NIGERIA 1 V 1 EGYPT - FT
Re: NIGERIA 1 V 1 EGYPT - FT
@Folem, thanks for the snapshot. Amuzie has been slaughtered on this forum unjustly meanwhile he was miles behind Salah. Bandwagon effect because it takes just one person to say so and everybody follows. It can now be seen that it was Oboabona and either Efe or Abdullahi (can't see clearly) who were playing Salah onside.
- airwolex
If anything that pic proves my point. He can clearly see that two defenders are not playing offside and he tries to catch Salah out. He should simply have stayed with his man...that's my point...if it was one guy playing someone on fine, but if you are the only one trying to catch someone offside then you are at fault.ukwala wrote:@Folem, thanks for the snapshot. Amuzie has been slaughtered on this forum unjustly meanwhile he was miles behind Salah. Bandwagon effect because it takes just one person to say so and everybody follows. It can now be seen that it was Oboabona and either Efe or Abdullahi (can't see clearly) who were playing Salah onside.
Abeg don't mind ukwala. Amuzie was setting a one-man offside trap. Stay with your man. In an organized defence, it is the CB's that call the offside trap and tell everyone when to step. A full-back should not on his own just start stepping up. These guys have not played/trained together enough to set effective offside traps. So stick with a a simple mark-your-manairwolex wrote:If anything that pic proves my point. He can clearly see that two defenders are not playing offside and he tries to catch Salah out. He should simply have stayed with his man...that's my point...if it was one guy playing someone on fine, but if you are the only one trying to catch someone offside then you are at fault.ukwala wrote:@Folem, thanks for the snapshot. Amuzie has been slaughtered on this forum unjustly meanwhile he was miles behind Salah. Bandwagon effect because it takes just one person to say so and everybody follows. It can now be seen that it was Oboabona and either Efe or Abdullahi (can't see clearly) who were playing Salah onside.
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.
ukwala,ukwala wrote:@Folem, thanks for the snapshot. Amuzie has been slaughtered on this forum unjustly meanwhile he was miles behind Salah. Bandwagon effect because it takes just one person to say so and everybody follows. It can now be seen that it was Oboabona and either Efe or Abdullahi (can't see clearly) who were playing Salah onside.
IMO, the issue is not that Amuzie played him on or that someone else did. It was pretty clear that on the right of Amuzie the defenders were not playing the trap and thus Amuzie ought to be aware of that. In any case, the issue (see also Siasia's comments) is that Amuzie did not stay with his man. To me there is no reason to play the offside trap at that time or if you must then watch the trap line. The trap is a highly orchestrated strategy and any slight error can doom you either because someone fails to keep it or the LM misses the call. Much easier in a tight game (and inside the box) to stay close to your man with just a few minutes left. Amuzie lost contact with his man and the cost was a goal.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
EII et al, fair enough, however he was slated on this forum for playing Salah onside and that is what the snapshot disproves. But yes, you are right, Amuzie went to sleep.Enugu II wrote:ukwala,ukwala wrote:@Folem, thanks for the snapshot. Amuzie has been slaughtered on this forum unjustly meanwhile he was miles behind Salah. Bandwagon effect because it takes just one person to say so and everybody follows. It can now be seen that it was Oboabona and either Efe or Abdullahi (can't see clearly) who were playing Salah onside.
IMO, the issue is not that Amuzie played him on or that someone else did. It was pretty clear that on the right of Amuzie the defenders were not playing the trap and thus Amuzie ought to be aware of that. In any case, the issue (see also Siasia's comments) is that Amuzie did not stay with his man. To me there is no reason to play the offside trap at that time or if you must then watch the trap line. The trap is a highly orchestrated strategy and any slight error can doom you either because someone fails to keep it or the LM misses the call. Much easier in a tight game (and inside the box) to stay close to your man with just a few minutes left. Amuzie lost contact with his man and the cost was a goal.
Re: NIGERIA 1 V 0 EGYPT - GAME THREAD & LINKS

This picture will drive many top coaches fuming. 2 players Amuzie and Oboabona displayed defensive indiscipline. If you are playing a back 4, the back 4 must be across in a single straight line so that no player is kept onside to do damage. Just look at Obobabona stepping out recklessly to close down a ball in the DM territory with Amuzie taking his eye completely off Salah. Kai! Amuzie's positioning is worse because he has a danger man behind him. I will drop him.
Amuzie is useless. Should never wear the green again.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
Tbite wrote:Amuzie is useless. Should never wear the green again.
This statement will come back to bite you in the future.
I hesitate to blame SS for anything in this game, even while recognizing that he has never been able to structure a game plan based on balance, except perhaps for that draw against Brazil in the U-20s many years ago...
All the blame should go to the NFF for destabilizing the team...
I suspect we would've won this game with Oliseh as coach, for the simple reason we would've fielded/played a more stable team and game; esp given some of the work he was doing in organizing the team in the NP phase...But that is water over the bridge...
If SS can be persuaded to play a more controlled possession game in MF in Egypt, we have enough to win on the road....Its not necessarily the number of attacking players you have on the pitch that gives you offensive impetus...
Kudos to him for making Mikel captain, like I suggested to him in 2010!
I suspect we would've won this game with Oliseh as coach, for the simple reason we would've fielded/played a more stable team and game; esp given some of the work he was doing in organizing the team in the NP phase...But that is water over the bridge...
If SS can be persuaded to play a more controlled possession game in MF in Egypt, we have enough to win on the road....Its not necessarily the number of attacking players you have on the pitch that gives you offensive impetus...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Good game guys, I can tell you that your fans are a lot friendlier and classier than the Ghanian ones are.
txj wrote:I hesitate to blame SS for anything in this game, even while recognizing that he has never been able to structure a game plan based on balance, except perhaps for that draw against Brazil in the U-20s many years ago...
This is what Siasia doesn't seem to understand for some reason.
ElHadary wrote:Good game guys, I can tell you that your fans are a lot friendlier and classier than the Ghanian ones are.
Apart from your goalkeeper, I respect the Egyptian team as well. Hopefully both sides make it to AFCON as the tournament would miss the absence of either team. But first things first, WE MUST BEAT YOU GUYS IN ALEXANDRIA!
Well if we lose we could still make it whereas this is more of a must win for you guys. We'll see what happens, Alexandria's pretty wild and crazier than Cairo. Hopefully our fans behave themselves. Our fans aren't particularly aggressive but they're a bit.. excited.mystic wrote:ElHadary wrote:Good game guys, I can tell you that your fans are a lot friendlier and classier than the Ghanian ones are.
Apart from your goalkeeper, I respect the Egyptian team as well. Hopefully both sides make it to AFCON as the tournament would miss the absence of either team. But first things first, WE MUST BEAT YOU GUYS IN ALEXANDRIA!
Also they need to confiscate that laser BS too. I think Algerian fans used it on the Russian GK in the WC and the Russian GK was blinded for minutes because of it. It's dangerous and I'm shocked FIFA and CAF hasn't stepped in to ban them.
He should not even wear it on St Patrick's day. If I catch the guy wearing any green shirt........mystic wrote:Tbite wrote:Amuzie is useless. Should never wear the green again.
This statement will come back to bite you in the future.
the guy was turned inside out, more times than an Umbrella during storm season.
And he turned his back on Salah, more times than a liberal Muslim.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
I agree with everything sans the Oliseh part.txj wrote:I hesitate to blame SS for anything in this game, even while recognizing that he has never been able to structure a game plan based on balance, except perhaps for that draw against Brazil in the U-20s many years ago...
Please call your boy Siasia and volunteer your service. He is setting himself up.
Balance! Balance! Balance!
so this was not an offside as some people have been sayingGoldleaf wrote:![]()
This is the classic case of ball watching and dumb defending combined. Amunze was ball watching all day long and the person who could have done a neat defending Oboabona was too dumb not to see the outlet created and could not anticipate that Elneny had only one person he could pass to Salah. I am still fuming by the naivety on display started by Oboabona who went down with only seconds to spare.Rawlings wrote:so this was not an offside as some people have been sayingGoldleaf wrote:![]()
What do you have centerhalfs for if they cannot read and anticipate a through pass like this...geezz

By the way how could Amunze claim to be keeping offside looking by the angle of his body,he surely can see that his two centerhalfs are behind him, your centerhalf should be the one dictating the offside trap. In the situation here he should be looking behind asking where his man is. This is no defending at all and i am afraid if this chaotic defending repeats itself in Egypt the scoreline would be embarrassing!
The more i look at this picture the more mad i get with school boy defending by so called pros....no i take that back...schoold boys understand the no ball watching and covering your full backs rule of defending.
- airwolex
oloye wrote:The more i look at this picture the more mad i get with school boy defending by so called pros....no i take that back...schoold boys understand the no ball watching and covering your full backs rule of defending.

Very annoying. Good spot about Oboabana, perhaps that's why he can't make the step up as he has all the physical tools. A bit more awareness and he could have covered for AMuzie who frankly defended as if he was on crack. Salah was there so long he had time to comeback from an offside position and re-align.
The more annoying thing was the decision he took when he realised what Elneny was going to do, he then decided to do a lazy man's defending by running out instead of running to cover the pass and Salah. His inability to read what was so glaring in this move leaves me dumbfounded.Whenever the opposing player especially a midfielder, has the ball you calculate his options, there were three options of the three options the most obvious was Sala and for so many reasons, he remains a player anyone called defender ought to keep their eyes on all day. When you play against players like that, you always make sure you know where they are whether they have the ball or not.airwolex wrote:oloye wrote:The more i look at this picture the more mad i get with school boy defending by so called pros....no i take that back...schoold boys understand the no ball watching and covering your full backs rule of defending.![]()
Very annoying. Good spot about Oboabana, perhaps that's why he can't make the step up as he has all the physical tools. A bit more awareness and he could have covered for AMuzie who frankly defended as if he was on crack. Salah was there so long he had time to comeback from an offside position and re-align.
- Flex Swift
The picture shows both full backs out of position....... I have been asking the question a part from running around the field and playing 11 v 11 what do they (team) do in training???oloye wrote:This is the classic case of ball watching and dumb defending combined. Amunze was ball watching all day long and the person who could have done a neat defending Oboabona was too dumb not to see the outlet created and could not anticipate that Elneny had only one person he could pass to Salah. I am still fuming by the naivety on display started by Oboabona who went down with only seconds to spare.Rawlings wrote:so this was not an offside as some people have been sayingGoldleaf wrote:![]()
What do you have centerhalfs for if they cannot read and anticipate a through pass like this...geezz
The other fullback , the right fullback was drawn in by the player he was marking. The Egyptian on the shoulder of Ambrose is the striker . Amunze was drawn in too by Sala a clever ploy to shake off your marker create space for your own full back to run down the wing. Sala ran in Amunze presumably followed, by the time he turned back Amunze was startstruck by Elneny, he was watching the ball at his feet rather than asking where is the man i am marking. I can blame Amunze all day, but his mistake could still be covered if the so called experienced center half had done a decent job of covering his behind. The night before watching Brasil and our u23, the center half did that all night long to save the fumbling left full back who was being dragged all over the place.Flex Swift wrote:The picture shows both full backs out of position....... I have been asking the question a part from running around the field and playing 11 v 11 what do they (team) do in training???oloye wrote:This is the classic case of ball watching and dumb defending combined. Amunze was ball watching all day long and the person who could have done a neat defending Oboabona was too dumb not to see the outlet created and could not anticipate that Elneny had only one person he could pass to Salah. I am still fuming by the naivety on display started by Oboabona who went down with only seconds to spare.Rawlings wrote:so this was not an offside as some people have been sayingGoldleaf wrote:![]()