Nigeria 1vs 2 Algeria: FT
- Cellular
- Site Admin
- Location: Nembe Creek...Oil Exploration. If you call am bunkering na you sabi.
Re: Nigeria 1vs 2 Algeria: FT
The GREEN jersey comes through.
There are many teams that can make a team look sluggish like we did today.. One of them is over training.. I suspect this based on what I heard.Gooner1 wrote:nuff saidtheYemster wrote:The truth is we have the makings of a good team but they are not willing to do the little things to get better.Gooner1 wrote:nigeria has a loooooooooong way to go
cannot play the ball out from the back
cannot defend....
no strikers....
no creative midfielders......
no goalkeeper
the majority of players cannot even demonstrate basic technical abilities...
no coach....
Totally undisciplined team that makes the most basic errors. Just before that foul for the goal, Iwobi lost possession just outside our 18 yard box and the Algerian player almost scored, yet they keep needlessly backpassing, dribbling in their own half. The mentality of always back passing invites undue pressure.
Sometimes the best way to defend is to attack, or pressure the ball when the other team has it. Alejandro had more possession, more attempts and more fouls meaning they were still the more aggressive despite being ahead most of the game and never trailing.
Algeria played their semi final match a day after Nigeria, and played extra time yet they looked the fresher of the team.![]()
- green4life
Re: Nigeria 1 vs 1 Algeria: Second half
Only when the goalie tries to cheat by taking an early step towards the covered side. But this case is worse because Akpeyi was in the MIDDLE of the post and partially covered by his line. This not only elementarily wrong positioning, it is also very stupid of him - especially given who stood behind the ball. Or is he also blind and never watched marhez delivery on set pieces?maceo4 wrote:I see these goals all the time in the EPL, did you see how hard he hit it...Mister Dolly wrote:The goalie should always protect the weak sidemaceo4 wrote:You want to blame the goalie for that?green4life wrote:I knew it. Goalie just focus on your side.
Shows that most of you fans know zero about football...................this was a way better team than the 2013 team. The difference was the............COACH's mentality.oscar52 wrote:The players are poor too, some very very poor. It was like men vs boys.danfo driver wrote:when your coach looks like this, you know you are fooked!![]()
"Today we remember Nigeria and Africa football legend, Late Coach Stephen Okechukwu Keshi who passed on, on june 7th 2016. Thank you for the memories ‘The Big Boss.’ We can never forget you"............Kanu Nwankwo
The YeyeMan wrote:So a midfield is being overrun and you are blaming one man - Etebo?TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:So, while Algeria was busy overrunning our midfield, some of you were busy glorifying Etebo. What else is new? Certainly, let’s bring back Rohr so the media and fans can continue to dictate who gets to play for the SuperEagles. Well done![]()
Cheers.![]()
Naija fans and scapegoating....lol
The YeyeMan wrote:So a midfield is being overrun and you are blaming one man - Etebo?TonyTheTigerKiller wrote:So, while Algeria was busy overrunning our midfield, some of you were busy glorifying Etebo. What else is new? Certainly, let’s bring back Rohr so the media and fans can continue to dictate who gets to play for the SuperEagles. Well done![]()
Cheers.![]()
Naija fans and scapegoating....lol
For those of you that never appreciated what the great Late Stephen Keshi accomplished on his first and only AFCON tournament this is a reminder.....nice to see the two finalists have local coaches and not third and fourth rate foreign coaches!
In a way, we were lucky. We would have lost this game by no less than three (3) goals. That's how poor we playedCellular wrote:1Naija will say at least he made a save.felarey wrote:I was screaming for him to take a step forward. He could have been beaten either side with a ball fast enough.green4life wrote:Lmao @ Akpeyi positioning on that pk. Practically invited the goal.
- Chief Ogbunigwe
Cellular wrote:The GREEN jersey comes through.
abeg no join natives o
Oh, well! Though it hurts, but life goes-on
oloye wrote:He is a poor coach my brother... Let us not even add anything to that, he is just a PE teacher.dhoney wrote:Bros referring to us as underdog playing African teams sounds stupid. Maybe in Volleyball, that may work. Besides, he is a poor coacholoye wrote:Had nothing to do with any psychology, we were simply not good enough on the field tactically. Perhaps he meant underdog tactically.dhoney wrote:Yes sir. Someone was saying few days ago that the yeye Coach should stop calling us underdog..that psychologically placed you at a disadvantage to even most teams you are even better than.oloye wrote:First thing to do is to fire that hopeless coach.
If only the crazy FA can give our LA coach the kind of support they have given this yeye man, we wouldn`t be in this position.

And Jesus said to the only leper that came back to thank Him after He healed ten.... "Chai....na only you waka come?".
- danfo driver
oloye wrote:For me the only oil that would heal my pain is when I read or hear the news that this dud called a coach is fired. He is nothing more than a PE master.

Just sack that man, he has taken us as far as he can, seriously. I wanted to give him time, but I don't see him improving the team beyond what it is now. He did well getting this far, but look, he has tanked as far as I am concerned. Watching a coach struggle to make a substitution even when the game is screaming for one is something I cannot pardon, that is not coaching, that is ball watching.
Rohr is part of the issue. There are at least two better goalkeepers in the NPL. I have mentioned them severally on this board. Why are they never given a chance? Why gamble with Akpeyi and co, instead?marko wrote:Rohr is not the issue, he can only coach what he has at his disposal, can understand the frustration in here, we are all looking for scapegoats and Rohr is the convinient one, the talent is not there, at least not on that pitch, one striker, Man city, another striker, Chinese league, the difference is always clear!
Nigeria needs some soul searching, not new coaches, you cant coach the basics of football at this level, Algeria played that simple effective European football and we all know where that often ends up
Over 90 minutes, they outplayed us, outclassed us in every department
We need to go back to basics and like i said, we need massive investments in the sporting sector, as usual Nigeria will do what Nigeria always does, sack and hire! Meanwhile the rot is still evident and present in society!
What if Rohr is not as delusional as some people? Knows the team are pretty average and has to fashion out a playing style to suit we he has? Our players dont have common sense , saw this over 90 minutes, their football is too basic and not pleasing to the eye, Algeria more than deserved to win, i can admit i was hoping for the best, maybe a mistake or individual effort but everything pointed to an Algeria victory and we should be happy at least football won the day!
Just sack that man, he has taken us as far as he can, seriously. I wanted to give him time, but I don't see him improving the team beyond what it is now. He did well getting this far, but look, he has tanked as far as I am concerned. Watching a coach struggle to make a substitution even when the game is screaming for one is something I cannot pardon, that is not coaching, that is ball watching.
True.Coach wrote:@Oga Zee, which Chukwueze, the one who did what throughout his time on the field? Spectator for the most of it. Not sure exactly sure what he did to devastating effect whilst gracing the wing with his mirage. Love a newcomer just as much as any other, but, truth be told. He did nothing.
Awful positioning. Gave himself no chance and made Mahrez mind up.green4life wrote:Did you see his positioning?maceo4 wrote:You want to blame the goalie for that?green4life wrote:I knew it. Goalie just focus on your side.
- TonyTheTigerKiller
Not necessarily. In order for him to be done, you’d have to convince his oga who put him there in the first place that he was wrong. You’d have an easier time moving Zuma rock from its current location to a new oneEnyi wrote:If Oloyo can come round to seeing why Rohr needs to go....no one here can argue. The man is dine

- green4life
His coach can’t be blamed. The player has no confidence so he’s mentally defeated before the play and therefore makes basic mental errors.Igugu wrote:I questioned that too. This is the upteeth time he has done this stupid positioning of himself during free kicks. I keep wondering who his goal keeping coach is!green4life wrote:Lmao @ Akpeyi positioning on that pk. Practically invited the goal.
wazobia wrote:Better team won. Our coach is a poor game manager. Why do we keep conceding crucial goals in the last few minutes of matches? Same way we conceded to Argentina in the World Cup

"Do not be Misled. God is not one to be mocked. Whatever a man is sowing, this he will also reap." Gal 6:7
It's either you don't know Mahrez or you just hate Akpeyi.404 wrote:Akpeyi just lost us a game absolutely poor positioning on the free kick! I have read the comments to my post most of them are constructive and recognize that is our Achilles heel. If I were the goalkeeping coach I am looking for a fresh bunch of goalkeepers that I can work with not this group who are fundamentally unsound and don’t understand the basics of goalkeeping. Having said what I have to say Algeria was the better team today and deserved to win.
The best team won.......anything else Nah Opak.
I noticed in our matches that Ndidi and Etebo run out of gas by the 75th minute because of the high mileage that they pile up but there is no substitution for them and they start making errors like giving away free-kicks in dangerous areas.
This game showed us exactly where we are and put an end to all illusions. The Algerians have regrouped from the WCQs and are probably the best team on the continent right now. As for Nigeria, we need to look at ourselves and make some hard decisions. The game was similar to our QF against South Africa, where we dominated and conceded a VAR assisted goal only to win in the last minute. This time it was the Algerians that totally dominated and it looked like Boys against Men.