Nigeria: Lagos Baits Eagles With Grass Pitch Again

In its determination to reclaim its position as the Mecca of sports in the country, the Lagos State Sports Commission is planning to resurface the Teslim Balogun Stadium in Surulere, Lagos from artificial to grass turf in line with the wishes of senior national team players.

Until the sorry state of the National Stadium in Surulere, Lagos was the slaughter slab of the senior national football team for all visiting countries, stretching from the Green Eagles days to the early 1990s of the Super Eagles. And then, the rot set in with the total decay of the Sports-city built by the then Head of State, General Yakubu Gowon, in 1972 to host the 1973 All Africa Games.

Many ball fans had heaved sigh of relief when Lagos State built its sports arena directly facing the Sports-city and named it after one of the country's illustrious footballer, Teslim Balogun (a.k.a Thunder Balogun). But the advent of artificial surface made the state to also join the bandwagon, unmindful of the fact that Lagos falls within the rain belt almost all through the year.

After a game or two on the surface, most Super Eagles players began to feign injury to avoid playing on such turfs as they are considered dangerous.

But speaking at a parley in Lagos at the weekend, Director General of the Lagos State Sports Commission, Adewunmi Ogunsanya, revealed that the state has completed plans of a new pitch for Teslim Stadium, adding that the artificial turf would soon be removed for a new grass pitch.

"We want to attract international matches to Lagos, which in the first place is the home of Nigerian sports.

"To achieve that, we will change the technology to make way for sprinklers and other ancillary facilities that will make the pitch suitable for big games."

Ogunsanya also revealed that the state will bid for the National Stadium, to bring it back to life.

"We bided for the National Stadium some time ago but our bid was rejected by the then Federal Government. We will bid for it again because that facility has to be put to proper use if it must function as the hub of the country's sports development," he said.

http://allafrica.com/stories/201611290867.html
Re: Nigeria: Lagos Baits Eagles With Grass Pitch Again

That stadium in unbefitting of the national team, grass or no grass.
We are very happy with Uyo.

........But if they were to modernise the national stadium

They need to build an ultra modern stadium in Lagos and that should see the NT back in the spiritual city if not the spiritual home that is Surulere Stadium.
We are funny sha. We have a national stadium in Abuja but refuse to use it or make it usable

pajimoh wrote:They need to build an ultra modern stadium in Lagos and that should see the NT back in the spiritual city if not the spiritual home that is Surulere Stadium.
We are funny sha. We have a national stadium in Abuja but refuse to use it or make it usable
we dont need ni stinking new stadium. Fix the roads that lead to the stadium and get some reliable power first.
papilo

Post by papilo »

Would be a very good idea. Makes sense logistically. Europe based players don't have to be connecting flights up and down within the country since they are likely to get direct flights into Lagos. I also trust Lagos fans to turn up. That being said, the stadium itself get as e be. Lagos also comes with distractions especially for the players.
yes o

The Lagos fans should need to learn how to support the Eagles too.

niyi wrote:The Lagos fans should need to learn how to support the Eagles too.
Kpom!
People have forgotten (or maybe never knew if they are that young) that Lagos fans are unreliable.
If you're having a hard time against the opposition or you are playing badly, they abandon you in your greatest time of need.
This was a problem and one of many reasons why the calls to move the SE outside Lagos started.
monkeypost

Post by monkeypost »

Lagos fans know their football, so don't take rubbish, that's how the winning mentality was built over the years. You have to come to Lagos with your A game, we no dey for european kind of support.
If you give me Cole and I give you Gallas, surely, SURELY, you owe me money? waka man on the Cole Gallas transfer saga

monkeypost wrote:Lagos fans know their football, so don't take rubbish, that's how the winning mentality was built over the years. You have to come to Lagos with your A game, we no dey for european kind of support.
That's what the national team does not need.
African football is not dominated by a few teams any more, so teams will come to Naija and 'play game'.
If Lagos fans cannot handle that, they should go siddon somewhere.

Besides, what's this old myth that Lagos fans know their football more than any others in the country?
Rubbish.
Seems like its the reverse if they can't support their own team when other teams come to play good soccer.

na dat agb'ekpo Lateef Jakande stadium we de waste space for

"It depends on what the meaning of the word 'is' is. If the--if he--if 'is' means is and never has been, that is not--that is one thing. If it means there is none, that was a completely true statement....Now, if someone had asked me on that day, are you having any kind of sexual relations with Ms. Lewinsky, that is, asked me a question in the present tense, I would have said no. And it would have been completely true."

813 billion Naira budget proposed for Lagos for 2017. Lagos shouldn't spend one kobo on the grass pitch to lure the Eagles to Lagos.
That should be a private sector business not government.

niyi wrote:The Lagos fans should need to learn how to support the Eagles too.
Kpom!
People have forgotten (or maybe never knew if they are that young) that Lagos fans are unreliable.
If you're having a hard time against the opposition or you are playing badly, they abandon you in your greatest time of need.
This was a problem and one of many reasons why the calls to move the SE outside Lagos started.
That is the biggest rubbish that comes with playing in Lagos. To me you must have a fan base ready to support the team even during poor moments. I will stay with Uyo or Port Harcourt.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

pajimoh wrote:They need to build an ultra modern stadium in Lagos and that should see the NT back in the spiritual city if not the spiritual home that is Surulere Stadium.
we dont need ni stinking new stadium. Fix the roads that lead to the stadium and get some reliable power first.
True until Lagos and the rest of the country joins the 21st Century there's no need for a stadium they should start with 24hr electricity,clean running water and hospitals and schools!

For one moment, I thought Bamenda goat was being invited to chop grass, and then I remembered that we can see grass pitches in cameroun now.... so he is fully occupied....

monkeypost wrote:Lagos fans know their football, so don't take rubbish, that's how the winning mentality was built over the years. You have to come to Lagos with your A game, we no dey for european kind of support.
BS. More like fair weather fans in Lagos. Not being missed one bit :boo:

I prefer the fans in Akwa Ibom and even Kano before Lagos.

Amen :clap: :clap: :clap:

BS. More like fair weather fans in Lagos. Not being missed one bit :boo:

I prefer the fans in Akwa Ibom and even Kano before Lagos.

Spoken like a true Aba boy :taunt: :taunt: :taunt:

But Lagos is rumoured to have indicated interest in purchasing the National Stadium and Buhari ordered that the relevant papers be prepared
For the preaching of the cross is to them that perish foolishness; but unto us which are saved it is the power of God. For it is written, I will destroy the wisdom of the wise, and will bring to nothing the understanding...hath not God made foolish the wisdom of this world? 21 For after that in the wisdom of God the world by wisdom knew not God, it pleased God by the foolishness of preaching to save them that believe

Those knocking Lagos should check out the SE record there. Undefeated in twenty something years?

felarey wrote:Those knocking Lagos should check out the SE record there. Undefeated in twenty something years?
Undefeated in competitive fixtures in at least 30 years. No city in Nigerian NT history can be spoke of in the same sentence as Lagos.
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT

Tbite wrote:
felarey wrote:Those knocking Lagos should check out the SE record there. Undefeated in twenty something years?
Undefeated in competitive fixtures in at least 30 years. No city in Nigerian NT history can be spoke of in the same sentence as Lagos.
Now that's a real HOME.

felarey wrote:
Tbite wrote:
Now that's a real HOME.
There are some common sense things that we just don't do in Nigeria. Nigeria is really not a nation of common sense.

but if we were. Our undisputed home would be Lagos, and we would have something like an 80,000 capacity stadium in Lagos. One of Teslim or National Stadium can be knocked down to facilitate the construction.

All this Abuja, Uyo, Kaduna....these are just stopgaps...things that are filling in the time, for when we finally come to our senses and go back to Lagos. This is not debatable. I hope the day that common sense finally comes to Nigeria, I will still be alive.

and that stadium would be protected like Aso Rock would be protected, because in some ways that stadium would represent more of the heart of the country than even the apex of power itself! Our government do not realize just how important and necessary this is!
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT