Sincere apologies

I was one of those who really wanted Rohr to continue and argued vigorously here and elsewhere that he should stay on.

Even if I want to somehow ignore the obvious fact that the team is playing really well the changes were made on time and seems the right ones. Rohr would have waited till 85mins.

Guess I was just scared of change and having Okonkwos mentality.
Re: Sincere apologies

imehjunior wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:46 pm I was one of those who really wanted Rohr to continue and argued vigorously here and elsewhere that he should stay on.

Even if I want to somehow ignore the obvious fact that the team is playing really well the changes were made on time and seems the right ones. Rohr would have waited till 85mins.

Forgiven....Enjoy with the rest of us....

imehjunior wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 6:46 pm I was one of those who really wanted Rohr to continue and argued vigorously here and elsewhere that he should stay on.

Let's be fair to Okonkwo - he wouldn't accept worse than average from a foreigner. He would rather die than bow.

We must wake up from our colonial mentality. Nigeria's football was in the doldrums and stagnated at best.

I cannot believe that people were supporting his continued retention because of organisation and management.

Really? Most annoying to read such comments.

I disagree with you regarding the changes today. I don't think Egu got them right.

"If my people, who are called by my name, will humble themselves and pray and seek my face and turn from their wicked ways, then will I hear from heaven and will forgive their sin and will heal their land."

Lolly wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:26 pm

I disagree with you regarding the changes today. I don't think Egu got them right.
can you elaborate ?

I did not like that 10 minute stretch after Kelechi came on and we just sat back. We needed to keep pressing.

Ejuke and Umar changes seemed like the right call and were on time was my thinking.

vancity eagle wrote: Tue Jan 11, 2022 10:30 pm

can you elaborate ?

I did not like that 10 minute stretch after Kelechi came on and we just sat back. We needed to keep pressing.
Think he was trying to shore up the middle as it was expected we would be under pressure and they were bound to press us.

Rohr lost me at hello; when he said Nigeria was at a WorldCup tournament to learn was likely the final straw for me.
I am not a fan of Egu either, never have been, but humble pie be served to me. Simon is not my favorite kind of player,
but I knew he was the key to defend against Salah (I stated so pre-game). He played well, and forever
earned my respect.

Honestly, Rohr has built a YOUNG formidable team. The team is deep. I dont remember the last time that SE
had so much depth in almost every position. Too bad Rohr did not know what to do with the team.
All the team needs now...is the continuation of what Egu
started.
ATTACK and ATTACK.

Yep, Rohr should be a talent scout. Great eye for talent. His “invention” of Okoye and Uzoho, the blooding of Aribo, all massive.
But as a manager, once Mikel left the scene, he was cooked.

Apology accepted..

A few more like you at the NFF and we would syill have Rohr and be huffing and puffing against Egypt and at the end of the day will be the comment "Nigeria does not have players that play for liverpool". Its sports, make una be flexible with change small, no one is dying if we lose.

No need to apologize. Life is an experience. We grow every day. We must not repeat mistakes. Nigeria need to have more self esteem. We deserve better. The local politicians have brainwashed people into settling for less like Buhari and Rohr. But we deserve better and should never accept failure. Nigeria super eagles have a standard. We can't water down that standard for any white man or black man.

I have said this countless times, **** did his job well. Stabilized the team. A triage specialist.
But if we have any ambition of going into tournaments and believing we can win it, he is not the man for the job.
He did well with giving (deserving) players an opportunity to play for the country but his philosophy of how the game should be played is not congruent with how we think it should be played.

Like the biblical Moses, he might be the one to take you out of Egypt but not the one to lead you to the promised land.