Omeruo...what's wrong?

Re: Omeruo...what's wrong?

Might be time for Rohr to bring Kenneth Otigba into the mix, to compliment the defense.
A great defense will be the key to doing well against Algeria and Cameroon.

Schoolboy mistakes, like the one committed by Omeruo, simply are unacceptable at this level.
Lets hope that goal difference isn't the determining factor in who qualifies from the group...

mystic wrote:
papilo wrote:
1naija wrote:You guys give it a break. He made a mistake that resulted in a goal but we won the game! Why didn't you call him out the many the many times he defended sucessfully?
Bros, the mistake aside, he is overrated. Anyway sha, I guess he only started today because Balogun was injured so no shaking. Balogun should be back for the next game.

He is a good player, but he needs to figure out how to cut down on his mistakes. The good thing is that he doesn't make many mental errors, his errors are usually of the physical variety, which means that he needs to drill down and improve on his technical abilities. If he puts in the work, he can improve.
I disagree. These mistakes are partly mental as they suggest a lack of concentration, the goal vs Luxembourg is a case in point.

Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16

© The YeyeMan 2025
okidoki

Post by okidoki »

Is Cahill a good defender? Yes. Is he world class? Definitely not. Error prone like my country man Omeruo. However his judgement seems to be better, so where does that put Omerou.

Man marking is his strength but when he's required to play football he's prone to costly errors. If he was smart, he'd concentrate on a safety first approach which would cut out 95% of his errors but it won't take him to the top level of club football given ball playing skills are required. Contrast to Ekong and Balogun who play within their ability and therefore make much fewer errors.

Otitokoro wrote:Might be time for Rohr to bring Kenneth Otigba into the mix, to compliment the defense.
A great defense will be the key to doing well against Algeria and Cameroon.

Schoolboy mistakes, like the one committed by Omeruo, simply are unacceptable at this level.
Lets hope that goal difference isn't the determining factor in who qualifies from the group...
We're also in dire need of competent fullbacks. Hopefully Ola Aina will agree to play for us. We need him badly.

everyone makes mistakes
the problem with omeruo is he always seems to be on the verge of a mistake these days
today he was noticeably jittery and ungainly throughout the game
i dont know whats gotten to him but a centreback has to be steady and in command at all times
in any case he is playing Oboboana's role on the left side of central defence
Ekong has already taken his spot in the first 11
Oboabona needs to be reinstated asap

SERIOUSLY????
That one is even worse!
smartbrother wrote:everyone makes mistakes
the problem with omeruo is he always seems to be on the verge of a mistake these days
today he was noticeably jittery and ungainly throughout the game
i dont know whats gotten to him but a centreback has to be steady and in command at all times
in any case he is playing Oboboana's role on the left side of central defence
Ekong has already taken his spot in the first 11
Oboabona needs to be reinstated asap

okidoki wrote:Is Cahill a good defender? Yes. Is he world class? Definitely not. Error prone like my country man Omeruo. However his judgement seems to be better, so where does that put Omerou.
:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: Cahill Is a horrible defender.

Kai. How can anyone put good and Cahill in The same sentence. Feel sad for those who saw Baresi, Maldini, sammer, matheus, taribo, kuffour, radebe, cafu, and now have to stomach Cahill

Omeruo was perhaps a tad overrated by Cyberia. A season or so back, he was supposedly the final nail in John Terry's coffin. OMG they killed Kenny needs to get his head down and back on the learning curve.

Coach wrote:Omeruo was perhaps a tad overrated by Cyberia. A season or so back, he was supposedly the final nail in John Terry's coffin. OMG they killed Kenny needs to get his head down and back on the learning curve.

Lacked the professional commitment to learning the game...

We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp

fajex wrote:
fajex wrote:Guys, I don't mean to find fault or de-mean Omeruo's contributions, but he seems very error prone this days and jittery.

He made mistakes that cost us against South Africa, in an inconsequential friendly against Luxembourg too, he made a jittery and laughable mistake a few minutes to go. Today, while his team had a comfortable lead, he turned what was supposed to be an easy header out into an error and put his team under pressure.

How should he be helped ??? :blush:
Nigerians overly judgmental - by product of rigid parental upbringing; check yourselves my brothers

Bros, it's not about being Judgemental, but it's about seeing a TREND. In other climes, this is called
statistics, and the player is usually helped, called to order or dropped. This is the science in sports, it's not about being a 'Judgemental Nigerian' sir. He is a good lad, but needs a psychologist for his game.
We surely need him playing at his best.
And what is your statistics of weekly Eba to your mouth
Football is still sports

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

Coach wrote:Omeruo was perhaps a tad overrated by Cyberia. A season or so back, he was supposedly the final nail in John Terry's coffin. OMG they killed Kenny needs to get his head down and back on the learning curve.
Lacked the professional commitment to learning the game...
He got paid. Well. Biggest obstacle for the African footballing athlete to overcome. Look at Well-fed not Bony. All discipline goes when the green comes in by the haystack. Hopefully Kenneth will not follow the way.

This useless defender was supposed to join besiktas this summer. The useless defender, bailed us out time and time again cos Elderson was poor today.

Some ppl here sometimes don't use their heads.....the mistake today was unfortunate, he mis-controlled a ball. Simple that was happening all through the pitch even Iwobi and Kelechi did that time and time again today the only issue is that theirs did not lead to a goal.

To be frank this is the best defensive display we have had despite having 2 non-functioning full backs. The credit goes to the 2CB's and Onazi and Mikel. The SE of the past would have drawn or lost that game.

THE ONLY TEAM TO WIN AWAY THIS WEEKEND IN AFRICA.....well done to the boys everyone of them.

green4life wrote:Man marking is his strength but when he's required to play football he's prone to costly errors. If he was smart, he'd concentrate on a safety first approach which would cut out 95% of his errors but it won't take him to the top level of club football given ball playing skills are required. Contrast to Ekong and Balogun who play within their ability and therefore make much fewer errors.
G4L,

KPOM. Ekong and Balogun don't fool around with the ball because they are aware of their technical limitations. Omeruo is just not convincing but does not even realize his limitations. I had mentioned my doubt about him even back in 2013.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

His game has not improved because he is chasing money rather than developing himself. From Kasimpasa to another no name Turkish team that got hammered 5-0 at home in their last league game by another no name team. He had the choice of joining Villareal in the Summer but chose to join a newly promoted team in Turkey. I hope Balogun regains his fitness and consign him to the stands where he belongs.

Dammy wrote:His game has not improved because he is chasing money rather than developing himself. From Kasimpasa to another no name Turkish team that got hammered 5-0 at home in their last league game by another no name team. He had the choice of joining Villareal in the Summer but chose to join a newly promoted team in Turkey. I hope Balogun regains his fitness and consign him to the stands where he belongs.
:clap:
fajex

Post by fajex »

Dammy wrote:His game has not improved because he is chasing money rather than developing himself. From Kasimpasa to another no name Turkish team that got hammered 5-0 at home in their last league game by another no name team. He had the choice of joining Villareal in the Summer but chose to join a newly promoted team in Turkey. I hope Balogun regains his fitness and consign him to the stands where he belongs.

Great talent, but needs good advisers around him. Hope he will still come through :thumb:

TBH, having re-watched that goal that Omeruo conceded, I wonder why he choose to try to control the ball in a crowded area in his box. He had opportunity to head that ball into corner. Neither Ekong or Balogun would have attempted to fool around with such a ball that was chest high.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

green4life wrote:Man marking is his strength but when he's required to play football he's prone to costly errors. If he was smart, he'd concentrate on a safety first approach which would cut out 95% of his errors but it won't take him to the top level of club football given ball playing skills are required. Contrast to Ekong and Balogun who play within their ability and therefore make much fewer errors.
G4L,

KPOM. Ekong and Balogun don't fool around with the ball because they are aware of their technical limitations. Omeruo is just not convincing but does not even realize his limitations. I had mentioned my doubt about him even back in 2013.
Enugu 11 are you now a new convert? Few days ago you claimed there is not much of a difference between Balogun and Omerou. My guess after today's match i'm sure you have changed your mind. There is oceanic difference between both players in terms of skill and talent. Honestly I'm dizzying how fast Omeruo deteriorated compared with his standard in 2013. In 2013 he was awesome and had all the potentials to become a world class defender. Please does anybody know why he egregiously regressed.

Funnily enough, I don't think he has just failed to develop...I think he may have even regressed.

The old Omeruo would have put his body on the line to clear that. He used to be such a hard fighter.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Its crazy seeing how he and Oboabona have regressed. He is still young but for now he belongs on the bench.

bret- hart wrote:Its crazy seeing how he and Oboabona have regressed. He is still young but for now he belongs on the bench.
There is a reason why the dude has been loaned out a hundred times..... he is not very good

Undertaker wrote:
bret- hart wrote:Its crazy seeing how he and Oboabona have regressed. He is still young but for now he belongs on the bench.
There is a reason why the dude has been loaned out a hundred times..... he is not very good
Nigerians do not want to accept the obvious truth