KUDOS to Obafemi Martins!!

Re: KUDOS to Obafemi Martins!!

1naija wrote: Please tell us how a speech denouncing the Vietnam war and US involvement in difference "poorer Countries" is about charitable contribution by an individual.
I can only tell "us" when we put down the bottle. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Was MLK only talking about the Vietnam war and "US involvement in difference poorer countries"??? :lol: :lol: :lol:

1naija wrote: Please tell us how a speech denouncing the Vietnam war and US involvement in difference "poorer Countries" is about charitable contribution by an individual.
I can only tell "us" when we put down the bottle. :lol: :lol: :lol:

Was MLK only talking about the Vietnam war and "US involvement in difference poorer countries"??? :lol: :lol: :lol:
It's not my responsibility to teach a 70 year old man how to read and comprehend what's right in front of him. Read the speech by MLK on Charity that you posted a quote from. Stop making up things you can read up on bro. It's not a good look!

Cellular wrote:Uncle 1Naira, why does Comrade CICOB always post pictures of poor man's whiskey? :curse: :boo:

Your fellow flossers and oppressors know that it is only Blue label we use in pouring libations.

Thread about giving back don turn to communist manifesto... :boo: :boo:

Cellular wrote:Uncle 1Naira, why does Comrade CICOB always post pictures of poor man's whiskey? :curse: :boo:

Your fellow flossers and oppressors know that it is only Blue label we use in pouring libations.

Thread about giving back don turn to communist manifesto... :boo: :boo:

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: CIC don pick race.

I hope this will let us rest a bit on this board. The hot air was too much. :D

1naija wrote:It's not my responsibility to teach a 70 year old man how to read and comprehend what's right in front of him. Read the speech by MLK on Charity that you posted a quote from. Stop making up things you can read up on bro. It's not a good look!
We are suffering the consequences of that Waterside school you went to that was next to a kai-kai joint – a combination of poor schooling and too much drinking. MLK said any nation spending more on weapons than on programmes of social uplift was approaching spiritual decline. In Nigeria’s case, it is corruption that has meant there is little investment in social programmes like education and healthcare. While Nigeria is approaching spiritual decline, your own decline is due poor education and overreliance on spirits.

This discussion has shown that you don’t even know what “charity” means. You also think receiving a “calling” is about phone calls. What Oba did was an act of charity. MLK’s quote was about charity being our calling, but that we must question the system that results in a reliance on charity. So while I praised Oba for being a Good Samaritan, I attacked Ambo for the poor conditions of Lagos hospitals and the lack of support for the disabled.

MLK’s speech was about America – a nation that he said was approaching spiritual decline. He talked about conditions of the poor in America and linked it US policies. He said that while we should help each other as the Good Samaritan did, we should challenge a system that keeps creating beggars.

The “Beyond Vietnam” speech was a turning point in his life in which he was seen as moving from just civil rights to social and economic justice and it was a stinging critique of the US system. I know I’m wasting my time trying to get you to understand stuff that is over your kai-kai-addled head. But it is my calling to be my brother’s keeper and I would rather feed you with knowledge than with more alcohol.

:rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: CIC don pick race.

I hope this will let us rest a bit on this board. The hot air was too much. :D
:lol: I had better things to do yesterday - holding court at Kings Lounge in Barking as WE (Man City) beat US (Arsenal) and US (Chelsea) beat WE (Manure).

I will never forget one bulala he scored in the EPL. The keeper didn’t even move. I think it might be against Spurs. He played when Newcastle had a terrible cheap owner & mediocre players compared to now.

packerland wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 12:48 pm I will never forget one bulala he scored in the EPL. The keeper didn’t even move. I think it might be against Spurs. He played when Newcastle had a terrible cheap owner & mediocre players compared to now.
I agree, Oba was underrated.
I don’t even think we fully appreciated him here on CE at the time.I just watched an awesome collection of some of his goals.
Great player.

Damunk wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 10:01 pm
packerland wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 12:48 pm I will never forget one bulala he scored in the EPL. The keeper didn’t even move. I think it might be against Spurs. He played when Newcastle had a terrible cheap owner & mediocre players compared to now.
I don’t even think we fully appreciated him here on CE at the time.I just watched an awesome collection of some of his goals.
Great player.

Oba was not underrated, as far as I recall. This even today is among top 10 best scorers for Nigeria ever. That is nothing to sniff at. I think sometimes people think that if you star at a club level it automatically means you star at the NT. Oba did both. However, for most top club players it just is not the case. You forget that at the NT level, it is really a collection of stars and few clubs have such collection of stars.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Damunk wrote: Thu Dec 21, 2023 10:01 pm
Great player.
Its a pity Obafemi played largely during a terrible time for the Super Eagles where we had midfielders like Olofinjana and Etuhu charged with the task of feeding him to score, with Okocha in his heyday at the time. Femi, sadly was part of the worst team we sent to the world cup, again because he had some poor players along side him

How we failed to score a 3rd goal against South Korea in our last WC game of 2010 with Oba, Nsofor, Yakubu on the field at the same time I will never understand.

We would have made history to be the first team in WC history to qualify for the second round after losing their first two games.
Ex nihilo nihil fit

Danfo driver when he comes across a new pic to add to his large collection:

Kneedeep

Post by Kneedeep »

well done!
Advocating rational thought since 1987

Obafemi's son Kevin got an assist for his team Monza in their last match away against Parma. He whipped in an excellent cross from the right wing that led to Monza's equalising goal 🥅 (before Parma scored a 98th minute winner with the very last ball touch of the game).

An an aside, young Kevin (who will turn 20yo this year) has very young parents. His mum (who is Mario Balotelli's sister) is only 36yo (she must have had him when she was 16).
Last edited by wiseone on Sat Jan 11, 2025 4:49 am, edited 1 time in total.

wiseone wrote: Fri Jan 10, 2025 8:57 pm Obafemi's son Kevin got an assist for his team Monza in their last match away against Parma. He whipped in an excellent cross from the right wing that led to Monza's goal 🥅 (before Parma scored a 98th minute winner with the very last ball touch of the game).

An an aside, young Kevin (who will turn 20yo this year) has very young parents. His mum (who is Mario Balotelli's sister) is only 36yo (she must have had him when she was 16).

We are getting old on cybereagles!
I remember when right here on this forum we discussed about Martins dating Balotellis sister, now a product of that relationship is 20+ years and playing professional football.

This life men.
Nigeria Must Be Great Again

Babalawo wrote: Sat Jan 11, 2025 3:45 am
wiseone wrote: Fri Jan 10, 2025 8:57 pm Obafemi's son Kevin got an assist for his team Monza in their last match away against Parma. He whipped in an excellent cross from the right wing that led to Monza's goal 🥅 (before Parma scored a 98th minute winner with the very last ball touch of the game).

I remember when right here on this forum we discussed about Martins dating Balotellis sister, now a product of that relationship is 20+ years and playing professional football.

This life men.
you and who is getting old? speak for yourself

jungle-jawara

Post by jungle-jawara »

This life men.

Yeap,
I even remember, on this site when Obafemi Martins was playing for inter and ran to hug a super eagles player he played against after the match (unfortunately, I can't remember who that was, but Obafemi was still very young then)

jungle-jawara wrote: Sat Jan 11, 2025 2:52 pm

This life men.

Yeap,
I even remember, on this site when Obafemi Martins was playing for inter and ran to hug a super eagles player he played against after the match (unfortunately, I can't remember who that was, but Obafemi was still very young then)
Or when we were panicking whether he would play for Italy or Naija? The guy is 40 and has been retired for about 5 years now. If feel bad for him that Seattle won the MLS Cup the season after he left them. Looking at this wiki page, I don’t remember him playing for Wolfsburg and Levante.

wiseone wrote: Fri Jan 10, 2025 8:57 pm Obafemi's son Kevin got an assist for his team Monza in their last match away against Parma. He whipped in an excellent cross from the right wing that led to Monza's equalising goal 🥅 (before Parma scored a 98th minute winner with the very last ball touch of the game).

His last name is not the same as Ballotelli’s original last name (Barwuah) so he likely has a different mother. He is using his mother’s last name on the back of his jersey.

packerland wrote: Sun Jan 12, 2025 3:20 am
jungle-jawara wrote: Sat Jan 11, 2025 2:52 pm

This life men.

Yeap,
Or when we were panicking whether he would play for Italy or Naija? The guy is 40 and has been retired for about 5 years now. If feel bad for him that Seattle won the MLS Cup the season after he left them. Looking at this wiki page, I don’t remember him playing for Wolfsburg and Levante.
He went to Wolfsburg to replace either Dzeko or Grafite back around 2009/10 - it was a difficult task and his injuries did not help at all.
He also had a decent season at Levante burning unfamiliar defenders on the counterattack.

I remember hearing him on the radio for the first time on Brilla FM. Back then you had to have the perfect weather conditions and a strong radio antenna to pick up Brilla FM from Ibadan. His voice did not match his ferocious speed and I was quite surprised by how soft-spoken he was.

That was a really confusing post. Who is "his"? (not sure as my original post referenced 3 different men)

niyi wrote: Sun Jan 12, 2025 7:13 pm
His last name is not the same as Ballotelli’s original last name (Barwuah) so he likely has a different mother. He is using his mother’s last name on the back of his jersey.
adeaderije

Post by adeaderije »

wiseone wrote: Mon Jan 13, 2025 1:07 am That was a really confusing post. Who is "his"? (not sure as my original post referenced 3 different men)

niyi wrote: Sun Jan 12, 2025 7:13 pm
“His” is Kevin. Kevin’s mother is a Togolese musician . I can’t remember her full name.

https://x.com/oluwashina/status/1870758892373946583
I no be gentleman at all o