RE: Maduka Okoye (GK) Reviews

delisyomie don
Re: RE: Maduka Okoye (GK) Reviews

Post by delisyomie don »

okoye preview above,probaly with time in national will be better.
thanks

Uzoho did not defend honestly against Messi’s attempt. He seemed to have been overcome with panick.

In truth, neither Okoye nor Uzoho ought to be Nigeria’s #1 goalie❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:36 pm Uzoho did not defend honestly against Messi’s attempt. He seemed to have been overcome with panick.

But who should be?
Akpeyi is the only other option we recognise and you know what Nigerians feel about him.
Seems Rohr agrees.

delisyomie don wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:11 pm

okoye preview above,probaly with time in national will be better.
he may not be crap, but that goal was 100% his fault vs Cape Verde

Damunk wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:44 pm
TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:36 pm Uzoho did not defend honestly against Messi’s attempt. He seemed to have been overcome with panick.

But who should be?
Akpeyi is the only other option we recognise and you know what Nigerians feel about him.
Seems Rohr agrees.
Ezenwa was very solid and made almost no mistakes, at least non glaring, in the 2018 World Cup qualifiers but that didn’t stop them from calling up a vastly untested Uzoho, who despite conceding a basketful of goals in friendlies leading up to the World Cup, was anointed the #1 goalie. One can only conclude that ignorance and politics were squarely at the heart of picking the World Cup goalie in 2018❗️

TonyTheTigerKiller wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 5:11 pm
Damunk wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 4:44 pm

But who should be?
Seems Rohr agrees.
Ezenwa was very solid and made almost no mistakes, at least non glaring, in the 2018 World Cup qualifiers but that didn’t stop them from calling up a vastly untested Uzoho, who despite conceding a basketful of goals in friendlies leading up to the World Cup, was anointed the #1 goalie. One can only conclude that ignorance and politics were squarely at the heart of picking the World Cup goalie in 2018❗️

Causing an unnecessary PK vs Cameroon in a WCQ no be glaring mistake again? Ezenwa was ok but definitely not better than what we’ve seen from Uzoho or Okoye. You can also claim politics in his selection as he was a backup in his local club and still getting selected to the NT.

As previously noted, we Nigerians love complaining. We overhype today, complain day(s) after.
Going though this thread alone, one can see our love for just ranting. Every one of the goalies we've
had for the last decade have been glorified and rubbished by just the same folks. Keep it up ITKs, at
least I have something to enjoy myself with.
Cheers everyone!!! :lol: :lol: :lol:

GG of G

Post by GG of G »

Anyone saying goalies don't get beaten near post has never played football in goal before. As a former youth goalkeeper, the game is not played exactly as you guys see on TV, its a lot more dynamic than that, remember goalkeepers have their back to goal so unless you are coming from behind goal or from a static position of touching it, you move and position as you deem with your sixth sense while the players are running at and looking at you and the goal - in short, goalkeeping is harder than most people imagine.
"Do not be Misled. God is not one to be mocked. Whatever a man is sowing, this he will also reap." Gal 6:7

GG of G wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 6:47 pm Anyone saying goalies don't get beaten near post has never played football in goal before. As a former youth goalkeeper, the game is not played exactly as you guys see on TV, its a lot more dynamic than that, remember goalkeepers have their back to goal so unless you are coming from behind goal or from a static position of touching it, you move and position as you deem with your sixth sense while the players are running at and looking at you and the goal - in short, goalkeeping is harder than most people imagine.

True. However, the fact that some do it better than others demonstrate the quality differences. Okoye has cone a long way but he is no where at a point that he should be celebrated. At this point he is not even close. But one has to agree that same can be said about Uzoho. Nigeria has had far better quality at that position.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

GG of G wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 6:47 pm Anyone saying goalies don't get beaten near post has never played football in goal before. As a former youth goalkeeper, the game is not played exactly as you guys see on TV, its a lot more dynamic than that, remember goalkeepers have their back to goal so unless you are coming from behind goal or from a static position of touching it, you move and position as you deem with your sixth sense while the players are running at and looking at you and the goal - in short, goalkeeping is harder than most people imagine.
GG of G

Post by GG of G »

Thanks for sharing Damunk, hope Nigerians appreciate whether it's Maduka or Uzoho, goalkeeping is tough, you only do your best. And yes some are definitely better than others - but just as Messi and Ronaldo are not Nigerians, so are Mendy, Alison and the giant Italian.
"Do not be Misled. God is not one to be mocked. Whatever a man is sowing, this he will also reap." Gal 6:7

Didnt Garba Lawal beat Zubizerreta on the near post in 1998 WC?

Abeg you internet coaches need to siddon. Goalies are human and they make mistakes. It happens.

If you pull up old threads you will see where Uzoho was called 'not ready' by some of these who are calling for him now. The same could be said of Okoye. Point is we do not have a top top level keeper but what we have are just a bunch of serviceable keepers.

Some that have great upsides(Okoye, Uzoho) and some that are just who they are (Akpeyi and co)

Cito wrote: Fri Sep 10, 2021 10:40 pm
If you pull up old threads you will see where Uzoho was called 'not ready' by some of these who are calling for him now. The same could be said of Okoye. Point is we do not have a top top level keeper but what we have are just a bunch of serviceable keepers.

Some that have great upsides(Okoye, Uzoho) and some that are just who they are (Akpeyi and co)
The young Enyeama, later to become our GOAT, was not short of blunders either.
Just one of several:

Damunk wrote: Wed Sep 15, 2021 6:54 am

Just one of several:

I don't see a blunder there, unless you posted the wrong video? I see a pointblank shot on the edge of the six yard box to the roof of the net and keeper at least got his fingertips on it, but what can he do from such a close range?

maceo4 wrote: Wed Sep 15, 2021 8:01 am
Damunk wrote: Wed Sep 15, 2021 6:54 am

Just one of several:

I don't see a blunder there, unless you posted the wrong video? I see a pointblank shot on the edge of the six yard box to the roof of the net and keeper at least got his fingertips on it, but what can he do from such a close range?
That's the point maceo4.
You see no blunder there but others do.
Just like the 'rule' that a keeper should "never be caught out at his near post."
Kasper Schmeichel disagrees.

We've all heard the basic "stand tall, make yourself big" rule for GKs.
You can't tell me that the majority of managers wouldn't consider this to be an error..
An understandable one for a younger keeper, but an error nonetheless.

A blunder doesn't need to be a glaringly obvious one. This is a goal where Enyeama was beaten at the 'near' post AND above his head, albeit from a close range shot.
There are a few things you can criticise him for here, but that's not really the point.
He probably wouldn't handle such a situation the same way after this.
That's what experience is all about. :idea: