Craziest people in soccer !!
Cantona and Michel? Are u sure Cantona had started playing pro soccer when Michel was coach like in 1986?panafrican wrote:Cantona was banned from the french team because he had said that coach Henri Michel was a piece of sh** (it is not the same as "a mad man":-) )
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
- chendosplastic
Waffiman wrote:metalalloy wrote:Edmundo is the first person on the list!
Whoops! My bad.
Edmundo, hold the record for red cards in Brazillian football and he is a striker.![]()
On the positive side for Edmundo, he scored six goals in his first match after serving out his 120-day suspension, as his team won 6-0. He also lost a penalty in that match!!
"The history book on the shelf is always repeating itself" - ABBA.
"Facts, Logic, truth is the way....stop ranting via emotions; seeing things through the prism of ethnicity is comfortable but ultimately a road to perdition." - airwolex.
He started his professional carreer with Auxerre in 1986.anointed wrote:Cantona and Michel? Are u sure Cantona had started playing pro soccer when Michel was coach like in 1986?panafrican wrote:Cantona was banned from the french team because he had said that coach Henri Michel was a piece of sh** (it is not the same as "a mad man":-) )
His first international match for les bleus was in 1987 against west germany under Platini.
He got banned from the NT following the selthurst incident in 1995.
was annoyed with ginola for losing posession against bulgaria in WC qualifier in 93 and called deschamps a water carrier (for juve) in 96.
megapro 2012:
Keshi should be left alone to continue his program, and seriously has a chance of casting his name in gold
Re: Craziest people in soccer !!
Almost 6 years later, I think we should add Threadinho & Bigpokey to the list.
kash n' karry wrote:Sports; Soccer; Football's craziest people
This makes for an interesting article folks though, i don't know if it has already been posted. Enjoy!!
Posted by admin on 2006/2/21 11:27:16 (116 reads)
By Bamidele Johnson
Soccer is crawling with some of humanity’s wackiest people who have flirted with babes, booze, drugs and violence.
Edmundo
Every profession has its mavericks. Football is no exception. As a matter of fact, the game boasts some of the world’s crankiest people–both on and off the field. What will the game be without them? Poorer, of course. Here they are... Edmundo One of the biggest names in Brazilian football during the 90s. Edmundo, famously known as ‘The Animal,’ was a striker who excited as much as exasperated fans, teammates, opponents and the authorities.
He began by smashing a television camera after a game in Ecuador. And in a bid to avoid being jailed by the country’s police, he locked himself in a hotel room for three days! However, he could not escape sanctions when he earned a 120-day ban for slapping a referee. When he moved to Europe to play for Italy’s Fiorentina, Edmundo negotiated a clause in his contract that allowed him to visit nightclubs.
Not accustomed to keeping rules, he eventually exhausted his luck, disappearing to Brazil for the Rio Carnival. Fiorentina cut their losses by releasing him. He headed back to Brazil. Back home, he continued his madness, punching Juninho, his favourite teammate, for no apparent reason during a league match. Of the incident, he said hitting “half man Juninho was easy,” adding that next time “it would be fairer”, as he would call his little nephew to do the job.
Next to be upset were Brazilian animal rights campaigners when Edmundo borrowed a chimpanzee from the circus to liven up his son’s birthday. He gleefully posed with the primate when feeding it beer. His reckless behaviour climaxed with a fatal car crash in 1995. The crash resulted in manslaughter and earned Edmundo four years in prison. But he was released pending an appeal after spending just one night behind bars. When hired to coach a youth side, he said: “If they listen to what I say, the might become great players and noble men. If they do what I do, perhaps not.”
Diego Maradona
Nothing about Maradona is ordinary. On the field, he was sublime, almost divine. Off it, his thick body was home to a thousand demons. The aggregate is that the Argentine idol is one the game’s most colourful characters. Former national teammate, Jorge Valdano said: “Maradona turned his private life into a public spectacle.” He was right. Maradona was simply a disaster movie.
His resume includes shooting journalists with an air rifle, hiring a Boeing 747 for his wedding, sneering at the Pope, campaigning against drugs whereas he is an addict, escaping from hospitals when his life was at risk and sleeping naked with the air conditioning at full power when suffering from acute pneumonia!
But that’s not all. He retired from football on five occasions, drove to training grounds in a lorry, befriended and was photographed with drug baron, Diego Leon Montoya Sanchez, who jointly tops FBI’s most wanted list with Osama bin Laden. He famously counselled people not to consider him a role model. “Teach your child with your own examples,” he advised.
Romario
On the field, he was a perennial source of danger to goalkeepers. Off it, he was a nightmare to fans, coaches, teammates and his numerous wives. He is a national hero (World Cup winner and second only to Pele on the list of Brazil’s top scorers); fan beater and self-confessed womaniser. Romario’s career was as remarkable for his goalscoring as much as for scandals. Three years ago, while playing for Fluminense in Brazil, fans turned up at the club’s training ground to protest the team’s poor performances in the league. One of them decided to throw a chicken as a sign of protest. He had courted trouble.
Romario chased him to the stands and beat him to pulp. In 1985, he was kicked out of the Brazilian youth team when the coach caught him urinating on pedestrians from his hotel room window. In his last contract, he negotiated a clause which granted him freedom to train whenever he pleased. “I don’t need to go to practice. I already know what to do on the pitch,” he explained.
Romario was equally dangerous with his mouth, regularly quarreling with coaches and national icons. He branded Pele a “museum piece,” and Zico, “a loser.” Of his foul mouth, he said: “I never bite my tongue. I just can’t shut my mouth when I see something wrong.” In 1994, he threatened to quit the Brazilian World Cup squad if he was not given a window seat on the team’s flight to the US. He also loved women and nightclubbing. “I don’t smoke, I don’t drink, I don’t use drugs but women... I don’t believe in marriage as an institution. It can’t last forever.’’ On nightclubbing, he said: “I was born at night. That is why I like the nighttime. Night is my best friend.”
Jesus Gil
The late Spaniard was the man for whom the word ‘Maverick’ was invented. As president of Spain’s Athletico Madrid for 17 years, Gil was the ultimate axe-wielding maniac. He bought 141 players, went through 39 coaches and abolished the club’s youth system which included a certain Raul. He famously said: “Appointing a coach means no more to me than ordering a glass of sherry.
I don’t care if I have to buy 100 glasses a year to find the right one.” One coach was sacked before the season began. Reason? Gil did not like the way he looked in the team photo.
In 1996, he celebrated Athletico’s league and cup double by riding around Madrid on an elephant and said: “You don’t get orgasms like this every night!” When his team lost a match in the Canary Island, Gil told reporters that he wished the plane would crash and “kill the bloody lot of them.”
When his team was relegated in 2000, he promised to become a priest, dress up as a nun or take holy vows everyday to get them promoted. “My name is Jesus Gil, not Jesus Christ, but I will perform a miracle.” Gil’s life was the stuff of legends. At 17, he lived in a brothel and kept girls’ accounts in lieu of rent.
He later went into buying and selling of cars. From there, he graduated to property. His first project was an apartment block constructed without permission, plan, architect and surveyor. The result? It collapsed, killing 58. Yet he escaped punishment, as he was pardoned by Spain’s then military leader, General Franco. Gil died in 2004.
Hristo Stoitchkov
As a player, the Bulgarian striker had an explosive shot and temper. He also had a foul mouth; something like the soccer equivalent of John McEnroe. On his last match in Bulgaria before leaving for Barcelona in Spain, Stoitchkov marched into the opposition dressing room and smashed up the trophy they had just won. He then hopped on a plane to Spain. But the demons were in hot pursuit, ready to end his Barcelona career before it started. In his first match – a Super Cup match – he was sent off for stamping the referee. He insisted–tearfully–to his teammates that he had not done it. They stood by him until television footage proved otherwise.
He apologised, but clearly was not sorry, as he regularly fell out with Coach Johann Cruyff. Yet the fans loved him because he scored goals, hated Real Madrid and swore in Catalan (Barcelona’s native language). “Just hearing the name Real Madrid makes me want to vomit,” he said. And to prove he was serious, he once refused to let a supporter watch Barcelona’s pre-season training because he was wearing a Madrid shirt. The fan was a seven-year- old. Before quitting Barcelona, he fought Coach Louis Van Gaal, saying: “I wouldn’t sack Louis Van Gaal. Why should he get off that easily? I’d make him sweep the stands, work turnstiles and sell chocolate.”
Luis Aragones
Former coach of Spain and one of the worst mouths in football. Famous for attacking television wires with pliers because he thought they were “too close” to where he sat during a match. He makes his way to the dugout via a secret passage – a trapdoor and an underground tunnel. To avoid the press and the opponent’s coach. He lost his false teeth while shouting orders and once manhandled a player being treated back onto the pitch because “there was nothing wrong with him.” The player suffered a broken jaw!
Aragones also attacked Samuel Eto’o on the bench because he thought he was not trying hard enough, but got angry with a fan who suggested same. He called Eto’o and Thierry Henry “black $#%” and described a fan as “uglier than two horses.” Opponents are not safe either, describing Real Madrid’s Fernando Hierro as “old, old, more than old.” Yet, Hierro is 30 years younger than Aragones. He once described a player as having an “angel*’s face.”
Maria Teresa Rivero
Spain’s only female football president. She has 13 children and 36 grandchildren. As president of Rayo Vallecano (Wilfred Agbonavbare’s former club), Rivero drifts between madness and sleep in the directors box to which she arrives late. Volatile and vociferous, Rivero once went through four managers in one season, including an attempt to re-sign the first one. Once after a game, she stayed back to hit the referee.
Her most famous quote? “Things like that (having a homosexual child) happen. I have taught my kids so it won’t, but you never know. It would be a huge tragedy, but I wouldn’t kick my son out of the house. One thing is for sure, though, I wouldn’t let his partner in.”
Eric Cantona
“I have a lot of good memories, but the one I prefer is when I kicked the hooligan,” said Cantona of his world famous Bruce Lee impersonation on a fan in 1995. The kick provoked outrage and a ban, but those familiar with the French genius were not surprised. Afterall, he left France for England, having retired from football aged just 24. By then, he had been banned from the national team for branding Coach Henri Michel “a mad man.” He had also been sacked by Olympique Marseille for throwing away his shirt in protest against being substituted in a friendly. At Montpellier, he was suspended for fighting a teammate, and as skipper of Nimes, his ban for hurling the ball at the referee was doubled after he described members of the disciplinary committee as idiots. At Manchester United, he was not any better, attempting to take on the entire team of Turkish riot police after a match in Istanbul. He was arrested in the US during the 1994 World Cup after a brawl with a security guard and then his piece de resistance in 1995.
Paul Gascoigne
Lavishly gifted and incredibly obnoxious. The former golden boy of English football oozed dementia. His reputation for practical jokes was as big as his playing talents. Once, while eating in a posh hotel, he placed his erect manhood on the shoulder of a diner on the next table. Thinking he had been tapped on the shoulder, the man turned around and was stabbed in the cheek by Gazza’s erection!
He once urinated over a sleeping teammate and was a notorious wife beater with enormous beer-guzzling capability. Asked a question at a press conference, Gazza responded by burping straight into the microphone. He was simply the kind of boy his mum must have told him to avoid.
Luciano Gaucci
A bus driver turned millionaire. He is Italy’s equivalent of Jesus Gil. In 13 years as president of Peruggia, he sacked 13 coaches, including one for bringing his dog to a press conference. In 1991, his club was stripped of promotion after a referee was accused of ‘adjusting’ the result of a match on receiving a race horse from Gaucci. He achieved global fame for ‘sacking’ South Korean forward, Ahn Jung-Hwan, for knocking Italy out of the World Cup in 2002. After that he signed Al-Saadi Gadaffi, son of Libyan president, Muamar Gadaffi. He also tried to sign a female player despite the fact that Italian Federation’s rules are opposed to such. He succeeded in signing Ben Johnson, the tainted Canadian sprinter, as fitness trainer. “I love a team made up of only horses,” he said on recruiting Johnson.
Others worth mentioning;
1. George Best
2. Michel Platini
3. Chilavert
4. Ian Wright
5. Taribo West
6. Clemence Westeroff
7. John Mikel Obi
8. Garrincha
9. Nick Anelka
10. Roger Milla
11. Sir Alex Ferguson
12. Charles "Dummy" Dempsey
When design impacts performance,
Performance returns the favor
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe
- kash n' karry

Wow this na very old thread, anointed well lets just add a few more names here
1. Wayne Ronnie
2. Mario Balotelli
3. Craig Bellamy
4. Carlos Tevez
5. Micheal Chopra
6. Patrice Evra
7. Nigel de Jong
8. Genarro Gattuso
9. Antonio Casano
10. Coach Murinho
Re:
megapro wrote:he was campaigning for a 3 man attack of himself, bebeto and edmundo.bret- hart wrote:cheimegapro wrote:flashback 1994.Romario
Romario was equally dangerous with his mouth, regularly quarreling with coaches and national icons. He branded Pele a “museum piece,”
Romario demanded his homey edmundo 'el animal' be added by carlos alberto peirera in the World cup squad for the 'useless' Muller just like leandro did for renato in 86.
Pele scoffed at him to leave team selection to the coaches thus his reply with the remark that pele being an antique museum piece, deserved to be seen and not to be heared.![]()
are u sure it pele he was reffering to??? maybe it was Paohsee he was talking about.
I think Romario once slapped a teammate during a game cos a thru pass was not exactly where he wanted it
for venturing to address pele that way, the coach dropped him from the squad.
brazil started dropping points to also-rans without him
negotiating a tricky WC qualifiying later rounds that now made brazil needing to beat uruguay to qualify behind bolivia.
well, the clamour to bring him back was too much for the coach who had no choice but to bury his pride and give him a shirt.
Behold! Romario returned and turned super human. scored 4 goals (2 were dissalowed). The people chorused after the match that God sent Romario. (his name became God sent briefly). The relieved coach himself corrected saying:
''No. Romario is God.''

I think Romario once slapped a teammate during a game cos the thru pass was not exactly the way he wanted it

- Heliopolis
Romario is a legend. How are you gonna negotiate a clause that says you show up to practice when you want?

You mentioned Evra but overlooked Suarez and his lawyer on CE.
kash n' karry wrote:![]()
1. Wayne Ronnie
2. Mario Balotelli
3. Craig Bellamy
4. Carlos Tevez
5. Micheal Chopra
6. Patrice Evra
7. Nigel de Jong
8. Genarro Gattuso
9. Antonio Casano
10. Coach Murinho
E jus remain make Edmundo enta that Brazilian Senate...every problem for Brazil go run go Argentina as dem go know sef say dem oga don come...kai Oga na master.
http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2014-10-0 ... ffice.html
Re:
kash n' karry wrote:Player wrote:Stig Tofting, i think he spent sometime in jail or something.Mudi E wrote:How about that crazy guy from Denmark? He was on the Dannish team in '98 world cup. He played in the Premiership for a little while, I think Bolton Wanderers. I can't remember his name.
Now that guy put crase in CRAZY.![]()
Yeah Tofting look either like an inmate, a soldier or a skin head with those eyes popping like those of an owl.
Yeah Tofting was something else, genuine crase, his is understandable though. In his teens his father murdered his mom and killed himself and the boy discovered their bodies, that one reach to drive anyone nuts.
Re:
I was thinking Balo is a mad man.Kai belle dey born all kind people.Waffiman wrote:metalalloy wrote:Edmundo is the first person on the list!
Whoops! My bad.
Edmundo, hold the record for red cards in Brazillian football and he is a striker.![]()
anointed wrote:You mentioned Evra but overlooked Suarez and his lawyer on CE.kash n' karry wrote:![]()
1. Wayne Ronnie
2. Mario Balotelli
3. Craig Bellamy
4. Carlos Tevez
5. Micheal Chopra
6. Patrice Evra
7. Nigel de Jong
8. Genarro Gattuso
9. Antonio Casano
10. Coach Murinho
Suarez should be numero uno on the list. How can one be a millionaire in any currency and still can't afford meat?
Re: Re:
Wow that alone i can understandplatinum wrote:kash n' karry wrote:Player wrote:Stig Tofting, i think he spent sometime in jail or something.Mudi E wrote:How about that crazy guy from Denmark? He was on the Dannish team in '98 world cup. He played in the Premiership for a little while, I think Bolton Wanderers. I can't remember his name.
Now that guy put crase in CRAZY.![]()
Yeah Tofting look either like an inmate, a soldier or a skin head with those eyes popping like those of an owl.
Yeah Tofting was something else, genuine crase, his is understandable though. In his teens his father murdered his mom and killed himself and the boy discovered their bodies, that one reach to drive anyone nuts.
Anyone remember a Nigerian player called Yomi Peters?
"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."
Yomi was a character. Alias "Johny Kwango" for his head butts. I believe he is with the Sports Council now in Lagos. In any case, his antics were legendary during his days with Stationery Stores! He later coached Stores and got into a fight with a player (Onochie Alumona)!Lolly wrote:Anyone remember a Nigerian player called Yomi Peters?
Man, there was a report of his creaming at JIB's Chris Danjuma when the later prepared to deliver a long throw-in against Stores: "This one (Danjuma) na pro (Professional) o! You wan take hand score?"
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
kash n' karry wrote:Sports; Soccer; Football's craziest people
This makes for an interesting article folks though, i don't know if it has already been posted. Enjoy!!
Posted by admin on 2006/2/21 11:27:16 (116 reads)
By Bamidele Johnson
Soccer is crawling with some of humanity’s wackiest people who have flirted with babes, booze, drugs and violence.
Edmundo
Every profession has its mavericks. Football is no exception. As a matter of fact, the game boasts some of the world’s crankiest people–both on and off the field. What will the game be without them? Poorer, of course. Here they are... Edmundo One of the biggest names in Brazilian football during the 90s. Edmundo, famously known as ‘The Animal,’ was a striker who excited as much as exasperated fans, teammates, opponents and the authorities.
He began by smashing a television camera after a game in Ecuador. And in a bid to avoid being jailed by the country’s police, he locked himself in a hotel room for three days! However, he could not escape sanctions when he earned a 120-day ban for slapping a referee. When he moved to Europe to play for Italy’s Fiorentina, Edmundo negotiated a clause in his contract that allowed him to visit nightclubs.
Not accustomed to keeping rules, he eventually exhausted his luck, disappearing to Brazil for the Rio Carnival. Fiorentina cut their losses by releasing him. He headed back to Brazil. Back home, he continued his madness, punching Juninho, his favourite teammate, for no apparent reason during a league match. Of the incident, he said hitting “half man Juninho was easy,” adding that next time “it would be fairer”, as he would call his little nephew to do the job.
Next to be upset were Brazilian animal rights campaigners when Edmundo borrowed a chimpanzee from the circus to liven up his son’s birthday. He gleefully posed with the primate when feeding it beer. His reckless behaviour climaxed with a fatal car crash in 1995. The crash resulted in manslaughter and earned Edmundo four years in prison. But he was released pending an appeal after spending just one night behind bars. When hired to coach a youth side, he said: “If they listen to what I say, the might become great players and noble men. If they do what I do, perhaps not.”
Diego Maradona
Nothing about Maradona is ordinary. On the field, he was sublime, almost divine. Off it, his thick body was home to a thousand demons. The aggregate is that the Argentine idol is one the game’s most colourful characters. Former national teammate, Jorge Valdano said: “Maradona turned his private life into a public spectacle.” He was right. Maradona was simply a disaster movie.
His resume includes shooting journalists with an air rifle, hiring a Boeing 747 for his wedding, sneering at the Pope, campaigning against drugs whereas he is an addict, escaping from hospitals when his life was at risk and sleeping naked with the air conditioning at full power when suffering from acute pneumonia!
But that’s not all. He retired from football on five occasions, drove to training grounds in a lorry, befriended and was photographed with drug baron, Diego Leon Montoya Sanchez, who jointly tops FBI’s most wanted list with Osama bin Laden. He famously counselled people not to consider him a role model. “Teach your child with your own examples,” he advised.
Romario
On the field, he was a perennial source of danger to goalkeepers. Off it, he was a nightmare to fans, coaches, teammates and his numerous wives. He is a national hero (World Cup winner and second only to Pele on the list of Brazil’s top scorers); fan beater and self-confessed womaniser. Romario’s career was as remarkable for his goalscoring as much as for scandals. Three years ago, while playing for Fluminense in Brazil, fans turned up at the club’s training ground to protest the team’s poor performances in the league. One of them decided to throw a chicken as a sign of protest. He had courted trouble.
Romario chased him to the stands and beat him to pulp. In 1985, he was kicked out of the Brazilian youth team when the coach caught him urinating on pedestrians from his hotel room window. In his last contract, he negotiated a clause which granted him freedom to train whenever he pleased. “I don’t need to go to practice. I already know what to do on the pitch,” he explained.
Romario was equally dangerous with his mouth, regularly quarreling with coaches and national icons. He branded Pele a “museum piece,” and Zico, “a loser.” Of his foul mouth, he said: “I never bite my tongue. I just can’t shut my mouth when I see something wrong.” In 1994, he threatened to quit the Brazilian World Cup squad if he was not given a window seat on the team’s flight to the US. He also loved women and nightclubbing. “I don’t smoke, I don’t drink, I don’t use drugs but women... I don’t believe in marriage as an institution. It can’t last forever.’’ On nightclubbing, he said: “I was born at night. That is why I like the nighttime. Night is my best friend.”
Jesus Gil
The late Spaniard was the man for whom the word ‘Maverick’ was invented. As president of Spain’s Athletico Madrid for 17 years, Gil was the ultimate axe-wielding maniac. He bought 141 players, went through 39 coaches and abolished the club’s youth system which included a certain Raul. He famously said: “Appointing a coach means no more to me than ordering a glass of sherry.
I don’t care if I have to buy 100 glasses a year to find the right one.” One coach was sacked before the season began. Reason? Gil did not like the way he looked in the team photo.
In 1996, he celebrated Athletico’s league and cup double by riding around Madrid on an elephant and said: “You don’t get orgasms like this every night!” When his team lost a match in the Canary Island, Gil told reporters that he wished the plane would crash and “kill the bloody lot of them.”
When his team was relegated in 2000, he promised to become a priest, dress up as a nun or take holy vows everyday to get them promoted. “My name is Jesus Gil, not Jesus Christ, but I will perform a miracle.” Gil’s life was the stuff of legends. At 17, he lived in a brothel and kept girls’ accounts in lieu of rent.
He later went into buying and selling of cars. From there, he graduated to property. His first project was an apartment block constructed without permission, plan, architect and surveyor. The result? It collapsed, killing 58. Yet he escaped punishment, as he was pardoned by Spain’s then military leader, General Franco. Gil died in 2004.
Hristo Stoitchkov
As a player, the Bulgarian striker had an explosive shot and temper. He also had a foul mouth; something like the soccer equivalent of John McEnroe. On his last match in Bulgaria before leaving for Barcelona in Spain, Stoitchkov marched into the opposition dressing room and smashed up the trophy they had just won. He then hopped on a plane to Spain. But the demons were in hot pursuit, ready to end his Barcelona career before it started. In his first match – a Super Cup match – he was sent off for stamping the referee. He insisted–tearfully–to his teammates that he had not done it. They stood by him until television footage proved otherwise.
He apologised, but clearly was not sorry, as he regularly fell out with Coach Johann Cruyff. Yet the fans loved him because he scored goals, hated Real Madrid and swore in Catalan (Barcelona’s native language). “Just hearing the name Real Madrid makes me want to vomit,” he said. And to prove he was serious, he once refused to let a supporter watch Barcelona’s pre-season training because he was wearing a Madrid shirt. The fan was a seven-year- old. Before quitting Barcelona, he fought Coach Louis Van Gaal, saying: “I wouldn’t sack Louis Van Gaal. Why should he get off that easily? I’d make him sweep the stands, work turnstiles and sell chocolate.”
Luis Aragones
Former coach of Spain and one of the worst mouths in football. Famous for attacking television wires with pliers because he thought they were “too close” to where he sat during a match. He makes his way to the dugout via a secret passage – a trapdoor and an underground tunnel. To avoid the press and the opponent’s coach. He lost his false teeth while shouting orders and once manhandled a player being treated back onto the pitch because “there was nothing wrong with him.” The player suffered a broken jaw!
Aragones also attacked Samuel Eto’o on the bench because he thought he was not trying hard enough, but got angry with a fan who suggested same. He called Eto’o and Thierry Henry “black $#%” and described a fan as “uglier than two horses.” Opponents are not safe either, describing Real Madrid’s Fernando Hierro as “old, old, more than old.” Yet, Hierro is 30 years younger than Aragones. He once described a player as having an “angel*’s face.”
Maria Teresa Rivero
Spain’s only female football president. She has 13 children and 36 grandchildren. As president of Rayo Vallecano (Wilfred Agbonavbare’s former club), Rivero drifts between madness and sleep in the directors box to which she arrives late. Volatile and vociferous, Rivero once went through four managers in one season, including an attempt to re-sign the first one. Once after a game, she stayed back to hit the referee.
Her most famous quote? “Things like that (having a homosexual child) happen. I have taught my kids so it won’t, but you never know. It would be a huge tragedy, but I wouldn’t kick my son out of the house. One thing is for sure, though, I wouldn’t let his partner in.”
Eric Cantona
“I have a lot of good memories, but the one I prefer is when I kicked the hooligan,” said Cantona of his world famous Bruce Lee impersonation on a fan in 1995. The kick provoked outrage and a ban, but those familiar with the French genius were not surprised. Afterall, he left France for England, having retired from football aged just 24. By then, he had been banned from the national team for branding Coach Henri Michel “a mad man.” He had also been sacked by Olympique Marseille for throwing away his shirt in protest against being substituted in a friendly. At Montpellier, he was suspended for fighting a teammate, and as skipper of Nimes, his ban for hurling the ball at the referee was doubled after he described members of the disciplinary committee as idiots. At Manchester United, he was not any better, attempting to take on the entire team of Turkish riot police after a match in Istanbul. He was arrested in the US during the 1994 World Cup after a brawl with a security guard and then his piece de resistance in 1995.
Paul Gascoigne
Lavishly gifted and incredibly obnoxious. The former golden boy of English football oozed dementia. His reputation for practical jokes was as big as his playing talents. Once, while eating in a posh hotel, he placed his erect manhood on the shoulder of a diner on the next table. Thinking he had been tapped on the shoulder, the man turned around and was stabbed in the cheek by Gazza’s erection!
He once urinated over a sleeping teammate and was a notorious wife beater with enormous beer-guzzling capability. Asked a question at a press conference, Gazza responded by burping straight into the microphone. He was simply the kind of boy his mum must have told him to avoid.
Luciano Gaucci
A bus driver turned millionaire. He is Italy’s equivalent of Jesus Gil. In 13 years as president of Peruggia, he sacked 13 coaches, including one for bringing his dog to a press conference. In 1991, his club was stripped of promotion after a referee was accused of ‘adjusting’ the result of a match on receiving a race horse from Gaucci. He achieved global fame for ‘sacking’ South Korean forward, Ahn Jung-Hwan, for knocking Italy out of the World Cup in 2002. After that he signed Al-Saadi Gadaffi, son of Libyan president, Muamar Gadaffi. He also tried to sign a female player despite the fact that Italian Federation’s rules are opposed to such. He succeeded in signing Ben Johnson, the tainted Canadian sprinter, as fitness trainer. “I love a team made up of only horses,” he said on recruiting Johnson.
Others worth mentioning;
1. George Best
2. Michel Platini
3. Chilavert
4. Ian Wright
5. Taribo West
6. Clemence Westeroff
7. John Mikel Obi
8. Garrincha
9. Nick Anelka
10. Roger Milla
11. Sir Alex Ferguson
12. Charles "Dummy" Dempsey
When design impacts performance,
Performance returns the favor
These are the juices that drive the game of Soccer. What would the game be without these men and women?
I specially loved Eric Cantona on and off the field of play. The guy was a tremendous talent but in skills and comical behavior.
For me, our own Tarila Okorowanta and James Etokebe should have made the cut. Okorowanta's off field behaviors were gross, while Etokebe was a player who could never stay sober on and off the field of play.
In fact, Etokobe can only play a match drunk if his team were of the intent of getting the best out of him. Wacky? You're telling me!
Brazilian 1982 and1986 captain Dr Socrates was highly impressive at Corinthians in the brazilian league that he was bought by Fiorentina in Italy. When Socrates got there, he hated the training ethics, the weather and the loneliness which was very different from his chilled out lifestyle back in the Brazil. He simply walked out of Fiorentina and went back to Corinthians in Brazil. Socrates was politically vocal alongside his football that he spoke at many rallies on public issues.
Goldleaf wrote:Brazilian 1982 and1986 captain Dr Socrates was highly impressive at Corinthians in the brazilian league that he was bought by Fiorentina in Italy. When Socrates got there, he hated the training ethics, the weather and the loneliness which was very different from his chilled out lifestyle back in the Brazil. He simply walked out of Fiorentina and went back to Corinthians in Brazil. Socrates was politically vocal alongside his football that he spoke at many rallies on public issues.
Such a player, even with the heavy drinking and chain smoking. One of my all time faves. Elegant.
Re:
Apart from Edmundo, another of Romario's cronies was Hristo Stoichkov who was also a bonafide nutcase of his own right.kash n' karry wrote:Yes indeed Romario is nuts, as a boy he will stand on top building and urinate on pedestrians walking down the streets on the side walk. Till he was caught and spanked.megapro wrote:flashback 1994.Romario
Romario was equally dangerous with his mouth, regularly quarreling with coaches and national icons. He branded Pele a “museum piece,”
Romario demanded his homey edmundo 'el animal' be added by carlos alberto peirera in the World cup squad for the 'useless' Muller just like leandro did for renato in 86.
Pele scoffed at him to leave team selection to the coaches thus his reply with the remark that pele being an antique museum piece, deserved to be seen and not to be heared.
Romario just stands out sha.........
Luis Aragones once told Romario, when he coached him "if you were my son,
I could kill you". Without missing a beat, Romario retorted, "If you were my
father, I'll kill myself first"

For many years upon this spot
You heard the sound of a merry bell
Those who were rash and those who were not
Lost and made a spot of cash
He who gave the game away
May he Brynn in hell and rue the day
Bryne V. Deane [1937]
Ebyboy wrote:Romario just stands out sha.........
father, I'll kill myself first"![]()

Ebyboy wrote:Romario just stands out sha.........
father, I'll kill myself first"![]()