the last ANC and the last WC qualifiers so its not new. Passion doesn't always equate to insulting the coaches and players after every bad result. It also manifests in belief in ones team. The SE are still very much in it but they cannot afford any more slip ups.

Don't worry...
I'm not a betting man, but bet they'll flock back when we get to Morocco - if only to insult the coach!
I treasure the 94 side because they were Nigeria's premier WC team. They played beautiful, NIGERIAN footie (power, speed, a huge dose of surprise) too which was nice but remembering better? I don't know about all that, end result was the same.txj wrote:It has nothing to do with divisions on CE; that has always been there, perhaps more magnified, esp when u have dead-enders on the site...platinum wrote:Ugbowo, fair point.
I'm not sure what it is. For me, I have gotten tired of the silly divides where one is either pro keshi or not. It takes away from the passion for the team when you see people virtually rooting for the team to lose simply because they don't agree with the coach.
That kills the real base of supporter-ship. We're supporting the country and want to see the best but when every comment is met with 'keshi houseboy', 'ke$hi', etc etc then what's the point? We got to the 2nd round of the WC, won the ANC....in essence we matched our best year (19494) yet there's still aggro.
It may be better for Keshi to leave so we can all unite and support the team as one. Right now it's clear that's not the case.
But lets not kid ourselves. This team and the '94 team might have similar achievements, but the difference in standard and quality is like night and day!
For instance, u probably remember our 2nd round exit in '94 better than the current one!
Interesting point you raise considering the 'fracas' in european footie in the last couple days between mourinho and pep. You surely have seen and followed the comments. Pep doesnt enjoy the game and thats why he has no hair, the grass should be long and unwatered, there are different ways to win the game and creating a spectacle is not the only way....all mourinho sentiments.
At the end of the day, what counts? Is it the aesthetics or the results? We can dance kokoma about how glorious that 94 team was, the baseline remains they lost in the 2nd round and failed to win the ANC again despite having the most talented side many have seen from the continent.
Brazilians treasure their 82 side more than their 94 side but it was the 94 guys who won and Nigerians are largely the same way but what do point. people expect? Look at the raw materials? Amuneke was the best left winger in africa, finidi was top 2/3 RW's in the world, yekini was the best #9 in africa, amokachi was an unplayable force of nature, oliseh was possibly the brightest young CM coming out of the continent then....please show me the Nigerians today who are best anything apart from Enyeama and omeruo.
First of all I never said USA was superior to Naija, but I know they have been good and better than Naija and have achieved more than any AFrican country in the WC. Now if you want to talk organization? I don't think you need me to tell you how superior they are to Naija. But for you guys to lay false claim that they are inferior to Naija is an opaks I won't let slide. And I have rebuked that here over and time again, with the last friendly showing exactly what I had been telling you people on this forum.platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:Yeah, Ghana would have also defeated Germany as well...yes even USA would have defeated Germany if it wasn't for the brain fart. Now who should wonder about who?platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:
First I didn't get the time to read your opaks on the other thread. There is no need to go into a debate about the superiority of France because you lack the basic knowledge of the game. France is superior to Naija?.
I told you then that we lost because Keshi was clueless, you said we lost because France was superior. Fast forward to 2months later your Keshi reiterates what I told you about him. If by now you haven't seen what I have been telling you...No...you won't get it.
A = B therefore B = C, what are you talking about? You go school at all so? Which kain kwekwe methodology you dey apply to basic logic and how does it apply to Nigeria, France and Congo??? How does me saying france is superior equal me saying congo is superior???????? Sometimes man, I wonder seriously about some of you guys.
Again, I will state clearly...FRANCE IS SUPERIOR TO NIGERIA. I've seen nothing that shows me otherwise. If they didn't have brain farts,, they'd have beaten Germany. You keep on rolling on the floor laughing, how is Nigeria a better side (team and individual wise) than France? Give one example please. Only one.
Some of una just dey type like say na practice for secretarial work, you no dey reason at all.
The same Naija team that put two past Argentina couldn't do so against France. If you can't see that Naija vs France had nothing to do with the superiority of France but the cluelessness of Keshi you won't get it. Sometimes you just have to concede and take your pies with humility, but you, you always dey take agidi dey form brain. Yarns. SMHBT.
Are you not the same guy who's said the US is superior to Nigeria for ages? I'd argue Ghana isn't inferior to Nigeria too though that would be a weaker argument.
Again, you still cannot give a single example of how Nigeria is superior to les bleus. Not even one. How hard is that to do?????!!!!!!
Second, when I told you that Naija lost to France not because France had better players (which you are calling superior) but because Keshi was cliueless. You reply was that it wasn't that Keshi lost to France but because France was the superior team. Now the onus is on you to tell me why they are superior as I have told you why Keshi was clueless.
Third, I never said Nigeria was superior to France but said France was not superior to Naija. So if you want to have this debate about Naija vs France game as to why we didn't win that game, come correct and give me the reason why France was SUPERIOR? I have already told you how Keshi was clueless, so you tell me why France was superior.
The point I have been trying to make here is that you were running around this forum making excuses for Keshi even when it was visible to the blind that Keshi was/is at best a PE teacher. If you thought I was wrong about Keshi then (Naija vs France) what about now? Is Congo superior to Naija? Is South Africa superior to Naija? How come we couldn't beat any of this team?
1st the '94 team did not 'fail to win the ANC again'. They didn't have a chance to defend the trophy due to Abacha..platinum wrote:I treasure the 94 side because they were Nigeria's premier WC team. They played beautiful, NIGERIAN footie (power, speed, a huge dose of surprise) too which was nice but remembering better? I don't know about all that, end result was the same.txj wrote:It has nothing to do with divisions on CE; that has always been there, perhaps more magnified, esp when u have dead-enders on the site...platinum wrote:Ugbowo, fair point.
Interesting point you raise considering the 'fracas' in european footie in the last couple days between mourinho and pep. You surely have seen and followed the comments. Pep doesnt enjoy the game and thats why he has no hair, the grass should be long and unwatered, there are different ways to win the game and creating a spectacle is not the only way....all mourinho sentiments.
At the end of the day, what counts? Is it the aesthetics or the results? We can dance kokoma about how glorious that 94 team was, the baseline remains they lost in the 2nd round and failed to win the ANC again despite having the most talented side many have seen from the continent.
Brazilians treasure their 82 side more than their 94 side but it was the 94 guys who won and Nigerians are largely the same way but what do point. people expect? Look at the raw materials? Amuneke was the best left winger in africa, finidi was top 2/3 RW's in the world, yekini was the best #9 in africa, amokachi was an unplayable force of nature, oliseh was possibly the brightest young CM coming out of the continent then....please show me the Nigerians today who are best anything apart from Enyeama and omeruo.
2nd, its not about aesthetics. Standards and aesthetics are not the same thing.
3rd, sure there is a difference in the talent between both teams, but there is more than one way of playing, and it ultimately comes down to how you structure ur team to play. Costa Rica doesn't have more talented players than this Nigerian team.
Every team has its own qualities and its ultimately about how you maximize those qualities. This Nigerian team doesn't inspire enthusiastic followership...
I think its cyclical. There's always an anti-climax after four years of builing expectations up for a good World Cup performance and you ended up being flogged out early.
Then expectations have been lowered for Eagles., based on quality of selections and play. The hunger associated with home-based players looking for clubs pre-ANC is gone. Now is the time to either
1) bring in new-hungry players (who will become boring after finding clubs abroad) OR
2) start inviting players who don't understand the concept of poverty-induced 'i-have-arrived' big-man football. These are usually the foreign born Nigerians. See what the Cameroonian youngsters did yesterday.
3) Create a merit-based level playing environment where no one is assured of a shirt. This will kill the nonchalance that's also inducing nonchalant fans.
Then expectations have been lowered for Eagles., based on quality of selections and play. The hunger associated with home-based players looking for clubs pre-ANC is gone. Now is the time to either
1) bring in new-hungry players (who will become boring after finding clubs abroad) OR
2) start inviting players who don't understand the concept of poverty-induced 'i-have-arrived' big-man football. These are usually the foreign born Nigerians. See what the Cameroonian youngsters did yesterday.
3) Create a merit-based level playing environment where no one is assured of a shirt. This will kill the nonchalance that's also inducing nonchalant fans.
K wrote: 3) Create a merit-based level playing environment where no one is assured of a shirt. This will kill the nonchalance that's also inducing nonchalant fans.
We discussed the part last year when we played Kenya, I believe only Cellular and I pointed this out (although the former reverted back to supporting the coach). You could immediately see that they have lost the ANC hunger. The likes of Mba were hungry and brought new dimension into the team. Moses was on fire until he go bored. And I won't even talk about Emenike and Mikel (the biggest big bois in camp

kolinzo wrote:First of all I never said USA was superior to Naija, but I know they have been good and better than Naija and have achieved more than any AFrican country in the WC. Now if you want to talk organization? I don't think you need me to tell you how superior they are to Naija. But for you guys to lay false claim that they are inferior to Naija is an opaks I won't let slide. And I have rebuked that here over and time again, with the last friendly showing exactly what I had been telling you people on this forum.platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:Yeah, Ghana would have also defeated Germany as well...yes even USA would have defeated Germany if it wasn't for the brain fart. Now who should wonder about who?platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:
Second, when I told you that Naija lost to France not because France had better players (which you are calling superior) but because Keshi was cliueless. You reply was that it wasn't that Keshi lost to France but because France was the superior team. Now the onus is on you to tell me why they are superior as I have told you why Keshi was clueless.
Third, I never said Nigeria was superior to France but said France was not superior to Naija. So if you want to have this debate about Naija vs France game as to why we didn't win that game, come correct and give me the reason why France was SUPERIOR? I have already told you how Keshi was clueless, so you tell me why France was superior.
The point I have been trying to make here is that you were running around this forum making excuses for Keshi even when it was visible to the blind that Keshi was/is at best a PE teacher. If you thought I was wrong about Keshi then (Naija vs France) what about now? Is Congo superior to Naija? Is South Africa superior to Naija? How come we couldn't beat any of this team?
Do you know what superior means???? This na why I ax which kain schooling you do. You say "I know they have been good and better than Naija and have achieved more than any AFrican country in the WC" then you say USA is not superior? If what you described isn't superiority then what on earth is?!!! Sometimes man, gosh CE na damn funny place.
You say Nigeria lost to France because Keshi is clueless, how is that enough reason? People say Argentina's coach was clueless, he still took them to the WC final. I'm not getting your point at all. I'm asking for facts and you're presenting subjective statements like your word is law. Present some damn facts or shut up please. Give me ONE single fact of how Nigeria is superior! Even the coaaching sef, according to your statement they have a superior coach so how on earth shouldn't Nigeria have lost to them? If you're saying with a better coach we'd have won then show HOW. It really shouldn't be that difficult if you have any idea what you're talking of. Quit going in circles and explain yourself concisely.
Yeah yeah, heard it all before. Every Nigerian coach or black man is a PE teacher. Amodu was a PE teacher, ditto onigbinde, ditto chukwu, ditto fanny amun, the late ntiero effiom....all bloody PE teachers. Tell us something we don't know.

As for your what about now question, let me ask you, how the best Nigerian team of the 90s struggled with scrubs like Liberia? Mauritius, Angola, etc? I'm not excusing Keshi or giving excuses...the fact is you see what you want. I've said time and again (if you bothered reading) that if Keshi is fired, I wouldn't be surprised one bit and it would be deserved. I've said time and again that winning one game out of his last 10/11 or whatever it is isn't good enough. You want me to run around yelling abuse at him and calling him a PE teacher like you. I look at facts and you guys have had it in for the guy since day 1. FYI, I never supported his hiring or Siasia's firing. Keshi won me over by his results so don't come here with your mindless drivel abeg.
Now give us facts or go away.
For the first time i agree with you...did not watch the game, to be honest i did not feel like i missed anything.KingLoku wrote:Ugbowo wrote:You know....there was a time when Nigeria having 1 point out of 6 will cause non stop mayhem on this forum and on all other blogs/radio/tv or what not.
In following today's game, I just noticed the attitude change....myself included. Just last year, I was on pins and needles during the ANC...and was genuinely upset during the Confed Cup. WC Qualification soothed things then there was the apathy of the WC.
I missed Saturday's game....I did not feel it one bit. We lost...I just laughed. I was not surprised. Last year I would have been hurling insults at all and sundry....but Saturday me and my friends could care less that we did not win. I watched today, and at 0-0 with 5 mins left to play, no tension at all. Just laughing at one dumb play after the other.
I log onto CE, the attitude is almost the same. Ppl are laughing and making jokes on the game thread. It was barely 20 pages long for the game itself. No one really cared too much.
What has happened???
I want to blame Keshi and the NFF but it seems its deeper than that. Anyone got any answers?![]()
... When u down u not afraid of falling ,, bros , we all don cross heart .. We don give up ., siddom look mode indeed ..
Is there any time you do not cheer the opponent..let me see..when we are losing.vancity eagle wrote:The last 2 matches I have been cheering for the opposite team. I was not bothered one bit. This Ke$hi garbage must stop at all costs. If it has to mean missing out on ANC 2015 to get rid of that fool, then so it must be. If Ke$hi is still coach by our next match, I will again root for our opposition. COME ON SUDAN !!!!

txj wrote:1st the '94 team did not 'fail to win the ANC again'. They didn't have a chance to defend the trophy due to Abacha..platinum wrote:I treasure the 94 side because they were Nigeria's premier WC team. They played beautiful, NIGERIAN footie (power, speed, a huge dose of surprise) too which was nice but remembering better? I don't know about all that, end result was the same.txj wrote:It has nothing to do with divisions on CE; that has always been there, perhaps more magnified, esp when u have dead-enders on the site...platinum wrote:Ugbowo, fair point.
3rd, sure there is a difference in the talent between both teams, but there is more than one way of playing, and it ultimately comes down to how you structure ur team to play. Costa Rica doesn't have more talented players than this Nigerian team.
Every team has its own qualities and its ultimately about how you maximize those qualities. This Nigerian team doesn't inspire enthusiastic followership...
- True, thanks Abacha. That generation carried on till the early 2000s though and didn't win but that's neither here nor there.
- What standards are we talking of though? The standard of players we're producing as a nation isn't what it was in 94 so doesn't it figure that the NT standards will follow suit? I mean Denmark won the Euros in 92, what have they done since that generation faded away? If we're not producing quality players, what do you expect? Globero was pointing out the brainlessness of some of our play over the last two games, is that something you'd pin on the NT coaches? Musa is widely accepted as one of the brightest Nigerian talents today, the guy is nothing near what Tijani Babangida was in 94 when he couldnt make our WC squad. I agree that the standards are not what they used to be but that to me is a function of the raw material available right now.
- I loved the Costa Rican approach, very disciplined, very intelligent, very selfless. Tell me again, when last has a Nigerian team been associated with those traits - selflessness and discipline especially? Siasia called our players unintelligent and there was a huge hullabaloo about that no?
- Look, I want our team to play very Nigerian football. Bustling, strong, fast, skillful, the style of footie we played in the knockout phase of the ANC. I don't excuse the gaps we've seen and I don't know why they're there but whether or not they play enthusiastic footie, the FACT remains they matched the 1994 side in every way. And it may even be more impressive that they did considering how short of talent (and according to some coaching) they are no? Or maybe they're just lucky.
1. Standards are not automatic such that u have great players and u automatically have a great team. We have seen that over and over again in football. We have the talent to play at a higher level than we have done in the past 3-4 years. Its a different team, with different qualities. We are simply not maximizing the qualities of the players we have available.platinum wrote:txj wrote:1st the '94 team did not 'fail to win the ANC again'. They didn't have a chance to defend the trophy due to Abacha..platinum wrote:I treasure the 94 side because they were Nigeria's premier WC team. They played beautiful, NIGERIAN footie (power, speed, a huge dose of surprise) too which was nice but remembering better? I don't know about all that, end result was the same.txj wrote:It has nothing to do with divisions on CE; that has always been there, perhaps more magnified, esp when u have dead-enders on the site...platinum wrote:Ugbowo, fair point.
- True, thanks Abacha. That generation carried on till the early 2000s though and didn't win but that's neither here nor there.
- What standards are we talking of though? The standard of players we're producing as a nation isn't what it was in 94 so doesn't it figure that the NT standards will follow suit? I mean Denmark won the Euros in 92, what have they done since that generation faded away? If we're not producing quality players, what do you expect? Globero was pointing out the brainlessness of some of our play over the last two games, is that something you'd pin on the NT coaches? Musa is widely accepted as one of the brightest Nigerian talents today, the guy is nothing near what Tijani Babangida was in 94 when he couldnt make our WC squad. I agree that the standards are not what they used to be but that to me is a function of the raw material available right now.
- I loved the Costa Rican approach, very disciplined, very intelligent, very selfless. Tell me again, when last has a Nigerian team been associated with those traits - selflessness and discipline especially? Siasia called our players unintelligent and there was a huge hullabaloo about that no?
- Look, I want our team to play very Nigerian football. Bustling, strong, fast, skillful, the style of footie we played in the knockout phase of the ANC. I don't excuse the gaps we've seen and I don't know why they're there but whether or not they play enthusiastic footie, the FACT remains they matched the 1994 side in every way. And it may even be more impressive that they did considering how short of talent (and according to some coaching) they are no? Or maybe they're just lucky.
2. Costa Rica was able to do that, but not by magic! The handlers worked hard towards it; identified the best playing philosophy to maximize the talents they had, and selected the players with the best fit for the approach.
3. Yes they match the achievement of the '94 team, but ultimately that is really not important, beyond its historical value; even if we discount the obvious confounding factors. What is important is whether we are playing to the level that we can, given the talent available today.
1. Standards are not automatic such that u have great players and u automatically have a great team. We have seen that over and over again in football. We have the talent to play at a higher level than we have done in the past 3-4 years. Its a different team, with different qualities. We are simply not maximizing the qualities of the players we have available.
2. Costa Rica was able to do that, but not by magic! The handlers worked hard towards it; identified the best playing philosophy to maximize the talents they had, and selected the players with the best fit for the approach.
3. Yes they match the achievement of the '94 team, but ultimately that is really not important, beyond its historical value; even if we discount the obvious confounding factors. What is important is whether we are playing to the level that we can, given the talent available today.
- I'm not saying having superior talents available immediately means you have a great team. Lord knows we had that in the late 90s and early 2000s and there're matches we played that I'd rather never ever remember. Could we do a better job? Sure, even Pep kept tweaking FCB to try to get better but I think discounting the shabby level of players we have is not accepting the facts on ground.
- I agree Costa Rica worked VERY hard but you've not addressed the point I raised. When last did you see a SE team so willing to sacrifice for team first? A team so disciplined and selfless? That's essentially what Costa Rica had going for them. Ditto Greece in 04. It's not simply about id'ing a philosophy, you have to get the players to buy-in too no? Keshi has selected the players he thinks fit his philosophy and look at the umbrage thrown his way. I liked Siasia's philosophy more and thought it was a better fit for what I think the SE should be but results count and dude didn't get it done. If Keshi fails, he'll be gone and I won't shed a tear. His philosophy has gotten us as far as we've ever come, I cannot in all fairness discount that.
- This is why I raised the Pep/Mourinho thing. What levels do you mean? If winning isn't important then what is? What levels can we achieve with the available talent? If all African teams played to the level of their talent available, I wouldn't put Nigeria in the top 3 (ghana, ivory coast, cameroon, algeria all could argue about what they currently have as being equal or better).
I get your point sir, I get it fully but in the Nigerian context, the theory of your (and my) wish doesn't match the facts on the ground.
1. I am not discounting the talent on the ground. If anything I am recognizing it! But the greater point is our inability, thus far, to maximize that talent!platinum wrote:txj wrote:
1. Standards are not automatic such that u have great players and u automatically have a great team. We have seen that over and over again in football. We have the talent to play at a higher level than we have done in the past 3-4 years. Its a different team, with different qualities. We are simply not maximizing the qualities of the players we have available.
- I'm not saying having superior talents available immediately means you have a great team. Lord knows we had that in the late 90s and early 2000s and there're matches we played that I'd rather never ever remember. Could we do a better job? Sure, even Pep kept tweaking FCB to try to get better but I think discounting the shabby level of players we have is not accepting the facts on ground.
- I agree Costa Rica worked VERY hard but you've not addressed the point I raised. When last did you see a SE team so willing to sacrifice for team first? A team so disciplined and selfless? That's essentially what Costa Rica had going for them. Ditto Greece in 04. It's not simply about id'ing a philosophy, you have to get the players to buy-in too no? Keshi has selected the players he thinks fit his philosophy and look at the umbrage thrown his way. I liked Siasia's philosophy more and thought it was a better fit for what I think the SE should be but results count and dude didn't get it done. If Keshi fails, he'll be gone and I won't shed a tear. His philosophy has gotten us as far as we've ever come, I cannot in all fairness discount that.
- This is why I raised the Pep/Mourinho thing. What levels do you mean? If winning isn't important then what is? What levels can we achieve with the available talent? If all African teams played to the level of their talent available, I wouldn't put Nigeria in the top 3 (ghana, ivory coast, cameroon, algeria all could argue about what they currently have as being equal or better).
I get your point sir, I get it fully but in the Nigerian context, the theory of your (and my) wish doesn't match the facts on the ground.
2. What CRC did is not magic. ITS FIRST ABOUT COACHING (there are other related factors, incl off-field issues)! The ability of the coach to identify the right strategy; communicate it and get players to buy into it. That's what coaching is primarily about!
It doesn't take rocket science to see the increasing frustration of Mikel Obi.
The primary responsibility of any coach is to develop the strategy that gives his players the platform to perform at their optimum. Mikel is not being put in the position to play at his true comfort level. Perhaps Onazi, to some extent, but not Mikel and most certainly not Azeez.
3. The notion being promoted here by u and others is that we must have comparable level of talent to 1994 to play at a high level. That is not supported by any known evidence in football. Our current set of players have different qualities from the '94 team which enables the coach to go in a different direction.
Kinda felt the same way too..Have a ho-hum response to it too..Seems some zeal, fire and desire has seized to exist.. I just no dey feel am..I guess i am tired of sitting on needles needlessly, when u know what the outcome will b.. Or tired of just luck or things like such. Promises; always made, never delivered. Maybe its apathy!!!!!!!!!Ugbowo wrote:You know....there was a time when Nigeria having 1 point out of 6 will cause non stop mayhem on this forum and on all other blogs/radio/tv or what not.
In following today's game, I just noticed the attitude change....myself included. Just last year, I was on pins and needles during the ANC...and was genuinely upset during the Confed Cup. WC Qualification soothed things then there was the apathy of the WC.
I missed Saturday's game....I did not feel it one bit. We lost...I just laughed. I was not surprised. Last year I would have been hurling insults at all and sundry....but Saturday me and my friends could care less that we did not win. I watched today, and at 0-0 with 5 mins left to play, no tension at all. Just laughing at one dumb play after the other.
I log onto CE, the attitude is almost the same. Ppl are laughing and making jokes on the game thread. It was barely 20 pages long for the game itself. No one really cared too much.
What has happened???
I want to blame Keshi and the NFF but it seems its deeper than that. Anyone got any answers?![]()
Last edited by Man Ataye on Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
txj wrote:1. I am not discounting the talent on the ground. If anything I am recognizing it! But the greater point is our inability, thus far, to maximize that talent! - Once again that's why I keep going back to the FACT that we matched our best performances. Look, we can go on and on about how we should have or could have done even better at the WC but those are what-ifs that cannot be supported. We maximized results no??platinum wrote:txj wrote:
2. What CRC did is not magic. ITS FIRST ABOUT COACHING (there are other related factors, incl off-field issues)! The ability of the coach to identify the right strategy; communicate it and get players to buy into it. That's what coaching is primarily about! - It's not magic and I've said they did an exceptional job but I've also presented the sacrifices they made and you refuse to accept that or acknowledge it. Their coach has been fired now btw. I talked about the buy-in required from the federation and players and Nigeria just doesnt work that way.
It doesn't take rocket science to see the increasing frustration of Mikel Obi.
The primary responsibility of any coach is to develop the strategy that gives his players the platform to perform at their optimum. Mikel is not being put in the position to play at his true comfort level. Perhaps Onazi, to some extent, but not Mikel and most certainly not Azeez. Arsenal fan here, I see that every weekend with ozil and sanchez and others. Explain to me, how did Mikel perform at such high levels at the ANC? And yes coaching is about putting your players in the best positions to excel and maximize their individual strengths but many times there are players who have to sacrifice. It's the way sports works.
3. The notion being promoted here by u and others is that we must have comparable level of talent to 1994 to play at a high level. That is not supported by any known evidence in football. Our current set of players have different qualities from the '94 team which enables the coach to go in a different direction. Okay, so the coach has gone in a different direction so what are we talking about? Your stance is that we're not performing at the level can and I've agreed with that, we're not performing anything close to that ANC level and that much is obvious to all but you're acting as if we have not performed at creditable levels under this regime and that is not correct.
Please leave the kaikai alone and return back to your ABCs please. I said Keshi was clueless and on that thread I went on to tell the board why he was clueless, it wasn't subjective it was a fact. When a coach forgot to use his subs then he is clueless (exhibit A). When I told you and other opaks yarners that he didn't work on our deficiencies like corner kicks, free kicks...dead ball situations...that was a clue for you that the coach is a clueless coach. If you read any of those things from my post and still thinks Keshi's performance at the WC was not due to his cluelessness but due to the superiority of France then my friend YOU need to shut up because you are unfit to carry this debate any longer.platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:First of all I never said USA was superior to Naija, but I know they have been good and better than Naija and have achieved more than any AFrican country in the WC. Now if you want to talk organization? I don't think you need me to tell you how superior they are to Naija. But for you guys to lay false claim that they are inferior to Naija is an opaks I won't let slide. And I have rebuked that here over and time again, with the last friendly showing exactly what I had been telling you people on this forum.platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:Yeah, Ghana would have also defeated Germany as well...yes even USA would have defeated Germany if it wasn't for the brain fart. Now who should wonder about who?platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:
Do you know what superior means???? This na why I ax which kain schooling you do. You say "I know they have been good and better than Naija and have achieved more than any AFrican country in the WC" then you say USA is not superior? If what you described isn't superiority then what on earth is?!!! Sometimes man, gosh CE na damn funny place.
You say Nigeria lost to France because Keshi is clueless, how is that enough reason? People say Argentina's coach was clueless, he still took them to the WC final. I'm not getting your point at all. I'm asking for facts and you're presenting subjective statements like your word is law. Present some damn facts or shut up please. Give me ONE single fact of how Nigeria is superior! Even the coaaching sef, according to your statement they have a superior coach so how on earth shouldn't Nigeria have lost to them? If you're saying with a better coach we'd have won then show HOW. It really shouldn't be that difficult if you have any idea what you're talking of. Quit going in circles and explain yourself concisely.
Yeah yeah, heard it all before. Every Nigerian coach or black man is a PE teacher. Amodu was a PE teacher, ditto onigbinde, ditto chukwu, ditto fanny amun, the late ntiero effiom....all bloody PE teachers. Tell us something we don't know.![]()
As for your what about now question, let me ask you, how the best Nigerian team of the 90s struggled with scrubs like Liberia? Mauritius, Angola, etc? I'm not excusing Keshi or giving excuses...the fact is you see what you want. I've said time and again (if you bothered reading) that if Keshi is fired, I wouldn't be surprised one bit and it would be deserved. I've said time and again that winning one game out of his last 10/11 or whatever it is isn't good enough. You want me to run around yelling abuse at him and calling him a PE teacher like you. I look at facts and you guys have had it in for the guy since day 1. FYI, I never supported his hiring or Siasia's firing. Keshi won me over by his results so don't come here with your mindless drivel abeg.
You claim France was superior and you didn't present one single fact to back it up. My observation of the team was spot on because guess what? We were undone by the things I've complained about. Stop digging yourself in the hole for once and keep your head off the dirt. Shine ya eyes man!
kolinzo wrote:Please leave the kaikai alone and return back to your ABCs please. I said Keshi was clueless and on that thread I went on to tell the board why he was clueless, it wasn't subjective it was a fact. When a coach forgot to use his subs then he is clueless (exhibit A). When I told you and other opaks yarners that he didn't work on our deficiencies like corner kicks, free kicks...dead ball situations...that was a clue for you that the coach is a clueless coach. If you read any of those things from my post and still thinks Keshi's performance at the WC was not due to his cluelessness but due to the superiority of France then my friend YOU need to shut up because you are unfit to carry this debate any longer.platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:First of all I never said USA was superior to Naija, but I know they have been good and better than Naija and have achieved more than any AFrican country in the WC. Now if you want to talk organization? I don't think you need me to tell you how superior they are to Naija. But for you guys to lay false claim that they are inferior to Naija is an opaks I won't let slide. And I have rebuked that here over and time again, with the last friendly showing exactly what I had been telling you people on this forum.platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:Yeah, Ghana would have also defeated Germany as well...yes even USA would have defeated Germany if it wasn't for the brain fart. Now who should wonder about who?platinum wrote:kolinzo wrote:
Yeah yeah, heard it all before. Every Nigerian coach or black man is a PE teacher. Amodu was a PE teacher, ditto onigbinde, ditto chukwu, ditto fanny amun, the late ntiero effiom....all bloody PE teachers. Tell us something we don't know.![]()
You claim France was superior and you didn't present one single fact to back it up. My observation of the team was spot on because guess what? We were undone by the things I've complained about. Stop digging yourself in the hole for once and keep your head off the dirt. Shine ya eyes man!
Right. So he's clueless based on your subjective judgement and not one fact backing you up. Go back to school and learn what a FACT is.
I've asked you a question and you want to turn it around on me because you don't have a single answer to support your positions, you're talking of silly rubbish like how he didn't work on dead balls and corner kicks...right, I missed the part where you sat in on training sessions. I've seen teams from USA to Germany, Arsenal to Real Madrid make the same mistakes so what on earth are you spouting? THAT is what you base your judgement on?
There's on person on this forum who has the tag of 'opaks yarner' and I'll leave it at that.
Last edited by platinum on Thu Sep 11, 2014 5:42 pm, edited 1 time in total.
....we got used to rubbish viewing....like I told oga EII elsewhere(thread)...in the 54 matches Keshi has handled for Nigeria..in my opinion we've played good football only 5 or 6 times. THe Liberia home and away to qualify(the ONLY opposition he had to face) for the AFCON,the last 3 matches that left to lifting the trophy and the friendly against Italy...we weren't particularly superb but giving the players picked and level of opposition you HAVE to give him that. Everything else..was subpar I'm sorry. But as long as we scraped a win people were happy..didnt matter how.I have had numerous arguments on these pages about marrying performance with results but I was told many times result matter, performance doesnt.When a team can't score 2 goals per match in any run of consistency there is a problem..especially considering the opposition faced weren't top notch.Ugbowo wrote:You know....there was a time when Nigeria having 1 point out of 6 will cause non stop mayhem on this forum and on all other blogs/radio/tv or what not.
What has happened???
So bros..when this whole thing started I just wanted it to end fast so I can get back to EPL biko..
Available on all major streaming platforms