Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season

Re: Arsenal-Related News & Developments - 2015/2016 Season

Gooner1 wrote:
Indeed, BILD claim Arsenal's bid was worth just £19million, whereas the German club value their skipper at closer to £31million.

Consequentially, Gladbach have turned down Arsenal's offer, expecting the north London club to return with a more serious bid in the coming weeks.
Is this not so typical Arsenal?

What a funny club :rotf:
I think Liverpool not making the CL has played into Arsenal's hands. With the main competitor out of the running, Arsenal have looked to forced the price down. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Looks good. :thumb: :thumb:
wow........look how wenger has reduced the fans to celebrate a player that is going to replace the ones out of contract
and leaving....smh
and waffi, don't talk to me about quality......he is unproven in the epl, so don't go there....... :sneaky:
Vieira, Gilberto, Petit, Cesc, etc were all unproven in the EPL. What is your point? :oops: :oops: :oops:

The vast majority of players who now make it in this league, were unproven. So wetin dey eat you? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

What we need is top Quality players in 3 positions IMHO. CM is one of such positions and in Xhaka, anyone who knows anything about football beyond the EPL will say to you he is top quality. You should know this if you bother to watch the Bundesliga, he has been one of the best players in that league for the last 2 seasons. He obviously does not want to go to Bayern despite the money they offered him, in fact, it is the 2nd time he has turned them down.

The issue is valuation, he will not come cheap and Wenger is not one to spend big in the CM position. When Wenger spends money, there are few who can match him for success. I am always encouraged when Wenger spends money because I know 9 out of 10 times, it represents success for Arsenal.

There are quite a lot of falsities in your post.

Xhaka did NOT turn Bayern down. That is fundamentally false. Guardiola looked at him in his second season, but decided against him. He went for Xabi Alonso instead. Last year, he wasnt really an option because Xabi was still there, but he was considered but wasnt an option once they realized they could get Vidal. This summer, he is NOT even an option.

As for being one of the best midfielders in Bundesliga in two years, I partially agree and partially disagree. he was very very very good 2 seasons ago. Fantastic! Last season, he struggled at the beginning. Poor performance and injury. Then as they changed their coach, while he was quite good, he wasnt as good as the young Dahoud, who was their best midfielder last season.

I like Xhaka, simply because he plays football the way I like. He is a bit slow, but I dont think that should be much of a problem. He is more aggressive than people know, so that should stand him in good stead.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

mmeny wrote:
Why pay more? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Price looks to have been agreed. Also, reported agreed price seemed much lower that earlier prices being mentioned.

We need quality in that area of the pitch. He is a top player and exactly what we need. A CM, that combines play making and destructive qualities at the very best levels. Also a leader with superb tactical intelligence. I'm desperate for us to sign him.
Good to see you are desperate for us to sign him but in the case this deal falls through don't come back here to tell us we don't need him..... we have better players on the squad. IJS
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

"I didn't buy Arsenal stake to win trophies" Kroneke

David Ornstein ‏@bbcsport_david · 7m7 minutes ago
Arsenal close to signing Gladbach mdf Granit Xhaka. Agreement reached on £30m deal, in London to finalise terms, medical this weekend #AFCOracle Ornstein has spoken!

When this guy speaks I usually pay attention. :thumb:

Gunzilla

Post by Gunzilla »

Nkume wrote:OK so now that the consensus is that Nkosi sikiti Shaka is legit, when will this deal cross the line?

Not to be a wet blanket about player signings...But i'm not sold on this Xhaka guy. To me we need a more aggressive guy like Kante in the team.Xhaka will be another ball playing skillful midfielder in a team that lacks the spine for tough games..He'll look good a lot of games when things are going our way...but its when the going gets tough that i'm worried about...All the vids I've seen on him are about his visionary passing and deep lying playmaking...which is impressive...But I just don't think that's what we need in this team at this point in time.

We complained about a lack of a DM in the team and that Coquelin is at best a good back up..But we were told that we know nothing as we've never managed a team before..A team with a proper DM with the most tackles and the most interceptions just won the league...Go Figure....

Gunzilla wrote:
Nkume wrote:OK so now that the consensus is that Nkosi sikiti Shaka is legit, when will this deal cross the line?

Not to be a wet blanket about player signings...But i'm not sold on this Xhaka guy. To me we need a more aggressive guy like Kante in the team.Xhaka will be another ball playing skillful midfielder in a team that lacks the spine for tough games..He'll look good a lot of games when things are going our way...but its when the going gets tough that i'm worried about...All the vids I've seen on him are about his visionary passing and deep lying playmaking...which is impressive...But I just don't think that's what we need in this team at this point in time.

We complained about a lack of a DM in the team and that Coquelin is at best a good back up..But we were told that we know nothing as we've never managed a team before..A team with a proper DM with the most tackles and the most interceptions just won the league...Go Figure....
As you've admitted, you've only seen a few video clips, but sometimes those clips do players a disservice because they highlight just the things the video maker wants to highlight not the full picture. There was a period in Germany where he was tackling and getting carded so much that one feared he'd get scarred by it. He's cooled it off a bit this season after finally getting serious heat for it.

Forget the scouting vids on youtube, he's a hunter. If aggression is what you're looking for, he was even more aggressive in Germany than Kante was in England last season.
amafolas

Post by amafolas »

Arsenal close to signing Gladbach mdf Granit Xhaka. Agreement reached on £30m deal, in London to finalise terms, medical this weekend #AFCOracle Ornstein has spoken!

David Ornstein might as well be the official Arsenal spokesman. His pronouncements might as be coming straight from Wenger's mouth
"We will go through the gate. If the gate is closed, we will go over the fence. If the fence is too high, we will pole vault in. If that doesn’t work, we will parachute in. But we are going to get health-care reform passed"
Nancy Pelosi, 01/28/2010 after Scott Brown got elected to Ted Kennedy's senate seat.

When you speak, we don't pay attention.

Unfortunately when you speak, we don't.
This "love" affair has to stop.
"Our enemies are the political profiteers, the swindlers, the men in high and low places that seek bribes and demand 10 percent; those that seek to keep the country divided permanently so that they can remain in office as ministers or VIPs at least, the tribalists, the nepotists, those that make the country look big for nothing before international circles, those that have corrupted our society and put the Nigerian political calendar back by their words and deeds." - Kaduna Nzeogwu

Now it seem we have a new starting Midfielder, Next up should be a New starting Striker, Starting CD and a New starting Coach. :mrgreen:
Last edited by Cito on Fri May 20, 2016 8:19 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Cito wrote:Now it seem we have a new starting Midfielder, Next up should be a New starting Striker, Starting SC and a New starting Coach. :mrgreen:

you no well. If we lose Wenger, we lose Waffi... that will be a huge blow :mad: :mad: :mad: We need him to help us annoy Chelsea and Tottenham fans :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Skylolo

Post by Skylolo »

Arsenal player of the Season, and the winner is...

So Aniks what do you make of this, those Arsenal fans don't know anything????? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
To God be the glory

Gooner1 wrote:
Indeed, BILD claim Arsenal's bid was worth just £19million, whereas the German club value their skipper at closer to £31million.

Consequentially, Gladbach have turned down Arsenal's offer, expecting the north London club to return with a more serious bid in the coming weeks.

I think Liverpool not making the CL has played into Arsenal's hands. With the main competitor out of the running, Arsenal have looked to forced the price down. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

wow........look how wenger has reduced the fans to celebrate a player that is going to replace the ones out of contract
and leaving....smh
and waffi, don't talk to me about quality......he is unproven in the epl, so don't go there....... :sneaky:
Vieira, Gilberto, Petit, Cesc, etc were all unproven in the EPL. What is your point? :oops: :oops: :oops:

The vast majority of players who now make it in this league, were unproven. So wetin dey eat you? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

What we need is top Quality players in 3 positions IMHO. CM is one of such positions and in Xhaka, anyone who knows anything about football beyond the EPL will say to you he is top quality. You should know this if you bother to watch the Bundesliga, he has been one of the best players in that league for the last 2 seasons. He obviously does not want to go to Bayern despite the money they offered him, in fact, it is the 2nd time he has turned them down.

The issue is valuation, he will not come cheap and Wenger is not one to spend big in the CM position. When Wenger spends money, there are few who can match him for success. I am always encouraged when Wenger spends money because I know 9 out of 10 times, it represents success for Arsenal.

Xhaka did NOT turn Bayern down. That is fundamentally false. Guardiola looked at him in his second season, but decided against him. He went for Xabi Alonso instead. Last year, he wasnt really an option because Xabi was still there, but he was considered but wasnt an option once they realized they could get Vidal. This summer, he is NOT even an option.

As for being one of the best midfielders in Bundesliga in two years, I partially agree and partially disagree. he was very very very good 2 seasons ago. Fantastic! Last season, he struggled at the beginning. Poor performance and injury. Then as they changed their coach, while he was quite good, he wasnt as good as the young Dahoud, who was their best midfielder last season.

I like Xhaka, simply because he plays football the way I like. He is a bit slow, but I dont think that should be much of a problem. He is more aggressive than people know, so that should stand him in good stead.
Please can you explain about his injury history to us.I hope we are not buying another injury prone player as we have a lot of such players already.
Thanks and also the few of the game I watch but I was thinking the kid Daboud is the real deal not Xhaka.

Skylolo wrote:Arsenal player of the Season, and the winner is...

So Aniks what do you make of this, those Arsenal fans don't know anything????? :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
I don't think he should be the player of the year for us when he could not make PFA team.
Aniks son should have been voted,he has end Debuchy career before it even start. :lol: :lol:

Gooner1 wrote:
mmeny wrote:
Why pay more? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

Price looks to have been agreed. Also, reported agreed price seemed much lower that earlier prices being mentioned.

We need quality in that area of the pitch. He is a top player and exactly what we need. A CM, that combines play making and destructive qualities at the very best levels. Also a leader with superb tactical intelligence. I'm desperate for us to sign him.
Good to see you are desperate for us to sign him but in the case this deal falls through don't come back here to tell us we don't need him..... we have better players on the squad. IJS
:laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh: :laugh:
:lol: :lol: :lol: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

Gunzilla wrote:

As you've admitted, you've only seen a few video clips, but sometimes those clips do players a disservice because they highlight just the things the video maker wants to highlight not the full picture. There was a period in Germany where he was tackling and getting carded so much that one feared he'd get scarred by it. He's cooled it off a bit this season after finally getting serious heat for it.

Forget the scouting vids on youtube, he's a hunter. If aggression is what you're looking for, he was even more aggressive in Germany than Kante was in England last season.
Ago hold you responsible if the guy no shine for us :lol: I know you sabi better player so now I will be excited but wait,Wenger fit mess the deal after medical sef.So na to wait until bobo hold the number 8 Arteta used to wear.

Can Wenger take advantage that Chelsea and City will have new coaches and need time to adjust and finish ahead of them again?
Hope guys like klopp will not finish ahead of him.

Gooner1 wrote:

and leaving....smh

What is all this 'falsities' talk? :ohmy:

I do not know the player or anyone close to him. According to the media reports I have read, they say he turned down Bayern before he joined Gladbach and he refused them again cos he wants to move to the EPL. The bottomline is, there is a difference between something being incorrect and telling lies. You could be correct or incorrect from your report as stated above, it does not mean you are lying. I maybe correct or incorrect, it does not make it lies.

IMHO the Bundesliga, the 2 best midfield generals are, Alonso, who Wenger tried to sign 3 times, and Xhaka. Arsenal need a Midfield general. Mahmoud Dahoud an inexperienced talented kid who just broke through. The potential is there but Arsenal need more, there is a lot he cannot offer that Xhaka does. He is not better than Xhaka.

Have any of you got the Under 17 WC game in Naija, where this Xhaka guy, was the Captain of the Swiss kids who beat our old men masquerading as kids. Go watch that game, I pulled it out from my archives and watched it for the first time since that game. Xhaka was immense in that game. Even at 17, he looked a natural.

Cito wrote:Now it seem we have a new starting Midfielder, Next up should be a New starting Striker, Starting SC and a New starting Coach. :mrgreen:

you no well. If we lose Wenger, we lose Waffi... that will be a huge blow :mad: :mad: :mad: We need him to help us annoy Chelsea and Tottenham fans :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
We lose Wenger, we become a mid table team and most of the glory hunters here will go and leave me alone. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

When he speaks, you know it is Arsenal speaking unofficially. I love it. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

When I saw that, I knew all the stories I heard about him being seen at London Colney first thing in the morning yesterday was true. I also know that barring a last minute disaster, it is a done deal.

azuka wrote:
oluwaseye the 1st. wrote:My first cousin is still on your books :shock: :shock: :) :) :) begged him to leave he didn't listen :wink: :wink: :wink: . Tobi Omole.
he sabi good things. He is probably wondering why his very senior Uncle is a yeye spudite?

By the way, where's our very good friend, It's a Goal? Hope he has recovered from the shock.

I tried to warn him but he will not listen, he got carried away again. He should have known that at his age, it is not good for the heart.
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

We lose Wenger, we become a mid table team and most of the glory hunters here will go and leave me alone. :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
yes........because under GG we won NOTHING & WERE A MID-TABLE TEAM :roll:
LIAR LIAR :laugh:
“If this year, you cannot compete with Spurs, with all the respect I have for them, and Leicester, then change your sport. I’m sorry.” Emmanuel Petit

Gooner1 wrote:

There you go. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Try to differentiate the exception from the norm. Before 'Stroller' aka GG, we last won the league when he was a player in 1971. With Stroller, we won in again in 1989, do you want to know how many Managers went in and out through the revolving door in that time? GG and Wenger are exceptions, not the norm.

We Gooners (the Vast Majority. 95 to 98% of us) at the Emirates know this only too well. Besides, we look at our club and we know how lucky we are to have Wenger. We know we have not had the money the others who have dominated have had. We look at our squad and we see how the Manager is diligently going about improving the squad. We all know he has made mistakes, we know he made a mistake last summer. We also know, that if he had bought the players, there is no guarantee.

What matters to us is, we look at our club holistically because the majority of us who go every week are Season ticket holders who pay their hard earned money because they love the club and want to see their team play well and do their best whilst we continue to develop as a team. We have won 2 trophies since we have turned the corner financially, so many expected to win more last season but it did not happen. However, we look at ManU, who have spent over £300m in 3 season and cannot even make the top 4. The same ManU fns who mocked us now face the stone cold reality that after spending so much money they have not been able to match Arsenal's in the same period of top 4 and winning silverware in 2 of those seasons.

We know it is not the end of the world not winning the league. After the Villa game the vast majority stayed behind for the lap of appreciation and we gave them a good sending off. We have not a sense of entitlement, we are humble and respect the game. We know with Wenger we can do better, we have faith in our Manager to get it right and win us the title again. This is why we sing his name every game in defiance of those in the press and the malcontents fans on social media like you. We sing our support for our club and our Manager. We say to Wenger, ignore those jokers in the press and those Arsenal fans who are misguided. We, who come here week in and out, want you and we want you to continue leading us. We sing your praises because our support is unconditional. Wenger knows this and it is why he will stay and sign the contract on the table if we have a good season next season.

Every Gooner I know including myself have all renewed our Season Tickest in preparation for next season. Like I said, our support is unconditional. Is yours? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
Gooner1

Post by Gooner1 »

Gooner1 wrote:

There you go. :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol: :lol:

Try to differentiate the exception from the norm. Before 'Stroller' aka GG, we last won the league when he was a player in 1971. With Stroller, we won in again in 1989, do you want to know how many Managers went in and out through the revolving door in that time? GG and Wenger are exceptions, not the norm.

We Gooners (the Vast Majority. 95 to 98% of us) at the Emirates know this only too well. Besides, we look at our club and we know how lucky we are to have Wenger. We know we have not had the money the others who have dominated have had. We look at our squad and we see how the Manager is diligently going about improving the squad. We all know he has made mistakes, we know he made a mistake last summer. We also know, that if he had bought the players, there is no guarantee.

What matters to us is, we look at our club holistically because the majority of us who go every week are Season ticket holders who pay their hard earned money because they love the club and want to see their team play well and do their best whilst we continue to develop as a team. We have won 2 trophies since we have turned the corner financially, so many expected to win more last season but it did not happen. However, we look at ManU, who have spent over £300m in 3 season and cannot even make the top 4. The same ManU fns who mocked us now face the stone cold reality that after spending so much money they have not been able to match Arsenal's in the same period of top 4 and winning silverware in 2 of those seasons.

We know it is not the end of the world not winning the league. After the Villa game the vast majority stayed behind for the lap of appreciation and we gave them a good sending off. We have not a sense of entitlement, we are humble and respect the game. We know with Wenger we can do better, we have faith in our Manager to get it right and win us the title again. This is why we sing his name every game in defiance of those in the press and the malcontents fans on social media like you. We sing our support for our club and our Manager. We say to Wenger, ignore those jokers in the press and those Arsenal fans who are misguided. We, who come here week in and out, want you and we want you to continue leading us. We sing your praises because our support is unconditional. Wenger knows this and it is why he will stay and sign the contract on the table if we have a good season next season.

Every Gooner I know including myself have all renewed our Season Tickest in preparation for next season. Like I said, our support is unconditional. Is yours? :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:
wow.....calling GG a stroller :shock: he is the one who ended our baren title years.....he first won it in the lions den.....he created a team with a spartan character, and you call hime a stoller?.....smh he gave us a european title.....
today we have a team full of sheep and no shepards
I support my team AFC......I have no confidence in the board or the manager.......I will continue to voice my opinion :taunt: :taunt: