lei vs glad Kele on the bench
Re: lei vs glad Kele on the bench
Iheanacho is the perfect example of how football fans can't decide between good and bad.
In fact Nacho is a talented player (who I overrated when he used to play U-17). He still needs to improve on his right foot. Compared to Gabriel Jusus he is too one dimensional. Defenders know which foot he uses. If Nacho could learn to use his right foot better he will be less predictable.
Nevertheless he is a class striker who knows how to finish. But to be world class he needs to improve on these weaknesses. He definitely has the potential.
In fact Nacho is a talented player (who I overrated when he used to play U-17). He still needs to improve on his right foot. Compared to Gabriel Jusus he is too one dimensional. Defenders know which foot he uses. If Nacho could learn to use his right foot better he will be less predictable.
Nevertheless he is a class striker who knows how to finish. But to be world class he needs to improve on these weaknesses. He definitely has the potential.
"The secret of life is to have no fear." - Fela Kuti
Naija 4 life!
Defenders have not been able to stop him so far, kid has the best goals per minute in Europe since he turned pro. Repec dat!DAgrin wrote:Iheanacho is the perfect example of how football fans can't decide between good and bad.
You couldn't be more wrong. Starting from the fact that Gabriel Jesus is very overhyped and has nowhere near the intelligence of Iheanacho. Jesus is very one dimensional, Iheanacho brings intelligence to the fold and that was on show with the Vardy goal. He is also very unselfish and has a gift that a miniscule amount of players have: the ability to decide whether its best to go himself or to pass the ball. There is a reason Iheanacho has more assists in some 2000 minutes of football than Aguero does in the entire last two seasons...DAgrin wrote:Iheanacho is the perfect example of how football fans can't decide between good and bad.
He doesn't need to improve his right foot. He's so intelligent with his running, positioning and so controlled in finishing that he will remain unstoppable. Most elite football players have one foot.
Kpom plus ponmo! I also noticed today that he's not a target man or top striker. He thinks the game, his natural position is a free role behind the main striker.marutimon wrote:You couldn't be more wrong. Starting from the fact that Gabriel Jesus is very overhyped and has nowhere near the intelligence of Iheanacho. Jesus is very one dimensional, Iheanacho brings intelligence to the fold and that was on show with the Vardy goal. He is also very unselfish and has a gift that a miniscule amount of players have: the ability to decide whether its best to go himself or to pass the ball. There is a reason Iheanacho has more assists in some 2000 minutes of football than Aguero does in the entire last two seasons...DAgrin wrote:Iheanacho is the perfect example of how football fans can't decide between good and bad.
He doesn't need to improve his right foot. He's so intelligent with his running, positioning and so controlled in finishing that he will remain unstoppable. Most elite football players have one foot.
Though many of us are fans of Kelechi, the fact is that he still has things to work on. Those things were disguised when at the U17 level but his first preseason with City exposed some of them. Chief among them is his first touch. Make no mistake on that.marutimon wrote:You couldn't be more wrong. Starting from the fact that Gabriel Jesus is very overhyped and has nowhere near the intelligence of Iheanacho. Jesus is very one dimensional, Iheanacho brings intelligence to the fold and that was on show with the Vardy goal. He is also very unselfish and has a gift that a miniscule amount of players have: the ability to decide whether its best to go himself or to pass the ball. There is a reason Iheanacho has more assists in some 2000 minutes of football than Aguero does in the entire last two seasons...DAgrin wrote:Iheanacho is the perfect example of how football fans can't decide between good and bad.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics
That assist get as e be. I wish him all the best.Synopsis wrote:Iheanacho assist
Synopsis wrote:Iheanacho assist
Nacho needs to slow down on the akpu. Just because you like a particular food does not mean you must eat it even in the UK.
I have always thought that myself. His age and his activity (football) is masquerading it. He looks thick and not skinny for a typical footballer. I also noticed a bulge in his stomach last season1naija wrote:Synopsis wrote:Iheanacho assist
Nacho needs to slow down on the akpu. Just because you like a particular food does not mean you must eat it even in the UK.
I very much doubt that bulge is due to weight (ie fat). Its probably his body shape, possibly how he carries his body due to the shape of his spine. Even as an under-17youth, you would occasionally see that 'belle', thin as he was.highbury wrote:I have always thought that myself. His age and his activity (football) is masquerading it. He looks thick and not skinny for a typical footballer. I also noticed a bulge in his stomach last season1naija wrote:Synopsis wrote:Iheanacho assist
He is obviously no longer skinny like he once was, but na muscle not fat.
Kelechi looks thick to you? Na wa o!highbury wrote:I have always thought that myself. His age and his activity (football) is masquerading it. He looks thick and not skinny for a typical footballer. I also noticed a bulge in his stomach last season1naija wrote:Synopsis wrote:Iheanacho assist
"My friends - "We need to really reassess the way we trash our national team, derogate some players and disrespect the people that run our football. Let the brand new Super Eagles become our new Brand of national pride.. The unifying identity for all.. Bar none!" - CE's The Great Seloweizer (6/24/13)
I hate buy back clause...City can fk themselves...Iheanacho will shine with this club....
Kelechi played 15 minutes and notched a game winning assist. What's more he did it in a situation where he could have gone for goal himself. But he proved one thing with that play - he has his head on straight, knows when to shoot and when to pass. He always had. That's why he always had so much assists to go with his goals. This is a trait that can't be taught and which makes him apart from the rest.
Is he a finished product? No. But I for one would much rather have a cool-headed Iheanacho than Gabriel Jesus, who may have better control and better defensive input, but does not have the brain of Iheanacho. And really - we should be proud that we have a player as intelligent and unselfish as Iheanacho, given how often we produce players of the Gabriel Jesus mode: tricky, fast, but lacking end product. Iheanacho is like our very own Totti. Just watch Jesus: he needs 4-5 opportunities to score one goal, while Iheanacho needs 2 at best.
As for first touch: Kelechi's first touch was much better a year ago. I think the problem was one of playing time and wanting to perform too much the few times he was given playing time. Watch his first touch during Pellegrini and watch it last season. Iheanacho regressed in that department.
Is he a finished product? No. But I for one would much rather have a cool-headed Iheanacho than Gabriel Jesus, who may have better control and better defensive input, but does not have the brain of Iheanacho. And really - we should be proud that we have a player as intelligent and unselfish as Iheanacho, given how often we produce players of the Gabriel Jesus mode: tricky, fast, but lacking end product. Iheanacho is like our very own Totti. Just watch Jesus: he needs 4-5 opportunities to score one goal, while Iheanacho needs 2 at best.
As for first touch: Kelechi's first touch was much better a year ago. I think the problem was one of playing time and wanting to perform too much the few times he was given playing time. Watch his first touch during Pellegrini and watch it last season. Iheanacho regressed in that department.
marutimon wrote:Kelechi played 15 minutes and notched a game winning assist. What's more he did it in a situation where he could have gone for goal himself. But he proved one thing with that play - he has his head on straight, knows when to shoot and when to pass. He always had. That's why he always had so much assists to go with his goals. This is a trait that can't be taught and which makes him apart from the rest.

In fact that pass to Vardy is classical Iheanacho.
Dont know whether you remember a near identical pass he made to Awoniyi back in their U17 WC days. He is a very unselfish, thinking player and what Guardiola was thinking by using him as a point man was un-understandable.
Seems Shakespeare gets it and SKY showed him making the very same point about Iheanacho in an interview this morning, praising his unselfishness and ability to make the best choice.
He said he took Kele off "as a precaution" after "a knock" and that he (Kele) had got the 20 mins playing time planned, saying Kele was "behind" in his fitness program having only just joined the team.
A striker that knows when to pass and not shoot is a very rare breed.
So many things I want to say that are unchristian to some of una talking about belle or passing...Praise God for delevering me...una for hear am. Leave our kele alone
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
The good thing about the assist is that it endears him to the main oga on the team. If he keeps feeding him the ball, he will prefer him to be on the field with him than any other striking partner.
KpomCellular wrote:The good thing about the assist is that it endears him to the main oga on the team. If he keeps feeding him the ball, he will prefer him to be on the field with him than any other striking partner.
To be honest, I think that is why he assisted Vardy instead of shooting. And I reiterate my view that his public pledges of willingness to sit on the Man City bench to earn his place were also politics (never mind bully12's polemics).Cellular wrote:The good thing about the assist is that it endears him to the main oga on the team. If he keeps feeding him the ball, he will prefer him to be on the field with him than any other striking partner.
Truth be told, the best strikers/finishers/centre-forwards would have "selfishly" figured out a way to score themselves from the position he was in. Another truth is the assist was almost intercepted .... and had it been, the criticism from pundits (and maybe his manager) would have been that he should have tried to finish himself. We, as Nigerians are hoping Kelechi continues to develop into a deadly finisher in his own right, so hopefully the politicking diminishes as he (hopefully again) cements a partnership with Vardy.
As someone whose interest in European clubs extends only to monitoring Nigerian internationals, I am on the bandwagon of those who will be watching Leicester this season. Hopefully I get to see Vardy "unselfishly" assist Kelechi sometime soon.

The pessimist complains about the wind; the optimist expects the wind to change; the realist adjusts his sails.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
Don't believe anything until it has been officially denied.
If you are controversial, you will lose some votes. If you are courageous, you will lose the election.
EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote:If they can't sort out the defense they have a very very good frontline in Nacho,Vardy,Salami and Mahrez with Musa coming off the bench. I think they should be good enough the get a Europa spot..ohenhen1 wrote:I am officially a fan of Leicester. Arsenal is still first choice though.
You forgot their best player to me, the boy they got from Birmingham.
3. Thomas Sankara
4. Patrice Lumumba
5. Robert Mugabe
6. Murmar "the Lion" Ghaddafi....
very bad assist, the defender almost got itSir V wrote:That assist get as e be. I wish him all the best.Synopsis wrote:Iheanacho assist
Why does all the blame always go to the attacker? Look at where the defender was when the ball was placed, nowhere near it!Rawlings wrote:very bad assist, the defender almost got itSir V wrote:That assist get as e be. I wish him all the best.Synopsis wrote:Iheanacho assist
The defender was just very agile! Props to him! Or is it only Forwards that are supposed to play well?
Buhari, whose two terms thankfully ground to a constitutional halt in May. (One thing both democracies have going for them is that their leaders, however bad, have only two terms to swing the wrecking ball.) Under Buhari, growth per head also plunged to 0. An economic agenda drawn from the dusty pages of a 1970s protectionist handbook failed to do the trick. Despite Buhari’s promise to tame terrorism and criminality, violence flourished. Despite his reputation for probity, corruption swirled. FT
- The YeyeMan
Agreed.The Eagle wrote:To be honest, I think that is why he assisted Vardy instead of shooting. And I reiterate my view that his public pledges of willingness to sit on the Man City bench to earn his place were also politics (never mind bully12's polemics).Cellular wrote:The good thing about the assist is that it endears him to the main oga on the team. If he keeps feeding him the ball, he will prefer him to be on the field with him than any other striking partner.
Truth be told, the best strikers/finishers/centre-forwards would have "selfishly" figured out a way to score themselves from the position he was in. Another truth is the assist was almost intercepted .... and had it been, the criticism from pundits (and maybe his manager) would have been that he should have tried to finish himself. We, as Nigerians are hoping Kelechi continues to develop into a deadly finisher in his own right, so hopefully the politicking diminishes as he (hopefully again) cements a partnership with Vardy.
As someone whose interest in European clubs extends only to monitoring Nigerian internationals, I am on the bandwagon of those who will be watching Leicester this season. Hopefully I get to see Vardy "unselfishly" assist Kelechi sometime soon.
I think his natural instinct was to shoot but "politics" took over his decision-making. Appeared to be in two minds hence the pass that was almost intercepted. I expect he'll establish himself as the top striker in the time and I look forward to seeing him work in combination with Ndidi and Musa (fingers crossed).
Bigpokey24 quote:
"Let those like me who are savvy in warfare and politics educate all you lunatics" - Jun 23, '25
"The Yeyeman is hardly ever vulgar when dealing with anyone." - Mar 23, '18
"I will take Trump over Clinton but I am in the minority." - Jul 19, '16
© The YeyeMan 2025
I hope they keep Mahrez. Mahrez, Vardy, Iheanacho would be a deadly trio.