NIGERIA 1 VS CAPEVERDE 1

Time: 5pm Nigerian time

Where to watch: ESPN+, hesgoal.com, YouTube(for selected countries).

Lineup:
Maduka
Awaziem
Ekong
Balogun
Collins
Simon
Iwobi
Ndidi
Aribo
Ighalo
Osimhen
Last edited by naijaguy on Tue Nov 16, 2021 6:53 pm, edited 4 times in total.
Re: NIGERIA VS CAPEVERDE Live!

Goodluck Super Eagles

Iwobi starts again? : :scared:

We're toast, French toast

Lineup:
Maduka
Awaziem
Ekong
Balogun
Collins
Simon
Iwobi
Ndidi
Aribo
Ighalo
Osimhen

Glad Ighalo is starting

Rohr is such a fool. Each and every game he displays what a dummy he is.

So all that was wrong with the last Match was that Ighalo was not present. Everything else was perfect ?

He continues with a useless Collins and Simon.

Collins who was utterly destroyed defensively and offered next to nothing in attack, while Aina and Sanusi sit on the bench.

What does Troost have to do to be dropped ?

Oh I forgot he is the captain, undroppable.

I just shake my head. This type of thing will create bad blood in camp. Players like Aina, Akpoguma, Chkwueze must be upset watching junks start ahead of them.

Why is Iwobi starting? Why not Ejuke? Zero creativity

Rohr is NOT a risk taker. Risks present opportunities. Perhaps Rohr considers he is risk averse. In which case, it's going to be a slow and tension soaked game.

I expected Chukwueze to start the game.

Well, the real surprise is that IGHALO starts. I would not have thought that Rohr had the gumption to start him. :thumbs:
Last edited by Enugu II on Tue Nov 16, 2021 3:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

Bigpokey24 wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 2:50 pm Why is Iwobi starting? Why not Ejuke? Zero creativity
Collins is the biggest headscratcher to me.

At least with Iwobi you can claim to have no better options that are natural to his position. Also Iwobi was not the worst player of the last match. Collins was. Easily.

Rohr saw how poor he was in both the defensive and attacking sides of the game, and has two superior and more naturally suited players to the wingback position on the bench, but fails to use them.
sholaJay

Post by sholaJay »

Collins again !?

I’m losing patience with Rohr decision making.

Despite my reservations, I wish the SE the best. If they show more urgency, we will win this comfortably.

Thinking about this line up, I feel that Rohr is out of character and is GOING FOR CAPE VERDE's NECK today. He is letting it all hang out. With CPV needing a win, if Nigeria scores early it might well become a feast. Just my thoughts.
The difficulties of statistical thinking describes a puzzling limitation of our mind: our excessive confidence in what we believe we know, and our apparent inability to acknowledge the full extent of our ignorance and the uncertainty of the world we live in. We are prone to overestimate how much we understand about the world and to underestimate the role of chance in events -- Daniel Kahneman (2011), Winner of the Nobel Prize in Economics

naijaguy wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 11:06 am Time: 5pm Nigerian time

Where to watch: ESPN+, hesgoal.com, YouTube(for selected countries).

Lineup:
Maduka
Awaziem
Ekong
Balogun
Collins
Simon
Iwobi
Ndidi
Aribo
Ighalo
Osimhen
Good luck to the team. I hope they win comfortably.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 3:22 pm Thinking about this line up, I feel that Rohr is out of character and is GOING FOR CAPE VERDE's NECK today. He is letting it all hang out. With CPV needing a win, if Nigeria scores early it might well become a feast. Just my thoughts.
Let's wait and see how they line up.

I like Ighalo hold up play... I think he might be able to free up Osimhen if Osimhen checks his runs...

BTW, I harken to the days of SE wing play with wingers who can cross, take on their man, and also trackback... yes, I am greedy. Finidi, Amuneke or VicMo is not coming back...

The whole lineup be as it get and get as it be.
The truth is Ndidi is in for a tough day.
But the team has goals in it.
So we should win comfortably
But it doesn’t bode well for the future

This is a huge thu.bs down on Nacho by Eohr. The same thing that happened to nacho in Leicester has now happened with SE.

Ighalo has surprised me….. so he is prepared to risk playing and if CV manage to get a result take all the blame? How much are they paying him that he would risk his reputation. Even Babayaro never participated in qualifiers but went to tournaments Ighalo should have done the same.

Enugu II wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 3:22 pm Thinking about this line up, I feel that Rohr is out of character and is GOING FOR CAPE VERDE's NECK today. He is letting it all hang out. With CPV needing a win, if Nigeria scores early it might well become a feast. Just my thoughts.
how is Rohr "going for Cape verdes neck" by playing ineffective offensive players who are supposedly known for their "defensive work" while leaving more offensive players on the bench ?

Nothing about this lineup suggests such.

All this lineup shows is that Rohr sees nothing wrong with the last match, and he somehow thinks Ighalo is some kind of superstar.

Usual display of cluelessness.

EMIR KONGI JAFFI JOFFA wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 3:44 pm This is a huge thu.bs down on Nacho by Eohr. The same thing that happened to nacho in Leicester has now happened with SE.
tbh Nacho deserves to be benched.

He has been piss poor something like 4 or 5 games in a row. He scored 2 lucky goals against Liberia, but has literally done jack after that. Seems Rohr has had it with him, and I actually back Rohr on this.

Ighalos holdup play is probably better. He is definately better with the ball at his feet.

However if Rohr was a smart man, he would know that he can get these attributes and even more with Sadiq Umar.
Abbey

Post by Abbey »

:bored:
Rohr’s lineup has always been a head scratcher to me.
How the hell do you leave Aina and Zanusi on the bench? Collins was badly outplayed in the last game. Ekong is a serious liability in the central defense. He is the worst ball handler I have ever seen. Replace him with Akpoguna who is a natural central defender. The midfield of Iwobi, Ndidi, and Aribo is okay for now. Iwobi is going through a confidence crisis. Hopefully he rediscovers his form today.
This coach seems to be throwing spaghetti on the wall and the same damn strings seem to be sticking. He is definitely a creature of habit.
The absurdity here is if this lineup puffs, huffs, and wobbles it’s way to a win or draw he will feel vindicated and line them up again in the next round against a possible CIV or Cameroon team…
Last edited by Abbey on Tue Nov 16, 2021 4:08 pm, edited 2 times in total.
A Person convinced against his will is of the same opinion still.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Nov 16, 2021 2:48 pm Rohr is such a fool. Each and every game he displays what a dummy he is.

So all that was wrong with the last Match was that Ighalo was not present. Everything else was perfect ?

He continues with a useless Collins and Simon.

Collins who was utterly destroyed defensively and offered next to nothing in attack, while Aina and Sanusi sit on the bench.

What does Troost have to do to be dropped ?

Oh I forgot he is the captain, undroppable.

I just shake my head. This type of thing will create bad blood in camp. Players like Aina, Akpoguma, Chkwueze must be upset watching junks start ahead of them.
The old man who never grew up, do you always have to insult the coach/players when you don't agree them?Tufiakwa! Even I don't agree with everything in the line-up, but to stoop so low? Kai!