Gernot Rohr bids his senior players farewell

The soon-to-be-disengaged head coach of Nigeria’s Super Eagles, Gernot Rohr has apparently said his farewell to his senior players, www.aclsports.com can report.

The future of the 68-year old German coach is up in the air after a series of lacklustre performances by his players in the past couple of months.

This reached a crescendo on Tuesday night when Nigeria narrowly avoided defeat against Cape Verde in their final group game in the race to qualifying for the 2022 FIFA World Cup.

Since the end of that 1-1 draw in Lagos, there have been reports indicating that Rohr’s reign as Nigeria head coach might be over and in spite of the Federation half-heartedly denying the news on Thursday, another dimension came into it that evening.
https://www.aclsports.com/
has authoritatively scooped that Rohr has bade farewell to his valued key players, informing them of the stance by Nigeria Football Federation (NFF) to relieve him of his duties.

Although the process is not yet complete according to the former Gabon national team head coach, it was now safe for him to thank “his boys” for their support and cooperation while he was in charge of the Super Eagles.

Rohr and his employers are expected to officially confirm the parting of ways in the coming days once all legal details are sorted. A replacement is also expected to be named by the Federation as soon as the news is made official.

Nigeria is among twenty-four African countries that will participate at the 2021 Africa Cup of Nations to be hosted by Cameroon in January and have been drawn against Egypt, Sudan and Guinea-Bissau in Group D.

The Eagles will also know their foes in the final round of qualification for Qatar 2022 when the draws are conducted on December 18, 2021.

https://www.aclsports.com/
doctorollie
Re: Gernot Rohr bids his senior players farewell

Post by doctorollie »

Good luck in your future endeavours Ogbeni. Gernot Rohr.

He called Musa, Shehu, Collins, Simon to tell them Goodluck with next coach.

Musa senior citizen player

vancity eagle wrote: Fri Nov 19, 2021 6:13 pm He called Musa, Shehu, Collins, Simon to tell them Goodluck with next coach.
Did you say goodluck to them being selected by the next coach.

I don't know what was stopping him from using this line up at some point in the qualifiers

---------------------------Osimhen------------------------------

Ejuke----------------------Iwobi------------------------Chukwueze

-------------------Aribo--------------Ndidi----------------------

Sanusi--------------Balogun---------Awaziem -------------Ebuehi
proclaimjesus02

Post by proclaimjesus02 »

Robotnik wrote: Fri Nov 19, 2021 7:29 pm
vancity eagle wrote: Fri Nov 19, 2021 6:13 pm He called Musa, Shehu, Collins, Simon to tell them Goodluck with next coach.

I don't know what was stopping him from using this line up at some point in the qualifiers

In Rohr's Lingo - Because Cape Verde are a top and dangerous side and we needed to be very conservative and defend with three centre backs and two defensively-minded wing backs.
Igugu

Post by Igugu »

Exactly my Line up. But no one knows what in Mr. Rohr's mind.

Igugu wrote: Fri Nov 19, 2021 8:35 pm

Exactly my Line up. But no one knows what in Mr. Rohr's mind.
Playing Aribo and Iwobi together is not a good idea. We need a second high energy midfielder to support Ndidi.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Well, coach Rohr didn't use the lineup because he didn't want to and only him knew what he was doing. As we all know, in coaching, you live and die by the results your team attained

Yeah, this line up without a goalie is far superior to very similar line up Rohr had with a goalie. Also, this line up would have scared the Cape Verde goalkeeper into not making 3 spectacular saves in the game.