Nigeria can learn a lot from Chile
- General Trousers
Nigeria can learn a lot from Chile
Kai - Chile is playing their own game ... If nah Nigeria one stupid blunder and Messi would have scored 2 goals.
x
x
- Scipio Africanus
Re: Nigeria can learn a lot from Chile
except how to shoot ...
Ex nihilo nihil fit
Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

...Chilean coach for SE, oyinbo na oyinbo 

Their players are superb technicians and excellent at carrying out the coach's tactics.
But it goes much deeper than that. They have a small but solid league which continues to churn out quality players. I am not sure about their grassroots structure but it must be good given the top quality players they keep producing. Most African nations especially those outside S Africa and N Africa can benefit from investing more money into their leagues and jnr football. I know Mexico implemented a rule some years ago that each team must have a jnr side and their games must precede each league game. Without a solid league and accompanying grassroots infrastructure, African sides will continue to look amateurish and disorganized when compared to their Euro and S American counterparts
- Scipio Africanus
GBAM!!!!YUJAM wrote:Their players are superb technicians and excellent at carrying out the coach's tactics.

Ex nihilo nihil fit

- airwolex
They've got serious ballers. Nigeria just doesn't have players the quality of Sanchez, Vidal, valdivia, Diaz, Medel, Vargas and Bravo. They went toe to toe with some of the best players in the World and won. They kept Messi quiet for 120 minutes without much of an issue, that should tell you something about them.
airwolex wrote:They've got serious ballers. Nigeria just doesn't have players the quality of Sanchez, Vidal, valdivia, Diaz, Medel, Vargas and Bravo. They went toe to toe with some of the best players in the World and won. They kept Messi quiet for 120 minutes without much of an issue, that should tell you something about them.
I pointed out in the WC, that they defended collectively as a team. Constantly pressuring opponents. Great football philosophy.
Scipio Africanus wrote:GBAM!!!!YUJAM wrote:Their players are superb technicians and excellent at carrying out the coach's tactics.
But it goes much deeper than that. They have a small but solid league which continues to churn out quality players. I am not sure about their grassroots structure but it must be good given the top quality players they keep producing. Most African nations especially those outside S Africa and N Africa can benefit from investing more money into their leagues and jnr football. I know Mexico implemented a rule some years ago that each team must have a jnr side and their games must precede each league game. Without a solid league and accompanying grassroots infrastructure, African sides will continue to look amateurish and disorganized when compared to their Euro and S American counterparts![]()
No shortcuts in this game!

That is the remedy, invest and you will bear fruits. I think Mali is slowly building a solid foundation..
“love the life you live. live the life you love.” Bob Marley
Nigeria can't even learn from the same mistakes it keeps making time and time again.....
How do you expect Nigeria to learn from others?.....smh
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit
"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke
- Tunisian Gooner
YUJAM wrote:Their players are superb technicians and excellent at carrying out the coach's tactics.

Indictment on powers that be of Nigerian football that a nation with the immense wealth of Nigeria loses players i.e Eduok, Bulbwa, Sokhari due to wages disparity to Tunisian clubs such as Esperance. In terms of wealth Would be akin to players leaving Germany or England for the Czech Republic or Croatia.
Detective Bunk Moreland
'The bigger the lie, the more they believe'
Hopefully we can learn. I feel pained every time they say Messi's only two trophies at Junior level came against Nigeria. Seriously why always Nigeria
Guess what! I was at the Olympic Stadium in Montreal, Canada in the summer of 1997 when our so called " less talented " team held the same aforementioned Chileans to a draw in regulation time before losing to them in overtime. Feel free to debate how and why the core of the Chileans are in their national team today and players like Ambrose, Elderson, Ideye are a thing of the past but it is intellectual laziness to have concluded that we don't have the quality of their players....airwolex wrote:They've got serious ballers. Nigeria just doesn't have players the quality of Sanchez, Vidal, valdivia, Diaz, Medel, Vargas and Bravo. They went toe to toe with some of the best players in the World and won. They kept Messi quiet for 120 minutes without much of an issue, that should tell you something about them.
Tunisia is not a poor countryTunisian Gooner wrote:YUJAM wrote:Their players are superb technicians and excellent at carrying out the coach's tactics.
But it goes much deeper than that. They have a small but solid league which continues to churn out quality players. I am not sure about their grassroots structure but it must be good given the top quality players they keep producing. Most African nations especially those outside S Africa and N Africa can benefit from investing more money into their leagues and jnr football. I know Mexico implemented a rule some years ago that each team must have a jnr side and their games must precede each league game. Without a solid league and accompanying grassroots infrastructure, African sides will continue to look amateurish and disorganized when compared to their Euro and S American counterparts![]()
Indictment on powers that be of Nigerian football that a nation with the immense wealth of Nigeria loses players i.e Eduok, Bulbwa, Sokhari due to wages disparity to Tunisian clubs such as Esperance. In terms of wealth Would be akin to players leaving Germany or England for the Czech Republic or Croatia.
1997 or 2007Ekorian wrote:Guess what! I was at the Olympic Stadium in Montreal, Canada in the summer of 1997 when our so called " less talented " team held the same aforementioned Chileans to a draw in regulation time before losing to them in overtime. Feel free to debate how and why the core of the Chileans are in their national team today and players like Ambrose, Elderson, Ideye are a thing of the past but it is intellectual laziness to have concluded that we don't have the quality of their players....airwolex wrote:They've got serious ballers. Nigeria just doesn't have players the quality of Sanchez, Vidal, valdivia, Diaz, Medel, Vargas and Bravo. They went toe to toe with some of the best players in the World and won. They kept Messi quiet for 120 minutes without much of an issue, that should tell you something about them.
Gooner1 wrote:Nigeria can't even learn from the same mistakes it keeps making time and time again.....

Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
- bret- hart
We have been making the same mistakes since 1998. goodluck expecting us to learn now.
'07. Your head correct small when you no dey look at Mikel's poster....Bigpokey24 wrote:1997 or 2007Ekorian wrote:Guess what! I was at the Olympic Stadium in Montreal, Canada in the summer of 1997 when our so called " less talented " team held the same aforementioned Chileans to a draw in regulation time before losing to them in overtime. Feel free to debate how and why the core of the Chileans are in their national team today and players like Ambrose, Elderson, Ideye are a thing of the past but it is intellectual laziness to have concluded that we don't have the quality of their players....airwolex wrote:They've got serious ballers. Nigeria just doesn't have players the quality of Sanchez, Vidal, valdivia, Diaz, Medel, Vargas and Bravo. They went toe to toe with some of the best players in the World and won. They kept Messi quiet for 120 minutes without much of an issue, that should tell you something about them.

Tunisia is richer than Nigeria...far richer in real terms. Perhaps in prospective terms, the likes of Nigeria and DR Congo are richerTunisian Gooner wrote:YUJAM wrote:Their players are superb technicians and excellent at carrying out the coach's tactics.

We have a larger GDP, so what? What makes countries proficient at sports, often comes down to organization and as such, countries that punch above their weight are invariably more organized and better equipped to succeed in a number of areas. Relatively speaking, Tunisia is punching above its weight (In an African context) and Nigeria is obviously punching below its weight.
So the reality is....there is nothing strange about Tunisia having a more organized league. Of course having such a large market does tend to help things, particularly in sports...most of the top sporting Nations, generally don't have a small population....but they are all still very organized countries.
So at the end of the day.....no matter how "BIG" you are, if you are not organized, it counts for nothing. Just look at India at the Olympics, for example.
Obviously Nigeria has the higher ceiling as far as football and most sports goes..but until we learn to organize ourselves, we will continue stumbling around.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
- airwolex
Anybody that thinks Nigeria has the caliber of ballers at Chile's disposal is not serious. I don't know why the Nigerians didn't age as well as their MATES.Ekorian wrote:'07. Your head correct small when you no dey look at Mikel's poster....Bigpokey24 wrote:1997 or 2007Ekorian wrote:Guess what! I was at the Olympic Stadium in Montreal, Canada in the summer of 1997 when our so called " less talented " team held the same aforementioned Chileans to a draw in regulation time before losing to them in overtime. Feel free to debate how and why the core of the Chileans are in their national team today and players like Ambrose, Elderson, Ideye are a thing of the past but it is intellectual laziness to have concluded that we don't have the quality of their players....airwolex wrote:They've got serious ballers. Nigeria just doesn't have players the quality of Sanchez, Vidal, valdivia, Diaz, Medel, Vargas and Bravo. They went toe to toe with some of the best players in the World and won. They kept Messi quiet for 120 minutes without much of an issue, that should tell you something about them.
Actually they are not better than African teams. If you watch this friendly match vs ghana (
rasdb wrote:Actually they are not better than African teams. If you watch this friendly match vs ghana (
Please tell them.
Africa's best teams have the talent to go toe to toe with Chile any day.
Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal, Algeria, CIV
Don't know why some have low self esteem.
I'm well, let the r learning begin. Naija's has what it takes, many things we can downithout r holding us back........time to wake up man.
What you are failing to admit because of your personal hatred for Keshi is that our corrupt and incompetent FA plays a majority role in our present predicament. hinddink, Mourinho, Martino, Sampaoli and Martinez will all fail under Nigeria's coaching working condition.vancity eagle wrote:rasdb wrote:Actually they are not better than African teams. If you watch this friendly match vs ghana (
Please tell them.
Africa's best teams have the talent to go toe to toe with Chile any day.
Nigeria, Ghana, Senegal, Algeria, CIV
Don't know why some have low self esteem.
We will soon be back asking what went wrong again long after Keshi.....