Benin vs Nigeria (0:1) FT
Re: Benin vs Nigeria (0:0)
icee wrote:wey Iwobi ?
Tested positive.
...in Englandicee wrote:wey Iwobi ?
Wow!! Game is not exciting. Onyekuru has been a big big revelation. He is better than Chukwueze and Iwobi. Good runs, defensive shift and good decisions
- SylverEagles
- Site Admin
Sitter is tad bit harsh. Ball came to him very quickly and had only one chance to bury it. Should have headed it down though!Its a Goal wrote:That should have been a goal. Onyekuru missed a sitter header.
Let's acknowledge the brilliant wing play from Sanusi though. We need more of our players to do that. Push the ball and run past your marker. And a superb cross on the run to boot.

Benin goalie has made two brilliant saves so far and almost an unbelievable howler. We are dominating the game. A little positivity should not be such a bad thing from this tough cyber Eagle crowd!
- maceo4
Yep bringing his Gala form to the SE. Wish he had scored that header to really announce his return.highbury wrote:Wow!! Game is not exciting. Onyekuru has been a big big revelation. He is better than Chukwueze and Iwobi. Good runs, defensive shift and good decisions
- Flex Swift
The only good news is Nigeria is able to open up Benin when they attack but our build play from the back is too slow. That last move just before halftime had Sanusi go down the by line and cross the ball to Victor who headed the ball straight at the keeper. Victor could of had a hattrick with the number of chances he has had
...when you play jambodi you go be piss poor jambodi too, unles you be true discipline professional. kudos to the squirrels so far as dem dey frustrate SE.ohenhen1 wrote:Boring game, Nigeria is not improving. If Benin showed some ambition. They will score. Too much respect for Nigeria.
- maceo4
Too many aimless long balls are my concern esp when they could just keep moving the ball and aren’t under any pressure. Those two in the back are just not it if you want to keep the ball.kawawa wrote:Benin goalie has made two brilliant saves so far and almost an unbelievable howler. We are dominating the game. A little positivity should not be such a bad thing from this tough cyber Eagle crowd!
Onyekuru headed the ball. Look like they use the same barberFlex Swift wrote:The only good news is Nigeria is able to open up Benin when they attack but our build play from the back is too slow. That last move just before halftime had Sanusi go down the by line and cross the ball to Victor who headed the ball straight at the keeper. Victor could of had a hattrick with the number of chances he has had

Chuks needs to be benched or he needs to release the ball
- maceo4
That was Onyekuru...haba lolFlex Swift wrote:The only good news is Nigeria is able to open up Benin when they attack but our build play from the back is too slow. That last move just before halftime had Sanusi go down the by line and cross the ball to Victor who headed the ball straight at the keeper. Victor could of had a hattrick with the number of chances he has had
Both teams have actually qualifiedtedder89 wrote:We know we’ve qualified and Benin will qualify with a draw
Best thing to happen is for us to score which will force them to come out
DIMKA76 wrote:Both sides look gassed by the African humidity already
Benin is setting up to defend and hit on the counter. Nigeria is dominating the possession and are still displaying the problems they had 12 months ago or 24 months ago, lack of creativity, can't break the team down. The defense hasn't been tested. I can't recall Okoye making one save.
Sleepy game so far, expectedly...
Benin only need a draw and are playing SAFELY. Nigeria's already qualified...
We watched this very boring video, 500 times, of Sacchi doing defensive drills, using sticks and without the ball, with Maldini, Baresi and Albertini. We used to think before then that if the other players are better, you have to lose. After that we learned anything is possible – you can beat better teams by using tactics." Jurgen Klopp
Onyekuru looks good, playing very well.
Sanusi is a great threat in attack.
Iheanacho playing with confidence.
Ndidi is vital in the middle.
Chuks and Osimehn have been poor.
Defence is doing their job.
I think Etebo's energy is needed for this match.
Sanusi is a great threat in attack.
Iheanacho playing with confidence.
Ndidi is vital in the middle.
Chuks and Osimehn have been poor.
Defence is doing their job.
I think Etebo's energy is needed for this match.
- Flex Swift
Player not pulling their weight are Aribo & Chuk
- Ayo Akinfe
- Flying Eagle
If Alex Iwobi and Samuel Kalu were playing, we would easily be two up by now. Their creativity is sorely missed.
What do you expect a team that trained in darkness to do under sunlight?
Good news is 39 mins from now there will be an eclipse of the sun, & that training in darkness will bear fruit.
With about 5 shots on goal, 2 of these face to face with GK, two shots parried by GK, and a couple of near misses?ohenhen1 wrote:Benin is setting up to defend and hit on the counter. Nigeria is dominating the possession and are still displaying the problems they had 12 months ago or 24 months ago, lack of creativity, can't break the team down. The defense hasn't been tested. I can't recall Okoye making one save.
What exactly do you mean by creativity?
What do you expect a team that trained in darkness to do under sunlight?
- Flex Swift
All Nigerian sub are warming up
Agreed; clearly some of our established guys are playing at 50% because we have nothing to play for
This is an opportunity to give players on the fringes an opportunity to fight for a place at AFCON and show what they can do
This game is tailor made for Eyimba’s Iwuala....
This is an opportunity to give players on the fringes an opportunity to fight for a place at AFCON and show what they can do
This game is tailor made for Eyimba’s Iwuala....
Bigpokey24 wrote:Chuks needs to be benched or he needs to release the ball
IN OUR CASE, THERE IS NO TIME. NO SERIOUS COACH WILL TAKE THIS JOB
Pasamu on Monday Feb 22nd 2010 post ANC- I will repeat again, the problem with our team was never ability or personnel or even tactics . It was confidence pure and simple confidence. Amodus team had been spat upon, anything they did was dismissed as insignificant To see the team going from playing brilliant football against Egypt in the first half of their ANC group game to the cautious fear laden play against Zambia was sad.