Mesut Ozil retires from international football, cites racism

Re: Mesut Ozil retires from international football, cites ra

kofi86 wrote:
„Fünf Vereine kamen nach der WM 2010 in Südafrika für mich infrage. Arsenal London war bereits interessiert. Manchester United ebenfalls. Auch Bayern München. Sowie Barcelona und Real Madrid“, schreibt Özil, der damals bei Werder Bremen unter Vertrag stand. „Mein Berater traf sich mit Bayern. Die Bosse erzählten ihm, was sie mit mir vorhaben, wie sie mich einsetzen wollen. Die gleichen Gespräche führte er anschließend mit den übrigen Klubs. Doch 2010 war Bayern noch ein deutliches Stück von Real Madrid und Barcelona entfernt. Gerade erst hatten sie unter Louis van Gaal das Champions-League-Finale in Madrid gegen Inter unter Mourinho verloren.“
https://www.tz.de/sport/fc-bayern/mesut ... 48392.html

this is quote from Mesut Özil himself out of his book, confirming that among other clubs, Bayern was interested in signing him after the World Cup 2010 and his agent met with the Bayern bosses. And it is not rocket science to assume that Bayern was interested in him.

edit: here is van Gaal, then coach of Bayern München, confirming that he wanted to sign Özil
https://sportbild.bild.de/bundesliga/ve ... sport.html

Wait wait wait ...:. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: are you for real Ahahahahahasha

So you were saying he was a commodity when he was relatively young and many didn’t have a large body of work to draw from but once they saw him for what he was ... everyone pick race???

Ok :what a great defense of ya god :mrgreen: :rotf: :rotf:

Cheiiii :rotf:

kofi86

Post by kofi86 »

kofi86 wrote:
„Fünf Vereine kamen nach der WM 2010 in Südafrika für mich infrage. Arsenal London war bereits interessiert. Manchester United ebenfalls. Auch Bayern München. Sowie Barcelona und Real Madrid“, schreibt Özil, der damals bei Werder Bremen unter Vertrag stand. „Mein Berater traf sich mit Bayern. Die Bosse erzählten ihm, was sie mit mir vorhaben, wie sie mich einsetzen wollen. Die gleichen Gespräche führte er anschließend mit den übrigen Klubs. Doch 2010 war Bayern noch ein deutliches Stück von Real Madrid und Barcelona entfernt. Gerade erst hatten sie unter Louis van Gaal das Champions-League-Finale in Madrid gegen Inter unter Mourinho verloren.“

this is quote from Mesut Özil himself out of his book, confirming that among other clubs, Bayern was interested in signing him after the World Cup 2010 and his agent met with the Bayern bosses. And it is not rocket science to assume that Bayern was interested in him.

edit: here is van Gaal, then coach of Bayern München, confirming that he wanted to sign Özil

Wait wait wait ...:. :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: :rotf: are you for real Ahahahahahasha

So you were saying he was a commodity when he was relatively young and many didn’t have a large body of work to draw from but once they saw him for what he was ... everyone pick race???

anikulapo wrote:Waffi please stop lying .::: Bayern never wanted Ozil ..:; Matter of fact no team wanted him even on a free :idea: :idea:

You can fib, twist and tell as many fables as possible but that’s a bloody inconvenient truth you can’t change :taunt: :taunt:
"If two grown men can't make a pervert happy for a few minutes in order to watch a film about zombies, then maybe we should all just move to Iran!"

kofi86 wrote:

Dude cut the $#%, there is a whole #$% Arsenal thread to criticize Ozil the footballer. I don't know how good you are at reading the situation but the topic at hand is not his football skill.

ANC wrote:Racism? He is not "white"?
Ask a white man if they think he's white.

In America he is.

kofi86 wrote:

Dude cut the $#%, there is a whole #$% Arsenal thread to criticize Ozil the footballer. I don't know how good you are at reading the situation but the topic at hand is not his football skill.

Dude why all the emotions and why so serious :rotf:

bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Maybe the topic at hand is his personality? The personality of someone who has always quit, when the going got tough. Whenever the situation got dicey, he is no where to be found. And his excuses have always been weird. "He is injured. He is home with the flu. He is tired from the world cup, He has been playing all season with injuries, Sanchez is bullying his team mates".... Excuses after excuses after excuses. All those Arsenal fans who are "defending" him ... ask them where Ozil was, when the season was on the line. He never showed up for games in the last 3 months of the season. Since he has been at Arsenal and has been one of the highest paid players, he has constantly disappeared when he was asked to perform above average. Did he ever lift his team to victory?
His personality is one that always quits. He played for Germany for more than a decade. Germany won and lost plenty of games during that span. He never mentioned any of these racism issues. He never came forward to speak about them. All of the sudden ... people have become racist towards him.
Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of racist people in Germany. But, the reason he is quitting is NOT because of racism.
This is the leader of Arsenal. He is paid twice the salary of his peers. This is the guy who is asked to lead this team to a CL spot. Are these the leadership qualities you want as the face of your team?
I hope he has the courage to stand in front of the press and defend his allegation. But, I won't hold my breath. He barely gives any press conference. Barely speaks and says what's on his mind. Barely talks to the fans after games. Ozil is a coward. And this is a cowardly approach...
If he truly feels German. If he is a leader ... what exactly is he going to do about it? No, he is not a politician, but he is a role model. If you feel something is done wrong in your house, you just blame everyone and run away?
Bepanda
kalani JR wrote: Dude cut the $#%, there is a whole #$% Arsenal thread to criticize Ozil the footballer. I don't know how good you are at reading the situation but the topic at hand is not his football skill.

Lukaku mentioned this in the player's tribune piece as well. It happens in the states too.
Ayton Senna wrote:On a given day, a given circumstance, you think you have a limit. And you then go for this limit and you touch this limit, and you think, 'Okay, this is the limit.' As soon as you touch this limit, something happens and you suddenly can go a little bit further. With your mind power, your determination, your instinct, and the experience as well, you can fly very high - Ayton Senna

bepanda wrote:Maybe the topic at hand is his personality? The personality of someone who has always quit, when the going got tough. Whenever the situation got dicey, he is no where to be found. And his excuses have always been weird. "He is injured. He is home with the flu. He is tired from the world cup, He has been playing all season with injuries, Sanchez is bullying his team mates".... Excuses after excuses after excuses. All those Arsenal fans who are "defending" him ... ask them where Ozil was, when the season was on the line. He never showed up for games in the last 3 months of the season. Since he has been at Arsenal and has been one of the highest paid players, he has constantly disappeared when he was asked to perform above average. Did he ever lift his team to victory?
His personality is one that always quits. He played for Germany for more than a decade. Germany won and lost plenty of games during that span. He never mentioned any of these racism issues. He never came forward to speak about them. All of the sudden ... people have become racist towards him.
Don't get me wrong, there are plenty of racist people in Germany. But, the reason he is quitting is NOT because of racism.
This is the leader of Arsenal. He is paid twice the salary of his peers. This is the guy who is asked to lead this team to a CL spot. Are these the leadership qualities you want as the face of your team?
I hope he has the courage to stand in front of the press and defend his allegation. But, I won't hold my breath. He barely gives any press conference. Barely speaks and says what's on his mind. Barely talks to the fans after games. Ozil is a coward. And this is a cowardly approach...
If he truly feels German. If he is a leader ... what exactly is he going to do about it? No, he is not a politician, but he is a role model. If you feel something is done wrong in your house, you just blame everyone and run away?
Bepanda
kalani JR wrote: Dude cut the $#%, there is a whole #$% Arsenal thread to criticize Ozil the footballer. I don't know how good you are at reading the situation but the topic at hand is not his football skill.
You clearly don't understand what his point is and it shows.

Ozil's agent offers stunning response to 'foolish' criticism from Bayern president Hoeness
Chris Wheatley

Dr Erkut Sogut has, in an exclusive statement to Goal, hit out at what he considers to be unfair scapegoating of a man retiring from duty with Germany
Mesut Ozil’s agent, Dr Erkut Sogut, has hit back at “foolish” comments from Bayern Munich president Uli Hoeness in the wake of the Arsenal star’s decision to retire from international football with Germany.

The 29-year-old has removed himself from consideration for future duty with Die Mannschaft in the wake of “the treatment received from the DFB” before, during and after Russia 2018, with DFB president Reinhard Grindel accused of racism.

Ozil said "I am German when we win, but I am an immigrant when we lose" and declared that he is no longer prepared to shoulder the blame for the struggles of the national team and those in charge of German football – with several high-profile figures having spoken out over recent weeks.

Bayern president Hoeness is among the latest to have had his say and is considered to have crossed the line with an attack in which he accused a 2014 World Cup winner of having been “sh*t for years”.

Dr Sogut is understandably disappointed at the comments and has taken the opportunity to offer a stinging response to man speaking out of turn in an exclusive statement made to Goal.

He said: "The comments of Mr Hoeness miss the point completely, as they have absolutely nothing to do with football. He is trying to divert attention away from the real issue, the issue of racism and discrimination in Germany, which is resurging once again within everyday German society.

"As Mesut said in his statement, he accepts reasonable and fair criticism of his football, and deals with that as part of the job. However, Mr Hoeness cannot even provide any actual evidence to back up his foolish statements that are clearly exaggerated. In this case, the stats are clear. Twenty-three goals, 40 assists - which is a German record - and five-time German player of the year - three of which come after 2014.

"He claims that Mesut has been a 'ghost' for years, but what 'ghost' wins all these awards and has this much success? Mesut created more chances in the 2018 World Cup per 90 minutes than any other player, but, of course, he singles him out for criticism. As the president of Bayern Munich is it not best to focus on the performance of his own players seeing as eight of the Germany team play for the club.

"If Mesut is such a bad player, what does this say about his opinion on Joachim Low, Arsene Wenger and Jose Mourinho? These are three elite managers who praise Mesut as one of the best in his position. It is laughable that he thinks he is more qualified to judge footballing abilities than these people, with fabricated statistics.

"It is obvious that his comment about Mesut not making any tackles is completely made up and false. But, just so everyone knows, in both the 2014 World Cup and 2016 Euros, Mesut won over 65 per cent of duels per game, moreover he was the most important player in the games against France and Italy in 2016, again making a complete mockery of his ludicrous comments.

"The facts speak for themselves and anyway who is he to speak about Mesut in this way? These lies are cheap, stereotypical and baseless comments - made without any foundations - that allow hurtful news to spread.

"Mr Hoeness, we will not waste any more time or energy talking about a subject clearly you know nothing about. Not only is he a disgrace to yourself, but also and more importantly a shame to German football and the people of Germany."

Ozil's agent attacked the racism and discrimination his client has received from all angles this summer and claims the Bayern chief can't face "the uncomfortable truth" that criticism of the Arsenal playmaker in Germany is tied to his ethnicity and religion.

"Hoeness has very conveniently attempted to direct the conversation to football," Dr Sogut added. "You will have noticed that Mesut’s statement did not place great focus on football and anyway he accepts football-related criticism. The real issue is that which was previously mentioned – the resurgence of the racism and indiscriminate scapegoating he has been subjected to.

"He has shown the courage and bravery to speak up for all of those who are unfairly treated in Germany. Immigrants, Muslims and more. These are people he does not represent. Hoeness is clearly one of those people who is not able to face the issues that are in front of him, and is the one hiding behind false stats.

"Hoeness is no better than the people Mesut mentioned in his statement, as he has purposefully ignored this wider point. And has done so on purpose. Hoeness knows what he is doing. Issuing crazy comments about Mesut’s football, he thinks, it will create a big reaction and will cover the real issue.

"The issue he and many in Germany are scared to confront, an issue he would prefer to sweep under the carpet because he can’t face the uncomfortable truth. He shows the depth of his character and his true personality by ignoring this and making idiotic comments about football.

"Well, I will not let him succeed. Mesut has given everything for Germany on and off the pitch - contributed more to the country than he could ever dream of."

Ozil made his international debut in 2009 and won 92 caps for Germany, netting 23 goals.
http://www.goal.com/en/news/ozils-agent ... l991a1slri

bepanda wrote:Maybe the topic at hand is his personality? The personality of someone who has always quit, when the going got tough. Whenever the situation got dicey, he is no where to be found. And his excuses have always been weird. "He is injured. He is home with the flu. He is tired from the world cup, He has been playing all season with injuries, Sanchez is bullying his team mates".... Excuses after excuses after excuses. All those Arsenal fans who are "defending" him ... ask them where Ozil was, when the season was on the line. He never showed up for games in the last 3 months of the season. Since he has been at Arsenal and has been one of the highest paid players, he has constantly disappeared when he was asked to perform above average. Did he ever lift his team to victory?
Bepanda

BP,

God bless you ja re .... couldn’t have said it any better .... Spineless to the core ... CHEIII when the going gets tough ...... Ozil .... ahh never mind :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:

juventuss wrote:Lukaku mentioned this in the player's tribune piece as well. It happens in the states too.

Oh please hush it .... so if Nigeria’s team had an abundant collection of immigrants you think it would be any different when things go sour?

You hypocrites :rotf: :rotf:

Bepanda

BP,

God bless you ja re .... couldn’t have said it any better .... Spineless to the core ... CHEIII when the going gets tough ...... Ozil .... ahh never mind :rotf: :rotf: :rotf:
So you have taken your dislike of him as an Arsenal player to this level where you mock his REAL experience with racism?

The guy gave receipts. He named names.

You mock him because you don't like him as an Arsenal player?

Nobody even players you loath deserves to experience racism and xenophobia.

NOBODY!

bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Maybe I just don't understand the player and the person. Maybe I just don't understand his style of leadership. Yes, he is a senior player and a leader. Wenger mentioned after signing his last contract that he hopes to see more leadership from him.
But here is what I know about Ozil so far: When the going gets tough, he doesn't roll up his sleeves. He quits. There is plenty of data to prove this point. And based on that fact, I believe that when the going got tough in Germany, he quit. Gundogan spoke to the press and faced fans backlash. Remember ... Ozil missed that game, where fans were expected to boo (prior to the WC).
What makes you believe that his personality on the field is different that his personality off the field?
What examples do you have to show me that Ozil is NOT quitting a situation, that is asking for his leadership.
Racism exists in the world we live in. Do we just need to quit and run away and hope it goes away?
Bepanda
Bepanda
You clearly don't understand what his point is and it shows.
bepanda

Post by bepanda »

Again, you don't seem to understand. You are blinded by your own agenda.
I have given you the logic of my argument above. Please read and tell me what's wrong with my logic.
Nothing in Ozil history tells me that he faces problems face on. He quits, when the going gets tough. Tell me if this conclusion is wrong.
To me, this is just another example of that.
Racism exists in most societies, including Germany.
Ozil is not quitting because of racism. He is quitting because he can't face challenges. He ducks. He runs away. That is what I have a problem with.
Bepanda
Bepanda

BP,

So you have taken your dislike of him as an Arsenal player to this level where you mock his REAL experience with racism?

NOBODY!

bepanda wrote:Again, you don't seem to understand. You are blinded by your own agenda.
I have given you the logic of my argument above. Please read and tell me what's wrong with my logic.
Nothing in Ozil history tells me that he faces problems face on. He quits, when the going gets tough. Tell me if this conclusion is wrong.
Ozil is not quitting because of racism. He is quitting because he can't face challenges. He ducks. He runs away. That is what I have a problem with.
Bepanda
Bepanda

BP,

NOBODY!
Sorry, the way you choose to deal with racism might be different.

His singular act regardless of the motive you are assuming is behind it was very brave.

He just had enough.

I find it commendable he had to guts to say something.

Bepanda

BP,

NOBODY!

My good man please don’t be fooled .... Mezut a victim? Please I laugh and other real victims of racism cry :idea: Here is a dude that’s been given so much on a platter and given so little back .... Cellular Abeg make we hear word .... This is nothing more than a PR Stunt ... let those who want to be fooled ... be fooled ... Just so you know, the Erdogan crew are lapping this up and using it as a propaganda tool but then again wetin small pikin like me sabi ...

Watch and see how this plays out this season .... Mezut Madoff just ezpanded that bullseye on his back

bepanda wrote:Again, you don't seem to understand. You are blinded by your own agenda.
Bepanda
Bepanda

BP,

NOBODY!
Sorry, the way you choose to deal with racism might be different.

His singular act regardless of the motive you are assuming is behind it was very brave.

He just had enough.

Brave?

Knowing your days are over? This is like knowing you will be fired for underperforming and then making a big hissy fit about reigning because you were mistreated ... nwokem Abeg don’t be fooled

It’s funny next thing dem go accuse me of islamophobia because of Xhacrap and Ozil, even though I have been the staunchest supporter of Mohammed El Neny ( I know with a name Mohammed he must be a Jew ) :taunt: :taunt:

Look at my one black friend. How could I possibly be a racist? Ignore the fact that I refer to pretty much all other blacks as niggaas.

See logic :roll:

bepanda

Post by bepanda »

So, let me make sure I understand your point.
Ozil won German player of the year multiple times in the past 10 years.

During those years ...
1. He did not experience, nor saw any Racism in Germany.
2. He saw/experienced Racism, but because he was winning those accolades, he decided to keep quiet. In this case, winning titles was far more important to him than denouncing racism?
I would love for Ozil to be asked this question.

The problem with Ozil is, he is only looking for convenience. That's why he deliberately chose to sit between two chairs, so that he can swing one way or another ... depending on which way is the easiest for him.

I used to work for a German international company and my boss always told me: "Don't just come to me with complains. Make proposals for solutions. ". And I tell the same thing to people who work for me today. We can all sit here all day and complain, then go home. Nothing will happen.
If you care about your team, if you care about your country, you help craft a solution. You don't thrown the country that has given you so much under the bus ... because some people might have said something to offend you.

Bepanda
Cellular wrote: Sorry, the way you choose to deal with racism might be different.
He just had enough.

bepanda wrote:So, let me make sure I understand your point.

During those years ...
2. He saw/experienced Racism, but because he was winning those accolades, he decided to keep quiet. In this case, winning titles was far more important to him than denouncing racism?

The problem with Ozil is, he is only looking for convenience. That's why he deliberately chose to sit between two chairs, so that he can swing one way or another ... depending on which way is the easiest for him.

I used to work for a German international company and my boss always told me: "Don't just come to me with complains. Make proposals for solutions. ". And I tell the same thing to people who work for me today. We can all sit here all day and complain, then go home. Nothing will happen.
If you care about your team, if you care about your country, you help craft a solution. You don't thrown the country that has given you so much under the bus ... because some people might have said something to offend you.

Bepanda
Cellular wrote: Sorry, the way you choose to deal with racism might be different.
He just had enough.

BOOM BOOM BYE BYE :thumb: :thumb: CELE GO TO BED :taunt: :taunt:

bepanda wrote:So, let me make sure I understand your point.

During those years ...

Bepanda
He just had enough.
The incident that got all these to a head was him taking a picture with the President of Turkey.

It didn't matter that he had won all those accolades with Germany, he was now a German of Turkish descent.

It is a sobering reflection. That despite your successes, to some people, you are still a #%^&* when you fail. They forget how they loved you when you were winning... It is sobering.

Bepanda

BP,

NOBODY!

My good man please don’t be fooled .... Mezut a victim? Please I laugh and other real victims of racism cry :idea: Here is a dude that’s been given so much on a platter and given so little back .... Cellular Abeg make we hear word .... This is nothing more than a PR Stunt ... let those who want to be fooled ... be fooled ... Just so you know, the Erdogan crew are lapping this up and using it as a propaganda tool but then again wetin small pikin like me sabi ...

Watch and see how this plays out this season .... Mezut Madoff just ezpanded that bullseye on his back
He is a victim.

Because he didn't complain before doesn't diminish the fact that he is a victim.

Dude is probably still shocked that even him as accomplished as he is would be the target of such hate and vitriol.

"Racism should never, ever be accepted." - Mesut Ozil