WHAT'S ON
LIVERPOOL FC
EVERTON FC
CELEBS
SPORT
BUSINESS
SPECIAL FEATURES
SPORT
Nigeria boss explains Henry Onyekuru snub - but drops Everton forward hint ahead of Africa Cup of Nations semi-final
The Everton forward is yet to feature for Nigeria at the tournament ahead of their semi-final clash with Algeria
ByTheo Squires
11:53, 14 JUL 2019
Nigerian forward Henry Onyekuru (L) fights for the ball with Seychelles midfielder Rody Melanie (C) during the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations qualifier final match between Nigeria and Seychelles (Image: PIUS UTOMI EKPEI/AFP/Getty Images)
Get the biggest Everton FC stories by email
Enter your email
Subscribe
See our privacy noticeMore newsletters
Nigeria boss Gernot Rohr has explained his decision to not yet utilise Henry Onyekuru during the Africa Cup of Nations.
The Everton forward enjoyed a sensational season on loan at Galatasaray last year, scoring 16 goals and registering six assists as the Turks won a league and cup double.
ADVERTISING
But despite his domestic exploits, the 22-year-old is yet to feature for Nigeria in Egypt and with his lack of action potentially detrimental to his chances of gaining a work permit to play for Marco Silva 's side.
The Super Eagles face Algeria in the semi-finals on Sunday night, with a final place against Senegal or Tunisia up for grabs.
READ MORE
Must-Read Everton FC Stories From The Past 24 Hours
Everton transfer news
Fatih Terim and Henry Onyekuru celebrate their Turkish championship title after winning the Turkish Super Lig football match between Galatasaray and Basaksehir (Image: BULENT KILIC/AFP/Getty Images)
“Out of 23 players, 20 players have played already which is a lot and I hope we can see the other two [Osimhen & Onyekuru].
“It is difficult for the third goalkeeper coming in. The moment has come to bring the best team against Algeria.”
Re: Rohr - Onyekuru is here to learn
Why are guys still flogging a dead horse. No one is more desperate to win than Rohr. Do you think the coach would have benched Onyekuru if he was scoring for fun in trainings?
Does it even make sense to introduce a new player at this stage barring injuries?
Anyway, that's why we are called fans. Let's keep blowing air....
Does it even make sense to introduce a new player at this stage barring injuries?
What is this? Why is Everton's news interwoven in this article or post? Is this a NEW trick to post in this place what doesn't belong here? This is actually about Everton FC, not of our man, Onyekuru. MODS, please move this JUNK to the trash where it belongs
In line with your reasoning , did it make sense to introduce Jamilu Collins in the match against South Africa ?Ekorian wrote:Why are guys still flogging a dead horse. No one is more desperate to win than Rohr. Do you think the coach would have benched Onyekuru if he was scoring for fun in trainings?
Left to me, such comments to ridicule a players confidence should be grounds for sending Rohr away asap
Are you an illiterate?Odas wrote:What is this? Why is Everton's news interwoven in this article or post? Is this a NEW trick to post in this place what doesn't belong here? This is actually about Everton FC, not of our man, Onyekuru. MODS, please move this JUNK to the trash where it belongs
Are you an 'EDUCATED ILLITERATE?'gochino wrote:Are you an illiterate?Odas wrote:What is this? Why is Everton's news interwoven in this article or post? Is this a NEW trick to post in this place what doesn't belong here? This is actually about Everton FC, not of our man, Onyekuru. MODS, please move this JUNK to the trash where it belongs
This crap shouldn't be posted here.
Last edited by Odas on Sun Jul 14, 2019 4:12 pm, edited 1 time in total.
- metalalloy
- Flying Eagle
gochino wrote:Are you an illiterate?Odas wrote:What is this? Why is Everton's news interwoven in this article or post? Is this a NEW trick to post in this place what doesn't belong here? This is actually about Everton FC, not of our man, Onyekuru. MODS, please move this JUNK to the trash where it belongs

Competition for illiterates 

- cchinukw
Odas is odas, there is merit to the question.Odas wrote:Are you an 'EDUCATED ILLITERATE?'gochino wrote:Are you an illiterate?Odas wrote:What is this? Why is Everton's news interwoven in this article or post? Is this a NEW trick to post in this place what doesn't belong here? This is actually about Everton FC, not of our man, Onyekuru. MODS, please move this JUNK to the trash where it belongs
If you nor sabi read make you call ya pikin. Shame nor dey inside

"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.

Odas is fundamentally unintelligent
You're truly funny. Nah you intelligent? Delusion grandeurBigpokey24 wrote:Odas is fundamentally unintelligent

Oga, the tin get our man, then Everton FC, Liverpool FC and et al. FCs. I still think the post should have been posted elsewhere.cchinukw wrote:Odas is odas, there is merit to the question.Odas wrote:Are you an 'EDUCATED ILLITERATE?'gochino wrote:Are you an illiterate?Odas wrote:What is this? Why is Everton's news interwoven in this article or post? Is this a NEW trick to post in this place what doesn't belong here? This is actually about Everton FC, not of our man, Onyekuru. MODS, please move this JUNK to the trash where it belongs
If you nor sabi read make you call ya pikin. Shame nor dey inside
Bigpokey24 wrote:Odas is fundamentally unintelligent

- cchinukw
So Herr Rohr what do you think?
Pass or fail?

"How are UK Conservative MPs selected? They are selected for intelligence and then rejected at final stage for thar fact"
- Peter Hitchens interviewed on Novara Media 2025.